Iranian Mentality…strictly anecdotal…but…

A couple of stories for some insight:

I asked my dentist if I could talk to her in a closed room.  The reason being that the minute the assistant asked me if all was good and I said ‘not sure, I need to talk to the dentist,’ a woman in the next chair’s head snapped around toward me like she wanted to hear what might go wrong with Invisalign (I just finished my treatment and the teeth look gorgeous, tho you never REALLY finish, something they don’t tell you,..but I digress!)…, There are no walls between stations so everything you say can be heard by everyone on the 8 seats… I figured it might be this worried looking woman’s first visit and it wasn’t good business for me to be bringing up grievances while the dentist had what might be a potential client in there.

My dentist is Iranian-born and schooled, very beautiful and very nice. Soon she approached me and I said “Could I talk  to you in private?”   She said yes and I followed her into her office and I told her “I didn’t want to have anybody hear what I wanted to ask you because I didn’t want anybody worrying …”  She said “That’s okay.”

“THAT’S OKAY?” I asked myself.  I added…. “Well, I didn’t want any new client hearing anything negative,” I added, thinking she’s not getting what I mean.  “That’s fine…what’s up!?”   But I’m doing you a favor, I don’t need a brass band, but a “nice of you to think of that” might be a good thing to say?  I’d have said it were I her.  So, I told her what was up, and she said that’s typical, not to worry, and we went back out to the stations.  I sat down and the assistant approached me as the Dr went to get something and the Hispanic assistant said “It was nice of you to be so thoughtful and not say anything negative where others can hear you.”  SHE got it.   The Iranian dentist didn’t have a clue.  It didn’t register somehow.

Yesterday, I was at the car wash…there are 5 stations to which you can pull up.  One was empty… but there was a car that had come into the area before me and was sitting kind of far back behind another car which was in a station…. I waited to pull up into the empty spot thinking the blue car would get the drift, that he was there first and he could go in front of me, but he did nothing, so I pulled up, aware that the car wash guys keep track and they’ll take him first once he pulls up anyway.    He approaches the man at the stand where I was to about to say “Just a wash” so I see him and say “I’m sorry I pulled in first….if you’d like to talk to the guy first, I’ll wait..”   He says “I don’t care what you did with your car….” very dismissively, with a Middle Eastern accent.  He continued “…but I have a question for him…. ”  I said “well, you go ahead…”  He pulls the guy at the stand away and they go to his car and talk for ten MINUTES, no shred of consideration for me standing there waiting to take the ticket and go in and pay and wait for my car.

A few years ago, a realtor friend said he won’t deal with Iranians because they’ll offer $350,000 for a condo if the sales price is $550,000.  He warns Iranian clients not to do that, and he says it’s the first thing they’ll say anyway….  “I’ll give you $350K, that’s enough for you.”  Clients have stood there agape,  like “WHAT?”

A friend owned a German car repair….he once had an Iranian woman owner of a Mercedes he’d had to spend about $1800 on to repair what was wrong get ON THE GARAGE FLOOR kicking her feet and fists and crying and saying she couldn’t pay.  I swear.  Once she got up, he told me she said “I give you $750, that’s enough for you.”    Seriously.

I only write these things to show not that these are rude people, they aren’t….but their MENTALITY IS VERY DIFFERENT.   It seems like they’re intentionally being RUDE to us but it’s their thinking, their way of dealing with others; it’s what comes naturally; it’s a different society.  I’m not sure if they deal with other Iranians like that but they do with Americans.

I SINCERELY don’t think our own darned government understands this….Americans TRUST, Americans expect people all over the world to THINK LIKE WE DO; kind, trustworthy, accomodating, patient, pleasant.  THAT’s NOT THE WAY IT IS.  They’re not all bad people!  My dentist is lovely, for example….BUT….

Who’s to say if this mentality difference enters into negotiations like the nuclear talks this last month?   IT’S ALL ABOUT PRIDE.

ME.

Input?  Z

PS….WOW! I just went to AOW’s blog after posting this and she has this:

http://alwaysonwatch3.blogspot.com/2015/04/agreement-with-iran.html

HELLO?   “We are NOT closing down, THE PROUD PEOPLE OF IRAN WOULD NEVER STAND FOR THAT..”   So, now Iran’s telling the world that Obama’s thugs are lying to us and Iranians are NOT doing what Kerry says they agreed to do (which is little anyway).   Who knows the truth?  PRIDE PRIDE PRIDE.  Is that true, or can he not bring himself to show his own people they have to obey THE GREAT SATAN, America?

