Sunday Faith Blog…and PRAY FOR ED’S SCHERIE, please (See comment)

I have tried to say this in a hundred different ways the last couple of years.  This guy nails it.  I hope you watch this very short, powerful video.  And I SO HOPE you pass this on to many of your family and friends:

Ephesians 2:19

“So then you are no longer strangers and aliens, but you are fellow citizens with the saints and members of the household of God….”

“If you take away religion, you can’t hire enough police.  Think about that today.

God bless you all,

Z

 

This entry was posted in Sunday Faith Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Sunday Faith Blog…and PRAY FOR ED’S SCHERIE, please (See comment)

  1. jerrydablade says:

    FIRST with the Alexis de Tocqueville quote: Liberty cannot be established without morality, nor morality without faith. (I believe that has been on your blog before) But there is nothing like the personal testimony. Sad we seem to be losing our principles as a society. I’d say more, but its time for church! God Bless you back, Z!

  2. I’d like prayers for my wife Scherie.
    She fractured a couple vertebrae last Monday and is in a neck restraint, but what hurts more is that she probably fractured a rib or two (x-rays don’t show, but pain is significant).

    As for the video, I went to youtube and read some of the comments a couple hours ago.
    Very discouraging.
    People seem to think that you can have good morals without religion.
    They don’t realize that they just created their own religion.
    Usually based on themselves. (“Thou shalt have no gods before me.”)
    They also find moral equivalency between Christianity and Islam!
    That’s odd, because a devout Christian will pray for the devout muslim who is cutting his head off.

  3. Kid says:

    Ed, I pray that Scherie is comfortable and well again soon.

    People who equate Christianity and islam are simply morons. We’ve seen and heard from enough of these people to know they don’t have a brain cell to play solitare with.

    Z, I certainly agree with you. People who are not taught these things end up like Lord of the Flies more often than not. We see whole communities of them out there already.

  4. Mustang says:
    Ed, you are both in my prayers. May God bless you both mightily!

    Z, this is an excellent message and I think you for posting it. There is one caveat, however. One must pursue a religious affiliation that acknowledges one of God’s greatest gifts: freedom of choice. Hanging homosexuals, decapitating nonbelievers, or stoning one’s spouse at the whim of religious police will only serve to create greater social malevolence. From a line in a Spielberg film, “You must choose wisely.”

  5. Baysider says:

    For years I used a screen saver that scrolled We limit government through the exercise of self-control. This is where is comes from. Otherwise, you’ll need zillions of cameras on every lightpost, drones for in-between and …. hmmm.

    Ed, sorry to hear about Scherie. And prayers for her comfort and healing.

  6. geeez2014 says:

    This man is, apparently, a Mormon, by the way. He sure has it right here, doesn’t he.

    Baysider….Yes, we’d need all sorts of …wait! We HAVE them (hmmm, is right!)

    ED…I added Scherie to my title so folks will see that more easily. Praying hard for your dear wife…I have her on my long list of regular prayer all the time. Tell her we care and are rooting for her…broken ribs HURT!
    Excellent point about how devout Christians will pray for those who sin against them.
    Today in church, I found it fascinating that we were led in group confession acknowledging how others had hurt US. “I confess that I have been sinned again, I confess that my parents weren’t always approving of me and it hurt me, I confess…” And then to LET IT GO….confessing the sins of ourselves is typical…I thought this slant was fascinating and way deeper than I’ve really wrapped my mind around yet only a couple hours since.

    Mustang;’ Very true. I know there are muslims, like zudi Jasser, who fit this bill, but you are SO RIGHT…..too many do NOT.

    Kid “Lord of the Flies” is a PERFECT analogy..Absolutely spot on…thanks. How awful, huh?

    Jerry; it only hit me HARD a few years ago that CAPITALISM will simply NOT WORK, CANNOT WORK, without goodness….people will screw people given half the chance unless they are people of faith (let’s leave nice agnostics and atheists out of this for conversation sake; we all know they exist)…IN GENERAL, it just can’t work. And then to hear de Tocqueville and Baysider’s quote, and to have my instincts confirmed by WAAAAAAAAAAAAAY greater minds than I could even hope to have is cool yet discomforting..”Darn, I wish I was WRONG!” 🙂

  7. First off, our prayers are with Ed’s wife Scherie for a quick and full recovery. At the bottom of Ed’s blog, he rightfully said a Christian will pray for the devout Muslim who is cutting his head off, which is very true, but I often wonder how God feels about us shooting the idiot dead whenever possible. After all, “Thou shalt not Kill”. Truthfully, if I had one in my gun sights, I’d pull the d— trigger! If that makes me in violation of a Commandment, so be it. (I’ve also violated a few of the other ones, too).

  8. Baysider says:

    Boy is Ed right. The comments at YouTube show everything that’s wrong in our culture. As we were discussing last night – blind and blinder.

  9. First, Thank you all for your prayers. It’s MY turn to wait on HER hand and foot.

    Mal: Funny huh? If i could break loose and break his neck as he poised to strike, I would.
    But i hope, not given that chance, I’d pray that he would repent. Hopefully before slicing 🙂

    And in tune with Jerry’s quote:
    “Only a virtuous people are capable of freedom. As nations become corrupt and vicious, they have more need of masters.” – Benjamin Franklin
    Whence cometh that virtue?

