Sunday Faith Blog

“To the degree we can accept Glory, we can cope with our pain.”

This was said in a lecture recently and I thought it was so important and so vital for Christians to remember that I had to share it here today.  I hope it blesses you.  I believe it’s so true.

These are good, too:

Pain removes the veil; it plants the flag of truth within the fortress of a rebel soul.  ~ C.S. Lewis

Pain is no evil, unless it conquers us.  ~ Charles Kingsley

I am certain that I never did grow in grace one-half so much anywhere as I have upon the bed of pain.  ~ Charles Spurgeon

Lots to consider.  I hope someone needed to hear this….and I hope the pain (emotional or physical) isn’t too bad.

Have a great Sunday.
Z

 

This entry was posted in Sunday Faith Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Sunday Faith Blog

  1. jerrydablade says:

    Those are great quotes about ‘pain’, but my personal favorite has always been: “Pain don’t hurt” by the late, great baseball manager, Sparky Anderson. He was my favorite Tigers manager and seemed to come up with a great “Yogi Berra” type quote every other day and usually made me laugh. (I am not minimizing this. Sparky was a Christian with deep faith) This one stuck with me for some reason. At first blush, it is seemingly simplistic and contradictory, but it is really about how we respond mentally and spiritually to physical or emotional pain. I say, Just “give it to God” and try to find something to make you smile today.

    Like

  2. Jerry: like button.

    Like

  3. Mustang says:
    My prayer doesn’t ask to escape the trials of humanity; it is rather that I may maintain my faith throughout these trials. I pray to God that he may grant me the same amount of faith in Him that He has in me.

    Like

  4. FB says:

    Good quotes. Pain does reveal who we are to ourselves. That’s maybe why I like endurance sports so much.

    Like

  5. To that extent, I’ve been blessed because I’m 86 and pain free. Living in Sun City, a senior development, I’m continually around people with pain, even some that are 30 years younger, so I thank God every day for being so blessed. And Jerrydablade, I didn’t know it was Sparky Anderson, who incidentally went to my high school in L.A. (Dorsey) that said “Pain don’t hurt”. But I did hear Patrick Swayzy say it in the movie “Road House”!

    Like

  6. Bob says:

    I always learn something on Z’s faith blogs. “Pain don’t hurt.” How elegantly said.

    Like

  7. geeez2014 says:

    Bob, thanks….I’m just STUCK on the quote I used at the top of my post. I think there is SO MUCH there… And yes, “Pain don’t hurt.” is so good.

    Jerry..it’s anything but simplistic, isn’t it, but it SURE sounds like it is. I think my quote kind of defines Sparky’s quote…if we know where we’re going we can probably get through ANY pain. Which is something I pray I’m never called upon to see for myself. Or ANY of you.

    I’m with ED “LIKE BUTTON”, Jerry!

    Mustang….I pray He gets me THROUGH whatever pain…. and yes, great to pray for faith regardless…

    I just Googled CS Lewis and pain quotes and found this one; kind of dovetails mine..and Sparky’s.

    “A man can no more diminish God’s glory by refusing to worship Him than a lunatic can put out the sun by scribbling the word ‘darkness’ on the walls of his cell.”
    ― C.S. Lewis, The Problem of Pain

    Mal, you are TRULY blessed but I think you have good genes in your family, don’t you?!!

    Like

  8. Yes, I do, Z. I read somewhere that your genes account for 60% of your health. My folks both lived long lives and my sister is 91 and still lives alone. I studied real hard to have my good health!

    Like

  9. Pingback: Psalm —41 | A Montpelier View

Leave a Reply

