Sunday Faith Blog

                                     “Say what he did and do what He said.”

today

That about says it all, doesn’t it.

1 John 2: 11  “My little children, I am writing these things to you so that you may not sin. But if anyone does sin, we have an advocate with the Father, Jesus Christ the righteous. He is the propitiation for our sins, and not for ours only but also for the sins of the whole world. And by this we know that we have come to know him, if we keep his commandments. Whoever says “I know him” but does not keep his commandments is a liar, and the truth is not in him, but whoever keeps his word, in him truly the love of God is perfected. By this we may know that we are in him..”

do what he says

                           Have a beautiful Sunday……..Share.  It’s so worth it.

Z

 

This entry was posted in Sunday Faith Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Sunday Faith Blog

  1. We just did 1st John 2 and 3 Wednesday night. Good stuff.

  2. I believe this message hits home with most of us. Don’t just SAY what I say. DO what I say.

  3. geeez2014 says:

    Ed, no coincidences, right? We had such a good sermon today on Pentacost and the music was so fantastic..maybe I should post a link to a good praise song on pentacost….

    Mal, But the SAY WHAT HE DID part’s so relevant to my quote, too, don’t you think? Do what HE said, Tell what HE did (like dying on the cross)?

  4. Baysider says:

    I’m currently reading a provocative book The Gospel According to Jesus. It was on my mother’s shelf, and one that I saved to read later. It has shifted my rudder, I’ll tell you. No ‘surprises’ or ‘secrets’ here. Just a perspective adjustment in evaluating my life as a Christian. Mr. B is anxious to leave for shopping and I agreed to go, so I’ll try to post an example later. But, in a way, this IS an example (I HATE SHOPPING).

  5. geeez2014 says:

    Baysider, we’ll look forward to hearing the adjustment material! Most good Christian books do that, I think, so I’ll be happy to hear this specific insight….
    Have you ever read Dotty’s book?

  6. Baysider says:

    Well, none of these ideas is new or a secret, but the position of Jesus being MY Lord is sinking in. In egalitarian societies we don’t THINK in terms of Lordship, so it’s kind of foreign to us.

    I find my perspective of the doctrine of eternal security expanding. Salvation is still forever, but that other facet is coming into view more – as the Puritans expressed it, ‘perseverance of the saints.’ I think more about perseverance.

    The rich young ruler has been a puzzle to me. He’s open, he comes to the right source, asks the right question, but leaves without redemption. How can that be? Jesus recognized his possessions were a higher priority and challenges him there. And it shows that the man has an exception to what he’s willing to ‘do’ (HE asked that question – ‘what must I do’?). I knew Jesus wasn’t saying ‘give more to charity to be saved’ and now I understand He is saying “but you are the one who wants to still be running your life. I want to be Lord.” Ouch!

    Am I? If He is truly my Lord, how does that look – where I spend my time, money and actions and worries? If I want to ‘persevere’ what do I need to change in my priorities that suits His? Well, the answer isn’t always BIG things, but little things, and I started looking at what some of those are.

    From Jesus’ parables of the soils and the wheat and the tares I have less fear of conversations about Christ because I am more secure in my role – to broadcast seed (yes! – the subject of your blog today. God bless Peggy H for her example.). God wants us to sow seed, to be ambassadors. Accept that real tares will never become wheat, and can’t be groomed to look like wheat.

    Now, it would be a stretch to claim Jesus doesn’t want us to not be concerned that there are tares and they have perils. But He assures us He knows how to separate them out when He comes reaping. So I don’t want to ignore them but make sure they have their ‘proper’ place on my list, as I am an ambassador, not an inquisitor. It’s so hard to ‘make’ society live like the kingdom when they are not part of it, isn’t it? What if I put more effort into being a diligent sower?

    Like I said – nothing new here except renewed thinking and application of truth I already know.

    We’ve been so blessed and spoiled to live in a country that is about as close to perfect as life on earth gets. I think that shifts our view more easily to our citizenship here, and of course we want to repair that. I imagine that in most times and places it was easier to grab hold of the hope and the reality of our citizenship in heaven.

    I have Dotty’s book, and only started it earlier. It’s back on my reading stand now, and I really look forward to it.

  7. geeez2014 says:

    “I have less fear of conversations about Christ” Yes, Yes, Yes! Saying what He did is what we should be doing, but not many of us do. You give encouragement and insight and I appreciate that for me and anybody else wise enough to read your comment (AND my blog ..HA!)
    And yes, Peggy H, and Barbara G and Wilma C and all those women (Oh, and BELLE!) who have NO PROBLEM talking to ANYBODY about faith. Amazing.
    IF WE believe it, why CAN’T everybody? Interesting topic. Is it only HOW MUCH we believe it that holds us back? Well………I have to admit that it’s not MY favorite thing and you’ll NEVER find me talking to the frozen foods guy at Trader Joe’s about Christ, like many of these women have! (unless he asked :-))
    Mr. Z became a strong believer at the end of his life, the last five years , maybe ten?…he was so stunned at the study women praying for his business, and then his health “They don’t even KNOW me, most of them!” It made a HUGE impact on him…that, and other things, but that was a big one.

  8. YES, Z, I AGREE. I MEANT WHAT HE SAID WAS OF UTMOST IMPORTANCE, ALSO.

  9. geeez2014 says:

    Mal, I couldn’t agree more.!!
    Did you read Baysider’s long comment; excellent

  10. Yes, Z, I just read Baysider’s comments. In short, we all know what we are SUPPOSE to do. DOING it is another matter. Its hard when we have so much in this country to tempt us to stray from his teachings. The way I look at it, we are born into a sinful world and everyone sins in thought, word, and/or deed. If we say we don’t, we’re only fooling ourselves. This is everyone’s battle. Hey! I’m trying. At my age (going on 87) I figure I’m studying for my finals! 🙂

Leave a Reply

