Prisoner Exchange?

Major Garrett asked Obama, yesterday, “Can you tell the country, sir, why you are content with all the fanfare around this deal to leave the conscience of this nation, the strength of this nation unaccounted for in relation to these four Americans?”

“I’ve got to give you credit Major for how you craft those questions,” Obama said in response. “The notion that I’m content as I celebrate with American citizens languishing in Iranian jails,” he added, taking a pause (a very long and disgusted-looking pause). “Major, that’s nonsense, and you should know better.”

So, while some say Obama has been trying to get the Americans out, he’s not working too hard at it.  He said “Now, if the question is why we did not tie the negotiations to their release, think about the logic that that creates. Suddenly Iran realizes, ‘You know what? Maybe we can get additional concessions out of the Americans by holding these individuals.’”

Z: Because of that, I’d have pushed even harder to get them out, AND he’s been saying he’s been trying hard to get them out so this isn’t some new negotiation tactic, it’s not new to anybody, supposedly……I’d have thought that would be a reason for Obama to push even harder to get them out, but maybe that’s just me.  Maybe I’m just plain reading that wrong, but I don’t think so.  Wait, so if we don’t get them out, Iran can use them for leverage, so that’s why we’re not pushing hard?  like “That’s not negotiable; we want our prisoners out before we go any further…”

So, apparently, Obama’s really quite upset about these poor Americans languishing in horrid Iranian prisons.   Obama doesn’t want anybody in prison…..well,  that’s abundantly clear……..because Obama’s pardoned 46 non-violent prisoners from our prisons…they’re getting out.

Thoughts?

Here are mine:  #($*&(%*y^)$)*($^)$%*_(&*#$)(*#)(*

you may quote me.

By the way:

pardon letter

I don’t totally disagree with pardoning these people, and the letter’s a nice one, if a bit ‘preachy’………….but the irony of the PRISONER situation irony didn’t escape my notice.

Z

This entry was posted in America, Iran, law enforcement. Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to Prisoner Exchange?

  1. Kid says:

    obama’s argument is completely invalid. Iran knows that holding Americans will always give them leverage. They’ve know it since they held the Embassy People in 1979.
    And with such a big deal as this, 4 people, to Iran would almost be an afterthought, not a major part of such a deal.

  2. geeez2014 says:

    Right, Kid…except if those 4 people were REALLY being emphasized on this deal “sanctions or no sanctions…first thing on the table is our Americans”, it sure wouldn’t be an afterthought, would it.

    “Dear Obama, we don’t WANT to make it easier for additional concessions from US” GET IT?

  3. Kid says:

    Z, Afterthought for the Iranians. No big deal to them. They’re probably amazed it wasn’t part of the deal. Or not.

  4. geeez2014 says:

    Kid, ya…and we don’t know if Kerry asked about them; he might have. Just seems to me that this is such a humiliation for America, for this swine country to be holding our people.
    Meanwhile we let 5 Muslim terrorists go for one jerk because “we don’t leave anybody behind”…..
    Ya, not MUCH, huh?

  5. bocopro says:

    Arrogant, narcissistic, thin-skinned naïveté is not a good public persona for one living in a fishbowl with a primary goal of a glorious legacy of firstness.

  6. Kid says:

    Z, Agree excessively.

  7. Silverlady says:

    But he couldn’t be bothered to contact by phone or letter the family of the lady killed by the criminal illegal immigrant THUG in ‘Frisco. Oh, but I forgot, she was WHITE, & she wasn’t a THUG. And I know that the residents in that sanctuary commune don’t like it to be called ‘Frisco’. So from now on it’s ‘FRISCO’! Yes, I know that we aren’t supposed to use the word ‘THUG’ anymore. Yeah, right!! Like Hell I won’t!

    And I hope that Major Garrett’s taxes are paid in full after yesterday. If looks could kill—–

  8. We lifted the arms embargo and took individuals off of the santions list.
    That was NOT part of the original negotiations, so the prisoners should have been added also.
    His self righteousness is to laugh at.

  9. silverfiddle says:

    That reporter really got under the messiah’s skin. Obama was visibly angry.

    The pardons? Meh… Bush angered me more, releasing drug dealers but refusing clemency for all those soldiers and marines he prosecuted.

  10. geeez2014 says:

    SF: Remind me why Bush prosecuted innocent soldiers and marines….
    Oh, ya, Obama was VERY visibly angry; in a really unattractive way. I just wish he’d lost it even MORE in public. You could see such anger in his face…

    Ed, I agree…totally self righteous.

    Silverlady..’thug’ is a much nicer word than most of those thugs deserve; I use it when I look for a euphemism!

    bocopro… as if legacy is more important than America’s safety, right?:

    THE THING IS: There are people who believe this is the very best deal available. I’m thinking that we should have left it just like it WAS if this is the best deal.
    I have heard some folks saying that the west CAN get into the nuke areas on a better schedule than before, but then you hear not…….I don’t know WHO to believe anymore.

