Brian Williams and….

…I was struck last night, watching FOX,  at how caring,  concerned and sad Megyn Kelly and Brit Hume were about the news that Brian Williams had just been given a six month suspension from NBC.

I kept thinking about how liberal journalists like those on MSNBC would have handled the news had Williams been a Conservative anchor….remember when Tony Snow died and Huffington Post’s site crashed from the thousands of gleeful celebrants?  Or when Teddy Kennedy died and all of us Conservative bloggers in our ‘group’ said we didn’t agree with him on much but felt terrible for his family?  Remember when Dick Cheney had heart problems and all we heard was death wishes from some on the Left?

I was touched by the professionalism of the FOX anchors  last night, though I’ve never expected much less from any of them.  Hannity gets a little snarky about the Leftists from time to time, but most of the FOX folks are pretty even handed.  Last night, Brit Hume said something like  “I like Brian very much anyway, but even if I didn’t, this is no time to swipe at him….”

Can you imagine the typical leftwing media if any Conservative had outright lied multiple times about stories like Williams apparently has?   WOW.

Not to change gears too quickly or completely, but what about that MSNBC situation where a news guy was on Scarborough’s “Morning Joe” said that Chris Kyle, the American sniper, went on “killing sprees”……..Nobody at NBC has apologized though there have been calls for it….

I thought it was important to point out a distinction I have frequently found between the Left and Right……..

Z

This entry was posted in matters of interest, media. Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to Brian Williams and….

  1. We live in a world where professionalism is not so important anymore. Makes me sad.

  2. What is the name of the man who said that on Scarborough’s “Morning Joe”?

  3. bunkerville says:

    It was interesting that Megyn started her show with Williams. Do I care. No. All that has happened the last couple of days, this lying weasel means nothing to me. But I do appreciate your point! 🙂

  4. Lisa says:

    I switch every so often to MSNBC just to see what they are saying. Only for a few minutes because that is all I can take. So Maddow was on and she was talking about the Tea Party with her sneering sarcasm. So dead or alive this is how he left is towards conservatives. Tea Party or Not because the last time I wnet there she was sneering over Huckabee

  5. John M. Berger says:

    “Can you imagine the typical leftwing media if any Conservative had outright lied multiple times about stories like Williams apparently has? WOW.”

    Liberals may be thought of as those who will age chronologically but will never reach adulthood. I’ve no doubt that “Liberalism” is a disease which is reaching epidemic proportions. It gains sustenance by eschewing any form of reality!

  6. cube says:

    I used to visit mostly Fox in the mornings, and Imus and MSNBC during commercial breaks. I’ve switched over to HLN @ 6 AM because the emphasis there is on the lighter side of the news and the political divide between left and right isn’t so obvious. I must consider my hypertension.

  7. While watching Fox News last night I couldn’t help wondering why so much is made about “fudging the truth” by Brian Williams when our President lies continually with total impunity? ‘Nuff said?

  8. geeez2014 says:

    http://dailycaller.com/2015/01/29/nbc-news-reporter-chris-kyle-went-on-killing-sprees-in-iraq-video/

    AOW: Here is the article about the guy who said Kyle went on KILLING SPREES….

    Dennis: That’s very true. And facts matter not.

    Bunkerville; but the left v right comparison is stunning, isn’t it…in the actions when people have disgraced themselves, die, etc.

    Lisa…I do exactly that same thing at MSNBC and can’t believe how BITTER Maddow is. By the way, I THINK Chris Hayes and she are twins..put heavy glasses on Maddow and they look So alike!! Only Hayes has a TINY glimmer of rationality (he’s also being let go, from what rumors are saying, because MSNBC’s numbers are so far down)

    Cube: What’s HLN? Anybody know? I still look at Imus from time to time and do check in on MSNBC. I don’t enjoy FOX and Friends anymore; it’s so stupid and really is more another “Good Morning , America” than a news show. Who needs it?!

    Mal; Question of the Century! You are so right.

