The Republican Debate….

Did you watch the Second Tier, first debate?   What did you think?

Let us know if you’ve got comments during or after the BIG DEBATE …..  

Looking forward to hearing from you all:

Fasten your seat belts 🙂

Z

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to The Republican Debate….

  1. bocopro says:

    Not gonna watch the “debate” again. There’ll be plenty of highlight clips tomorrow morning. Too many people on the stage for a debate anyhow. Nobody will have time to do more than just spout the rehearsed talking point that most closely relates to the question.

    Would like to see ‘em come walkin’ in with a theme song, though. Be kinda cute to see what they’d come up with. I had a few ideas . . . wuz gonna go find those little 10-second clips and post the links, but that’s too damned much trouble, and some of those clips don’t always work.

    How ‘bout these:

    Walker: “I wanna talk about me, me, me . . .”

    Fiorina: “I am woman, hear me roar!”

    Christie: “He-e-e-e-ey, Abbott . . . .”

    Bush: “Dream along with me . . .”

    Huckabee: “Yes, Jesus loves me”

    Paul: “Waterloo, where will you meet your Waterloo”

    Cruz: “Toccata & Fugue”

    Rubio: “Guantanamera”

    Carson: “Thus Spake Zarathustra”

    Trump: “Ride of the Valkyries”

    I’m missin somebody, Kasich, I think, but who cares. Nine months from now we’ll be down to 2 or 3 anyhow, prob’ly Bush, Rubio, and whoever else has big-time backers with deep pockets and lots of influence to peddle.

  2. Bob says:

    Who invited that Communist and cop hater, Van Jones, to comment on the debates? CNN is a leftist organization.

  3. Kid says:

    Jindhal was the only one that sounded remotely Conservative. The rest of them were clearly sticking to their marketing demographics for trying to not say something that would lose more than 5 votes nationwide.

  4. Kid says:

    bocopro. Not too dang bad at all. Actually pretty darn good. fwiw

  5. Bob says:

    They are making a huge mistake by everybody taking on Trump. All it does is give Trump more exposure.

  6. geeez2014 says:

    BOB, I SO agree with you about the Trump comment….you’re right.
    And yes….Wolf BLitzer’s panel was ALL LEFTIES….”surprise!” And they say FOX is biased 🙂

    bocopro; I think that’s pretty darned good, too…but it’s the nuances I’m watching so I do watch the whole thing/ Even though I might take the novel I’m reading downstairs to see the rest!

    Kid, sorry to hear that about Jindhal being the only Cons.
    SOmeone on CNN said every question Graham got was turned to TERRORISM!

  7. Bocopro,
    LOL to those tunes you chose. Clever!

  8. I’ll say this so far….Not boring!

    And issues-based, too. I’m getting a better idea as to where these candidates stand on specific issues.

    Say what you will about Donald Trump, he’s got this all stirred up.

    Full disclosure: I missed the earlier debate with the four on stage. I was too involved with a particular news story that involved my immediate attention: that of Ahmed Mohamed. So much more to this than you are hearing!

  9. I’m enjoying listening on the radio.
    When I hear the clips tomorrow taken out of context, I want to know the context they were taken out of.
    I like Bocopro. He’s a clever writer. Those clips are unnecessary.
    That’s not Firoina or Walker or Huckabee for instance.
    Mocking these candidates who are a hope of dislodging the democrats from the White House doesn’t help.
    Unless your mocking Trump. 🙂
    I’m hearing some good stuff.
    I’m hearing candidates come back at Tapper et al and show solidarity refusing to attack each other.
    Except Trump.

  10. geeez2014 says:

    Ed, I think the candidates are FAR brighter than I’d given them credit for tonight…….
    bocopro was being clever…they’re not bad!
    I’m sorry, but the “Yes, Jesus Loves me” DOES kind of capture Huckabee, particularly to someone who’s not a person of faith, like bocopro.

  11. Kid says:

    Ok, I can’t take anymore…

    1. They are by a wide margin only asking questions that pit the candfidates against each other. NO doubt they be loving the results.
    1a. Carly Fiorina Cleary wins this debate. I’d vote for her right now even tho as I’ve stated, I believe campaigns to be the seduction of the idiots. You must at least start with someone who states things that make sense and creates an impression of intent. She is the only one who has done so in this debate..

    2. Trump. He can’t seem to be able to make a point. By going softer, he has lost something. He sure as hell can’t make a point with people who watch these things to find out where people stand. By saying Carley is ugly as a face, or persona whichever you believe, he then says tonight that she is a beautiful person and a beautifel persona. Ok, so he can’t form an opinion that lasts more than 2 weeks? And we want him delaling with the vermin around the world?