    I read an article where Obama’s said to have suggested it’s better to have Iran as ‘friends’ and this will help.
    THAT is the naivite that could do us in. Americans will NEVER UNDERSTAND the mind of these region. I keep hoping. Lies and duplicity are what they thrive on. Particularly with “infidels’….and there we are so eager for OBAMA and KERRY’S DEAL…like puppy dogs jumping around and licking their masters for a bone.

  11. geeez2014 says:

    OFF TOPIC: Meanwhile, the Duggar Show is cancelled because of SEX ABUSE….which the family very well handled some years ago and which never reared its ugly head again. They did everything just right, got through a terrible time and the reward for Americans doing the right thing, turning their own kid in and getting help (at an age when many young boys go through this, and the abuse wasn’t invasive, etc.)…i hate that that happened in their family. I hate that doing the decent, right thing has been mocked and capitalized on.
    I have never seen the show, I barely know who they are, but this is so wrong, in my opinion.
    Meanwhile, we champion (big time) celebs who have children out of wedlock, divorce frequently, get into drugs and go through rehab, appear half-dressed, etc etc.

  12. Mal says:

    I remember being told when growing up in the 1930’s that if any American was in trouble or being held against their will anywhere in the world, we would come to their rescue, regardless. Boy! How things have changed! No protection whatsoever. We are expendable.

  13. geeez2014 says:

    I was just commenting at AOW’s and it occurs to me that keeping our prisoners is their “We got what we wanted AND you’re not even powerful enough to get four Americans out of our prisons….so **** you!, you wimps”
    I’m CONVINCED, the more I think of it, this is ALL about pride and “we’ll show YOU”.
    Let’s face it, how bad were these ‘crimes’ our guys supposedly did? Evangelizing Christian? Supposed spy?
    What a joke. THAT would have been a REAL good will gesture.
    It didn’t happen. Says a LOT..

    ’nuff said.

  14. geeez2014 says:

    Mal…horrible thought, isn’t it. I can only imagine what our soldiers who were in Bergdahl’s unit have thought these last few years…….they know the truth but nobody cared.
    And yes, see my comment above…..
    The Iranians just plain didn’t want the visual of our people coming HOME, SAFE. They want nothing that would please our country or make Obama look good.
    That, to me, shows how they KNOW THEY WON this negotiation.

  15. Mal says:

    Yes, Z, and during all of this Obama is cutting our forces by 400,000 troops while everyone else is building theirs up. Like my wife just said, who would even want to join our armed forces right now, given the way they are being treated. Goal achieved, Barry Sotoro!

  16. Bob says:

    It is a tough negotiating situation. First of all, why are we negotiating with terrorists? Secondly, it is a huge mistake to think that we would say, effectively, “OK. You can have nuclear weapons, but you have to give us our citizens”.

    Obama never had any incentive to pressure Iran to let our people go. The only incentive Obama had is his personal feelings and reputation. Bowe Bergdahl’s negotiated release served Obama’s goal of getting rid of prisoners held in the Guantanamo Bay detention camp. Our President has no respect or love of our country, and he certainly does not care about people.

  17. Kid says:

    Bob.. Yea, obama hates America, Americans, and Christians. he is a moslem enabler and has done more to help moslems around the world than people will ever believe. Since he’s been in office, Lybia has gone to extremists. Egypt did too for a while until they took it back, Afghanistan to the taliban (but that was inevitable anyway given A-stan’s lack of central government), Syria taken over by al queerda and ISIS, and now Iraq. ISIS is working to take over most of the ME and obama says ISIS is no threat while he lobs a bomb at them occasionally to pretend like he’s fighting them. he hates white European countries, and michelle visits a school 100% full of moslem girls on her whatever it was trip about diversity. They don’t acknowledge any balck on white crime or moslem terrorist attacks in the US. Nothing to see here folks.

    Can there be a bigger enemy of the USA ?

    So, I”m saying I agree with you 8 million percent.

  18. geeez2014 says:

    http://www.foxnews.com/politics/2015/07/16/obama-making-1st-visit-by-sitting-president-to-federal-prison/
    And no Obama’s in prison…..it’s my favorite picture since his administration started. 🙂

    Mal, I think this next purge numbers 40,000, and it IS BAD. The world must be licking its chops…though I know retired soldiers who think it won’t be so bad. I do. If nothing else, it’s bad for morale.

    Bob, I don’t believe it should have been giving them everything for our citizens!! I hope I didn’t give that impression!? But, on OUR side, I’m not sure it shouldn’t have been “Either give us our people or we won’t even negotiate” Thoughts on that?

    Kid, I don’t think there could be a president and first lady who hate America more than they do, that is FOR SURE.

