WOMEN on money?

eleanor

What woman do you think should be on the $10 or $20 bill? (some say it’s the $10 and some say it’s the $20 bills that are possibly changing).

The top choice, apparently, is Eleanor Roosevelt.   She’s not even close to who I’d choose.  She disliked her own visage so much that I doubt she’d want it on money, either, poor thing.

The second choice in most polls is Harriet Tubman, and the third choice is Sacagawea. Other names were Rosa Parks and Susan B Anthony.

(I wanted to mention here, too, that Wilma Mankiller is also high on the list, and the fact that that’s her name is hilarious to me.  Also, this really made me laugh:  “Mankiller’s administration founded the Cherokee Nation Community Development Department and saw a population increase of Cherokee Nation citizens from 55,000 to 156,000.”    Not sure, but did Mankiller do something that upped the libido of the Cherokee nation? (smile))

Interestingly, the last woman on U.S. paper currency was Martha Washington, who was on the $1 Silver Certificate between 1891 and 1896.

SO, what woman do you think ought to replace Andrew Jackson or Andrew Hamilton on whichever bill gets a woman?  And should a woman replace anybody?

Z

This entry was posted in matters of interest, women's issues. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to WOMEN on money?

  1. Well, I wonder if one of those many more Cherokees is Elizabeth Warren?
    Dolly Madison or Abigail Adams would be good choices.

  2. bocopro says:

    Boudicca on the $10, and Michaela Conlin on the $20 (’cause she’s SUCH a fox).
    Rosie the Riveter on the $1, the Andrews Sisters on the $5, and Hillary Rodham on the $13.
    Maybe we could go with a new denomination, the $25, and put Eleanor on that’n. Leave Andy and Andy alone.

  3. bunkerville says:

    I will second Ed’s choices. I doubt many even know who these fine ladies were though.

  4. geeez2014 says:

    I’m not sure I even think a change to a woman is necessary; if there was a new denomination of paper money or coin, I’d think “Okay, consider a woman now…..” But, these days, we’re so PC and forced to do things I think are silly. l “if it ain’t broke…” and, now that I think of it, money is generally not broke 🙂

    Dolly Madison and Abigail Adams….nice choices, but I’d like to think there have been at least as important women since then, no?

    bocopro…..Hillary on the $13 is perfect. Why Eleanor at ALL?

    bunkerville….I personally wouldn’t mind Harriet Tubman; a black woman who fought for civil rights seems like a worthy nominee/cause to me. Man, that woman had GUTS we don’t see anymore and fought for good causes.

  5. I love Ed’s choices!

    I don’t much like the idea of Eleanor Roosevelt, but she would be a better choice than Margaret Sanger. I’m surprised that some Leftista hasn’t proposed Margaret Sanger.

  6. Z,
    She disliked her own visage so much that I doubt she’d want it on money, either, poor thing.

    Good point!

  7. silverfiddle says:

    Adrienne: Which end?

  8. geeez2014 says:

    AOW: So you don’t think there are women who’ve done great things since Dolly and Abigail? They were certainly great ladies, but…………I’d like to think someone’s done something since then that merits this honor.
    Good point about Sanger…those Leftists love to admire people like her; dogged ideology does that, doesn’t it.

    Adrienne and SF:: Now, now……… 🙂 Considering our world today, probably she seriously wouldn’t be discounted for the choice by many! If we asked a bunch of high school kids, she’d be all they could probably think of!

  9. geeez2014 says:

    Adrienne; still haven’t had a chance to start your book, but eager to.

  10. Kid says:

    Bruce Jenner on a new bill, the 3 dollar.

  11. Mustang says:

    I have all kinds of recommendations for the $3.00 bill but not so much for the twenty. I think if Roosevelt ends up on the $20, it could change bank robberies forever: “Alright, load up the bag with ten dollar bills and make it snappy … ier.”

  12. John M. Berger says:

    Eleanor Roosevelt ! Well then why not Helen Thomas?

  13. Silverlady says:

    Leave our damn money alone! The gov’t. already took bath when they came out with the Sacajawea (?) coin. Nobody wanted them. I refused them many times, so if it ain’t broke don’t fix it. Oh, but I forgot, we are broke thanks to Bampot.

    But I do have a fake $3.00 bill with Hitler-y on my ‘fridge. You can find them on eBay, but mine was a freebie.

  14. geeez2014 says:

    Kid and Mustang….great point about a $3 bill 🙂 And Eleanor on the $20!!!

    JMB…..same logic!

  15. Z,
    So you don’t think there are women who’ve done great things since Dolly and Abigail?

    It’s not that factor, but rather that our paper money uses historical figures not as modern as what you have suggested.

  16. geeez2014 says:

    AOW: yes, that’s a good point, thanks. Our paper does use historical figures, but I think it’s because they’ve been on bills for practically since they weren’t historical, or am I wrong? I sure could be 🙂

  17. Baysider says:

    So why is anyone talking about this? Hamilton certainly ‘earned’ his place on a bank note. More than the wildcat Democrat Jackson. But the ship of state is going DOWN and we’re rearranging the deck chairs? If we’re making changes to make statements, let’s put Calvin Coolidge on the $20.

    So — what goes on the back? The $10 has the treasury building for Hamilton. Suggestions?

    There are other options. Does anyone know Salmon Chase is on the $10,000 bill? He issued the bill (as treasury secretary) and chose his face for it. Eleanor and her policies would certainly require a lot more of these bills. Maybe this is appropriate for her.

  18. Mal Telloian says:

    I remember when Eleanor Roosevelt had a new hybrid Rose named after her. When she was asked what she thought, she said: “Well, have you read the instructions on it? “Good up against a wall, but not good in a bed!” 🙂

  19. geeez2014 says:

    I agree, Baysider. It seems to me with have such bigger problems that even discussing this is nuts, but it IS being discussed so I find it appropriate for the blog.
    Eleanor was such a spender, I’d go for her instead of Chase on the $10K bill!

    Mal….she said THAT? 🙂

  20. Mal Telloian says:

    Yes, Z. She DID. Apparently she had a better sense of humor than anyone would’ve thought. You know, I believe she was FDR’s cousin, if I’m not mistaken, and her maiden name may also have been Roosevelt. Had you heard that?

  21. Lisa says:

    Kathy Boudin,no just kidding

  22. Kid says:

    Lisa, How about the black chick that did the obama phone thing on youtube… ?

  23. Lisa says:

    Oh yeah the Froot Loop

Leave a Reply

