DEBATE

What did you think of the debate?  This was a very good one, in my opinion.

WHO WON?

Did you hear CBNC’s John Harwood insist this debate was only ever going to be two hours when we all knew it went down to only two hours after negotiations?   I couldn’t watch most of the after-debate coverage so I don’t know who else mentioned it,  but I did hear O’Reilly say something about the 3 hours to 2 hours situation and he never mentioned ONCE how CNBC’s guy totally lied.  He didn’t mention that! WHY?  It’s common knowledge that the hours were cut down because of Trump and Carson!

There were more lies from the panel than all the actual politicians all together!

I think this debate was THE BEST of all so far…I thought the politicians were civil, informative, detailed, and they so rightly blasted the media for its very obvious BIAS….this CNBC panel was a total JOKE…a total “Gotcha!” attempt that backfired badly many times.

hurrah

Z

This entry was posted in 2016 race, media. Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to DEBATE

  1. From what I managed to watch (Yesterday was Mr. AOW’s birthday, and family came over in the evening), Rubio won.

    Did Carson and Trump get much time on the air?

  2. Forgot to say that I loved the way that Cruz went off on the media. 🙂

  3. As I said at AOW’s,
    A debate calls for two opposing views.
    The debate was with the moderators.

    Who won? Not the moderators.
    Who looked best? Rubio.
    But how do we determine who “won”?
    Unfortunately, who looks best.

  4. bocopro says:

    Can’t stand to listen to professional politicians with their rehearsed mantras designed for what they believe the audience du jour wants to hear.

    So I reach for the remote any time I see Soetoro’s face or hear his voice on my TV. Ditto with Reid, Pelosi, Bush, Bush, Clinton, Clinton, and all the rest. On occasion, I’ve actually hurt myself lunging for the remote to avoid them . . . and that includes William DeVane and Fred Thompson, BTW.

    Anyway, you know you’re gonna hear the distillation the next morning, the little gem soundbytes, the ripostes, the thrusts, and the parries. From what I’ve heard today, the moderators got Cruzified by Cruz, crisped by Christie, rubbed out by Rubio, and heckled by Huckabee.

    To those I say BRAVO ZULU!! Excelsior! Hand Salute!

    Told Milady yesterday that Rubio would very likely rise to the top like cream and Bush would sink like a soggy cruller. I knew Rubio would be ready, Trump would bloviate, Huckabee would say something clever, Carson would float serenely above it all, Cruz would be the picador, and Christie would be the M1A2 Abrams.

    Apparently I was pretty much in the 10-ring. Also, I expected Paul to be petulant and Fiorina to be schoolmarmish. I’ll find out later how right or wrong I was.

  5. geeez2014 says:

    Bocopro…this was well worth watching…..it’s almost never about rehearsed mantras alone; this was how they used them. It was almost masterful. They all had just the right thing to say, probably planned and waiting for just the right moment; except for Bush, it worked out for most of them very well.
    I thought they really showed an innate intelligence in just the cleverness by which they inserted their ‘mantras, as you put it. I found it to be the most revealing debate yet.

    I thought Rubio did very well and was amazed at how Huck and Christie did, too….didn’t expert them to be quite as masterful as they were. Jeb sank like a lead balloon.
    He’ll be maybe another 3-4 weeks.
    Rand will be out sooner, I think.

    AOW, they all pretty much went off on the media and did it WELL and the media deserved it; particularly when it had blatantly LIED a few times….

    Ed, they’re almost never true debates, are they. I’d love NO no panel; just let them go at it!

  6. Silverfiddle says:

    I didn’t watch. I don’t have cable anyway. Glad to hear it came off well. I have believed for awhile Rubio was the one to watch. He’s patient, diligent, on-message and disciplined without coming off canned or rehearsed, and he always speaks from a depth that can only come from studying up on what he is saying.

    But watch out. If he rises to the top, the RINO screams will come after him with their spears. A few things about him trouble me, but none are show-stoppers. He voter for TPA, which authorized the president to go forward with Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) negotiations (I am dead-set against TPP, but that does not mean he will vote for TPP.

    The primaries are the time to focus in on all these little warts all candidates have, but when the party has a nominee, it’s time to stop the yapping and get on board.