  19. geeez2014 says:

    NO COMMENTS ON OBAMA’S LETTER TO PRISONERS HE’S RELEASING?

  20. Kid says:

    Z, it is hard for me to comment on the letter without any details of the people being released. Decent person or black islam convert or something in between? Frankly this is something I might do myself as I don’t believe people who’s only crime was drug use or minor dealing should be serving long sentences. I could look up hundreds of murder cases where the black punk get less than 5 years. or the charge was even reduced down to keep the courts from going broke in these LBJ inspired gangbanger communities. 😉

    It’s hard to imagine obama not doing something that isn’t just pro moslem or pro black power, but there is nothing for me anyway to comment on.

  21. Mal says:

    40,000, not 400,000, I believe is correct, Z. Mia culpa!

  22. geeez2014 says:

    Kid, I guess I wondered what people thought of the letter more than the release of the prisoners? I have very mixed emotions; part of me says it’s got good stuff in it, and the other part of me says it’s not his job to preach about better lives when he’s NEVER EVER said this in public, for example, Black kids in Chicago who are in gangs, shoot people, drop out of school…suddenly, he’s doing what he could have been doing.

    Mal..no problem 🙂 I was kind of saying that to make sure I wasn’t incorrect…ya, I think it’s 40K

  23. Kid says:

    Z, I see your reasoning.

  24. geeez2014 says:

    Kid, so do you like the wording? IF it’s just drug people, not black muslim converts, for example!?

  25. Mustang says:

    I enjoyed reading Beamish’s solutions at AOW today. Simple, and effective. Whenever you can demonstrate the superiority of American technology while wiping out millions of moslems, then you’ve achieved a win-win situation. It’s an extra bonus if Kerry’s in Tehran when you let’em go.

    (Kid is such a kiss up)

  26. Baysider says:

    I think more people believe Obama just doesn’t care much about the Americans in jail there, especially for the reason they’re jailed. I think that’s true.

    Legacy? Maybe. How much does it take. How many banks did Jesse James have to rob to rise to the level of his legacy? Chamberlin did it with one stroke of the pen.

    An even more sinister sort might think the deal is just not very important to Iran. The ‘process’ – of stringing out a great power, having them at your feet – is helpful. But I have an image of a car salesman (Kerry) chasing a disinterested prospect out the door saying “what if we throw in a security system?”

    The whole setup for this ‘negotiation’ was to start from a position of weakness, and go downhill from there. THAT is the position Obama wants the world to see us in. Look at the big picture. Is not American Weakness a common denominator in his foreign policy moves?

  27. Silverlady says:

    With this horrific tragedy of 4 Marines killed by a shooter in Tenn. I guess they’ll want to ban the Marine flag, then all the other flags of the Armed Forces. They might offend somebody, or hurt their widdle feelings. I may sound hard, & I am, but I’m glad the shooter is dead: don’t want a penny spent on him for feeding, prison, or a trial. And I hope the shooter was a damn Muslim, as the people in this country need a wake-up call!

  28. Baysider says:

    In fact, it’s a common denominator in his domestic policies as well.

  29. Imp says:

    More Marines dead today…no..not in Iraq or Afghanistan….but in Tennessee. While the moron now in charge of DHS…Jeh Johnson…plays with his jonson. This is the same mutt who didn’t know the name of the woman killed by the illegal trash in SFO. Time to storm the Bastille?

  30. Baysider. Plus one.

  31. Imp says:

    The suspect has been named. According to the Associated Press:

    A U.S. official says the gunman in the shootings in Tennessee has been identified as 24-year-old Muhammad Youssef Abdulazeez. ( Of course we can’t blame it on islime, can we…no…..this doesn’t mean it was a terrorist …it must be domestic violence, right? )

    He was believed to have been born in Kuwait, and it was unclear whether he was a U.S. or Kuwaiti citizen. The official was speaking on condition of anonymity to discuss the ongoing, sensitive investigation. It was not immediately clear whether the gunman’s first name was spelled Muhammad or Mohammad.

    He is from Hixson, Tennessee, which is just a few miles across the river from Chattanooga.

    Authorities and officials say the gunman killed four Marines and wounded a police officer and others in two attacks on military facilities. The gunman was also dead.

  32. Baysider says:

    I’m shocked.

  33. geeez2014 says:

    Mustang; You must mean THIS from Beamish at AOW’s (yes, it cracked me up, too)

    “I propose two alternatives. Call it the Beamish Plan.

    1) We give Iran nuclear bombs, one in every Iranian city, express delivered via ICBM, until they don’t want any more.

    -or-

    2) We modify the Obama deal to read that inspectors are to have 24 / 7 unfettered access to anywhere they want to inspect, delays or refusal to grant access to any site lasting more than a Planck second will result in the immediate bombing of all nuclear sites in Iran,”

    Baysider …yes, if one doesn’t truly love this country, and believes it’s been nothing but racism and war mongering and treating women and the poor badly, how does one stand UP for it?