    3. They ALL are assuming they will be running against the hildebeast.

    4. Ben Carson makes great points but my personal opinion is that he just doesn’t have the fire. I think Carly makes slightly better points and that she does have the fire.

    – Over.

  12. Kid says:

    Z, Yea. “America” doesn’t want to send our kids back to the ME. They’d like to shut the door on it and throw away the key and turn off completely any of these moslem vermin coming here (1st) or anywhere (2nd).
    We’re not ready to begin another campaign of sending our precious military into a nest to stomp 2% of the cockroaches, sustain many lethal and non-lethal causalities and return to find that in a few years NADA ********* thing has been accomplished. I think even stupid people get this one.

  13. Kid says:

    Dang.

    5. With all the talk of immigration and the Cost to Deport, WHY has not a single one of them mentioned the idea of turning off the free stuff and fining buisnesses that hire them and they will deport themselves.

    And as far as Americans not wanting to work on farms, turn off Their free stuff too and watch how quickly young Americans start working on farms and elsewhere.

    sigh.

  14. Kid. Good points all.

  15. Mustang says:

    Kid for President

  16. Kid says:

    Heh… I accept !

  17. geeez2014 says:

    I think Ben Carson has everything the others have and more, personally…..he’s a bit less calm and quiet than last time.
    I think Carly’s done a fantastic job….absolutely.

    And I love your #5 the most; where ARE they?

    I was glad someone finally (even if it was the loathsome, conceited Rand Paul) mentioned how the Saudis aren’t taking any refugees in and let THEM fight their own wars, too.

    Good points, Kid.

  18. geeez2014 says:

    I’ll second that emotion!

  19. geeez2014 says:

    I believe they’re all WAAAY brighter than I’d thought they were.
    I thought all their intros were excellent….
    and they can think on their feet BIG TIME. I’m impressed by this bunch.
    I wasn’t yesterday!

  20. geeez2014 says:

    Carson! “He’s an okay doctor” after Trump had waxed very ineloquently on autism! GREAT COMEBACK! Remember, Trump said “Carson’s an okay doctor” about a week ago on Hewitt’s show 🙂

  21. Bob says:

    Kid has it right. First of all, I agree with him about Carlie, and about Trump. Secondly, Kid is the only guy that thinks, as I do, that mass deportation doesn’t need to happen. All we have to do is ask the illegal aliens to go home, and they will. They will leave when their employers tell them that it is illegal to work in the US without proper documentation. Most will go home. Then, we can deal with the rest of them.

    I have always thought that we need to deport all the illegal men, right now, and keep the women with their children born in the US. Let them face the problem of breaking up their own families,

    Why do we have to cure the social ills of the entire Western Hemisphere, especially Mexico and the Central American countries?

    I think Rubio has really won the debate, and I would vote for him and Fiorino in a heartbeat.

  22. Kid says:

    Bob, Thank you. fwiw – I read an article today that talked about how hard it is to get criminal data stats about illegal aliens and the number and nature of Serious crimes they commit. Even using estimates, the numbers of murders, rapes, and other personal attack crimes is staggering.

    I’m all for deorting any illegal alien in our prison system once we have a method in place that assures they will never return. Even if that method is a 0.50 cal full metal jacket hollow point to the cranium,

  23. baysider says:

    Thanks for the updates guys. I had a much better evening doing my bible study. 🙂

  24. baysider says:

    And Kid … DON’T DO IT! You have Clinton’s, Bush’s and Obama’s messes to clean up and YOU’LL get blamed. Unless, of course, you run as a Democrat. 🙂

  25. geeez2014 says:

    Kid and Bob “I’m all for deporting any illegal alien in our prison system once we have a method in place that assures they will never return” THAT is a good idea…..seems so simple, doesn’t it.
    I don’t think they’ll go home….a bad job in America, or no job, is still better than life in MX. I don’t think they get hospitalization, etc., …but they might; I don’t know. I just don’t think they’ll leave for anything.

    Bob….Rubio did MUCH better than last time, didn’t he…he’s SO sharp.

    I was glad to see that most of them are far brighter, far better on their feet, than I’d thought. It’s good to see them in action; I got a better impression of their personalities tonight. And I thought some of the exchanges revealed some things about their characters.
    Fiorina is about as articulate as they come…honestly.

    Jeb’s line saying he’d want to be known as EVERYREADY “is that energetic enough?” was hilarious…as was Carson’s line about “good doctor”\

    I thought Carson was more effective than some of the pundits are now saying.

