Sunday Faith Blog….and Happy Mother’s Day

nordeney birds

Since the time of Peter and Paul, Christians have thought Jesus was coming back during their lifetime.  Paul certainly did for a while.  People have thought that what Christians call “End Times” is going to happen any minute.  It hasn’t, obviously.  But we all hear people talking today about how bad things are getting, morally, spiritually, etc.    Our country is upside down….it seems like everything we’ve thought was good is scorned and what we thought was evil is championed.

“Woe to those who call evil good and good evil, who put darkness for light and light for darkness, who put bitter for sweet and sweet for bitter!”  Isaiah 5:20

Ann Graham Lott warns again that we’re facing ‘real End Times’…that this is about to happen.  Do you believe that’s true?  Have you really studied the “End Times” at all?   Many believe God is a wrathful, unjust God for having caused Noah’s flood or what’s promised to our world in Revelations.  Those of you who’ve studied know differently.

Matthew 24:36-37:36 “No one knows about that day or hour, not even the angels in heaven, nor the Son, but only the Father. 37 As it was in the days of Noah, so it will be at the coming of the Son of Man.”

I have never chosen to learn much on this subject; I have never even read all of Revelation in any studious way.  I’ve avoided it on purpose.

I will say that I’ve had friends for years who I’ve heard say “Come, Lord Jesus!” and I’ve thought “My gosh, don’t they LOVE LIVING? I DO!”   In the last years, I have understood, more and more, their prayer.

This know also, that in the last days perilous times shall come.For men shall be lovers of their own selves, covetous, boasters, proud, blasphemers, disobedient to parents, unthankful, unholy,Without natural affection, trucebreakers, false accusers, incontinent, fierce, despisers of those that are good,Traitors, heady, highminded, lovers of pleasures more than lovers of God;Having a form of godliness, but denying the power thereof: from such turn away.   2 Timothy  3: 1-5

Got any answers to my questions above?  What are your thoughts on Ann Lott’s information?

 “11 Since everything will be destroyed in this way, what kind of people ought you to be? You ought to live holy and godly lives 12 as you look forward to the day of God and speed its coming. That day will bring about the destruction of the heavens by fire, and the elements will melt in the heat. 13 But in keeping with his promise we are looking forward to a new heaven and a new earth, the home of righteousness. 14 So then, dear friends, since you are looking forward to this, make every effort to be found spotless, blameless and at peace with him. 15 Bear in mind that our Lord’s patience means salvation, just as our dear brother Paul also wrote you with the wisdom that God gave him.”  Second Peter 3:11-14

On a (much!) more cheerful note:  “If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.” —1 John 1:9

Have a good Sunday!    I hope you chime in on any of the above!!   It’ll be interesting to us all.

Z

This entry was posted in Sunday Faith Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Sunday Faith Blog….and Happy Mother’s Day

  1. I’ve wondered and worried about the end times for years, but recently I’ve had more peace about it ( I think because I feel more in touch with Jesus. I don’t want the end times to come when I’m here! Or my kids or my grand kids… I thank God for every day extra we get to turn towards Him (plus I love this beautiful world!

  2. Kid says:

    I enjoy living but if I see it coming, I’ll be on the front porch with a bottle of wine and will calmly let it wash over me.
    Imo, everything that is supposed to be happening at the end times has always been happening. It is just that we have a lot more people running around so it seems like more and more of it is happening.
    And Fire and Brimstone sounds like a super nova of our sun to me. Experts say that won’t happen for a couple billion years.
    It’s nice to think God will come save us, and I pray myself sometimes for a little help, but there’s no doubt, we’re going to have to put a lot of effort into saving ourselves.

  3. Its funny you mention the end times. I mentioned that to our pastor today and he agreed he felt we are. As for loving life, yes, I also don’t want our beautiful life to end, but if I were a Muslim living in the middle East, I would probably welcome the end! I guess it all depends on the kind of life and belief you have, huh? As was mentioned above, I certainly don’t want it to happen while I’M alive nor my kids, Grandkids, and Great Grandkids. Funny how that works. On one hand, we await the Rapture; However, on the OTHER hand, we’re uncertain and a bit afraid of what we might encounter.

