Sunday Faith Blog

prayTell us why, and if, you think PRAYING is effective at all.    C. S. Lewis says (I paraphrase) “the dentist can drill and it doesn’t matter if you’re clutching the arms of the chair or have them at respose in your lap….he’s drilling anyway”

Let’s talk about this….I think it’s important and I’ll bet you do, too.

“…..for your Father knows what you need before you ask him.”   From Matthew.  And, so……..if that’s the case…

“And when He (Jesus) had sent the multitudes away, He went up on the mountain by Himself to pray.”   Also from Matthew.

Pray alone? Pray with others?  Pray specifically?  Pray knowing He knows already what you’re praying about?  Pray.  What’s important is that we DO PRAY.  WHY?  SO many things I could say about these things, and I hope to, later;  I’m hoping many of you will start it off…. this is a subject that can’t be more important, especially TODAY in America.

God bless you all!
Z

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Sunday Faith Blog

  1. alec says:

    Why pray/ why is prayer effective?

    Confess [your] faults one to another, and pray one for another, that ye may be healed. The effectual fervent prayer of a righteous man availeth much. -James 5.16

    God tells us it is.

    But when ye pray, use not vain repetitions, as the heathen [do]: for they think that they shall be heard for their much speaking. 8 Be not ye therefore like unto them: for your Father knoweth what things ye have need of, before ye ask him. 9 After this manner therefore pray ye: Our Father which art in heaven… Matthew 6.7-9

    God tells us to do it, and He doesn’t lie.

    Like

  2. We often think of prayer as “gimme”.
    If we are to be spirit led Christians, the only kind, then we must have an established channel of communication to get our marching orders.
    A good “gimme” is “gimme” guidance, or patience, or understanding, or calm, or health for my friend, etc.
    An example of prayer’s fruit was in McKinney, Texas where to opposing protesters, black and white, prayed and hugged. Jesus mediated.
    The best prayer might be “Tell me what to do.” I can imagine Jesus doing that.

    Like

  3. geeez2014 says:

    alec,he does. And there’s scripture about how He knows our prayers before we pray….this is what makes a super discussion. If he KNOWS…..why pray?(am playing devil’s advocate…you should pardon that expression on my Sunday Faith blog :-)!!!!
    Great Scripture input…thanks!

    Ed…I agree about Jesus and “tell me what to do..” and all else you said.

    SO EVERYBODY: Black Christians….closer to those hugging/praying/reconciling moments Ed describes than secular Blacks?:-)

    Like

  4. I perceive praying as programming our minds, Z. We go “online” with the central “computer” we call God. We determine our own outcome via prayer because when we pray, we are conditioning our minds. Think about it. How else can “He” keep track of billions of people? Whether true or not, it poses some interesting possibilities, doesn’t it?

    Like

  5. And we will be leaving for church in 20 minutes to refresh and download more biblical data! 🙂

    Like

  6. geeez2014 says:

    Mal! Good input…!!

    I just put TV on and saw Charles Stanley covering…..PRAYER:-) !!! Amazing.
    “It’s the time He wants with YOU….so you can listen to HIM….intimate time where you can hear Him.” goodstuff

    Like

  7. I DVR Stanley.
    Looking forward to it.

    Like

  8. silverfiddle says:

    Excellent question. I have pondered that myself with my rational mind, and it’s a mystery to me. But God’s wisdom is man’s folly, and vice versa.

    I’m a simple-minded man, so I pray because God tells us to, and Jesus taught us how to pray.

    Ed has it right: “Tell me what to do.”

    I also like Mal’s theory.

    Like

  9. geeez2014 says:

    Mal”we pray, we are conditioning our minds.”And that could be a description of how HE talks to US.We may not be conditioning our minds….(tho I like that concept), but HE is!!

    SF: yes,”Tell me what to do”….and Jesus did teach us how,so He certainly wants us to pray.

    Then we read He already knows our desires,anxieties,etc….

    SUCHgood discussion…..MORE thoughts!? i hope SO!!

    Like

  10. Consider for a moment: The Bible says when Jesus returns he will be seen by everyone around the world at the same time. That awed everyone………..until satellites were invented. Now we see what is going on around the world on a daily basis. No big deal anymore, right? In church today the Sermon was about “The Seeds of Life” and how God makes things grow, not us, and that got me to thinking how pictures of the Moon, Mars, and all other celestial bodies are void of any vegetation. So why only Earth, if it wasn’t put here by God?

