Saturday at the Movies

movie film

Turner Classic Movies (TCM) is showing Oscar winning films this month.

Since it’s Saturday and we ALL need a break from the rotten government we’re living under….I’d like to ask you all:

What’s your favorite movie (or top 3, as picking 1 is impossible for film buffs like me!) and WHY?

Happy Saturday!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Saturday at the Movies

  1. My favorite movie is Awakenings (1990) because I had an aunt who died of encephalitis lethargica. The film was nominated for three Oscars, but didn’t win one.. I highly recommend this film!

    My next favorite film is Forrest Gump. It makes me laugh and cry.

  2. I’ve often answered The Fifth Element, as I think it is one of the cleverest entertaining movies I have seen.
    Amelie is like that also.
    And Big Fish.
    And the City of Lost Children.
    I almost always get stuck watching The Longest Day (The Longest Movie), but now that I own it, I don’t watch it as much..

  3. jerrydablade says:

    OK, since this isn’t a job interview and I am not currently being forced down by RPG fire, I will be truthful. If “number of times watched” is the gauge for “favorite film”, I have to include Steve Martin’s The Jerk; Sly Stallone’s Rocky and Clint Eastwood’s The Outlaw Jose Wales. Hey, what can I say? I like pulp escapism. Aaaaadriaaaan!

  4. Farmer John says:

    Titus, Vertigo, The Red Shoes, Casablanca, The Godfather. If they’re on, I’m watching them. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Lnda says:

    I guess I like the newer ‘shootem up’ ones. I really likes Shooter! We need someone who can accomplish that, today. Loved “Behind Enemy LInes”.Based on a true story. Who can beat “The Shawshank Redemption?” I like Clint Eastwood’s “Gran Torino.” Now, “American Sniper” will be on that list. I didn’t like all the ‘F’words, and there probably wouldn’t have been any dialogue if they hadn’t said them, but he is an American hero. I know, I’m too old to enjoy those, but I’m not a grandma who only watches what I should! Maybe I’ll check out TCM today, and see if I remember any of them! (I guess I didn’t follow your instructions, Z) Sorry!

  6. Impertinent says:

    Close Encounters of the Third Kind….Contact…Saving Private Ryan & Patton.

  7. geeez2014 says:

    I just wanted to mention that DESTINATION TOKYO’s coming on soon, if I remember correctly and that is one of my VERY favorites….it’s certainly my favorite “War Film” …it has EVERYTHING.

    I LOVE “To Kill a Mockingbird”…every aspect of it..story, acting, cinematography, score…and it’s still BLACK AND WHITE..Hurrah!

    Hey, I just saw the cutest film…A LONG WAY DOWN. With Pierce Brosnan (believe it or not, he’s not a favorite actor but he is EXCELLENT in this). I HIGHLY recommend this little film with fabulous acting! It also has Aaron Paul, a favorite actor since I saw BREAKING BAD. (AND he’s married to a gorgeous ARmenian :-)_)

  8. Kid says:

    Animal House, Blazing Saddles, It’s a Mad Mad Mad Mad World.

    They still make me laugh.

  9. Kid says:

    Man I could sure list a ton based on movies I’d watch again and I’d say that’s a great way of making a list.

  10. fredd says:

    1. Electra Glide in Blue (1973): not critically acclaimed, but fantastic cinematography for its day. Filmed before a young Robert Blake became a murdering scumbag.

    2. Jaws (1975): who didn’t love this film? I still to this day get the heebie jeebies swimming in salt water settings and I hear that menacing cello music….

    3. Alien (1979): recall the ‘birth’ scene, where the monster emerges from the human’s chest….great special effects, Signourney Weaver is great in this movie, and Ridley Scott’s direction of this film is one for the ages.

    4. The Outlaw Josie Wales (1976): Clint Eastwood kills more people in this movie than any of his others, even the Dirty Harry flicks (recall the Gatling gun scene). Chief Dan George is hilarious in this one, too.