  4. Mustang says:
    I don’t think that the end of times means dying. I think it means living … in Heaven and in the presence of God. What could be better than that? Like you, I have never been a fan of Revelations, nor anyone who runs around trying to scare people into seeking God. Look, either you believe in God or you don’t. Either you love God, and want to be a good son or daughter, or you don’t. Scaring people to rush to the alter is not how I see the role of the clergy, nor scourging people until they decide to behave themselves. I do agree that we are in a time of judgment; our country is falling apart because we have turned our face from God. I can’t fix this for America; America will have to fix it, or be tossed into the dust bin of once-great nations. If the end of times approaches, I hope to be on the porch with my friend Kid watching it take place and letting it wash over me. What a peaceful thought that is.
  5. I agree with Mustang that we shouldn’t be scared into being a believer. I don’t think God wants that, either. If you truly believe, you will be at peace.

  6. geeez2014 says:

    You can’t be scared into being a believer….unless God wants you to become a believer, one of His sheep. Then, and only then.

    “Either you believe in God or you don’t.” in a nutshell.

    I actually do think things are getting worse; for example, the Miss America contest started with bathing suits down to the ankles……now they’re practically in pasties and G strings…what’s coming next? Complete nudity came before the Fall of the Roman Empire. I’m not a prude in appropriate places and times, but….I’m thinking this is a kind of time when God’s admonition of “Evil replacing Good” is pretty apparent..to say nothing of so many children born out of wedlock and suffering badly for it. Families falling apart. Greed everywhere we look.

    Today, the sermon at church was SO on this…..not on End Times, per se, but on how FEAR CANNOT EXIST WHEN THERE IS JOY. And JOY is only from God, TRUE JOY. And, brother, do we have FEAR. a kind of dread, today or what?

    When Love goes cold, fear enters….and, let’s face it, Americans are very fearful these days, of SO MUCH. “Truth is not a reality in our lives” anymore, as Kent said. There’s “No sense of transcendent purpose”…. It’s “Chaotic when all are doing their own morality, their own truth, their own values.” Isaiah 53:6 “We all, like sheep, have gone astray, each of us has turned to our own way;and the Lord has laid on Him the iniquity of us all.”

    Americans have gone astray……..

    Matthew 24:10-14 “At that time many will turn away from the faith and will betray and hate each other, 11 and many false prophets will appear and deceive many people. 12 Because of the increase of wickedness, the love of most will grow cold, 13 but the one who stands firm to the end will be saved. 14 And this gospel of the kingdom will be preached in the whole world as a testimony to all nations, and then the end will come.”

    “The Love of most will grow cold.”

    I thought of this in church today when I heard that: We have a kind of JOY here at geeeZ in sharing our opinions and commiserating with each other, feeling that others have the same values we have, the same love of country, etc. And I want to say how much I appreciate you all……………

  7. The study of “end times” is called eschatology.
    The Late Great Planet Earth by Hal Lindsey was one of the most popular modern efforts at this.
    100 years ago, a different approach was taken to this because of the references to Israel.
    there was no Israel left on the earth.
    The church was considered to be Spiritual Israel and heirs to the promises. This is called Replacement Theology. This belief directed whether you believed in a “millennium”.
    Many believed that this world would get better and usher in the return of Christ.
    Two world wars trashed that notion.
    With the re-institution of political Israel in 1948, this was all turned upside down.
    Now, miraculously, there was a physical Israel that the prophecies could relate to.
    Hal Lindsey’s book picked up on this and people thought with Israel back on the scene, Jesus would return in a generation, or roughly 40 years.
    But with the restoration of Jerusalem as Israel’s capital, there is no prophecy precluding the imminent arrival of Jesus to claim his throne.
    I recently took my class through Revelation. You have to know a lot of Old Testament prophecy to put Revelation in perspective.
    Otherwise it would be like trying to read the last chapter of a detective novel.
    Sure, you know the ending, but you don’t know the characters or the references.
    In the Old Testament there are so many prophecies (the King of the north shall.. the queen of the south…etc) that don’t make sense until you get the history and are amazed at the accuracy of the prophecy.
    The Jews thought they had the first arrival of Christ figured out and missed it.
    I often wonder if that will happen to Christians with the second.
    It may not happen like we think, but when it happens, it will fit the script.
    Paul said, “Even so, come Lord Jesus.”
    You can love this world.
    We have to love the Lord more than this world.
    The word Rapture is not used in the Bible, but the event and circumstances are described.
    When Jesus comes back, I believe I and other believers (even those who will be surprised by it) will have an aerial view. So much to say about this, whether it is pre-, mid- or post-Tribulation.
    But He is coming back.
    Like the bumper sticker says:
    “Jesus is coming back soon. Look busy.”

