Sunday Faith Blog

Imagine parents DRUGGING their children?  Take a look at a terrific piece most of us have probably seen but it can’t hurt to see it again and PASS IT TO THE YOUNG FAMILIES IN YOUR LIVES (please do that):

At my 50th high school reunion a  friend asked me, ‘Why didn’t we have a drug problem when we were growing up?’

I replied that I had a drug problem when I was young: I was drug to
church  on Sunday morning. I was drug to church for weddings and
funerals. I was drug to  family reunions and community socials no
matter the weather.

I was drug by my  ears when I was disrespectful to adults. I was also
drug to the woodshed when I  disobeyed my parents, told a lie, brought
home a bad report card, did not speak  with respect, spoke ill of the
teacher or the pastor, or if I didn’t put forth  my best effort in
everything that was asked of me.

I was drug to the kitchen sink to have my mouth washed  out with soap
if I uttered a profanity. I was drug out to pull weeds in mom’s  garden
and flower beds.

I was drug to the homes of neighbors to help mow the  yard, repair the
clothesline, and if my mother had ever known that I took a  single dime
as a tip for this kindness, my dad would have drug me back to the
woodshed.

Those drugs are still in my veins and they affect my  behavior in
everything I do, say, or think. They are stronger than cocaine,  crack,
or heroin, and if today’s children had this kind of drug problem,
America  would be a better place.

God bless the parents who  drugged us….and for those that didn’t, I’m
really  sorry… (end)

Z:  I think we can really do with a lot MORE “Drugging”…….Imagine if parents today did any of the above?  Kids could call Child Protective Services and be placed with other people.  Some truly bad parents have necessitated this kind of situation and this situation’s been horribly abused by kids and the states…..

I will always believe that FAITH is part of this DRUGGING that leads our kids to better things.  Yes, there are faithful who err, too, but it’s a whole lot better start than no faith.

Pray for the families who aren’t DRUGGING and pray for those who are, too!   Our country will be grateful.

jesus and child

“Blessed is the man who fears the LORD, who greatly delights in his commandments! His offspring will be mighty in the land; the generation of the upright will be blessed.”  Psalms 112:1-2

ALSO:  Please keep Imp and his family in prayer as he lost his sister yesterday after her  fight with cancer.  Imp was by her side for days and I wish him peace and comfort through this loss and always.

Have a prayerful Sunday…

Z

This entry was posted in Sunday Faith Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Sunday Faith Blog

  1. Prayers for Imp and his family.

  2. silverfiddle says:

    Indeed. I hate it when parents say they are not going to “impose their values” on their children by dragging them to church. Most often its an excuse for why the parents don’t go to church.

    Now more than ever it is imperative that we teach our children well, because everything in popular culture and the world in general is teaching them all the wrong things.

  3. Dragging them to church (which i agree with, indoctrinate them with my values, not the NEAs), is like pull starting a motor.
    You hope it catches and runs on it’s own .

  4. Those “drugs” were great “drugs”, Z. And knowing your parents, I admire the great job they did with you all. Imp, its always sad when you lose a friend, and even more sad when its one from your original family. My heartfelt sympathy to you and your family.

  5. Baysider says:

    Like pull starting a motor! That’s rich, Ed.

    Imp, I’m so sorry to learn about your sister. You’ve both been in my prayers (and especially the last few days as I noticed you were not on the blog). Prayers for your peace, my friend, for you and your families.

  6. Kid says:

    Spare the rod, spoil the child.
    IMP and I talk.

  7. geeez2014 says:

    SF:

    I have always loved the string intro into this…..and this whole song.
    Teach Your Children Well….

    ED…it’s hard to tell, isn’t it. Some stick, some don’t.

    Mal, my folks DID a great job; thanks. I know you did, too.

    To all of you who’ve prayed for Imp, we’ve been in close email contact through this (and other crises), and he has written me voicing such appreciation for you all…he REALLY appreciates your prayers.

    Kid…I’m with you on that saying.

    Regarding CHURCH GOING FOR KIDS: I’ realize that little kids of five and seven and nine have a very hard time just sitting for an hour (most are whisked to Sunday School, anyway); If they are not, they don’t understand a sermon, etc. …but I firmly believe that even if it isn’t the fact that it’s a church service, it’s very important to grow them up learning that sometimes we just have to SIT. Quietly. Behave well. Listen even if we don’t understand. Don’t be rude. Just SIT THERE…you will learn there’s an end to that time, and you might even start to enjoy it. If you don’t, all’s the better, because life is often sitting through things we’re not fond of.
    End of Sermon 🙂

  8. Kid says:

    Z, people get most of their values at the early ages.

  9. Kid says:

    PS, Nice tune.

  10. geeez2014 says:

    Ed…done. Good luck!!

    Kid, VERY

  11. Baysider says:

    Yes Ed, done. !!

  12. Mustang says:

    I love Imp as a brother and I am grieving for his loss.

  13. Mustang says:

    Mr. & Mrs. Baysider are turning out to be great friends.

Leave a Reply

