Sunday Faith Blog – an add on

marine emblem

The Marines Prayer 

Almighty Father, whose command is over all and whose love never fails, make me aware of Thy presence and obedient to Thy will.  Keep me true to my best self, guarding me against dishonesty in purpose and deed and helping me to live so that I can face my fellow Marines, my loved ones, and Thee without shame or fear.  Protect my family.  Give me the will to do the work of an American Marine and to accept my share of responsibilities with vigor and enthusiasm.  Grant me the courage to be proficient in my daily performance.  Keep me loyal and faithful to my superiors and my peers, to the duty I owe my country and those the Marine Corps has entrusted to me.  Make me considerate of those committed to my leadership.  Help me wear my uniform with dignity, and let it remind me daily of the traditions which I must uphold.If I am inclined to doubt, steady my faith.  If I am tempted, make me strong to resist.  If I should miss the mark, give me courage to try again.Guide me with the light of truth and grant me wisdom by which I may understand the answer to my prayers.Z: I certainly can’t add a thing to that.   Except “Amen”

P.S.:  A Blog addition by ME….The prayer for CIVILIANS, based on the amazing Marines Prayer above:

Almighty Father, whose command is over all and whose love never fails, make me aware of Thy presence and obedient to Thy will.  Keep me true to my best self, guarding me against dishonesty in purpose and deed and helping me to live so that I can face those around me without shame or fear.  Protect me and my family.  Give me the will to do the work that you set in my path and to accept my responsibilities with vigor and enthusiasm through your guidance.  Grand me the courage and to be proficient in my daily performance.  Keep me loyal to those around me and help me live my life with the Godliness you have entrusted to me.   Make me considerate of all.  Help me wear your calling with dignity and let it remind me daily of the faith I work hard to uphold.

When I am inclined to doubt, steady my faith.  If I am tempted, make me strong to resist.  If I should miss my mark, give me courage to try again.

Guide me with the light of truth and grand me wisdom by which I may understand the answer to my prayers.   Help me to remember to pray for the military, without whose protection I could not pray in this great land I believe you endowed Americans with. Keep me on guard against those who would diminish and eliminate traces of you in this country even as I know you are there with your faithful promise of eternal salvation for your believers.

Amen.

 

Z

This entry was posted in America, military, Sunday Faith Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Sunday Faith Blog – an add on

  1. Nothing in there asking intel on who God wanted to see next?

  2. geeez2014 says:

    Ed…like which Marine would die first? ???>

  3. geeez2014 says:

    Oh, I SEE…(it’s early here :-))…you mean WHO GOD WANTS to have them OFF first?
    I’m wondering if whoever they OFF would ever actually see GOD:?!!!
    ‘splain yourself, my friend!

  4. It’s an old joke.
    It’s God’s job to judge the terrorists.
    It’s the Marine’s job to arrange the meeting.
    The Air Force Prayer: GET ME OUTTA HERE!

  5. Baysider says:

    Oh, that we as Christians should pray this (with one substitution, obviously) for our duty, honor and character that should be on display.

  6. Angel says:

    amen Z! .have a beautiful Sunday my friend!

  7. geeez2014 says:

    Sorry, Ed…I LOVE that joke but didn’t see it in your original comment….It was a little early 🙂
    You’re not a fan of the Air Force? 🙂

    Baysider……I found it so comprehensive and probably should write a civilian prayer underneath it … I think I will! Stay tuned!

    Angel, same to you, dear girl!

  8. Amen to the civilian version.
    Most Air Force, as I was, are non combat Z.
    You might like this:
    http://oldnfo.org/2015/01/04/rulz/

  9. geeez2014 says:

    ED! that is one of THE funniest things I HAVE EVER READ! I LOVED it….just loved it…thanks so much for linking it…what a fabulous sense of humor put that together.
    “adjust Speedo” about put me over 🙂

  10. Baysider says:

    Ed, Mr. B and I had our best weekend laugh at your link.

  11. geeez2014 says:

    Baysider, that really is one of THE funniest things I’ve seen in a while…glad you and B liked it, too!! HILARIOUS!!

  12. Glad you liked it. I’ll tell OldNFO.
    He and I have been reading each other for years and only recently discovered that his folks probably knew my mom in Louisiana. Just cause of him mentioning a fish camp on the bayou.

  13. geeez2014 says:

    Ed, I saw some of that conversation somewhere…VERY cool! Imagine!

Leave a Reply

