Sunday Faith Blog

cell phone cartoon

bicycles

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Odd cartoons for a Sunday Faith Blog, aren’t they.   But the point is important.  How many of us spend too much time with the cell, constantly checking, “did I miss something?” when what we’re missing is right in front of us?  We want to be good to our loved ones, help them if they need help, be really with them, supporting, hearing them, not ignoring them!

Philippians 2:4   “Let each of you look not only to his own interests, but also to the interests of others.”

I believe we’re to really be there for the people in our lives, not constantly checking a cell phone or Facebook or Instagram.  How much are we really with a friend if we’re constantly checking our cell phone?

I think this is a great idea…The writing on the pink card says “Be with the friends who are here!!” 

cell phone basket

Let’s try to do this more during our normal day, not just at parties!  Do you find yourself guilty of paying more attention to your phone than those around you?   How much better a world if we show interest in our friends who are with us.   Show love, show caring….

Try!  Happy Sunday!
Z

 

This entry was posted in Sunday Faith Blog, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Sunday Faith Blog

  1. Sparky says:

    Very timely post. I harp on this very thing frequently. And I am so glad I don’t have a phone like that, just one that receives & sends phone calls. Nothing else. Our society is losing it’s ability to communicate without yelling, texting or suing each other. Very sad that.
    Hope your day is a blessed one. 🙂

  2. That basket ought to be at church.

  3. I got a smart phone and tried it out. After using it for about 6 weeks, I returned it, never to be seen again! I didn’t like the addictive nature of the beast. Even our cell phones are used sparingly. No contracts or monthly fees. We buy minutes annually, with carryover of unused time, which we always have. Have you noticed even Hillary is addicted to hers? Whenever you see her, her head is looking down at her phone for text messages.

  4. Baysider says:

    I think you’ve hit a nerve, Z. Love the basket!

    Great Ed – 14 year olds don’t need to be playing games on their phone during services, and very, very, very few of us have any reason to check our messages.

    In my neighborhood I have to be extra attentive walking down the street. We have hundreds of new apartments and 20-ish residents. Many of them will not look up walking down the sidewalk and run smack into you (my ‘favorite’ was a young mom with a baby strapped on her front, head down pounding away on her keyboard held just beyond baby, and I just stopped dead in front of her ‘cos she was positioned in a way you couldn’t get around her without BOTH parties shifting), or smack into a car making a lawful turn when Miss Face-in-Her-Phone marches across the red light without looking.

    I don’t know how many do this – even a small % makes it look like a lot. They think they’re ‘multi-tasking’ when actually all parties get the short shrift. My trainer just complained about an old buddy seated across from him at a casual lunch with maybe 12 people. It was 10 minutes before his friend even noticed he was there because his head was ducked down the whole time, didn’t hear the ‘hello John’ or next attempt at conversation. Another man – taking his wife and mother out for a Mother’s Day tea! – paid no attention to anything but his phone.

    I like your verse choice. Seems to be a theme throughout the NT. Must be a reason for that…..

  5. geeez2014 says:

    Sparky, I’m with you. I just last month started texting! FINALLY! I don’t even much like that but it’s almost required nowadays. I WILL NOT get any cell phone beyond calling/texting because if I could get into my computer, I’d be checking for comments when I’m away from the house and I don’t want to do that!
    I love when you come wish us blessings like you do so many Sundays….makes me feel blessed. Thank you, Sparky.

    Ed, right! I do remember your jokingly commenting a year or so ago “think it’s okay with God if I write this comment on your faith blog as I sit here at church!?” I often quote you because I found it so funny!

    Mal, funny that Hillary is SO plugged into her Blackberry, cell phones, etc., but gee, she just couldn’t figure out anything else, right?

    Baysider…I see that so much, too. Young people in their twenties/thirties, just CROSS THE STREET, like “I have the right of way, it’s YOUR PROBLEM if you don’t stop” They feel THAT entitled that they’re willing to risk their LIVES (and that of their babies, quite often!)???

  6. Baysider says:

    Ed is very funny. Quick and droll. I quote him often to Mr. B. Very similar humor.

  7. Imp says:

    Personally, I embrace the new technology and find it’s usefulness unlimited. I have no fear of it and limit myself to only useful apps on each. Which is very much subjective. I too had a Nokia flip phone just maybe 4 years back and I vowed I’d never need or have an iPhone or an iPad. What I don’t spend my time or energy on is FB, “social” networking ( although I fully engage the networking here! ) or text messaging. The latter of which I find absurd. I can’t understand why anyone would pound out a message in text, using a telephone, over picking up the same and calling someone. I find it an annoying, cold and an impersonal cop out. Especially from our kids on a holiday, birthday or substituting as “conversation”.
    I do rely on my contact list , calendar and notes though. Where I plug in my daily meetings or birthday reminders, appointments, etc. Yet I know some who have iPhones and still write their important stuff on scraps of paper…LOL But…that’s me. Plus I use a GPS in the iPhone and some photo apps. I don’t miss the rotary dialers one bit.

    I think we all have to admit that without our PC’s and Macs we wouldn’t be here and doing what we do everyday…..that alone I’m thankful for. Oh…and Skype too. 🙂

  8. geeez2014 says:

    Ed can be VERY funny and I love that!

