Can you BELIEVE this? Too good not to post

ralphs

Ya, I have a Sunday Faith Post up, of course, underneath this post, but I HAD to tell you all something that just happened that I loved!
I went to the Ralph’s Grocery store after church to buy a few things….ground turkey, couple of bottles of inexpensive wines, lettuce, a lemon, and milk ;  $72.00 (with the Ralph’s card discount).   I swear.  The wines were both sale priced at UNDER $8 each, too!

Some of you read my post recently where I said two Hispanic guys, check-out clerks at Ralph’s and Smart ‘n Final, said this to me (within days of each other), when I moaned about the high cost of groceries, “You know if the minimum wage goes up, we’ll not be able to afford ANYTHING because prices will have to go up so high!”  I nearly FROZE thinking I’d heard incorrectly!   THEY GET IT!

SO TODAY: a Black guy’s bagging me at Ralph’s (so to speak :-)) and I said “$72 for this little bit of stuff…man!  Wait till minimum wage goes up and we’ll see how high it goes!” HE looks at me very seriously, as he’s stuffing stuff into my bag, “That’s right…nobody will be able to afford anything…”  I said “You understand that, too!?”  He leans toward me and says “I’m a REPUBLICAN”    HA!!   I nearly fell down!

So this Black guy continues with how his friends won’t listen to him but he doesn’t care…..‘Best thing that ever happened to ME was becoming Conservative..’

I figured this might not be a Sunday Faith Post, per se, and you know my own rule here that I only post faith stuff on Sundays, but if THIS doesn’t lift up our faith in fellow man!?

The statistics are that if ONE person feels like that, a LOT do………Remember ol’ “Louis” and pray that he chats his conservatism up to his friends!.

(without getting beaten to a pulp, that is!)

Z

This entry was posted in matters of interest, race, Republicans, Sunday Faith Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Can you BELIEVE this? Too good not to post

  1. John M. Berger says:

    I’d call this Sunday Faith, APPLIED!
    It has sort of picked me up.

  2. geeez2014 says:

    Hi, John! It does feel good to hear stories like that, doesn’t it!….

  3. Baysider says:

    Good story, Z!

  4. geeez2014 says:

    Bay..pretty darned great, isn’t it. it sure is uplifting…

  5. Sparky says:

    That IS uplifting! Thank you for sharing and encouraging us to keep “witnessing” for the sanity as well. It’s gonna have to be the young people that save this country. God bless you and yours Z.

  6. There’s a black conservative guy named Fred who calls the Bennett show from LA.
    Everybody loves to hear his Morgan Freeman voice as he talks about the difficulties of convincing his family.
    Glad you shared that.
    Still, $72?
    Care to itemize?

  7. Kid says:

    Great Story Z, I remain cautiously optimistic considering all I see going on as well.

  8. geeez2014 says:

    Sparky, it is going to take young people; though we ‘oldsters’ are still voting! I think the liberals who want this country brought to its knees picked a time about 20 years too early; they didn’t count on us.

    Ed…stamps, I forgot stamps. No, I don’t care to itemize what I bought, thanks. Stamps or not, my point is how much groceries cost these days.

    Kid…I’m not thinking this solves everything, believe me!!

  9. Bob says:

    You still use stamps? ?Come on…

    As far as the checkers go, remember that they are gainfully employed and that’s why they get it. When I was going to the tech college two years ago, I was in class with Hispanic and black kids. They are not stupid. I enjoyed the relationships, and respected them a LOT. They were all fun, and respectful to an old white man.

    I don’t believe the world is going to hell in a handbasket, yet. I believe that our younger generations will work it out. Have faith!

  10. geeez2014 says:

    Bob! STILL USE STAMPS? I mean postage stamps. Don’t you???
    (remember Green Stamps?) (I don’t, of COURSE!!!! :-))

    Yes, gainfully employed; excellent observation/connection!

    Bob, honestly, the black and hispanic kids at the Christian high school I’m associated with ROCK…they are FABULOUS kids; I agree with you. THEY NEED LOVE and RESPECT and APPRECIATION..and then they BLOSSOM!!

  11. geeez2014 says:

    Oh. I forgot.
    I don’t have a lot of faith as to the other kids who are impossible due to their parents and indoctrinating teachers!

Leave a Reply