  9. Lisa says:

    Z I call his show “Up Yours with Chris Hayes” lol

  10. Mustang says:

    My guess is that if Williams had been an anchor at Fox, Rachael Madcow would be dancing on top of her desk, much like the Westboro Baptist yahoos.

  11. Bob says:

    When I heard the news about Brian Williams, I was delighted that he had finally gotten caught in all his hypocrisy. It is not that I had ever heard him lie because I almost never watch any of the NBC news outlets. I have seen Williams on a couple of the late night shows, and was impressed that he is a very intelligent, witty, and personable man.

    Last night before the Kelly show, I said a prayer for Williams, realizing as I prayed that I should not be so judgemental about the man. He has his own devils to control, and I have mine. I prayed for his soul, and felt that he deserved another chance. Certainly, if it were me, I would want that chance. It would be up to Williams make the best of any second chance.

    Either way, I don’t think his liberal bias will disappear. So, I won’t be watching him, anyway.

  12. geeez2014 says:

    Lisa…good one! But he IS a tad gentler than that ridiculous, SO INTENSE, Rachel Madcow.

    Mustang…There is NO DOUBT IN OUR MINDS that’s what Madcow would have done…
    NO DOUBT

    Bob, you’re a good man. The problem is there are other Williams errors and people are digging up even more; and that’s not those on the Right, but the Left…
    I don’t watch network news, either, and frankly was a bit surprised that Brit Hume was so fond of Williams. I never thought he did that great a job reading, the few times I saw him, and when he goes on Letterman and other leftwing late night talk, it feels like he degrades the position.
    But he does need prayer…I keep thinking about his wife. I know she’s lived VERY high on the hog financially *TEN MILLION A YEAR!?, and probably has a fine marriage, but this can’t be easy for the family.

  13. Lisa says:

    Actually the story I heard is that his helipcopter was following behind one that was being shot at so I will give him some slack on that one.

  14. geeez2014 says:

    Lisa, that’s right… but I’d have thought I’d know if it was I who was shot at or the one in front of me?

    EVERYBODY: DO YOU ALL LIKE THIS FORMAT OF ONLY REPLYING ON THE NEXT COMMENT SPACE DOWN OR DO YOU PREFER COMMENTING TO THE PEOPLE AS THEY REPLY…ABOVE.
    I WAS AGAINST THIS FORMAT BUT AM GETTING USED TO KNOWING ANYTHING NEW IS ALWAYS HERE AT THE END. WORKING FOR YOU AT GEEEZ?>

  15. Bob says:

    Z: I can handle that format both ways. However, If you have two or three depths for comment replies, the thread can take on more meaning. Sometimes, I really hate to read to the end of the thread to comment on someone else’s statement. If you restrict the comments to just one level of reply, then the replies get jumbled. Plus, somebody is going to get off topic along the thread, anyway, and it is best to keep those responses isolated as much as possible.

  16. Kid says:

    Lisa, Williams helicopter was an hour behind the one shot.

    I ahev no personal feelings for Williams, just another propaganda artist for the democrats, but I’m happy life has caught up to him and I hope it catches up with all of them. No emotion here at all though.

  17. Baysider says:

    Great point, Z. I think we have all observed that truth is not a value for the left. It doesn’t mean they are all liars, just that they elevate other things above truth. Similarly, good manners is not a value. If it were they wouldn’t shout down people all the time. They are some of the most mean spirited folks on the planet. And they know it. It’s why they accuse others of the same. They know their own hearts well — big-time projection going on.

  18. cube says:

    HLN stands for Head Line News network. It’s a fast-paced look at the news. I like the chemistry between the anchor, Robin Meade, the weather guy, Bob, and the business woman, Jenn. It harkens back to the days when Fox & Friends included E.D. Hill and there was real chemistry between the anchors and not the forced behavior I see now. For Halloween 2014, Robin, Bob, Jenn, and the sports guy, Brian, put on a Golden Girls skit that was hilarious. You never know what they’re going to pull.

