The WILD Blue Yonder!!

 

YOU WILL LOVE THIS………..or not?  LET ME KNOW!  Would you feel safer if they were your pilots or less safe?

Thanks, CC!
Z

This entry was posted in guns. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to The WILD Blue Yonder!!

  1. Mal says:

    Cute! This reminded me of an old one I got years ago that quoted actual conversations between pilots and ground control, or between pilots on two different planes. Some of you may remember seeing it also. If I can find it, I’ll send it to Z. Its really hilarious.

  2. geeez2014 says:

    this is hilarious!

    A favorite joke is about Lufthansa saying they were having problems in the air, but it was no big deal…then they come on asking those who can swim to get on the right side and those who can’t on the left..etc….then they come back on later and tell everybody on the right side to get out and swim like crazy, “to those of you on the left? THANK YOU FOR FLYING LUFTHANSA!” 🙂

  3. geeez2014 says:

    SO CLEARLY< the question is WOULD YOU FEEL SAFER AFTER HEARING THAT FROM YOUR PILOTS? I'll add that question to the post

  4. bunkerville says:

    We could only hope!

  5. John M. Berger says:

    SAFER !

  6. geeez2014 says:

    I know most of us have seen this before, but I love it each time I listen to it…particularly that “big enough to blow a hole in the Grand Canyon, and speaking of the Grand Cyn..” Just CRACKS ME UP! 🙂

  7. bocopro says:

    Maybe just a tad pretentious and blustery, but I personally would be neither annoyed or alarmed by it. A clearly printed sign on the locked flight-deck door should work equally well, methinks.

    I’m not comfortable with anybody firing armor-piercing weapons anywhere within a thinly clad cylinder flying at 36,000 feet in which I’m a passenger sharing the same pressure system.

    Safer? Donno . . . in 1984, after flying around in various aircraft for years during my 24-year Navy career (including log helos in ‘Nam and DC-3s from Clark to Travis), I flew from Hono to LBeach to pick up my Berlinetta and begin my retirement.

    As I drove out of the POV shipping impound lot, I experienced a powerful premonition which unequivocally informed me that the next time I rode in an airplane, I would die. Irrational fear, I know . . . I know. But I ain’t been in once since.

  8. geeez2014 says:

    bocopro..really? You haven’t flown BECAUSE of that premonition? I know all about irrational fears so I get it, but that’s fascinating.
    I suppose a sign would work well, too, but I LOVE the way they so off-handedly announce what they’re carrying ….clearly in humor, but why NOT!?

  9. bocopro says:

    Yeah, in my adult life, I’ve had about half a dozen clear and powerful visions, or inspirations, or realizations, or whatever they were.

    First, I was a sophomore in college and doing quite well (A- overall my first year and A- working in my second) when I got the notion in my head that I was not learning anything that would put bread on the table and money in the bank. I knew that if I just suspended my collegiate career, I’d get called up in the draft, so I joined the Navy, which was thrilled to have me because of my scores on the old BTB.

    It was a great idea because I discovered that I could be a good tech, a good supervisor, and eventually a good manager. Now I’m reaping the benefits of that decision with a steady retirement check and great health care.

    The second one is very complex, but it involved just knowing that I had stumbled into THE perfect woman for me. Bottom line is that it musta been right on, ’cause we’ve been together since 1961.

    A third one was seeking a commission in the Navy instead of staying a senior enlisted. Good idea because of the job satisfaction and money differential.

    The fourth was my decision to use my G.I. bill to finish my degree and get my MA so that I could teach (my lifelong goal). I could have taken various jobs in various places for more money, I s’pose, but none of them would have given me the satisfaction of achieving that MA and teaching a variety of subjects at the university level for 15 years.

    Another was to buy a house I’d been introduced to in Coeur d’Alene (Idaho) in 1983. I didn’t do it, and now both my wife and I regret missing that opportunity. Sad situation to sit around sayin to yourself “I wish I’d done [this] or [that].”

    Then came the one about flying. Hey . . . with the track record my notions or visions or whatever-they-ares have, wouldn’t I be a bit foolish to ignore one telling me somethin was gonna kill me?

    Incidentally, Milady’s irrational fear is death by drowning, so she avoids large bodies of water. Went fishin with me ONCE, and was extremely agitated when I took her and the kids on dependents’ cruises on my ships.

    I figger if some cosmic power is sendin me advice, maybe I oughta listen. Worked pretty well the other few times. Or . . . maybe I’m just a lucky guy.

  10. Kid says:

    Bocopro – The 6th sense is real. I’ve had it many times. Dang I wish it could have saved me from my first wife…

  11. I like the excellent description of each weapon, except the Bearcat .22 which, instead of piercing body armor as described, might be better used as a club.

  12. Kid says:

    Ed, True about the armor, but a 22 is very effective when aimed at the forehead. And a 22 would be a better pistol on an aircraft too.
    I once owned a Dan Wesson .357 magnum kit with multple barrels and grips (Took it as a carry on with a 50 round box of shells when moving from Pittsburgh to Phoenix in 1979! That’s a story in itself) , and later wondering what it was good for besides taking buildings down, sold it. One day, I may buy a Model 29 S&W 44 mag just for fun though as the 357 was a lot of fun. 6 inch barrel, very Inspector Calahan-ish.

  13. lisa says:

    I would feel safer for sure,awesome

  14. Jules says:

    This video made me oh so happy 🙂 “Guns Up” from a Texas Tech Red Raider 🙂

  15. Kid, I have a Ruger Security Six and Scherie carries a Ruger SP101, both in .357.
    Rattles the teeth, eh?
    But the Kahr 9 is in the pocket daily.
    .22s are what the local painters used. Close up.

  16. Baysider says:

    Not sure. I’d rather know someone is an expert marksman, or we’re flying at low altitude.

  17. Kid says:

    Ed, You gotta go with what you are comfortable with. I like Springfield Armory XD’s. Grip it and the safety’s are disabled – and rip it. I just got to where I figured I could take out neighbors with a .357 and I envision that I will not engage someone to kill them unless they’re within say 10 feet.
    (My current weapon of choice is a .40 Springfield 16+1.)

    But yea, you watch some of these police take downs and they’re using 10 or more 9 mm or greater to eliminate the threat. With 22 you have to be very precise and I’ll say I’m not confident of being that good in a tense unexpected situation, so .22 would not be my first choice.
    So, for the home, something with a bit of stopping power. If I were a pilot, a .22 might not be a bad choice. The perp is going to be Very close if I’m going to pull the trigger in a cockpit.

  18. Imp says:

    @Bay…or make certain theres another pilot on board…..after the two up front get taken out.

  19. Kid says:

    Don’t know where that smiley face came from…

Leave a Reply