    5. Raiders of the Lost Ark (1981): great film, kinda cheesy in a fantastic 1930’s way (like their graphics showing the dotted flight line that their DC3 makes on the cheesy world map). Filled with Nazis, murderous Arabs, heroes and villains sprinkled throughout the film willy nilly, and then God really kicks butt in the end, and the good guys win. What’s not to like?

    6. Dave (1993): fantastic feel good movie, with Sigourney Weaver (here she is again) as the first lady and Dave (Kevin Kline) filling in as a body double for a stricken, rotten president. The critics panned this one terribly, but I just loved it.

    7. Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World (2003): One of Russell Crowe’s finest performances as Commander Awbrey of Her Majesty’s Royal navy circa 1800 during the Napoleonic wars. Those scenes around the captain’s table were great, and the ‘weevil’ joke was the best ever.

    8. A Clockwork Orange (1971): Stanley Kubrick’s handling of this plot is superb, where a psycopath (Alex) and his gang of thug ‘Droogs’ terrorize a futuristic London (I think, somewhere in the UK for sure). An oldie but a goodie.

    9. Mad Max 2: The Road Warrior (1981): A young Mel Gibson kicks butt in post apocalypic outback Australia, where the Lord Humongous (aka The Warrior of the Wasteland, or The Ayatolah of Rock and Rolla) and his thugs set siege to a functioning oil drilling and refining outpost. Gas is the name of the game at this point, and Mel is ‘the Man.’ Great film.

    10. Quigley Down Under (1990): Tom Selleck as a hired gun by Alan Rickman (the best evil guy in films, ever) to wipe out Aborighines on his spread in outback Australia. Tom gets the girl in the end (duh), played excellently by Laura San Giacomo.

    I could go on, but I won’t.

  11. Impertinent says:

    “I hear that menacing cello musicโ€ฆ.” I thought that was an obo?

    Great list Fredd.

  12. Baysider says:

    Lion in Winter. Hands down! Historically accurate, pithy dialogue moving at a sprightly pace with fabulous actors. Don’t ask me how many times I’ve seen it. ๐Ÿ™‚

    The Great Escape. Not so historically accurate, but a gripping tale based on the true event of the mass escape from the POW camp. Look at all the stars that were spun out of this picture!

    Amadeus. Oh my gosh – the MUSIC!! Well done (if somewhat fictional) and, did I say, the music?

    The Seven Samurai. I am not a black & white fan, and it’s not Derzu Uzala pretty. But the timeless characters of the Samurai can be any men from any time. I’m seeing them resurface in a lovely Krygyzstani movie this year, Kurmanjan Datka.

    Also Bat 21, Henry V, Patton, Dirty Harry, LA Story, My Fair Lady, and a ‘guilty pleasure’ favorite Bond, For Your Eyes Only. Why this one? It did not take itself seriously, yet dumped childish sex antics for a fresh and almost believable heroine. Something missing in Barbara Broccoli’s movies.

  13. We enjoy watching Pearl Harbor so much we bought a copy. Like Fredd, I enjoy Quigley Down Under. And Shawshank Redemption. We also like Pretty Woman, Six Days and 7 Nights (Harrison Ford & Anne Hecht). Air Force One (also Harrison Ford), Good Will Hunting w/ Matt Damon, Ben Affleck & Robin Williams. And most ANYTHING shown without commercials! That’s why I own all the above and more.

  14. Baysider, while I own many Kurosawa films, I prefer to watch the English language interpretations when done well. Last Man Standing, The Seven Samurai, A Fistful of Dollars, because they are easier to watch.
    L.A. Story is even derived from a Kurosawa film which escapes me at the moment. The billboard was an old crone who spoke to Toshiro Mifune. Or maybe I’m making this up.

  15. Baysider says:

    It’s fun to watch Fistful of Dollars and it’s Japanese progenitor one after the other. Even the choreography is copied in so many places!