  19. geeez2014 says:

    Cube, isn’t Headline News CNN?..a channel OF CNN?

    i’m so sad about Fox@ Friends….it’s really so forced. EVERYTHING is forced, it seems, these days…it’s all produced, not really ‘live’ in that sense of spontaneity.
    I like E.D. Hill…I haven’t seen her around.
    I’ll look on my DirecTV to see where HLN is….I know I’ve run across it…thanks.

    Baysider; Great point about PROJECTION; I believe you’re right.

    Kid, I am feeling a bit of “so THERE!” at Williams because of the smugness of the Leftwingers…he has certainly come down a notch. I suppose I have no emotion about it, but I will say I’m always proud of us on the Right when we don’t get as hateful as the left almost always is.

    Bob, I THINK I got most of what you said…!! I’ll leave them down here, though I kind of miss the other way; it almost seemed more personal that way…weird, I know!

  20. Impertinent says:

    @Z:”Williams because of the smugness of the Leftwingers…he has certainly come down a notch.”

    His ego must be insatiable Z…..he forgot that he’s not the NEWS…he’s supposed to report it and not make it…or be a central part of the story. It’s not supposed to be about him. Peece upon him and all the others like him…

  21. Didn’t Bob say he liked replying immediately, rather than the end of the train?
    I do.

  22. Impertinent says:

    I too like to reply under each comment Ms. Z. For what my vote is worth.

  23. I heard three Williams quotes this am that purported to show his lies about the chopper. I was struck by the fact that for only those three quotes, I could understand what he was saying as not inconsistent. Could be true. My coworker heard the same 3 and asked me what I thought, and we agreed we heard nothing wrong.
    The NOLA floating body stuff, however…

  24. So did a nuke go postal in Ukraine?

  25. Kid says:

    Ed, No, that was the result of a N Korean Construction project operation.

  26. John M. Berger says:

    “I too like to reply under each comment Ms. Z. For what my vote is worth.”

    Hey, don’t feel bad, sometimes my considered comments are not even acknowledged by the Administrator. It just happened today. I will consider not wasting my time here any more!

  27. Impertinent says:

    @JMB….ez John…the “Administrator’ has a life…and it’s early in LA too. She’ll get to ya…she always does friend.

  28. geeez2014 says:

    John, you mean you got a notice saying it wouldn’t publish, or you mean I didn’t respond to you?
    You can see I don’t always respond to everybody; particularly when I totally agree….what’s to say? My gosh! You’re a valued commenter here but, as Imp said, I am a very busy person and sometimes I don’t respond to each comment. Most bloggers don’t.

    Ed, he wasn’t in the helicopter shot … I don’t see an inconsistency when he said he was?? And those with him say he’s wrong???

    Thanks for all the input about the comment placements…I’m just not sure I want to have to go up and read everything again to find who just commented..to find the new ones; when they’re down here, they’re down here, easy to find.
    Let me think about it.

  29. geeez2014 says:

    John, I do see my email calling all out but you and it wasn’t intentional…. .and I am very sorry.
    You’re one of my faves around here. If you decide to skip geeeZ, I won’t understand but I respect your choice.

  30. Impertinent says:

    Poor Brian….here’s the real reason he got the boot and idiots like Fat Al the thief, liar and buffon get to stay…

    They Hold a white man to a higher standard. It’s obvious that msnbc is a romper room for loons, infantile hyphenated goons, liars and psychopaths. As long as it keeps them off the streets…it’s OK with me that that have an insane asylum on TV for all to see. It’s better than going to a zoo.

  31. Impertinent says:

    BTW…I looked up Ben Carson’s address and property values…nice gig he has…he earned it too. Live’s in a nice Country Club community, on a golf course, almost 8000 sq. ft house that he paid close to a mil for. Welcome to Palm Beach County Doc. We’re happy to have you among us.

  32. Kid says:

    IMP, I’ve seen a Few or more stories about how people who have “owed the IRS less than sharpton have been dealt with”. That seems like some small progress anyway.

  33. Impertinent says:

    Kid…go to bed…..

