Sunday Faith Blog

walk on water

“What is my dream of God’s purpose?  His purpose is that I depend on Him and on His power now.  If I can stay in the middle of the turmoil calm and unperplexed, that is the end of the purpose of God.  God is not working toward a particular finish;  His end is the process – that I see Him walking on the waves, no shore in sight, no success, no goal, just the absolute certainty that it is all right because I see Him walking on the sea.  it is the process, not the end, which is glorifying to God.”   Oswald Chambers

” But when he saw the wind boisterous, he was afraid; and beginning to sink, he cried, saying, Lord, save me. 

 And immediately Jesus stretched forth his hand, and caught him, and said unto him, O thou of little faith, wherefore didst thou doubt?

 And when they were come into the ship, the wind ceased.

 Then they that were in the ship came and worshipped him, saying, Of a truth thou art the Son of God.”  Matthew 14: 30-33

Depend on His power.  Have a great Sunday…….and think about that.  I hope you do!

Z

 

This entry was posted in Sunday Faith Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Sunday Faith Blog

  1. “Depend on His power.”
    Romans 7:21-25 King James Version (KJV)
    21 I find then a law, that, when I would do good, evil is present with me.
    22 For I delight in the law of God after the inward man:
    23 But I see another law in my members, warring against the law of my mind, and bringing me into captivity to the law of sin which is in my members.
    24 O wretched man that I am! who shall deliver me from the body of this death?
    25 I thank God through Jesus Christ our Lord. So then with the mind I myself serve the law of God; but with the flesh the law of sin.

    The Normal Christian Life by Watchman Nee explains so clearly that we can’t do it on our own.
    He says there is no normal life, or rather that the normal Christian life is relying on God to see us through each temptation as we call on Him to deliver us.

    What a wonderful post today!
    The Chambers quote is great.

    Like

  2. geeez2014 says:

    Thanks, Ed.
    I believe that something many don’t fully consider is that it’s the PROCESS of trusting….that staying calm and dependent and trusting during the hardest times is a process of success and pleasing to God. And a great relief to ourselves, and something I almost only see on any consistent basis in much older people who stay grounded in Scripture.

    Like

  3. silverfiddle says:

    Z: That’s a great way to look at it, because it is a continual process, a journey.

    It is helpful to remember that God never abandons us. God is all good, all love, and unchanging. When we find ourselves abandoned and estranged from God, it is because we moved away, not him. God is always right there where he has always been. He is the loving father of the Prodigal son, who although completely in the right, doesn’t walk, but runs to the ungrateful son returning home and embraces him. That is a profound image.

    Like

  4. geeez2014 says:

    SF: yes, and the PROCESS is standing firm in our faith….seeing HIM everywhere we are, feeling His strength and faithfulness to us, whether it’s at the altar happily marrying our beloved or watching that beloved die in the hospital…

    Remember, Peter started to sink into the waves when he took his eyes of Jesus…..

    The Prodigal son story is one of the best, the most profound, in the Bible; and your point about how God was definitely IN THE RIGHT but runs to meet us wherever we are.

    Like

  5. geeez2014 says:

    “But while he was still a long way off, his father saw him and was filled with compassion for him; he ran to his son, threw his arms around him and kissed him.
    21 “The son said to him, ‘Father, I have sinned against heaven and against you. I am no longer worthy to be called your son.’”

    I believe that Our Father knows our hearts and, if our hearts are with Him, He will be filled with compassion even before we formalize our faith with words as the Prodigal Son did above.

    Like

  6. geeez2014 says:

    I’m participating in giving communion at church today, including the 75 Campus Crusade for Christ kids whose last Sunday this is with us (I actually asked if I could have the honor of serving it today for that reason). I opened the Bible just now to Ezekial 34…”feed my sheep”…. a message so clearly meant for them this morning and always, as they have used such courage to talk to people about their faith every day this summer in the Santa Monica area.

    Like

  7. Bob says:

    Thanks for the post, Z, and to Ed and SF for their comments.

    Like

  8. Mal Telloian says:

    On an unrelated note, I just downloaded Windows 10 and I’m sorry I did! My old icons for games like Solitaire, for example, no longer opens. It can’t find it. Also, when I hit the “start” button, all the stuff is different. None of the things I use to have are there. I got a questionnaire from them, asking my opinion…………and I told them. Lets see what they answer. My e-mail seems unaffected though.

    Like

  9. geeez2014 says:

    Oh, Mal! Sorry about that………
    Maybe someone can help you from here…can you get out of Windows 10 and go back to what you had?

    Like

  10. bunkerville says:

    Great post and comment.. Let us not forget what we are to be about.

    Like

  11. Mustang says:

    For Mal

    Maybe this will help you. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kGw9k-ImkG4

    Like

  12. geeez2014 says:

    Bunkerville…not always easy but always reassuring, right? Thanks for that input. xxx

    Mustang, thanks for helping Mal; I hope that does help.

    Like

  13. Mal Telloian says:

    Thanks, Mustang. I watched about 5 minutes of it, then stopped. I’m not sure I can remember all that after watching it. I will try, but if I don’t succeed, I will get help a few weeks from now from one of my grandsons (we will be driving up to Washington State for our annual visit, leaving Aug. 20th).
    Also, my oldest son works for a company from his home helping people from all over with their computer problems. What is the advantage to this latest version, anyhow? Right now, I would love to simply go back to Windows 7. Hey! I’m turning 87 in September and hate changes! You will, too, Mustang……..and the rest of you. You’ll see! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