    Trump came off a TAD BIT softer…I wondered if his daughter in the audience was scowling at him to COOL IT. You can tell how smart he is, too…no doubt about it, but he has such thin skin it’s shocking he’s come to where he is. SO thin skinned and knee-jerk mean…you know? He really quickly can bite a head off, particularly if it’s in response to the tiniest slight to him. WOW, that would be HARD TO LIVE WITH!!!

    Baysider…Kid can clean up the mess… I’d count on it!

  26. geeez2014 says:

    By the way, I thought Kasich was a ZERO tonight….Walker was ZERO PLUS 1, and Huckabee seemed desperate

  27. I thought Walker came off a lot better than I’ve seen him anywhere lately.
    I was an early Walker fan, and disappointed at every appearance he had made until now.

  28. Imp says:

    Recent poll:

    Are there too many illegals in the United States?

    Yes 22%

    No 17%

    No Comprende 61%

  29. jerrydablade says:

    Based purely on the question regarding what secret service name they would pick for themselves, I liked Ted’s answer of “Cohiba”. Winner of the under-card debate was Jindhal, when he stated we should just throw out the Republican party and start over if these yahoos can’t defund Planned Parenthood after those videos (I’m paraphrasing again). I LOVED that. Winner of the main event (based on poll bumps) was probably Carly.

    OH, I JUST REMBERED SOMETHING! Between the debates, CNN staged a phot with all the candidates from the kiddie table and the main debates. Jindhal was the only no show. I wonder if that was purposeful? Were it me, I would have wandered onto stage late, wearing an obama mask and holding a selfie stick.

    I did find that plane in the background somewhat distracting.

  30. geeez2014 says:

    Jerry, I found the plane distracting, too….the minute I saw them all stand in front of it, I thought “I hope they’re not going to do it from THERE”, realizing that, of course, that was the case. Not good, I agree.
    Jindahl was so surrounded by press as he spoke at one point he might have felt that more important than the photograph?

    Is COHIBA a Cuban cigar?? If so, GREAT Secret service name! I suppose with the party animal wreck of a secret service we have now, TEQUILA or UNA PUTA might have got their attention even better? 🙂

    Ed, I agree with you about Walker, but I don’t think his performance last night, tho so much better, will make his numbers rise much.

    Imp..ya, that’s a good one.

  31. silverfiddle says:

    No cable, so I didn’t watch it. It’s still early, and despite the excellent GOP field, I still dread the (hopefully not) inevitable Bush-Clinton matchup. They are the Wall Street favorites.

    I’m keeping my powder dry. Unfortunately, I am the touch of death for a candidate, which shows how far out of the mainstream I am, I guess.

  32. geeez2014 says:

    SF! You are a touch of death for a candidate??

  33. silverfiddle says:

    Z: The candidates I like never win. I liked Pawlenty last time around, but he quickly turned to polenta…

    In the 2000 primary, I was a McCain supporter (hey, times were different and he was much less crazy then…) I did not like W. I saw him as not much different from a Dem.

    My faves this time around are in low single digits.

  34. geeez2014 says:

    SF…AH, i get it…I kind of liked Pawlenty, too..for a while. I SO hope you start to like one of the more popular candidates soon……..
    If you had to pick a two-digit candidate, one of the top seed, who might it be??!!

  35. Mal says:

    Actually, we believe ANY of them to be a vast improvement over what we have now, so, despite having some favorites, we will vote for whoever makes it. Period. The one thing I keep hoping to hear from any of the candidates is how they will call together and actually LISTEN to all the presidential advisers (Admirals, Generals, Economists, etc) to discuss our future. They should run the country. They should consist of our smartest and brightest professionals. Now, lets see who gets eliminated from the next round, folks!

  36. silverfiddle says:

    Z: I don’t want to jinx anybody. Given my proven track record, I should really be pulling for Hellary! 😉

  37. FB says:

    we will vote for whoever makes it

    Not really. If it’s Bush vs Clinton, I’m not picking. It’s all the same.

  38. Sparky says:

    Since I know who I wish to vote for, I didn’t watch the alleged “debate”. It’s really more of a Q&A session than a debate. According to Bret Baier, the Communist News Network deliberately set the thermostat too high so everyone would sweat. Libtards are so transparent about their cheating.

  39. Mal says:

    FB, why are you being so hard on Jeb? At least none of the Bush’s took White House furniture with them when they moved out! Hey! With Jeb we get a “three-fer”. With Hillary, only a “two-fer”.
    🙂

Leave a Reply

