Holy SMOKE!

smoking

Now Leftwingers are paying ‘health advocacy groups’ to lobby apartment owners so renters can’t smoke in their OWN HOMES?   Apparently, this isn’t NEW, Bloomberg started it, but REALLY?

IN THEIR OWN HOMES?  What next?   And yes, I KNOW it’s not good for anybody, and I KNOW they’re worried about neighbors having to breathe ‘second hand smoke’, but IN THEIR OWN HOMES they can’t do what they want to do?

WOW.

Z

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Holy SMOKE!

  1. Lisa says:

    on the other side many rentals don’t allow smoking anyway,but we seriously need more nanny state for this?
    I saw an article saying they want to encourage doctors to discuss climate change with patients since people trust their doctors. I guess when they all become gov’t employed doctors then they will get their marching orders from gov’t bureaucrats.

  2. Kid says:

    Lisa, well heck you’re cheering me up today 😉

    Yep docs that don’t go along willl be purged just like military leadership has been.

  3. geeez2014 says:

    Lisa! Yes, because lobbyists are paid to get them not to rent to smokers. I think that’s awful. I totally understand why you might not want to live next door to a smoker, but to force folks not to do something in their OWN HOMES?
    Your point about encouraging doctors is EXACTLY what I’m trying to get at;
    This administration is using tactics most folks don’t even know about, and tactics rarely, if ever, used on a scale like this.
    And you should hear the young med students and their love for Obamacare….I know from UCLA Med School and St Louis Med School, all the profs are TOTALLY on board and do nothing but tout its glories. Wait till they’re working…and seeing thousands of patients…and being paid less. Oh, brother!

  4. geeez2014 says:

    Kid…and why do we conservatives have to bear the burden of knowing all this? The leftwingers don’t seem to understand they’re killing our freedoms, so there WE ARE…most Americans don’t have a freakin’ CLUE! They’ve gutted our military….firing generals who don’t tell them what they want to hear. They’re all like Katie Couric …our discussion on the post below, right!? CHANGE THE SUBJECT! WE CAN’T LET AMERICANS KNOW THAT!
    But we darn saps of FOX News get the scoop and worry and worry…..at least I DO 🙂 😦

  5. FB says:

    It’ll be fine as long as you do pot.

  6. FB says:

    I live in LA and my health is more at risk because of car emissions (I feel the bad air quality when I run and it’s hot) than someone smoking in the same building. Likewise I’m more likely to die in a car crash here than shot by a gun. So conclusion: we need to ban cars first and foremost.

  7. geeez2014 says:

    And now NBC is cutting ties with Trump, no more pageants aired on NBC because he told mostly the truth about illegals? Oops..”Immigrants”, sorry.
    Do you see he was not talking about only Mexicans who are “really bad?” “FROM ALL OVER”…ISIS, ETC….

    He first said this:
    “When do we beat Mexico at the border?” Trump said during his lengthy presidential announcement speech at Trump Tower in New York. “They’re sending people that have lots of problems, and they’re bringing those problems with us. They’re bringing drugs, they’re bringing crime. They’re rapists. And some, I assume, are good people.”

    Um….isn’t it okay to discuss the horrible problems illegals are bringing? How many have died on the border from cartels, etc.? How much TB and MEASLES, etc., is on the rise? (BIG TIME)….

    He went on to say :

    “I like Mexico. I love the Mexican people. I do business with the Mexican people, but you have people coming through the border that are from all over. And they’re bad. They’re really bad,” he told CNN’s Jake Tapper.
    “You have people coming in, and I’m not just saying Mexicans, I’m talking about people that are from all over that are killers and rapists and they’re coming into this country,”

    He’s right..but GOD FORBID someone tells THE TRUTH around leftwingers and HE IS FIRED!

  8. geeez2014 says:

    This trump thing DOES tie in with my subject………everything has to STOP STOP STOP because the left doesn’t like it.
    Meantime, our heads are spinning.

  9. geeez2014 says:

    FB…right! Except the air is SO much clearer the last 20 years or so it’s UNBELIEVABLE…you’re living now where it’s VERY VERY hot and probably still a lot of smog and running is difficult but, over here…SO NICE these days.

    Ya, do pot….that’s FINE. Great point, FB!!

  10. FB says:

    Right it’s damn hot and you have wind where you are. I wish I could afford real estate and the property taxes that go with it on the west side 🙂

  11. Z, the tenants aren’t “in their own homes” because they are rentals. I’ve owned rentals most of my life and don’t like it when a smoker moves out and I’m stuck with trying to rid the place of the pungent smell of nicotine. Also, having never been a smoker I hate it when I use to check into a hotel room and it smelled of smoke. Today, they have choices. I currently own two homes here in Sun City, rented to Seniors, and none have been smokers. Lucky, or are they now old enough to have quit? I really don’t know.

