Sunday Faith Blog

pray america

A friend and I were talking about the constant bad news on TV……constant, constant.  We talked about how unhealthy it was to hear this stuff so often.  He said he dealt with it by praying when he heard a story;  praying for the people involved, for America, for the situation…right in that spot, right on that subject he was feeling despondent over….prayed about it.  He said it helped tremendously and I said I was going to share it with my readers on my Sunday Faith Blog…so here it is.

I like the idea:  instead of getting so tied up in knots over the hideous situation in our country, pray for each subject you hear;  it gets a little of the panic off of you (trust me) and it helps the situation.  We get enough of that going on and who knows?

“Lord, we ask that you help those people affected by the horrible environmental tragedy in four states where the rivers are running with toxins….calm the people down, let justice be done when the truth about it is known.”

“Lord, we pray that Obama’s heart turns toward our country and away from all those he seems to prefer.  We ask for patience on our parts that we are not hateful but cautious and careful when dealing with this administration.  We pray that the truth be known and the lies dealt with.”

“God, things are really tough today on the news, it’s hard to watch as I see so much falling apart in this grand country I believe you founded.  Keep me calm, keep me strong in my patriotism, don’t let me be overwhelmed.”

“Another (policeman or civilian) has been hurt, God, please be with him and his family.  Let the truth be known and let the crowds stay calm.  Take away the doubt and fear by the community and bring them together…be with them and restore respect for the law and safety for the citizens.”

Etc, etc…….I think this is  better than the hate we so often feel watching television…which does nothing to those things we hate but makes us a wreck, let’s face it.  I hope you have something to add to this subject and I would love to hear it.   How can prayer HURT?

Righteousness exalteth a nation: but sin [is] a reproach to any people.” Proverbs 14:34

Have a Sunday where you step back and think of God before getting so wound up…..I’m going to try.

Thanks, Pete H., for this suggestion!

Amen,  Z

This entry was posted in Sunday Faith Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Sunday Faith Blog

  1. Sparky says:

    Amen, amen, AMEN! Very good advice. I also try to do that. And when I hear an ambulance, I try to always pray for those involved that Christ’s name be exalted that whomever may be saved (spiritually), etc. Prayer is always a good thing especially when we think of others first. Thank you for this timely reminder. Oh, and I try to always pray for those I follow, or follow me, in bloggyland. We all have so many needs, wants, fears, desires and it’s all important. Love really is the answer. Have a blessed day Z. 🙂

  2. Sparky, I do something similar when I hear the sirens.
    Perhaps as Z, suggests, a similar response is called for when hearing the “news”.

  3. silverfiddle says:

    Great post! I have practiced this for years, and it is a healthy and positive way to deal with the constant stream of garbage, horrible news and misfortune.

    I also practice this when some misfortune happens, like our car breaking down or some other financial disaster. My wife and I always thank God we have the money fix whatever it was that broke. (please don’t think I’m a saint. Before thanking God, my first reaction, when the disaster strikes, is to curse my fate and damn whatever it is that broke as I tote up the cost…) Doing the right thing is a struggle for me…

  4. geeez2014 says:

    Sparky, me, too, on the ambulance thing….A Catholic friend told me she was taught that in school and I’ve done it ever since. It sure can’t hurt, right?

    Ed…just like that, yes..

    SF…Ya, the first reaction is usually “()*&W#$(*&W#$, why’d THAT happen, ONE more thing to worry about, blahblahblah..Oh, NO!” then that calm which surpasses all understanding comes……sometimes later than sooner, but it comes!

    It’s a positive healthy way to affect the news, hopefully…actually make a difference if enough of us are doing this, AND keep our hearts from taking everything IN so unhappily and unhealthily and, instead, giving it to God.

  5. geeez2014 says:

    Sparky, your Sunday Blog today is SO GOOD, SO important….we all know it, but it never hurts to read it again. THANK YOU SO MUCH. The part about Luther really shows what an amazingly pivotal figure he was in Christianity….good stuff.

  6. Mal says:

    Good advice. Actually, with all that has happened since 2008, prayer is the ONLY thing we have left, lest we go crazy! Also, like chicken soup, “it can’t hurt”!

  7. geeez2014 says:

    Mal, right!!! I say that ‘chicken soup’ line a lot, too….cute.

    BUT I like to say “Prayer might be the ‘only’ thing we have, but that’s a HUUUGE ‘only’, isn’t it!”
    xxx

  8. Baysider says:

    Thanks for this great post, Z. If only we can truly hold on to the fact that God IS ON HIS THRONE even as men come and go.

    Yesterday I was taken by this scene from Isaiah 6, “In the year that King Uzziah died I saw the Lord sitting upon a throne, high and lifted up; and the train of his robe filled the temple.” Uzziah was a good king in a dangerous time. He reigned 52 years. His young son Jotham had been co-regent the last 12 years because of his father’s illness. But now he was king in his own name. Isaiah had to be in mourning for the loss of such a godly man – who knew what the son would do? (He only ruled 3 more years and was also a good king.)

    But Isaiah didn’t know that yet, and for him and all of us God gives him the vision of God on His throne, and the seraphim saying to one another “Holy, holy, holy is the LORD of hosts, the whole earth is full of his glory!” while the foundations and thresholds shook at his voice. The Lord of hosts, that’s a stout military term. And reassurance for our age in which venal men rule without sense or the fear of God.

    As for the ambulance prayer, a friend gave me that idea years ago – and I do. The first thing I noticed was how it turned my heart from focus on momentary inconvenience to the other in need.

  9. alec says:

    Beautiful ways here to move towards “praying without ceasing”. Have never thought about praying when an ambulance passes – such an easy and wonderful thing to do. Thank you.

    This week I read something Luther wrote which struck me as powerful. It seems germane to your topic, Z. Maybe it will be helpful to others. He wrote, “…when anything monstrous or terrible is seen or heard, they can say, “Lord God, protect us!”, “Help, dear Lord Jesus!” and so on. -Book of Concord, Large Catechism, part 1, 74.

    Dear Lord, deliver us. Easy to remember and fits so much.

  10. geeez2014 says:

    Baysider and Alec, it really does take some of the ‘steam’ off of us when seeing something SO egregious in the news…”Lord, change their hearts..” “Lord, protect them,” “Lord, let him DROP OUT OF THE RACE” (Kidding!! but not much!! HA!)
    Yes, the ambulance prayer is something I learned many years ago and highly recommend…..

    “Deliver us” really does cover a lot, Alec……
    Something else I’m just starting to REALLY absorb is something my Christian mentor Muriel, who died this week at the age of 92, and who I loved eternally, used to urge, and which is in Scripture, of course …Thank Jesus for even the bad things in your life………He is in control, he knows, he is there……….’…..I will uphold you with my righteous right hand’.
    This is not easy by a long shot, but as one grows into it, it’s healing and amazingly helpful….

  11. Bob says:

    I find myself praying often when I see the news. It is usually in the form of, “help”. Things are out of my control, and I am asking God to take control. It helps.

Leave a Reply