    Everybody:

    Oh, NO! It can’t be a MUSLIM who KILLED MARINES!???

  34. geeez2014 says:

    COLORADO MOVIE THEATER SHOOTER FOUND GUILTY GUILTY GUILTY…….etc.
    Too bad this won’t bring all those innocents back.

  35. Mal says:

    Does all this really come as any surprise to anyone? For Heavens sake we have been lax at our borders for decades, knowing all these people were coming in, so where is the competency of either party? Clinton and both Bushes are equally culpable for these deaths. The public has been crying for security along our Southern border all this time and totally ignored.

  36. bocopro says:

    Betcha we’d get a lotta volunteers for a nice li’l game of Cowboys ‘n’ Muslims.

    Oh . . . almost forgot — for the leftistas and politically correctoros, I did my AcDu time . . . 24 years of it, so I have standing to be pissed. And my youngest son did 24 as well. Fire at me if you like, but I don’t engage in comment warfare with those who sympathize with or apologize for loons, including faux potuses.

  37. geeez2014 says:

    Mal….I haven’t heard if this guy was homegrown in TN, but he definitely looks like not your average white guy who turned Muslim…..it’ll be interesting to hear; IF they tell us.
    The security at the border is a JOKE and not a very funny one.

    bocopro…thanks for your active duty (took me 2 minutes to figure out what AcDu was….oops!)…I don’t think you’ll get a lot of sympathy for most presidents around here. We’re big Reagan fans, however.

  38. bocopro says:

    What I meant by the caveat was that while I enjoy divergent opinions because I usually learn something new from them, I don’t respond to ad hominems. Some blogs have their resident trolls who delight in contradiction for no valid reason.

    As I’ve posted in other places on the matter . . .

    Odd things are said by the poor misled in their need to be perverse.
    Many right-wing blogs are attacked by progs who insult and taunt and curse.
    Their comment strings feature childish things in attempts to scorn and smear.
    But each childish thought only goes for naught in an adult atmosphere.

    Like playground toughs they shout rebuffs at those who are having fun.
    And they make up names in their puerile games looking for that big home run.
    But the bully’s flaw is it’s all bushwa and he’s not such a big deal.
    Even at his best he is just a pest looking for a thread to steal.

    Those who are mature can his jibes endure without stooping to his plane,
    Which is snide and rude with the facts all skewed ‘til they’re no longer germane.
    While the lonely troll makes his vain patrol dropping insults here and there,
    The point is clear, though he just can’t hear, that the rest of us don’t care.

  39. Imp says:

    A German engineer just started his own business in the Middle East.
    He’s making land mines that look like prayer mats. It’s doing well.

    He says prophets are going through the roof.

  40. geeez2014 says:

    bocopro, I’m curious, did you find anything objectionable to you HERE in a comment or a post?

    Imp: GOOD ONE! 🙂

  41. bocopro says:

    No. Purely pre-emptive. From time to time my philosophies and recommendations and attitudes don’t sit well in certain ears. Point is that once I turn one loose into the aether, it’s on its own. I don’t argue with brains that have been washed clean of tolerance and reason. LOVE debating with people who know more about stuff than I, but refuse to be dragged down to the level of village idiots who quote all the wrong stuff and finally wear you down with balderdash and out-of-context snippets to the point that you are tempted to respond in kind. Twain said it much better, of course: they drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.

    When I get a whiff of troll or loon, I ignore the source. Some blogs have Hamlets and Osrics locked in eternal mortal combat; it’s more or less their stock. Western Hero has a couple of Antony Adverse characters who go out of their way for attention by ridiculing anything slightly right of center with personal attacks and sarc. They’re the type for whom I wrote those stanzas. Just won’t put on the uni and get on the field with ’em . . . be like playing hockey with a football bat, nonsensical.

  42. geeez2014 says:

    Well, bocopro, like it or not, not all of is are too much into “Tolerance” for the sake of “tolerance” or “diversity” for Diversity sake. We have no ‘village idiots’ here; that’s why I had to change to WordPress from Blogger, which accepts ALL commenters. WP allows the blog owner to not accept the crazies.
    I didn’t want a “conservative echo chamber” and dreaded getting rid of my liberals but finally decided I hadn’t built a blog to give them a platform for spewing.
    glad you’re here

  43. Imp says:

    Z…that was a glorious day and a supremely excellent move you made.

  44. geeez2014 says:

    Well, Imp…..sometimes I want to REALLY fight someone, then I go to AOW or Silverfiddle’s and duke it out with Ducky or that ass Jersey………..it works 🙂

  45. Mal says:

    Hey Imp! Can you get that German Engineer to send one of his “prayer mats” to the White House?

Leave a Reply

