Sunday Faith Blog

“For many years I missed the truth.  I believed all the other prepositions:  Christ for me, with me, ahead of me.  And I knew I was working beside Christ, under Christ, with Christ.  But I never imaged that Christ was in me.

I can’t blame my deficiency on Scripture.  Paul refers to this union 216 times.  John mentions it 26.  They describe a Christ who not only woos us to himself but “ones” us to himself.  ‘Whoever confesses that Jesus is the Son of God, God abides in him, and he in God.’ (I John 4:15)…………A Christian is a person in whom Christ is happening.”…..from Max Lucado’s book, GRACE.

christ in us

Please share the ways Christ is abiding in you, how Christ “is happening” in you…….or not. Or how you’ve seen this in others?

In any case, it’s important to know, good to remember; even better to feel it, to ‘live it.’

i am the vine

Have a blessed Sunday.

 

Z

This entry was posted in Sunday Faith Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Sunday Faith Blog

  1. I have found a neat trick.
    When I am upset with someone to the point of “losing my cool”, I pray “Jesus, please love (insert name) through me.”
    It works.
    I figure if Jesus loves them, and lives in me, He can love them through me.
    The problem is in asking.

  2. bunkerville says:

    Have a blessed day. Keep in mind we will never have this one again. Make it a good one, and honor the one who has given it to us,

  3. silverfiddle says:

    It’s overused, but “What Would Jesus Do?” is always a great question. Another good one is, how would I act in this situation if Jesus were right here standing next to me?

  4. geeez2014 says:

    Ed, I’ve done the very same thing and it works , and it works immediately.

    Bunkerville…well said.

    SF: I think that’s terrific, but I often say that ‘What Would Paul Do?” is a bit more attainable, which gets my bible study laughing!

  5. Mal says:

    Yes, Z, your “Christ is IN me” phrase relates to what I mentioned earlier about prayer programing our minds and bodies. With Him inside us, we are being led to make the right decisions in our lives. But we don’t always follow His teachings, do we?

  6. alec says:

    Yesterday I saw an old friend whom I hadn’t seen in 5 or 10 years. About a year ago she became a Christian. She’s the same person as she was, but with her whole being suffused with a gentleness that hadn’t been obvious before.

    Be still, and know that I [am] God: I will be exalted among the heathen, I will be exalted in the earth. -Psalm 46.10

    What a comfort, whenever I remember.

    Good question, Z. Hope you all have a wonderful day.

  7. My friend is preaching right now. He quoted Bob Deffinbaugh:
    “Being righteous in the power of the flesh is like trying to teach a corpse to dance.”
    Without Jesus in us, we are unempowered to do the will of God.

  8. geeez2014 says:

    Mal, beautifully said. You are so right. No, not usually even close to ‘always.’

    Alec, that sounds wonderful. I think I commented last week that someone told me they’d been trying to do a little evangelizing to a friend about 20 years ago…what this person knew was the guy he was speaking to’s sister was in the kitchen, that’s all, getting them a drink or something. Twenty years later, he ran into the sister who had become a strong believer. When my acquaintance told her how pleased he was, she said “But it was YOU out in the living room that night…I was listening to you talking to my brother and things just fell together for me, and here I am!” (I paraphrase, but that was the gist of it). We just never know, do we!
    He, too, saw a softness, a goodness that had come over her.

    The best way to minister to non believers is to tell them of friends, or ourselves, who’ve changed since becoming strong believers. As you know very well, there are QUITE some amazing stories out there! Thanks for sharing yours.

    Ed…fabulous quote there….Exactly on line with my post, isn’t it.

  9. Baysider says:

    I remember a wonderful change in a friend. She’d borrowed $100 from a mutual friend (in a day when that was half your rent if you had a swanky place). He moved away soon after, but she sent him the money which he never got. She claimed she sent him cash … and you can guess the excuse.

    Several years later she became a Christian. Our mutual friend mentioned to me in a letter that out of the blue he got $100 in the mail from her.

    Ed, I love your ‘trick’ and will have to try that. I’m expecting to need it soon today!

  10. geeez2014 says:

    Baysider, it DOES WORK…..I have used it for a couple of years now. I can be talking with someone who’s REALLY getting on my nerves…showing character I don’t admire, or talking politics that drive me batty or being unkind/gossiping about someone, and I think ‘I’m making the decision to love her…or him…I do love this person as Jesus tells us to” and it changes me very soon…..really immediately. I’m glad Ed brought that up.

    Nice story about the $100. Very clear example.
    I sent someone $100 cash I owed once, but I assured the person my dog ate the outgoing mail and I just couldn’t afford to send it again 🙂

  11. geeez2014 says:

    i am kidding, of course!!

  12. I had a girlfriend when I was 22. I was in the Air Force home on leave.
    She was a friend of my sister. I lent her $100 for car insurance or something.
    A couple years ago, she walks in to our small church and I recognized her.
    We had parted amicably.
    After service I walked up to her and she recognized me.
    First words out of her mouth: “I owe you $100!”
    I said no she didn’t. She left. Haven’t seen her since.

    That trick? The Normal Christian Life by Watchman Nee.
    You can’t live the Christian life. Let God live it through you.

Leave a Reply

