Sunday Faith Blog

baptist churchWhat hopes the people of this country would have had when they built and attended this very lovely, peaceful church.    Hopes for an America of peace and prosperity.  Hopes for a good crop, of good marriages for their children.  They probably never worried about two men marrying inside that building; it wouldn’t have occurred to them.  They probably never thought that Muslim terrorists might burst in shooting….or some leftwinger would burn the flag they loved so much.

I swiped this beautiful image from Alec’s blog because I found this one of the prettiest pictures ever.   It evoked a lot of emotion in me…….sweet, calm, wishful emotions.   I can picture a hymn wafting out of the doors and windows “I’ll Fly Away!” or “A Mighty Fortress” or “Trust and Obey”….. Even this little church was a very mighty fortress for those it served.  Today, our churches are built more substantially but only in their construction, I fear.    “The Church’s One Foundation” has wonderful lyrics;  pay close attention to the Third Verse, which isn’t always sung.  But needs to be:

1. The church’s one foundation
is Jesus Christ her Lord;
she is his new creation
by water and the Word.
From heaven he came and sought her
to be his holy bride;
with his own blood he bought her,
and for her life he died.

2. Elect from every nation,
yet one o’er all the earth;
her charter of salvation,
one Lord, one faith, one birth;
one holy name she blesses,
partakes one holy food,
and to one hope she presses,
with every grace endued.

3. Though with a scornful wonder
we see her sore oppressed,
by schisms rent asunder,
by heresies distressed,
yet saints their watch are keeping;
their cry goes up, “How long?”
And soon the night of weeping
shall be the morn of song.

4. Mid toil and tribulation,
and tumult of her war,
she waits the consummation
of peace forevermore;
till, with the vision glorious,
her longing eyes are blest,
and the great church victorious
shall be the church at rest.

5. Yet she on earth hath union
with God the Three in One,
and mystic sweet communion
with those whose rest is won.
O happy ones and holy!
Lord, give us grace that we
like them, the meek and lowly,
on high may dwell with thee.

“Therefore take heed to yourselves and to all the flock,
among which the Holy Spirit has made you overseers,
to shepherd the church of God which
He purchased with His own blood.”
Acts 20:28 (NKJV)

ALSO:  Please pray for Mustang’s two very dear friends going through health challenges, that all goes well for them, and pray that they will come to faith in Christ.   I know Mustang would appreciate your prayers very much.

Amen.   Have a great Sunday. GO TO CHURCH 🙂  (nag, nag, nag!)

Z

This entry was posted in Sunday Faith Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Sunday Faith Blog

  1. Sparky says:

    We have so many church’s that are just like that in our area. They are pretty to look at. I doubt very seriously if the Fascists will mess with them. We’re all armed 😉 and we tend to stick together.
    This brings back a memory for me of way back in the 90’s when the EPA wanted to come up on our property “just to test the water for safety reasons.” I told them flat out NO and if I ever caught them on my property they’d never find their bodies. I found out my neighbors all pretty much said the same things. The EPA never came back. People need to toughen up and stand their ground our we won’t have a ground to stand on anymore. [Forgive my rough way of talking. I was raised by a brutal man.] Anyway, the libtards always like to say violence never solved anything. Well, the h— it doesn’t!? The threat of it if someone over steps their bounds sure stops a lot of butting in. And what about WWII, the Revolutionary War, etc.? Without fighting for freedom then we would have nothing to fight for now. This is no different.
    Sorry, didn’t mean to get verbose. I must be feeling better today after last week’s A/C adventure. *lol* Hope y’all have a blessed Sunday. Let’s all remember to read God’s Word and pray!

  2. bunkerville says:

    A beautiful post for today and much needed/

  3. geeez2014 says:

    SPARKY, your comment became a great Sunday Post…or any day post! Thank you so much.
    And, you know, I have heard stories like yours before…where gov’t folks tried to intervene and people have said “No, get OUT of here and don’t come back” and they don’t!
    If I tried that for any reason, I’d probably end up in jail, but…I ADMIRE YOU AND YOUR NEIGHBORS.
    I’m also envious of your having lovely churches and lovely green spaces like those around the church in my image….
    Happy Sunday..>yes, reading God’s Word is a miracle every time. The oddest phenomenon EVER….something’s that’s unexplainable unless you’ve experienced it.

    Bunkerville, thanks….xxx

  4. Mustang says:

    Z … thank you very much for the prayer request. Your post today is, as always, beautiful.

  5. geeez2014 says:

    Thanks….and you’re very welcome, Mustang…. I hope everybody who stops by prays for your friends.

  6. alec says:

    Hi Z,
    Beautiful version of the hymn. Thanks for inviting us over every Sunday for your weekly Faith Blog. Echoing Bunkerville and Mustang above.
    May everyone have a wonderful week.
    Alec

  7. geeez2014 says:

    Hi, Alec…I literally had just commented at your place, came here, and found your comment.
    Thanks…and thanks for the inspirational picture!
    And I just noticed you had this hymn on your blog a few days ago! And a beautiful rendition, for sure.
    You have a wonderful Sunday and week…

  8. Lisa says:

    Your faith posts remind me of a more simple time,when we were more united Lovely post

  9. Baysider says:

    This is one of my favorite hymns and I have NEVER seen the 3rd stanza. Thanks for posting it today. I hat my hat on stanza 4.

    And prayers for Mustang’s friends.

  10. geeez2014 says:

    Lisa, EXACTLY…more united, more trusting, and America DESERVED that trust in those days.
    Glad you enjoyed it. I want to jump into that picture and go lie down on the blankets of grass.