  12. Mustang says:

    I completely agree with Mal that when smokers vacate the premises, it is a burden for the apartment or homeowner to do clean up the mess. In some cases, you may have to replace the carpets. I know of one case where the smoker was a long-time resident, finally died of lung cancer, but the homeowner had to scrape the nicotine off the walls before he could repaint. It cost him nearly $10,000.00 before he could make the home available to a new renter.

    I have to say that smoking really is a nasty habit, and there can be no question of its health effects. I have no problem with “advocacy groups” lobbying anyone to quit, but the actual decision not to rent to smokers has to stay with the property owner.

  13. geeez2014 says:

    Clearly, I agree about smokers and the stinks they leave behind…My husband’s ‘wrong wife,’ as I called her, was a 3-pack a dayer and my stepdaughter took 3 years of heavy cleaning and replacing flooring and window coverings to really get stuff OUT, particularly in Munich, where the winters necessitate everything being closed up. She said she’ll still reach deep into a closet for a ski coat and smell a whiff of smoke.

    While nobody should have any problem with advocacy to get people to quit smoking, telling people what to do in their own homes strikes me as wrong. Sure, there are exceptional situations where smokers leave a mess behind, and the smell is a “non exceptional’ situation, that’s always there, but …yes, the decision not to rent to smokers should be the property owner’s decision, not the government’s.
    A gov’t shouldn’t be able to tell people they can’t smoke where they live, own or rent.

    That’s my opinion, anyway.
    I have neighbors both of whom smoke and they smoke on their front porch……….even in the rain, in slickers. I believe they do it so’s not to contaminate their interiors in case of future sale but they’ve lived here and done this for at least 15 years!

  14. silverfiddle says:

    @ Z: “the decision not to rent to smokers should be the property owner’s decision, not the government’s.”

    Bingo!

  15. Ok, I was hopeful. Then I got to Mal’s comment.
    Then Mustang’s.
    I still had hope til I read Silverfiddles.
    4 hours and all the good comments are taken….

  16. FB says:

    If you are fans of Silicon Valley on HBO, there’s an episode where a woman is caught smoking outside and people make a big fuss about it at her office. And there’s this great line about smoking in CA: “In California we don’t get to enjoy the same freedom as you guys do in China.”

  17. geeez2014 says:

    Ed, you always come up with SOME good comment 🙂

    FB…..how ironic, huh? Yes, we drive by office buildings and people are outside smoking…but that number is dwindling; there used to be a lot more people at one time on the street level smoking. Now, one rarely sees it.

    Quitting smoking is a very good thing. I think we should quit. On our own petard. And landlords should make the decision on if you can rent and smoke. period.

  18. I have come to see smoking as a sign of poverty.
    And with the price of cigarettes, it’s incongrous.
    A sister in the church on aid refused to quit smoking.
    Finally last week decided to quit.
    God has miraculously delivered her as I’ve seen Him do with so many.

  19. Mustang says:

    People continue to pollute their bodies in spite of the expensive public service announcements cautioning people about the unhappy effects of their drug of choice. Now if people do not care all that much about their own lungs, livers, kidneys … does anyone really think they care about climate change? Next, ask if the government really does give a damn about poor people … and I would have to say “Nahhhh.” The government is making a ton of money from the sin taxes. And if this helps to keep poor dumb people dumb and poor, so much the better. As with drugs … if we were serious about stopping drugs, we would have solved that problem years ago. It makes you think that there must be some peculiar strategy at work here. It brings you to conclude that our government isn’t trustworthy.

  20. Baysider says:

    Well, Mal and Mustang covered it. We don’t rent to smokers. Period. Never have. More maintenance and damage. But … the city doesn’t allow smoking in apts. because it gets to your neighbor. I’ve personally lived in 2 places where a smoking neighbor filled my kitchen and bath with smell. My trainer can hardly stand a neighbor’s heavy smoke (grandfathered in, so she can’t be ‘made’ to stop). BUT … it’s not the city’s business! If I were a tenant I’d ask if I they allowed smoking. It’s like pets.

  21. Mustang.Koji says:

    Ah! My fave topic! J/K. You all know how much I pollute myself with stogies…but government has no right to dictate what we do in our own homes or on our property (provided it’s not a meth lab or such). Eat, drink and be merry… But it is ludicrous for government to pass such laws. It’s the pot calling the kettle black. In our locale, they banned smoking (cigars included) at parks for “health concerns”. Yet, they ordered new transit buses that run on…diesel. These buses – sometimes three in row – idle at the park’s bus stop until it’s their time to move on. A cigarette’s “emissions” are a drop in the bucket. 🙂 And the kicker? You can smoke marijuana in your home! BS!

Leave a Reply

