Ben Carson talked about this…

When I heard this poem spoken about by Ben Carson, I wanted to check out the poem and I found it and thought I’d share it with you.   I hope it blesses you or someone you know! It’s not a good poem, that’s for sure, but the message is one we don’t hear much anymore and I think it’s important.  Lots of wisdom here.

“Yourself to Blame” by Mayme White Miller

If things go bad for you
And make you a bit ashamed
Often you will find out that
You have yourself to blame

Swiftly we ran to mischief
And then the bad luck came
Why do we fault others?
We have ourselves to blame

Whatever happens to us,
Here is what we say
“Had it not been for so-and-so
Things wouldn’t have gone that way.”

And if you are short of friends,
I’ll tell you what to do
Make an examination,
You’ll find the faults in you…

Your the captain of your ship,
So agree with the same
If you travel downward
You have yourself to blame 

Actually, here’s one time I personally give you permission not to take any blame:

don't blame me

I also wanted to share where I found the poem;  At Rob Jones’ blog….a truly amazing young man I think you’ll want to check out.

Z

This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Ben Carson talked about this…

  1. jerrydablade says:

    From bootstraps and self reliance to “you didn’t build that”. And don’t let the mailbox money run late. I am the captain of my ship, but why is that kenyan shooting holes in my hull? Have a great weekend Z!

  2. Mustang says:

    I find it interesting that the left constantly demands that we become good stewards of our planet, while concurrently illustrating what lousy wardens they are of our Republic. Hypocrites.

  3. geeez2014 says:

    “I am the captain of my ship, but why is that kenyan shooting holes in my hull?”
    Jerry; PERFECT

    Mustang….what a good point. But we know our Republic isn’t as important to them.

    Have many of you heard that Ted Turner’s given six million to the UN so they can pay the media to push their agenda? http://www.foxnews.com/world/2015/05/22/foundations-plan-to-pay-news-media-to-cover-radical-un-agenda/
    Imagine if the Koch Bros did this FOR a Conservative cause? I only ran across this article by happenstance; let’s see if the media covers it. Another “Friday night info dump”, huh?

  4. Mustang says:

    I read earlier that the owner of Ben & Jerry’s Ice Cream, best described as an anti-capitalist, American hating, self-loathing Jew, is trying to raise millions of dollars to defeat the Koch Brothers, who he claims have poisoned the well of American democracy. It makes you wonder if anyone who’s made so much money as Ben Cohen can really be that stupid. Does he not see the hypocrisy? Moreover, hasn’t George Soros given away over ten million dollars in the 2014 race to steal the election away from the American people?

  5. Funny, I just now completed another ad for Your Voice Your Ad. it’s not up for a vote so don’t go looking for it.
    It’s inspired by the thought, “How did I get here? Where did I go wrong?”

  6. There is a lot of truth in this poem. Perhaps more than we want to admit. Its hard to point the finger at yourself or admit you were wrong and much easier to blame someone or something else for your problems. Its good to always keep this poem in our minds.

  7. Kid says:

    I like your Ad ED. Very clever.

    Z, Yes, Self-accountability is one of the major things many people have lost in them self and that America has lost as a result. No one is responsible for the current condition anymore. No One.
    No one even talks about that. They’re all just standing in a circle shooting at each other while we wait for something sensible to happen.

  8. Kid says:

    PS. Have a great Memorial weekend all.

  9. Baysider says:

    I just ran across a natural corollary to this madness. If I can’t blame you I’ll still blame you in my heart and handicap you so you can’t do better than me.
    “… good parenting gives kids an unfair advantage. …married parents who love and invest in their children give them a huge leg-up in life. By “abolishing the family,” says Professor Adam Swift, “we could eliminate unfairness,” and create a “level playing field.” Or we might handicap some families so that they can’t confer so many advantages on their kids.”
    http://www.thepointradio.org/listen/entry/38/27414

  10. Kid says:

    Bay, that’s the libtard way. You’ve read Harrison Bergeron ?
    http://www.tnellen.com/cybereng/harrison.html

  11. geeez2014 says:

    Baysider…I’ve been moaning and groaning about that story and telling people about it since I first heard about it and I still can’t QUITE believe it; neither can anybody I’ve told.
    Yes, Do NOT read to your children because, gee, others don’t and it’s just not fair to their children. It’s so insane it’s beyond reality.
    UNBELIEVABLE.