    Like

  11. Mal. The Privileged Planet

    Like

  12. Baysider says:

    After Mal and SF I have nothing more to add. Great thoughts.

    Like

  13. geeez2014 says:

    And, as so often happens, church answered this on the cover of the morning bulletin:

    “Abide in Me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit of itself, unless it abides in the vine, neither can you, unless you abide in Me. I am the vine, you are the branches. He who abides in Me, and I in him, bears much fruit; for without Me, you can do nothing.” John 15: 4-5

    He abides in us. Our prayers draw His presence closer/in……We bear fruit WITH HIM because we can’t do it without Him. Prayer creates the intimacy He wants, since He knows what WE WANT in advance (see Alec’s comment above “for your Father knoweth what things ye have need of, before ye ask him”) before we were born. Prayer draws Him closer…His abiding in us happens.

    Right there on the front of the bulletin….I knew the minute I saw it. But I knew before.

    We need to STAY CLOSE, give Him space for abiding in us…….intimacy, trust, love,…and more; all of which bears fruit.

    Like

  14. Kid says:

    I’ll give you my own experiences. When I was very young, I had misplaced something and wanted to find it to the point I was stressed over it. My Mother said “Pray to St Anthony, the Saint of lost articles”. I prayed to St Anthony and within seconds found what I was looking for. Did that trigger my mind to relax so I could remember where it was? (The skeptic) or did St Anthony help me?

    Ever since, I’ve mostly prayed to St Anthony on a multitude of things and they generally work out when I’m in a position to know one way or the other. Occasionally I pray to God but not often.
    I rarely pray for myself. I know I can Help Myself, and I know there are many more in situations that need help way beyond anything I might be dealing with so I’m not going to bother the God’s with my petty stuff. That’s the whole gambit of my praying.

    Like

  15. Kid says:

    MAL, Just for fun. How can He keep track of billions of people? How can He create a universe(s) that exists to infinity in time and physical scale to the unimaginable large and small?
    If I’m going that direction, I believe He can handle it. 😉
    In the vein of the human mind only able to grasp so much.

    Like

  16. Kid says:

    Ed, Great stuff. It makes a heck of a case.

    Like

  17. Thanks Kid. I wonder what Mal thinks.

    Like

  18. geeez2014 says:

    It’s a good video; I have seen it before and just listened quite a bit. I know at least one scientist is a very strong Christian….the odds by which we could be ‘just one universe’ are sure shown to be HUUUUUGE, huh?

    Kid, I know what you mean about praying for tiny things. Comprehending God’s HUGENESS is hard and we do tend to think “Well, don’t bother him with this one!’ But, heck, sometimes I say “Gad, I prayed and found a parking place…….he must not be that busy today” 🙂
    I think if we believe at all, we sort of have to believe that He can care about every infinitesimal thing billions of folks need or want. MAN!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Have you ever read any C.S. Lewis?

    Like

  19. Kid says:

    Z, C.S Lewis? I haven’t and considering the rest I’d say I contradicted myself. But that’s how I feel about personally praying for things. Self-responsibility/reliance being more important than asking for something.

    Like

  20. geeez2014 says:

    How do you think you contradicted yourself here, Kid? I’m interested.
    Yes, self respons. and reliance are important…..as I said above, it seems to me to be much more the point that God wants us close than wants to supply a material or non-material need.
    And I know pray-ers get a LOT of sustenance from praying…….
    I think that’s something nobody can ever ever explain.

    Like

  21. Kid says:

    Z, On the one hand I said God could manage the universe(s) from the infinitely large to the unimaginable small. Then I said, I didn’t want to bother God with some things as He had enough to deal with already and people really in need. Seems a contradiction.

    Like

  22. geeez2014 says:

    Kid, I see….I guess I wasn’t thinking of combining cosmically with personally! You see what I mean? Like managing infinitely large planets and unimaginably small atoms…’cosmic’ and praying for a parking place ‘personal’.
    Yes, on all counts. I think if one is GOD, our minds can’t even fathom that God- greatness…hugeness……omniscience.

    Like

  23. When I started watching it and realized it will run over 1 1/2 hours I postponed it for later, but will watch it, I promise, Ed!

    Like

Leave a Reply