WOW

This entry was posted in Iran. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Iranian Mentality…strictly anecdotal…but…

  1. Baysider says:

    20 years ago we sold a house. Our broker apologized for the LONG form and all the disclosures – I think it was 13 pages. She was a friend and spoke to us sort of non-officially when she said “when I first got into the business (about 30 yrs ago) this form was 3 pages. After all the Iranians came and got into real estate it became this long – adding all the caveats and spelling out ‘bad’ or illegal behavior on the part of the real estate agent. Bad business ethics.

  2. geeez2014 says:

    That is fascinating……There’s a nice little Iranian area on Westwood Blvd, as you know, and they bring good spending power to L.A., or at least they did when they first came in the droves following the Shah’s topple, but lately,who knows….
    I wrote this post because it’s waaay past truly ‘anecdotal’ when there are enough anecdotes that seem to then become REALITY, you know?

  3. I got no anecdotes.

  4. Baysider, I had to laugh when you mentioned that 20 years ago you sold a house and it was 13 pages long when 30 years earlier it was only 3 pages. Well, I bought a home last year using my VA for the second time (got it for my daughter and son in law!) and earlier this year we were able to reduce the interest rate from 4.25% to 3.75%. Know how many pages just to reduce the rate? OVER 100! REALLY! Keep in mind, nothing changed but the rate of interest. Same house, loan number, term of loan, borrowers, etc. No one reads it anymore. Its impossible. And really stupid.

  5. Baysider says:

    Gee, Mal. We re-fied for 5 pages. Schwab bank.
    Ed, you don’t live in Teheran-geles.

  6. Baysider says:

    PS – Mal that form was our broker’s agreement.

  7. Kid says:

    MAL, I’ll testify to that. We’re in Ohio.

    Well Z, In my opinion these people(all over the ME) are told from when they can first understand language that Americans are dogs and whores and America is the great satan. They all think they are better than us. They are here not to integrate into American culture but take advantage of it. Every one of them.

  8. Imp says:

    Although Christians by far make up the largest number of believers, they’re rapidly being outpaced — by Muslims.
    Religion is on the rise throughout the world, and the numbers of those who believe in an afterlife and a supreme being are outpacing those who don’t — those calling themselves either atheist or agnostic.

    Assuming that the present rate of growth is maintained, adherents of Islam will match the number of Christians in the world by the year 2050, according to A Pew Research Center study cited in Time magazine, which reported:
    Islam will expand faster than any other major religion, according to the report, with Muslims and Christians expected make up nearly equal shares of the global population by 2050 for the first time. While much of the Muslim and Christian population growth is expected to occur in Sub-Saharan Africa, the share of Muslims in Europe and the U.S. is also expected to grow.

    The report indicated that although Muslims are expected to make up only 2.1 percent of the U.S. population by 2050, a rise of 0.3 percent, their numbers will exceed those of American Jews.
    As the following chart indicates, although Christians are expected to expand their numbers by 35 percent in the next 35 years, Muslims will more than double that percentage — their numbers are predicted to increase by a whopping 75 percent.

    Maybe that’s why Kerry Heinz was practicing Arabic…we know that Obummer is well versed in it since childhood.

  9. Bob says:

    It is in the Iranian culture to haggle and cheat. Some years ago, I was representing a company where my counterpart in the customer’s company was an Iranian. After the deal was done in most cases he would find other things to require, even after delivery. After getting flack from my management, I told them I would not call on the Iranian, again. Two weeks later, i got a call from the Iranian saying, “Bob, we need to talk.” He figured out we were one of their best suppliers, and it was in his interest to maintain a good relationship. We later became good friends. I showed backbone, and he understood me.

    Obama has no backbone, and the Iranians will never respect him, or John Kerry. If you are going to play their game (negotiating IS their game), you have to understand their rules. They have none.

  10. Imp says:

    Watch…muslim Bakers in Dearboristan….

  11. Imp says:

    What needs to be said is that there are some republican party leaders and others on the right of the political spectrum who tell us we need to reach common ground or compromise with the extremely radical intolerant, bigoted and fascist far left wing democrat party of death’s social and political agenda to fundamentally destroy America.

    The only common ground or compromise the extremely radical Christian hating party of death members will allow is complete surrender to their vile and evil agenda.

    The radical party of death members will book no interference, no compromise, as they rush America headlong into the pit of perdition.

    We must all become moral relativist, stating publicly there is no good and evil, there is no up and down, there is no right and wrong. We must conform to their agenda or be excommunicated from the human race.

    No Christian morality allowed, no highly principled and moral beliefs allowed, we must all descend into the sewer pit of immoral hedonistic thoughts and behavior. America is doomed. The Republic is no more. America has become a country of mob rule and hateful intolerant extremely radical leftist anarchy and tyranny.

  12. geeez2014 says:

    Imp; that video’s fun…I loved when he showed IN THE NAVY and said “Know your audience” Hilarious…. he’s so right, isn’t he?
    Man, your comments are hard to read…..and probably all too true, sadly.

