Sunday Faith Blog

hurtful talk

Sometimes things are said to us, or even written on blogs, which hurt, or confuse, or otherwise bother us…..I wrote a Devotion which I delivered this week and thought I’d share a bit of it with you all.  My devotion included questions……

If I respond to something that’s thrown out at me….if I say something…

-Is this going to elevate anybody or any situation?

-Might this hurt someone, tear them down, make them feel insecure to speak in the future?

-Does it add to a conversation in a beneficial way?

– Is it kind?  Does it lift and lighten a person, situation, or group of people, or does this criticism just cast doubts  and contribute to possible trouble?

-Will it help?

 –Is it just plain gossip?

Is saying something only going to relieve my frustration?

We all can benefit from keeping a few of those questions in our hearts and minds when we’re considering saying what ‘something’ is telling us not to say!  These questions and my Devotion came from a prayer I’d heard which included “Who will know when to say nothing at all?”  That caught my attention because one of my favorite verses is Set a guard over my mouth, LORD; keep watch over the door of my lips.”    Psalm 141: 3

Of course, nobody’s suggesting we don’t speak when things need explanation or clarification or something’s hurt us, but I’d like us not to deal with that today;  I know there are all kinds of arguments to be made for when TO speak.  Something we don’t often consider is that recognizing when saying nothing at ALL might be the best BLESSING of ALL.

thoughts in my head Have a great Sunday…….know when to say nothing at all……..be a blessing!

Z

I watched some of Eric Clapton at Royal Albert Hall on PBS last night and had to search out the YouTube videos because it was FABULOUS;  My little Sunday gift to you…..

https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=eric+clapton+70th+birthday+concert+full

enjoy!

This entry was posted in Sunday Faith Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Sunday Faith Blog

  1. Silverfiddle says:

    In addition to being the Word of God, the Holy Bible is full of practical wisdom. Words last forever. Once you unleash them you can’t bring them back.

  2. Like SF said:
    Look out how you use proud words.
    When you let proud words go, it is not easy to call them back.
    They wear long boots, hard boots; they walk off proud; they can’t hear you calling–
    Look out how you use proud words.

    by Carl Sandburg

  3. There is the Socratic method, the three conditions of which he describes as: intelligence, candor and goodwill.
    I have often commented on sites, been attacked by libs, and demanded that they reply in the respectful tone I gave them, and had them apologize and engage in conversation, parting on good terms.
    This can also be true when we approach others concerning their spiritual condition.

  4. bunkerville says:

    Have a blessed Sunday.

  5. geeez2014 says:

    Ed, I wish the liberals who used to post on my Blogger site could have engaged in conversation without the disrespect. Good that you’ve seen it work.

    Regarding others’ spiritual condition…This is an area we people of faith need to learn a lot more on; our words can affect eternity.

    SF…it sure IS full of practical wisdom:
    BIBLE:
    Basic
    Instructions
    Before
    Leaving
    Earth
    !!

    Bunkerville; thanks.

  6. Mal says:

    I like the Scott Westerfield quote you gave, Z. Good thought to live by.

  7. jerrydablade says:

    Nothing is as disarming as when one comments with love and respect. I wish I were better at it and usually swing back twice as hard only to regret it later. It might be why most of my FB friends stopped following me (except for Ed 🙂

  8. Silverfiddle says:

    Having said all that, I plead guilty to routinely unloading on libs with both barrels. Easy to do out here in the wilds of Blogistan…

    My only defense is, the started it!

  9. geeez2014 says:

    SF….if I could tell you how MANY TIMES certain liberals who used to ‘live here’ and now hang at your place or AOW’s, etc., whined that “THEY WERE MEAN TO ME FIRST!” and, every single time, it was this commenter’s nastiness which provoked the mud slinging….amazing.

    I am TOTALLY GUILTY of nailing the left, as you all know; but since I finally had to go to WordPress so I could block those libs using MY BLOG as THEIRS to spew their S***, (what other name IS THERE?) and saying such unkind stuff, I go to YOUR BLOG (SF) and AOW’s to fight 🙂
    It’s what I call “Getting your Yaya’s out….” LIke the Rolling Stones! I appreciate your patience with me.

