Sunday Faith Blog

john adams 1

John Adams’ famous letter of July 3, 1776, in which he wrote to his wife Abigail what his thoughts were about celebrating the Fourth of July is found on various web sites but is usually incorrectly quoted. Following is the exact text from his letter with his original spellings:
The Second Day of July 1776, will be the most memorable Epocha, in the History of America. I am apt to believe that it will be celebrated, by succeeding Generations, as the great anniversary Festival. It ought to be commemorated, as the Day of Deliverance by solemn Acts of Devotion to God Almighty. It ought to be solemnized with Pomp and Parade, with Shews, Games, Sports, Guns, Bells, Bonfires and Illuminations from one End of this Continent to the other from this Time forward forever more. You will think me transported with Enthusiasm but I am not. I am well aware of the Toil and Blood and Treasure, that it will cost Us to maintain this Declaration, and support and defend these States. Yet through all the Gloom I can see the Rays of ravishing Light and Glory. I can see that the End is more than worth all the Means. And that Posterity will tryumph in that Days Transaction, even altho We should rue it, which I trust in God We shall not. (The Book of Abigail and John: Selected Letters of the Adams Family, 1762-1784, Harvard University Press, 1975, 142).

john adams2

He sure didn’t know what ‘gloom’ we’d be facing, did he, as America’s basic tenets have become so eroded.  I’m sure some of you have much more history on this and I’m so glad, but I’d really like to hone in on the words I’ve ‘bolded’ above for the purposes of my post this morning…..let’s focus on what we all should be focusing on, learning from, praying about;  that this was a country created by God and posterity did triumph, at least for many years…   Thus was the mindset of many of our Founding Fathers.  “The End is more than worth all the Means.”

Let’s try hard to see the “Rays of ravishing Light and Glory” Adams felt were ahead for us as a country, as a Kingdom that God created.   It was certainly created by believers in God and they sure did a darn good job.

I believe that “Acts of Devotion to God Almighty” WILL turn our country around.   I believe we don’t pray enough, that not enough of us pray enough (including me), that some of us  are losing a little bit of heart, depending on any given day.

john adams 3

Pray, folks.  We have a lot to be thankful for and, while this American dream is being destroyed by those who don’t have the same healthy dreams we and our forefathers had, the same reliance on God, the same kindness even during disputes, etc….. we’ve come to the end of a road which says “kindness is now by edict.”  (legislative edict to bring up the poor while the hard working successful are made poor).  Let’s pray about that and so many other things for our country.

“For where two or three are gathered in my name, there am I among them.” Matthew 18:20

Z

This entry was posted in Sunday Faith Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Sunday Faith Blog

  1. silverfiddle says:

    Amen, sister!

    I do pray for our nation every day, and as I have for all presidents, I pray for President Obama’s safety and that of his family.

    It’s all the rage for many to focus on our ills and sins of the past, and they think their modern-day iconoclasm will lead us to a brighter tomorrow, but they should study the French Revolution, because we are going through a cleaned-up, digitized modern-day version of it.

  2. Mal says:

    The Sermon in church today was “How deep are our roots?” and described how those with shallow roots are toppled over in times of heavy winds, while those with deep roots weather the storm and remain upright. Still others might break, but continue to have roots. The Pastor went on to explain how coming to church continues to nourish and deepen our roots. I hope he didn’t mean when we attend church he feeds us a bunch of fertilizer! Nah. I got his drift. 🙂

  3. Mal says:

    Silverfiddle, I’m sorry, but I don’t pray for Obama or anyone who is intentionally trying to weaken and destroy us. I could pray he be a changed person, but that would be contrary to his mission, ergo, impossible.

  4. silverfiddle says:

    With God, all things are possible. I also pray for the total ruin of his agenda, but I wish no harm on him or his family.

  5. Mal says:

    Amen to that, Sf!

  6. Baysider says:

    Yes, SF & Mal – I pray that the Lord will bring all of Obama’s purposes to naught and open his heart to the light. I typically have prayed for wisdom in our leaders, yet I find in this case it seems almost useless. Then I feel guilty as I remember we serve a God who turned the heart of the King of Nineveh, and the whole state repented.

    Charles Haddon Spurgeon said the power of his preaching came from the boiler room of his church which was packed with pray-ers during the services.

  7. You guys are better than me.
    I keep looking forward to him giving a speech and being consumed by worms like Herod.
    Just for the entertainment value.
    Pray for me.

  8. silverfiddle says:

    Upvote for Ed! (in exchange for a prayer for me. We all need them).

    This thread is a great reminder that we worship an awesome God. On our own we are nothing, and what is impossible to us is indeed doable by Our Lord. We must continue to pray. Just because we cannot see a way doesn’t mean God cannot make a way, thank God.

  9. geeez2014 says:

    I once was with friends praying in general about stuff and I brought up Obama and said “And, Lord, I lift up President Obama………(I paused and got this thought and couldn’t resist so I added..) …and we’d like you to keep him up there for a long time, if you would”
    We all burst into laughter!

    I pray for him, too…that his heart will change, that he’ll stop the dictatorship, that he’ll realize even Whites are important, or should be, to a president or anybody else……….And that the rich aren’t bad people, etc etc…..

    Great comments, everybody. Thanks so much.
    Sorry I was Missing in Action today….was gone about 13 hours today…had a great day.
    Hope you did the same.

    Blessings, Z

  10. geeez2014 says:

    Was hoping to get some conversation on the 3 images…which I found fascinating and so important….
    BUT..I sure do appreciate all that was said here, anyway!
    If you’d still like to weigh in on the images, please do…lots of meat there.

  11. jerrydablade says:

    Images? Is that Paul Giamatti I see? I do admit to being a little confused by the first one. May need to do some reading on this, but he sounds like obama here. I like the other two.

Leave a Reply