    Baysider…ya, that 3rd verse is apparently often left off….and it’s SO important. And ya…the 4th should be the hat stand for every Christian 🙂

    ALL: I was at church today, where CRU (Campus Crusade for Christ) is making their summer home, about 75 kids from universities all around the West part of the Country….and I look at those beautiful, handsome young people and think I want to hug each of them for their amazing , visible faith. They’re here this summer evangelizing at the beach and on the Third St Mall and at Santa Monica College (NOT your most common place to spread the Word of Christ, believe me…)……they pay to do this. And they are SUCH strong believers at the age of, probably 20 on average. I’ve spoken to many of them over the last month or so…every time I’ve asked their names and heard what school they come from, etc., they have ALWAYS asked my name; not many kids this age ask that…but these Christian kids? Polite, interested, bright……

    I say this about wanting to hug them and I know that’s NOT ME…that’s a power much greater than any of us. An instant love created through loving God. I never felt it QUITE so much as I did today. Just wanted to share it because I think it’s really important to realize what power comes from strong faith, what love springs from that….like a miraculous stream that suddenly springs out of the gorgeous grass in my image, if you allow me to be that sort of ‘corny’….that’s how it feels, like a spring just flowing up from ‘somewhere’.

  11. Bob says:

    Beautiful church and beautiful hymn. My grandfather, his father, and his father all attended and supported little white churches such as the one in the photo. In those farming communities their church was always the center of social activity, and the destination a couple of days per week.

    Many of those churches didn’t have full time ministers, and the community leaders would take control on those Sundays without an ordained minister, and do some preaching themselves.

    I will never forget being at the little Baptist church in rural Mississippi where my father grew up on one of those Sundays when there was no minister. I remember my immense pride when my uncle went to the front of the church, went down on one knee and led in reading the Bible and prayer. I knew, then, that my uncle was held in just as high esteem by the community as I did.

    My dad was such a man, too. These are the men from whom I am descended, and not one of these southern men were racist or mean spirited to my knowledge. Well, I did have one uncle that was kind of mean, but the entire family constantly prayed for him.

    God bless America!

  12. geeez2014 says:

    BOB! Thank you for this…you exactly capture the atmosphere I wanted to describe….
    My dad was a very fine man, too, who was a very strong man of faith and who the community held in very high esteem. Funny, really smart and quite good looking! 🙂 It’s a very nice feeling and one I’m not sure many kids have today. It’s a great loss to our kids.
    I’m glad to know you. I’d have liked to have known the men you describe. The apple doesn’t fall far from the tree.

  13. Contrary alert!
    That beautiful picture evokes a simpler time and a culture different than today.
    Z: the service you mentioned today, with it’s excitement and hope and large crowd of youth, could probably not have happened in that simple country church. 🙂
    I have spoken in storefronts and urban settings that were not akin to that bucolic setting.
    And among folk of different color and culture.
    And of an excitement for Jesus unmatched.

    Let’s honor that past, and Let’s take today. Seize it for Jesus.
    Wherever we can.

  14. Bob says:

    Ed: Well said.

  15. geeez2014 says:

    Ed…I’m not only honoring the past, I’m admiring it so much! And, as I said about the great kids of today I’ve been meeting, the past takes nothing away from the future all believing kids are creating for faith. There just can’t be a ‘contest’ for who’s more excited for Jesus, that’s for sure. And the kids I spoke to today were Japanese, Indian, Hispanic and White….great bunch of kids… I forgot that one of the Black girls had to go home for financial reasons…she’s going to be keeping in touch with me, happily!

    And I’d still SO love to stroll in and around that lovely church in the country…….oh, brother, would I.
    Thanks!

  16. Kid says:

    Mustang, Prayers for your friends.

    Z, Mostly better times yes. A Beauty of a post.

  17. geeez2014 says:

    Kid, thanks so much. Yes, absolutely not perfect times, but mostly better, that’s for sure. In lots of ways. Isn’t that a beautiful picture?

  18. Kid says:

    Z, Yes, and I imagine a horse drawn carriage built for two with a fringe adorned top out front…..

  19. geeez2014 says:

    Kid…with deli sandwiches, right? 🙂

  20. Kid says:

    Z, Ooooh yea. And chilled white wine. Probably KJ Chardonnay..

  21. Kid says:

    A carriage drawn by a tall rust colored horse named Bo. A kind soul who wouldn’t hurt a fly unless you were up to no good, then he would be like any one of the Sentinals at the Tomb of The Unknown Soldier. Polite enough to kill you and strong enough to prevent you from spoiling anything. The carriage itself adorned with black iron wheels with white hickory spokes and black leaf springs. The seat made of wood with a blushing red patina of Mahogany all outfitted with leather straps and reins smelling of the musky well oiled leather and wood. Everything ready for an after church drive to a shady grove next to a babbling brook inhabited by rainbow trout and Japanese Koi. Peacocks and white swan loitereing nearby, Big puffy cotton clouds slowly floating overhead making themselves into a myriad of familiar shapes…

  22. geeez2014 says:

    Man, Kid…I didn’t know you had quite that imagination OR quite that way with description!
    “a blushing red patina of Mahogany”…..
    Well done!! 🙂

  23. Kid says:

    Thanks Z, Just practicing.

  24. Mustang says:

    I better not get any emails from kid talking about blushing red patinas ….

  25. geeez2014 says:

    you’re welcome, Lord Byron!

  26. geeez2014 says:

    Mustang; if you do, please DO NOT tell us 🙂

  27. Kid says:

    Mustang. You’re Safe ! I can’t speak for jenner.

Leave a Reply