    SO, we ALL NEED TO VENT sometimes…and fighting fire with fire is done….but we with faith know it’s not Godly….Still, since we know He sees what certain members of our society are doing to this country, which I firmly believe HE CREATED, He’s probably up there yellin’ “You GO, Silverfiddle!” and “Go, Z………..just today, you can LET HIM HAVE IT!” (HA!)
    The Gospel according to Z~! ????? Well, this was as dumb a comment as I’ve made, probably, but it was FUN to write!

    Mal, isn’t that a good one?

    Jerry, I almost never see you get nasty! I just know you’re an amazing blog talent with your creativity and humor…And that you raise good young men.

  10. Sparky says:

    Excellent advice Z. I wish more would heed it. We’re here to edify once another, not tear them down in an attempted to raise ourselves (course, it does just the opposite). Words can be very hurtful. My father was abusive in that way. He never had a kind, loving or gentle word for me or most anyone else. Never. Sometimes those words still haunt my memories but only because I let them. It has made me more conscience of what I say, even though I often mess up and hurt. Habit, I guess. But we should all be careful not to “kill” someone with a hateful word.
    Hope your day is blessed.

  11. Z: I don’t think I have seen you resort to crudity elsewhere.
    Snark, maybe. 🙂

  12. geeez2014 says:

    Sparks…. I’m so sorry about your father. You are, sadly, not alone. I wish more people had excellent fathers.
    I saw a Black Pastor speak last night at a Campus Crusade dinner and he spoke about how his father encouraged entrepreneurship…even driving him to the park on a hot day because this kid’s (the pastor) lemonade stand wasn’t doing well in front of their house. He did great at the park!
    The love and encouragement his father gave him, with many examples, really touched me.
    I approached him after the dinner and said our country needs 50 million more fathers like his!

    Everything I know about you, Sparky, is what I read here and at your blog, and you sure did make a success even in the framework of abuse from such an important figure in a young girl’s life. I admire you greatly.

    Ed, thanks…snark….oh, ya…..I can be snarky 🙂 I hope I haven’t been too crude but, mostly, I hope I haven’t been unkind, wishing I could pull words back…on my blog or in my life. OBVIOUSLY< I have done that….MANY TIMES…but…..I'm better now…I hope.

    Funny, after the Devotion I gave (from which I culled the post today), the one person I FEEL seems to always say the appropriate thing and who I admire GREATLY for her Godly heart, asked me after I was finished speaking, "Can I have that as a reminder?" (I'd fashioned a 'roman guard shield' from black construction paper with gold ink on it to hold in front of my mouth each time I said that verse "Set a guard over my mouth, Lord, keep watch over the door of my lips" so my listeners would have that good visual….SHE asked for it!!! The great thing is the one person I really hoped to make an impact on in my talk asked me to make HER one. Which I have. hmmmm
    Thank you for your kindness, Ed…

  13. geeez2014 says:

    Ed, I wanted to share with you that I OFTEN tell people about how you once commented on my Sunday Faith Blog from your church service, asking “You think my Pastor’ll mind?” I still laugh at it, and others always find it charming, too!

  14. Kid says:

    Great subhect, Holding back the defensive comment is sometimes very hard to do buyt too easy to regret later. Those of us who spent some time with a partner we shouldn’t have spent any time with know what I’m talking about. But even in the good relationships it can be hard.

    It’s hard to be the saint I ain’t. I’m only a prince.

  15. geeez2014 says:

    Today I watched FOX, I like MEDIABUZZ (usually) and they did a segment on Playboy’s change in ‘personality’….
    The voiceover actually said “A magazine that was a favorite among HETEROMEN”
    I thought….”Man, they have to qualify the word MAN now?” I guess so…………HETEROMEN.

    “How do you do, this is my HETERO son and my LESBIAN daughter?” is that where we’re heading?