    Kid, that’s quite a story…….GAD!!!

  12. Kid says:

    Z, I believe that could actually come to pass if it wasn’t for the vermin all around the world who would kills us off long beforehand.

  13. Mustang says:

    @ Baysider

    My first reaction to your information was, “Good grief.” Then I followed the link, and having digested the additional information along with a single malt scotch, I decided that the leftist view is quite consistent. Good parenting screws it up for everyone .. and given the fact that these idiots find their way into government bureaucracies well justifies the notion that no sane human being should trust their government. Here in the States, we see the same criminally lame representations by those who argue that we should trust child-raising to deviant women and depraved men (aka the homosexual community). Worse even is that this idea is supported by a number of judges at the state and federal level. What a surprise that many of these are themselves homosexuals. What a cess pit the left is turning society into … globally, and nothing about this is good for human kind.

  14. Kid says:

    Mustang. Help me teach all these people that a perfect sight picture is when a point halfway down the barrel appears aligned with the rear saddle sight.

  15. geeez2014 says:

    Kid, that’s what I thought; society will never live that long. Maybe that’s a good thing. Or a GOD thing!

    Mustang, isn’t it amazing? Nobody believes me, except that they know me and I wouldn’t pass on that stuff if it weren’t true.
    There was an article 3 days ago about a father having married his ‘son’….I believe it was his stepson whom he’d raised and then they couldn’t marry so he legally adopted him (something the article says isn’t uncommon!) and then they married….Gad, I Googled to find the article and there are so many I couldn’t hone in on which this particular couple were for a link to post here.

    Baysider, Happy Birthday…what day exactly is it?

  16. Mustang says:

    @ Kid

    Okay.

    @ Z

    The only rational solution to a father wanting to marry his stepson, or a step mother having sex with her stepson, or all kinds of other entanglements which (as you say) are smothering the internet, is to put those people down. I don’t mean prison, I mean putting them down permanently. Sending a homo to prison is like punishing a child by sending them to the candy store.

  17. Kid says:

    Mustang, No, I want them aiming high.

    And yes, some people need to be put down. I’d post a link but it is the magnificent and virtuous Z blog….

  18. Baysider says:

    Z – Thanks. May 30
    Kid – I’ve read it now!! Whew. Boy. What prescience.
    And father marrying stepsons? Oi, oi, oi.

    Things look so bleak. The depravity and lawlessness of authorities would have been unfathomable in the U.S. in 1965 (except, of course, to Mr. Vonnegut, Orwell and a few others). I just finished reading a book about William Tyndale, living ca. 1530. That made him a contemporary of Luther’s, and of course both charged headlong into the Roman Catholic juggernaut of the time which we all know was rife with corruption, from the catalog of fiscal indulgences to moral turpitude. It was an era when people called some Cardinals virtual living saints because they confined their sexual activities to adult women!

    We were so blessed and so spoiled to have been born into the heritage we have let slip away. But in the bigger picture, that heritage isn’t our world – and certainly not ours here anymore. C.S. Lewis notes that Christ did not not come primarily to teach but to invade enemy-occupied territory. I might word it differently, but it’s a graphic image to behold. He did not consolidate His victory in one fell swoop, but leaves that to each generation to participate in. Fortunately, He calls those to step into the gap, e.g. John Stonestreet of the Chuck Colson Center for Christian Worldview whose break point I linked, and the ‘ministry’ of restoring all things. And us.

Leave a Reply