    Imp; I personally find it very sad when I see a bunch of young women having dinner together and they’re all on their phones, texting, whatever. I think it’s hugely cutting into personal time with others and don’t see this changing.
    I hated texting until I started; now I love that I don’t necessarily have to have a big telephone conversation just to get some information. I don’t do it much at ALL…..only in spates when there’s some topic my sisters or friends are texting about…(plans for a party, etc). but normally…nothing.
    A friend once told me “If it weren’t for texting, I’d never be in touch with my daughters” That’s BAD.. CALL them! 🙂 But, yes, I do see a good reason for texting now.

    facebook is a whole other thing. While I’m curious of my nephews’ babies’ pictures, etc., I do NOT have a page, don’t want a page, and think it’s a poor excuse for real friendship. Still, as I say that, I know folks who are in touch via facebook with people they’d have never been in touch with (from the past, for example) if it weren’t for facebook, so that’s probably a good thing.
    I don’t like it but…that’s just me!

  9. Imp says:

    Z…Bravo…your choices are good ones and I feel the same…a quick text about..”what time for the party or where are you?” is fine with me. But a voice is what I really miss with some people. Some email too damn much too…LMAO…know what I’m saying and accusing myself of..!! My wife does FB and I think it’s mostly for the purposes you’ve outlined. Far flung family members, birthdays, wedding and yes…deaths. Oh…and that’s my daughter your friend was commenting about.

  10. I often text to set up a phone call, since I don’t know if the recipient is engaged otherwise.
    And you can text contact info or photos.

  11. Imp says:

    @Ed…yes….me too. It’s really useful for that.

  12. Baysider says:

    Oh my gosh, not only am I the only one on this blog without a flat screen TV, apparently without a smart phone, too. A friend gave me her old iPhone4 with the caveat that even her boyfriend was able to learn to use it after a massive stroke that really affected how well he can process info – so it can’t be hard! I just have to take it to the store to see if they can set it up for me. It do need to have a calendar with me. FB – never. Mr. B agrees with Imp – call or visit.

    We’re talking about a discipline issue and just plain rudeness (LOVE your first cartoon), aren’t we.

    Imp doesn’t miss rotary dialers? Me either. You have to take off your shoe. 🙂

  13. geeez2014 says:

    I don’t have a smart phone…no way.

    Yes, discipline and RUDENESS….. I have a rotary dial old fashioned telephone from Restoration Hardware in living room. I LOVE IT 🙂 (OKAY, it looks JUST like a dial phone but it has push buttons..!!)

  14. Kid says:

    Well, the only time I look at my iPhone is when I get an alert that someone texted me, usually my wife, and I enjoy texting because it’s private without me heading off somewhere to make it private. She’ll type Steaks tonite? and I’ll type “K”. Done. Very effecient. The only time I’ll pick the thing up when in the company of others is to periodically check what a stock is doing that I’m trading.
    If I’m alone, I’ll look at it for mail, news, research. No games on my phone. I don’t do FB, but the people who normally wouldn’t but do – do it to keep track of their large extended family. That seems very effecient also. The last time I face timed with someone they said I broke the screen on their phone so I don’t do that anymore.
    Outside of that I love being able to use for navigation, and there is an App called MAZE that apparently everyone uses that you can quickly use to check traffic conditions, accidents, cops, all things road. More info than google maps.

    I absolutely find a lot of value in having it. I’ve been using computers since 1980 to make my life easier so this is a natural progression.
    I also feel negatively about people walking or driving and starting at a phone. If it wasn’t for air bags, we might be rid of these people by now.

  15. Kid says:

    PS, Checking the price of an item I’m thinking about buying when I’m out somewhere. That in itself has paid for the phone.

  16. Imp says:

    @Bay..”A friend gave me her old iPhone4″…

    They’re fine…that was my first one and now I have my kids 4S…that’s enough of an upgrade for me. Besides I like the old Operating system and app buttons far more than their newest “update” which I find cartoonish, flat and just ugly. And it’s always bugging me with an “update” available for the phone. Problem is I have an older Mac ( 10 years old ) that won’t syn with the new OS…how’s that for planned obsolescence you Apple putz’s.

    And Bay…I didn’t get a “Smart TV ” until this past Christmas where my wife and daughter chipped in for me. It’s my wife who watches it now solely….I have two CRT TV’s that I watch. A 15 year old Panasonic and an 8 year old Sony in the guest room. About a year ago we gave away an MGA ( Mitsubishi ) that we had working for 35 years! Turned on every day…never had to fix it….I just added the government approved digital converter when they abandoned analog.

    And Bay…ounce you get used to the “Settings” part of the iPhone….you’ll see it’s a breeze to use. Good Luck. Go to YouTube and they’ll teach you everything you need to know about the phone too..usually uploaded by geeky 10 year olds…LOL

  17. Imp says:

    @Kid….The last time I face timed with someone they said I broke the screen on their phone so I don’t do that anymore…”

    Thank God…the world certainly has been saved now.

  18. Kid says:

    I do my part IMP.

  19. Imp says:

    @Bay..Oh..and calendars, notepad, contacts, music, photos, camera roll, clock and reminders are all standard stuff on all the phones

  20. Imp says:

    Kid…I know..it’s hard but we all try in our separate ways…eh?

  21. Baysider says:

    Imp – thanks for the info.

Leave a Reply