  16. geeez2014 says:

    Kid…”But even in the good relationships it can be hard.” Oooh, yes, there ARE those moments, aren’t there!
    You ARE a prince 🙂

  17. geeez2014 says:

    I just want to mention that reading that list of questions I came up with and keeping the gist of them in your heart and mind really does help to keep our words at a minimum or kinder than they might have been. Truly does.

  18. bocopro says:

    Well, I’ve been misquoted, misinterpreted, misunderstood, and even mistaken for someone else, but I’ve never intentionally hurt anyone who didn’t really need some serious hurtin.

    And as for this, “Something we don’t often consider is that recognizing when saying nothing at ALL might be the best BLESSING of ALL,”

    You’re welcome.

  19. Kid says:

    Boco. But what if you happen to be the unsuspecting soul who ended up dating jodi arias? And your wits end text messages end up in court after your demise? Where you a bad person or were you only human at the hands of a monster.

  20. geeez2014 says:

    boco; I don’t think you’d hurt anybody on purpose, either.!!

    Kid, good question; I think it’s perfectly okay to let someone have it when they need it…like Jodie Arias! Don’t you? Or even your own spouse? I think a lot of this kind of suggestion I put in my post is usually aimed at our best selves because our worst selves can’t always stop and , for instance, run through the questions I ask….you just REACT.
    Still, trying to consider those things, and trying to remember to be kind, does start growing on you and one gets better and better at it.

    For Arias and others who’ve done really awful things? I DON’T THINK SOOOO!! 🙂

  21. Kid says:

    Z, I should have mentioned it up front, but the one guy who on the first sentencing jury could not decide on the death penalty because he felt she had been the victim of abuse… This guy had obviously never been with a woman who was as screwed up in the head as she is, The jury ended up 11 to 1.
    Same deal on the 2nd jury, though the woman who was the one against the 11 may have been a plant.

    Trust me folks. arias was an absolute beast, and the fact that Travis Alexander went the distance with that beast and only fired back a few defensive text messages says so much more about him rather than her. Those text messages should have gone to make the point of how abusive she was. Not only should they execute arias they should award Alexander with a number of medals. I feel so much for his family and friends knowing she is laughing and profiting in prison. Sure it’s not a place you want to be, but she is putting it to the family every day she lives selling her crap and having the moron supporters sending her their money and support. There is no justice there.

    That would be hard to deal with as a Travis family member.

  22. geeez2014 says:

    Kid, I think we all think she was horrid….and I wouldn’t blame ANY Travis family member for speaking unkindly to her…REALLY unkindly.
    I rarely (if ever) think ‘abuse’ is an excuse for KILLING someone….but I know plenty do.
    “a PLANT?” Who could plant a juror? (I guess I sound naive, but…)

  23. Kid says:

    Z, I do believe the female juror on the 2nd and last sentencing jury was a plant. I have nothing to offer to suport that just as I have nohting to offer to support that OJ killed his wife and her friend as a definitive.
    Some things you just know.

  24. geeez2014 says:

    Kid, did you know I live two blocks from where Nicole Simpson was killed? Or that she lived in the apt. building I lived in before they married? My German landlady told me once that ‘the girl in that apartment’ was hit quite often…black and blue marks, etc., when she was dating OJ… She drove a red Corvette because I remember seeing her car in the garage but never saw her at the building. I’d run into OJ from time to time when I was coming home late and he was leaving, however..many times. I knew him through Bobby Kardashian …
    weird coincidences between me and that murder!

  25. Kid says:

    One thing I can’t understand is why women stay with people like that.

  26. Mal says:

    My thoughts exactly, Kid. And it isn’t only for money or security because some of them are living in poverty but still remain with their abuser.

  27. geeez2014 says:

    It’s a head scratcher, that’s for SURE.
    My uncle’s best friend is Bobby K’s brother and My uncle told me just the other day when we talked about this for some reason, that Nicole and OJ had a VERY fiery relationship; always challenging each other, dating others to make each other jealous, letting fights get real out of hand; I guess they thrived on this. Very sad.

Leave a Reply

