Sunday Faith Blog

From Football player and Dentist to FARMER?

God’s all over this, according to Jason Brown.   From tons of money and a mansion …to a farm house.  This video will touch you.

“Whoever has a bountiful eye will be blessed, for he shares his bread with the poor.” Psalm 22: 9

He’s living his life with purpose….are we?

Happy Sunday!
Z

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sunday Faith Blog

  1. What a coincidence.
    I listened to some of this and thought “it’s like the Prodigal Son, only he realized his spiritual poverty.”
    Then my favorite Sunday morning radio show comes on.
    The Lutheran Hour (which is only 30 minutes, and I’m not Lutheran).
    And he’s based his talk on … Jason Brown.
    And relates it to …. The Prodigal Son.
    Here’s the link. https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/41339180/Lutheran%20Hour.mp3

  2. geeez2014 says:

    Ed, that is amazing! Talk about ‘coincidence!’
    I know the Lutheran Hour is very good….I did attend the Lutheran Church for about 10 years and I really miss it. Just couldn’t keep going for various reasons….nothing to do with the Doctrine, which is so sound and, of course, the basis for most of the Protestant Doctrine.
    I didn’t know Jason Brown had not been a strong believer all his life; just figured he finally decided to hang up the idols and dedicate his life to helping people.
    Great guy!

  3. lisa says:

    What a wonderful man sharing his blessings . you can feel his emotions coming through his voice.
    Thank you for sharing Z

  4. Mustang says:

    Among the smartest people I’ve ever known are farmers. Among those with the most faith in God, are farmers. Among those with the greatest sense of self-satisfaction are farmers.

  5. What a fantastic guy! How many of us could or would do the same in his shoes? Its one thing to talk in charitable terms but something else to actually live it. I have seen (rarely) cases like this, where wealthy people have sold everything and given to the poor. Frankly, I don’t think I could. God will surely have a place for him in Heaven.

  6. bunkerville says:

    Every Spring I am amazed when the earth reawakens and all that was asleep comes alive once more.

  7. geeez2014 says:

    Sometimes your comments humble me with their goodness and enthusiasm and, because of that, this is one of those days when my Sunday Faith Blog blessed me more than any of you! Thank you.
    Isn’t he fabulous?
    Mustang, I agree with you about farmers but I hear they are REALLY dwindling in number and that’s disturbing on MANY levels, isn’t it.

    Lisa, you sure can tell what a good man he is. And his wife, too, to give up a dental practice, after all that training, to do this.

    Mal, I don’t think I could, either…Obviously, I haven’t a never ending source of money so I need to be careful, but I have to admit that I give more than I should to charities (or friends) not on my usual list of donating from time to time. Matter of fact, I think I’m getting ready to do it soon as I just got a request from someone I know, but my heart’s saying YES and my gut is saying YES MAYBE BUT THINK HARD…..! I think we ALL have had that happen to us, right?

    Bunkerville, I love that you said that……sort of like Easter’s meaning, isn’t it! And it happens in the Spring!

  8. Baysider says:

    Mustang – ditto. There is a deep satisfaction of going through each season in farming. Farmers HAVE to think ahead. Or starve. And be flexible to deal with crises when a freak wind storm kills all the poults you just got. (This happened to a friend a couple years back.) I’ve read in Robert Kaplan that a disproportionate percentage of special forces come from a rural background. I could certainly see the contribution that made to the assignments Kaplan describes in Imperial Grunts.

    There’s a hint in video of helping, but I found other links of him donating food to pantries. I do hope there’s mentoring going on. I’d love to connect him up with Joel Salatin at Polyface.

Leave a Reply