    Bob, Mr. Z spent about 9 months in total selling ‘something’ in Iran…about 30 years ago. He really liked the Iranians, but they had something they really needed. I remember him telling me that he once was in discussions with one bigwig who suddenly never showed up at a meeting again. He figured ‘something had happened to him’ under Saddam!

    Kid, That’s the mentality …”get what you can,” though I know many pretty wealthy Persians who came after the Shah was deposed who aren’t users at all.
    By the way, around here people say “If they say they’re PERSIAN, they’re okay, if they say IRANIAN, look out” And I think that’s kind of true….. The younger ones admit they’re from Iran, some of the more mature Persians sometimes have the good sense to look a little embarrassed to admit it. They know what trouble Iran is today.

    Ed, I could give more…..

    Mal, imagine that?!!! THAT many pages and almoost no changes BUT LEGALESE$$, which keeps lawyers’ kids in braces and their wives in Mercedes.

  13. Mustang says:
    Well, of course the stories you related tonight were about your experiences with Iranian people here in America, but you then segue into the disastrous negotiation with John Eff Kerry and so the bridge is complete. Hardly anyone we ever sent to Vietnam in a diplomatic capacity understood Vietnamese culture. This was the seed that led to my growing belief that our diplomatic corps may be the worst in the entire world. If we do not understand the culture of the people with whom we entreat, then how can we ever develop a pleasant, productive relationship with them? This doesn’t mean we have to kiss their ass … but it only makes sense that when dealing with other cultures, we need to understand who these people are, at their core, in order that we do not have false expectations about our diplomacy. Now as far as Iranian behavior in the post Obama give-a-way-the-farm program, they are only demonstrating how much contempt they have for President Obama and his stooge. It is Well, of course the stories you related tonight were about your experiences with Iranian people here in America, but you then segue into the disastrous negotiation with John Eff Kerry and so the bridge is complete. Hardly anyone we ever sent to Vietnam in a diplomatic capacity understood Vietnamese culture. This was the seed that led to my growing belief that our diplomatic corps may be the worst in the entire world. If we do not understand the culture of the people with whom we entreat, then how can we ever develop a pleasant, productive relationship with them? This doesn’t mean we have to kiss their ass … but it only makes sense that when dealing with other cultures, we need to understand who these people are, at their core, in order that we do not have false expectations about our diplomacy. Now as far as Iranian behavior in the post Obama give-a-way-the-farm program, they are only demonstrating how much contempt they have for President Obama and his stooge. Well, as I keep saying … elections do have consequences. It is as I keep saying … elections do have consequences.

    So what do you think, my fellow Americans; should we continue allowing unrestrained numbers of immigrants from the Middle East who have no intention of assimilating American culture?

  14. Mustang says:

    @ Kid
    Only our politicians are dogs and whores. I wish those people would get it right. Well, and also Sharpton and his ilk.

  15. Imp says:

    @Mustang…how about the latest scam? Illegal “minors” ( up to 21 ) being put on planes for free and transported here..to be “reunited” with their illegal families? I swear to God….we are doomed.
    They ( who ever they are ) justify this by claiming that the trek by foot or train is a burden and too dangerous. Then..free everything for them…things that life long US citizens are…denied.

  16. Baysider says:

    Great vid, Imp.

  17. Imp says:

    @Bay…enlightening, isn’t it? Think any one of these bakers were charged with violating the law?

  18. Baysider says:

    @Imp: Nope

  19. Imp says:

    I keep wondering…what if some day Sharia law filled the vacuum after the haters defeated Christianity? After the Christianphobes had all but silenced believers? In the article above, it was made clear that islam is outpacing Christianity in growth. Especially when you consider or take into account that Christianity is being purged relentlessly in the ME by the ISIS fanatics. Do the Gay haters even realize what jeopardy they’d be in then? I don’t think it’s an impossibility. Islam is on a mission…they have a clear goal. Even while we sit here and see the consequences…the future….do the gays actually think they’ll be a protected species as they are now…or in 2050?
    I wonder….I just wonder if they’ll know they lost their most tolerant and forgiving supporters?

  20. geeez2014 says:

    Imp; I’ve told you all that in Germany the muslims can march with GET THE JEWS on placards and the cops do NOTHING. And the media writes “GERMANS MARCH FOR ANTI SEMITISM!” And it’s ALL ARABS in the pictures… I swear.

    I knew we were done when I heard there was talk of reading Miranda Rights to terrorists;

    AND when we allowed Hispanics to SUE US because their relatives died in the desert while sneaking illegally into America..”You should have known they’d die and should have put food and water along the way”

    We can’t survive leftist BS. NO WAY

Leave a Reply

