USA! USA! USA!! The WOMEN WON!

women's soccer

   They DID it…The USA Women’s Soccer team is bringing the trophy home!

They beat Japan 5-2…scoring the first 4 in about the first half hour…if memory serves me, USA scored the first 2 in the first 5 minutes or something like that….AMAZING!

I did want to say that it’s very different than Men’s European Soccer, something I’ve seen a LOT of, for having lived in Munich and Paris, and being there when they won World Cups or European Championships,  really got me liking the sport…BUT………..BUT…..!!!

What a huge difference in games!  The men in Europe are DRAMA QUEENS!  Honestly, they have a fake injury about every six minutes, no exaggeration.  The game has to stop (necessitating time-out make-up minutes tacked onto the end of each game, which can really go long), and men are constantly leaving and others coming in.   That’s what I thought soccer was, but these women didn’t have one injury that I saw (I watched, on and off, the whole time….so I didn’t see it all), and certainly no dramatic, constant fake injuries to stop the game’s momentum!    Actually, come to think of it, I also saw no yellow or red cards, which are a constant in Europe…and probably Asia and S America, whose teams I don’t know, whose habits I don’t know.   A soccer game with no cards pulled for penalties? Did I miss some today?  Did any of you watch it?

Imagine the inanity of sports broadcasters;  one woman actually said “I haven’t seen USA score 4 goals in a game…”   Most soccer games don’t total 4 goals by BOTH teams added together… I suppose it’s just ‘talk for talk’s sake, you’re getting paid by the word,!”, but….??

CONGRATULATIONS, LADIES!   GREAT JOB! WELL DESERVED!  THANKS FOR PUTTING THE CUP TO AMERICA!

By the way, if you like loving team work, you couldn’t get better than this team.

z

This entry was posted in America, sports. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to USA! USA! USA!! The WOMEN WON!

  1. Bob says:

    The game was great. I am not a soccer fan, but I did enjoy that one game. However, soccer games go too long that I have seen, and after watching the most boring women’s game, England vs Japan, I turned off the TV just in time to miss the winning goal.

  2. Soccer is a “kick in the grass” so I’m told, but not being a fan of the sport because its boring compared to other popular sports, all I can say is good for us. We did it. {big yippee}.

  3. Lisa says:

    The joy on their faces was enough for me

  4. cube says:

    I’ve been to a few soccer games, and frankly, I’d rather play soccer than watch it, but I’m elated for the USA win.

Leave a Reply