  34. Impertinent says:

    @Kid…but yea…Wesley Snipes went to jail for a lot less than the bloviator pimp. The IRS has confiscated small business owners bank cash of 30K that they can’t get back for years. So far 247 cases of small biz people getting phooked by the IRS storm trooper thugs.

  35. Impertinent says:

    Melissa Perry…..is really Michael Jackson in pancake. She’s whiter than I am. Quack like the duck you are Holder.

  36. Impertinent says:

    My nightly prayer…Now I lay me down to sleep…I pray the Lord Obama’s soul to keep…if he dies before I awake…I swear to you Lord….I’ll bake a cake.

  37. geeez2014 says:

    Kid, what “progress”,? is something happening finally to Sharpton?

    Imp, your prayer made me burst into laughter! I ought to delete it because we don’t do comments or blogs here about wishing anybody was dead, let alone a sitting pres,, but…how can I? Hilarious!

  38. Impertinent says:

    Black Barber father of his son…shaves his heads bald because he had gotten into trouble ( 10 years old ) and his grades had dropped. After the shave…the kids grades rose like a NASA rocket. Hmmmm…..maybe Kwame West needs a shave…consummate asshole that he is ) Obama’s words too

  39. Impertinent says:

    Z….I never wished it Dear Friend…I just said… IF it should happen. We’re all mortal, right? 🙂 I’d never wish anyone dead…I leave that to Demrats. They’re so tolerant and understanding, right?

  40. Impertinent says:

    On the other hand Dear Friend…..when it comes to mudslimes…..well…who could fault me or any Marine that’s supposed to surrender his weapons to a scumbag mob of mudslime POS after Yemen. On the orders of the POS Ovomit…has our Marines running like dogs…at his orders. A Marine never surrenders his weapon. Of course this is on orders of the State Department…under the Secretary of cowardice…the unfragged scumbag know as J effin POS Kerry…a coward…a treasonous POS…has now proved himself to be the consummate traitor that he is. Now…this is a guy that I do wish….the worst disease upon. Imagine…American Marines surrendering their weapons to islamic savage dog shit?

  41. Impertinent says:

    Oh..BTW…this is the THIRD Embassy that we’ve had to surrender and close under the POS named OVOMIT. The ME has been lost to the Islamist savages…and Ovomits happy with the results. And now…we’re even considering the architect of our failure and surrender hitlery as the next potus?

  42. Impertinent says:

    Craig Hicks? Doesn’t sound like a Christian to me.So…mudlsimes…..GFU.

  43. geeez2014 says:

    Imp, I saw that barber story and loved it…it shows those kids CAN perform well….they CAN. And they need to have a good wake up call. I love that guy.

    The story on the guns in Yemen’s a bit different than FOX portrayed it tonight, at least from my Googling around reading other stories.

    Craig Hicks is a swine; who has the kind of temper to kill over neighbor disputes? They were 3 decent kids, from all accounts…this is HORRIBLE. But I hate even more the ridiculous attempts make this a hate crime. Let’s see how it boils down. It’s horrible.
    I suppose the muslims will use this, won’t they. I hear it’s trending all over the world; one million already have seen this. As if every American’s jumping around killing muslims? DAMN

  44. Bob says:

    I would comment on something somebody said somewhere above, but I forgot what they said, and I forgot what I was going to say.

  45. geeez2014 says:

    Bob; Now I get you 🙂
    Give me a couple of days to consider this commenting methodology. Thanks~~

  46. Like Bob said.
    If you come in late and reply to an earlier comment (you encourage that right?), it looks like a non-sequitur.

  47. cube says:

    HLN is a sister channel of CNN, yes. I know what you’re thinking because my husband has expressed the same thoughts about that, but it’s not CNN. Their magic formula is the comraderie of the morning crew because their interaction doesn’t appear forced. They give snippets of the news mingled with entertainment and afterwards I go to the computer for the rest of the story. This is where I am now. Who knows where I’ll be next year.

Leave a Reply