  16. Juleslandia says:

    ohhhhh so many! Desk Set (Hepburn & Tracy) is one of my all-time faves and I can watch it over and over. Also Auntie Mame, His Girl Friday, Holiday (not The Holiday, tho I like that one too), Blazing Saddles, Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil (fantastic), Crazy Stupid Love (Emma Stone is terrific), For Love of the Game (I love every Costner movie about baseball, but I’m not much of a baseball fan), Pride & Prejudice (any version), White Christmas (I sing along through the whole thing), Sound of Music (especially the Hollywood Bowl sing-a-long show), Something’s Gotta Give โ€ฆ and on and on. I just recently watched Philomena and loved it (having found my birth mom years ago it was very moving).

  17. Magnificent Seven/ Seven Samurai also.

  18. Kid says:

    Bogart -Key Largo, African Queen
    Most Cary Grant movies โ€“ Mr Lucky, North By Northwest come to mind.
    Clint – Josey Wales, Dirty Harry 1, The Eiger Sanction
    Military/War – Patton, Great Escape, Midway, Havenโ€™t see Private Ryan yet.
    Star Trek 1 โ€“ Voyager.
    Dr Strangelove, Willy Wonka, Caddyshack, Team America – World Police โ€“ (Hike Dirka Dirka, aBak a Sherpa Sherpa ! Oh Nice to see you again Hans Brix! I promise… I will never die..)
    Connery – Goldfinger, Never say Never Again, The Untouchables
    Rocky 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, — 131.
    Modern – The Avengers is entertaining.

  19. Kid says:

    PS – The Blade series with Wesley Snipes

  20. Kid says:

    PPS, I’ll add Shindler’s List for reality historical value. It’s hard to watch but that’s the point I guess.

  21. lisa says:

    Shawshank Redemption, My Cousin Vinny, One Flew Over the Cuckoos Nest,Any Clint Eastwood Movie,The Bridge over River Kwai,The Godfather

  22. lisa says:

    I will look for that movie A Long Way Down Z

  23. With Kid on:
    Bogart -Key Largo, African Queen
    Most Cary Grant movies โ€“ Mr Lucky, North By Northwest come to mind.

  24. geeez2014 says:

    Farmer John; THE RED SHOES? (that was the first film my folks saw together when they were dating!) You do mean the very old one, yes?!

    Ed, congratulations….i’m a huge film buff and you manage to like films I barely even know about! ๐Ÿ™‚

    BROTHER, you guys….these are mostly films I know but they’d not be on a fave list of mine until maybe #39785394857345897!
    That’s fascinating to me.

    I’m a BIG Cary Grant, Irene Dunne, Joan Crawford, Bette Davis, Claudette Colbert, Franchot Tone, Joel McCrea…kind of girl…I could add another 30 but I’m way too tired. IMagine being at a TWELVE hour women’s conference simulcast? Man, and I was up at 4:30 AM!

    Anyway…thanks, this was GREAT fuN!
    And , oh gad…I havent done a Sunday Faith Blog yet and I’m TIRED ๐Ÿ™‚

  25. geeez2014 says:

    http://www.foxnews.com/entertainment/2015/02/07/film-noir-star-lizabeth-scott-dead-at-2/?intcmp=latestnews
    Lizabeth Scott has died at 92….I LOVED her in “The Strange Love of Martha Ivers” (1946)….
    Rest in Peace, Lizabeth!

  26. Baysider,
    I’ve watched Amadeus many times. Great film!

  27. Another of my favorite films: Charly.

  28. fredd says:

    Kid: You missed the call on Rocky II through……(fill in the blank). Only the original Rocky (‘take her to the zoo’) should make the list. The rest of the sequels were identical: underdog prevails, gets the girl, good triumphs over evil, blah blah blah. The original Rocky of course was built on the same plot, but was simply grittier, more honest, and certainly more original. And remember, ‘women weaken legs.’

  29. Kid says:

    Only if you have to chase them first Fredd.

  30. Bob says:

    Ha! Such unsophisticated people I hang out with. The best films in the world are, in order

    Animal House
    Blues Brothers
    Smokey And The Bandit (first one)
    Oh, Brother Where Art Thou?

    I don’t need no culture, drama, or reality. I get enough of that stuff around the house, everyday.

Leave a Reply

