Z’s (kind of!) on Fiji…what about you?

If you could choose one place to “get away from it all,” where would it be?

The other day on a remote Fijian island, my stepdaughter drew “Z” in the sand a ton of times and told me the water’d come and wash it away before she could photograph it but she did and here it is!    I thought it was wonderful to have your name on a remote island’s shores!!  (She did write my whole name in the sand, of course, but I don’t use my whole name here on GeeeZ!  That’s my screen saver now!)    (More Fiji pictures below this one)

z on fiji

fiji water

fiji shorePretty darned gorgeous, huh?  SO….where would YOU like to GET AWAY FROM IT ALL?

Z

 

This entry was posted in photographs, Z family. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Z’s (kind of!) on Fiji…what about you?

  1. jerrydablade says:

    Awesome! And your secret is safe with us Zsa Zsa! I’m in countdown mode for my Alaskan getaway!

  2. Sparky says:

    I was thinking Australia, if they would ever get back to their original gun rights, it would be a dandy place to live. Couldn’t live on an island. It would make me crazy(er). *ha ha* I like lots of room so I can ride. Fiji looks pretty in the photo but it’s not my cuppa tea. 🙂

  3. fredd says:

    I’m not much of a ‘get away from it all’ kind of guy. I like having a Taco Bell within 15 minutes of me, and a cell phone signal is a must have. If I can get an ice cold Corona with a lime while sitting on that Z beach, well then maybe….

  4. bunkerville says:

    Inner Mongolia. Why I have no idea 🙂 But you asked.

  5. Kid says:

    Great Pictures Zelda ! oops.

    I’m not much of a beach person though, I’m more into riding a horse with no name in the desert.

  6. geeez2014 says:

    you guys crack me UP!
    I, too, have NO DESIRE to go to FIJI (tho it does look beautiful), I’m DEFINITELY an URBAN GIRL!

    Zsa Zsa, Zelda….good guesses! Thank the LORD they’re NOT MY NAME!! (not that I’m a ‘horse with no name,’ Kid!) I’m not much of a desert gal, either, though the early mornings in the desert are something wonderful.

    Bunkerville! INNER MONGOLIA?! Why not OUTER :-)?

    fredd, I’m with you! Though I do like a few days here and there…. some rolling green hills for a few hours are good for me then I go scrambling back to CIVILIZATION!

    Sparky….ya, I doubt if there are many motorcycles on this island! I haven’t ridden for years but sure enjoyed it when I had friends in college who’d put me on the back and take off!

    Jerry, isn’t it beautiful!? SO what day DO you leave for your cruise!?

  7. Mustang says:

    I’m in kid’s wine cellar while he’s doing the Tim Strawn thing ala Cat Ballou in the desert on a horse with no name.

  8. silverfiddle says:

    Part of getting away from it all is not sharing the location with others 😉

    One place I actually have involves speaking a language other than English, and the other place I would like to have involves hills and hollers and good folks who live a life and speak a dialect foreign to today’s American metrosexuals…

    Cell phones, computers, TVs and other electronical devices? I could throw ’em all in the lake and jump for joy. Give me books, acoustic musical instruments and friendly people, and I’m good to go.

  9. Mal says:

    After much consideration, I would choose Lake Tahoe the way it USE to be before becoming so popular and overcrowded. I have been to some of the ones mentioned above, like Hawaii & Alaska
    plus the Greek Isles, etc. and enjoyed them, too, but I read Lake Tahoe is the most photographed place in the world and believe it is for a reason. And I know what Z stands for because I knew your folks, and anyone that doesn’t know what it is will never guess it, right, Z? :-

  10. Mal says:

    (that was suppose to be a smiley face but the last character didn’t type!) 🙂

  11. cube says:

    I have a zest for life and, although travel is not usually in my comfort zone, I’d zoom my non-zaftig, cubit zirconium draped bod over to Z beach. The zenith of my stay being lots of contemplative zazen meditation and night sky zodiac watches, while my scientific side pondered the significance of the Zeeman effect, zwitterions, and the zymurgy of craft beers, as I waited for the zombie waiter to bring my glass of zinfandel and dessert… zabaglione, of course 😉

    No really, a trip to the Bahamas would do me just fine. I’d miss the zyzzyva here too much if I went too far out of country.

  12. Bob says:

    Great pics! It kind of reminds me of the Direct TV commercial, Hannah and Her Horse.

  13. Bob says:

    Sorry Z. That was bad taste.

  14. cube says:

    Mal: I thought it was a jawless zombie emoji face 😉

  15. skudrunner says:

    Pat O’Brien’s, you may not be alone but after a couple of hurricanes who cares.

  16. No favorite.
    I’d like to take Scherie to Southern Italy and Greece, but it’s probably not like I remember it.

  17. geeez2014 says:

    Mustang! I hear Kid clomping down the stairs right now…do you!?

    AOW: I wish that for you.

    SF…if you could read my stepdaughter’s accounts of the remote Fiji islands, you’d be on a boat….it’s all you wish for and more.. And THE most lovely, innocent people…almost shocking, honestly.
    But I’m sure you would choose a Spanish speaking country!

    Mal, I haven’t been to Lake Tahoe in MANY years but did love it back in the day. Wouldn’t be surprised if went with Gloria and family when I was little….
    And no, nobody will guess, and if they do, I’ll deny. Anonymity is very important at a blog…at least my blog!

    Cube! I don’t love traveling anymore, either…I did TONS with Mr. Z and liked it, but if I didn’t again, that’d be okay……….Your comment was so clever…Zank you very much!
    I hope you do make it to the Bahamas!

    Bob, not at all bad taste…WHY?! It does look similar!

    Skudrunner.. You probably wouldn’t mind a REAL hurricane after a hurricane’s downed!!

    Ed, we were lucky to know a friend with 2 houses on Samos, a pretty remote Greek Island….Oh, to be sitting on the sand at Mikey’s watching Mr Z drink Ouzo and us eating lamb kebabs and feta /cuke/romato salad, etc etc……with out feet practically in the sand…
    after having walked the twenty minutes through olive orchards from her house to the water…BLISS.

    I with you ALL to have your vacation dreams come true!!!
    I think I’d only go far anymore if I could wiggle my nose and just BE THERE……..that, I’d like!!

  18. Mal says:

    Right, Cube. A jawless Zombie emoji face! How did you guess?!!

  19. :- :- :- :- :- :- :-
    The walking dead :-

  20. Baysider says:

    New Zealand. My doctor’s head partner lives half year in New Zealand and half year in north San Diego County – always in spring and summer. His stories of New Zealand (and some of Ms. Z’s old photos) make me want to go. It’s sooooo clean. The food is fabulous. It’s just the gettin’ there part I’m opposed too. Else we might plan a trip to Tuscany one day.

  21. Mal says:

    ………..with a limp, Ed?

  22. jerrydablade says:

    We fly to Vancouver bright and early on 8/5, Z. Cast off on the Radiance of the seas two days later. I’ll try to check in a few times while gone -: -: -:

Leave a Reply