    (This is why I don’t write posts at my place 🙂 )

  8. Z: It appears we were composing comments simultaneously.
    I believe you know: “Count it all Joy” is not a recognition of being ‘happy”.
    It is a cultivation of a mindset that is based on an assurance of God’s promises.
    But I felt it should be said for those who don’t.
    Hope I haven’t appeared too pedantic.

  9. silverfiddle says:

    Happy Mother’s Day!

  10. geeez2014 says:

    Ed, as I said above in a comment “And JOY is only from God, TRUE JOY.” Joy in that way has nothing to do with happy, except it can make us happy.
    But I will say I feel a certain joy, and don’t apologize for it, for the people here who I share values with.

    I don’t even quite get the ‘busy’ thing in relation to Jesus? you wrote “Jesus is coming back soon. Look busy.”

    Jan Lindsey was in my Bible study class for 2 years; SHE is a JOY, believe me. Every time someone asked me a question I knew Jan would be better with, I’d ask her and we’d all be informed incredibly well. My dear friend who just died’s garage was the first place where Hal’s LATE GREAT PLANET EARTH were del’d for sale! Her husband financed it….good stuff, the history of that book is a part of my large bible study and fun to remember, though it’s YEARS before I showed up there!

    Yes, a little pedantic, but I appreciate it!

  11. It’s on a par with saying “the boss is coming, look busy”.
    The other one is, “Jesus is coming soon, and boy is he ticked”.

  12. geeez2014 says:

    Ed, I like “Don’t make me come DOWN THERE!”!!!

  13. Yep. But we will.

  14. geeez2014 says:

    We ARE, not WILL 🙂

  15. Kid says:

    Mustang, I’ll buy.

  16. geeez2014 says:

    Kid and Mustang…..you buy, I’ll sit with you 🙂 I’ll cook something to go with.

  17. geeez2014 says:

    had DELICIOUS fried calamari to start tonight at dinner out…..anybody want some? 🙂

  18. Mmmmmmmmmmmmm. Thanks, but it’s my bedtime.

  19. Kid says:

    Z, That sounds delicious in more ways than one.

    And Yes, good calamari is wonderful.

  20. geeez2014 says:

    Goodnight, Ed….hug Scherie from ME 🙂

    Kid…it does sound delicious….you and Mustang and I could solve ALL the world problems on that porch; Of course, we do via emails, if ANYBODY WOULD LISTEN 🙂
    The calamari itself was very tender and plump and cooked just right, not too long….the batter was thin and very crisp (I love the tentacle bits!); served with lemons and/or a red kind of marinara sauce..mmmmmmmmmmmmmm

  21. geeez2014 says:

    Finally woke UP and said to Mom “Hey, Mom…do you like the tentacles, too? (we were sharing)..she said “Yes” and I had to say “GeeeZ, I think I’ve eaten all but this one… HERE ya go!! :0) ” (oops!)

  22. Kid says:

    Z, “The calamari itself was very tender and plump and cooked just right, not too long….the batter was thin and very crisp (I love the tentacle bits!); served with lemons and/or a red kind of marinara sauce..mmmmmmmmmmmmmm”

    Oh My.

    PS – Oh My 😉

  23. geeez2014 says:

    Yup…THAT GOOD, Kid 🙂

  24. Imp says:

    Made fresh Bronzino for the wife tonight to celebrate Mother’s Day. One of the yummiest fish I’ve ever had too. Mustang…I’ll share mine with my friend Kid….LOL

  25. Imp says:

    In closing….I offer this…should have posted it yesterday.

  26. Kid says:

    IMP<. THose hitler vids are hilarious. I love the one where Scott Walker wins the recall election… hahaha

  27. geeez2014 says:

    They are VERY cleverly done, aren’t they!

    My VERY favorite will be when the Democrats get voted OUT OF OFFICE…I never thought I’d say this on ANY blog, but then it’ll be “Hitler, BRING IT ON!” 🙂 (only in this way, of course!)

Leave a Reply

