Goodbye, Moses Malone

moses malone

I just learned that basketball player Moses Malone died at the age of sixty, in his sleep, of an apparent heart attack.   He was a favorite of mine (If I’m a fan of any sport, basketball is it and Mr. Z and I watched a lot of it together.  Lakers fans, of course)…and I think he had the greatest name of all time:

Mr. Moses Malone.    Thanks for the memories.

Z

This entry was posted in sports. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Goodbye, Moses Malone

  1. Mal says:

    I was never a basketball fan but certainly remember him, Z. Age 60 seems awfully young, esp. to someone like me who will be 87 tomorrow. Also, it was good he went in his sleep. Like the old saying: “I want to go in my sleep like my uncle did, not like his passengers yelling and screaming!” 🙂

  2. geeez2014 says:

    My friend Dotty, who died at 90, used to say “I keep asking God to save me a heart attack in my sleep!”
    And he did.
    I was surprised that someone as fit as Malone probably was, or had been, had this happen.
    MOSES MALONE…there just IS no better name!

  3. Bob says:

    He was a great player, and died too young. When something like this happens, there is usually a history of problems, or habitual inattention to problems. Chairman of the Board(s).

  4. geeez2014 says:

    Hi, Bob…he was a very great player and died WAY too young. Ya, the Chairman of the Board!

    MOSES MALONE…………….a great player.

  5. geeez2014 says:

    From an anonymous commenter called “MR HYDE” “we miss you on the other side and hope you come back.
    Here in Houston, we’re all sad to hear of the passing of Moses.”

Leave a Reply