  10. BTW: That commandment is “though shall not murder”, not “kill”.

  11. And thou is spelled thou.

  12. John M. Berger says:

    Ed, I pray for and TRUST that there will be a complete and speedy recovery.
    Baysider, “We limit government through the exercise of self-control.” Yes and I don’t how there can be “self-control”, insofar as humans are concerned, without it being based on faith.

  13. Baysider says:

    That’s right, John, even when the self-control is not based on your, personal faith. If you don’t have it but the broader culture does — and also teaches and models it (the not doing of which got us the 60’s generation) — then your understanding of morality is framed through that lens. The left understands this well as they work hard to de-construct how everything Christian is framed, then ridiculed and marginalized.

    The problem comes when the tipping point is reached by leftist storms breaching the ship of state. You know, in WW2 my father was sent to England on the Queen Mary. That October crossing headed into one of the worst storms in the north Atlantic. The ship was overloaded. Men were under orders to remain in their quarters with no movement unless ordered. My father told me how they were used as live ballast. I’ve later read that the ship’s angle of list was at its max, at the tipping point, at times in that storm. A very close run thing.

    That’s where we are today. Only the movement of the spirit in the hearts of men will shift the balance back.

  14. Kid says:

    Bay, I don’t think we have enough ballast.

  15. geeez2014 says:

    Ed, but “thou shalt not murder, though” 🙂

    John…I think Baysider’s 1000% right, don’t you?

    “If you don’t have it but the broader culture does — and also teaches and models it (the not doing of which got us the 60’s generation) — then your understanding of morality is framed through that lens.”

    Plenty don’t have it, plenty haven’t ever had it over the centuries, but the broader culture does…or did, and things went quite well. AND, if you bucked the broader culture, you were shameful for having done it and you knew it. Remember, for a probably odd example, when young teen aged boys would be in their cars blasting the radios in the Forties and Fifties, I’d imagine that if an adult gave them a look or a (polite) high sign, they’d feel ashamed enough to TURN IT DOWN.
    Today, an adult gives a look or a high sign and we all know what that adult will get back….it’ll be a ‘high sign’ but NOT POLITE and the music will NOT be turned down. No way. At least in general.
    I think that’s exactly what’s going on in most measures of decency and kindness in culture..

    Today, the broader culture says DO WHAT YOU WANT AS LONG AS YOU DON”T HURT ANYBODY……..DO YOUR OWN THING started in the Sixties, even I remember that one.
    The next sentence was “THOSE AROUND YOU CAN BE DAMNED AS LONG AS YOU’RE DOING YOUR OWN THING”.

    Suddenly, SHAME is a bad word, the POLITESSE (as they say in France and I don’t know a word here for POLITE as a noun!) is OLD FASHIONED, DECENCY’s definition is up for grabs.

    And, who do you suppose started this nonsense? Conservatives? NO WAY

  16. geeez2014 says:

    Yes, politeness…I guess it just doesn’t have the same ‘ring’ to it….”La Politesse”
    Maybe it’s just that we don’t hear the word politeness anymore that it sounds wrong to me 🙂

  17. Baysider says:

    Yes, shame is it exactly. You did wrong but experienced shame for it. Now its US who are told to feel shame for wounding your feelings by pointing out what’s wrong. Many things were tolerated in the shadows, but they stayed there because of shame. Isaiah said “How terrible it will be for those who parade iniquity with cords of falsehood, who draw sin along as with a cart rope.” And we see this very image on display in parades of homosexuals.

  18. geeez2014 says:

    Bay…what an amazing quote…”how terrible,” indeed.

    I think of children born to unwed mothers 50 years ago, and more….the mother would have her child elsewhere, usually, and then come back sans child or with her cousin’s child and her “cousin died in childbirth in Minneapolis” 🙂
    My best friend Nancy was born to her daughter and nobody knew she’d not been a foundling adopted by her mother’s parents……!

    SO SO MANY of those things happened…and it’s so sad to think of the mothers who had to give up babies, and men who lived as homosexuals in the shadows…etc etc., but at least these things were not CHAMPIONED. THAT is what’s caused our biggest problems. I’ve tried to explain my opinion on this to liberals at GeeeZ when I allowed them to blog at the Blogger site, but they just don’t GET IT.
    My feeling was “let’s not castigate/humiliate…but at least keep things that aren’t good for children to emulate IN THE SHADOWS”, etc….
    But these are people who thought Roseanne was the perfect example of an American mother and when I said I thought June Cleaver was closer to a good mother than she, they balked! And, as you know, “June Cleaver” has become a kind of name to be used when mocking traditional women.
    SO sad. Oh, yes..a woman like roseanne who grabs her crotch while singing The Star Spangled Banner to thousands of people is WAAAY more ‘realistic’ and ‘honest’ than a woman who has the audacity to set a lovely dinner table and wear pearls while she ran a vacuum, right? !!!

  19. Ed, that may be true but either way he’s just as dead! (but I know what you mean, buddy!)

Leave a Reply