  7. jerrydablade says:

    Loved how Cruz took a play from the Newt playbook. Everybody loves when the media gets slapped around. Hope this is the start to his expected meteoric rise!

    Did u catch the kiddy table debate, Z? I thought Jindal the most lucid there, but Graham had the line of the night when he said Bernie Sanders “went to the Soviet Union on his honeymoon and I don’t think he ever came back.” Great line, though I could never vote for Graham.

  8. geeez2014 says:

    Jerry, poor Graham seems like a worm, but I did hear that line was the highlight of the kiddy table debate! Didn’t watch it myself; I was out till the big-boy debate! Yes, you’re the second person to say Jindal was good in that one.

    And I, too, LOVE when the media’s so legitimately slapped around.

    I’m still waiting for SOMEONE in the media to mention how Harwood TOTALLY LIED about the Twitter situation with Rubio AND the “3 hours down to 2 hours” we heard in the news had been negotiated down by Trump and Carson; Remember, Harwood said “For the record, it was never planned to have been a 3 hour debate” TOTAL LIE….amazing.

    SF> Rubio really is SO articulate and well prepared….VERY sharp guy. And yes, whoever gets the Rep nod gets my vote.

    Trump: He was far better behaved last night, much less egomaniacal and much less interesting….he needs to bluster OR not get votes…interesting.

  9. Lisa says:

    I enjoyed it very much besides the good media beat downs,they showed to be smart,articulate and and so not Hillary or Sanders.
    They used numbers and facts,most of them, and I think it was a toss up with Rubio,Cruz and Christie.
    Even Huckabee go a good line in about the blimp ,comparing it to the ineffectiveness of the government.
    “If you saw that blimp that got cut loose from Maryland today, it’s a perfect example of government,”
    “I mean, what we had was something the government made — basically a bag of gas — that cut loose, destroyed everything in its path, left thousands of people powerless, but they couldn’t get rid of it because we had too much money invested in it, so we had to keep it.
    “That is our government today. We saw it in the blimp. That’s exactly what we saw.”

    My favorite of the night was what Rubio said about the media being the democrats biggest superpac and when he said how Hillary was a proven liar and still the media was saying she had her best week ever.

    I am sure all the left winger will run to media matters this morning to get all their talking points.

    And Ted Cruz,loved his smack down of the moderators. Regardless of how the left spins it they still outshine their 2 “has been” candidates.

  10. bunkerville says:

    The media was revealed in spades. That was about it for me. The most time anyone got was a handful of minutes. Debate? Hardly. Do we know anything more than we did before the debate? A few soundbites for the record, soon to be forgotten.

  11. skudrunner says:

    Trump was more subdued than before but he can’t get away from his overall plan. I’m rich and you can trust I will do well. I thought Carson was lost on several issues. He did a poor job presenting his tax plan and missed an opportunity with RX price gouging. He did slap the idiot from cnbc for not telling the truth about his sitting on a board.

    Huck. Carley and Christie did a good job with Christi showing command of facts and speaking to the audience. Cruz did nothing to advance my opinion of him, something about him seems slimy. I thought the true winner was Rubio. Of course I have supported him from the beginning and he showed great presence. Bush was totally underwhelming.
    The unbiased chuckles todd said the attack on the moderators and MSM was planned in advance. He is such a part of the MSM.

    Overall any one of them could be a good president. Of course the democrats have set a low bar to get over. Our economy is growing at a blistering 1.4% and all the democrat nominee can say is we need to go after corporations and give more s–t away so the non-productive able bodied individual can continue to spiral down with government welfare. They have shown they don’t care about opportunities just about free stuff.

  12. Kid says:

    I thought they all did well except for Kasich, Bush, and Pataki. Jindahl should have been with the larger group.

  13. Mustang says:
    Rubio held himself in good stead throughout the night and I particularly like how he handed Jeb Bush’s attack. Then it seems as if Jeb was behind the hit piece in the Florida newspaper, a nice reminder of how corrupt and dishonest the Bush family is. Ted Cruz was fantastic calling attention to the leftist hit job, as was Christie … who wondered why, given all the serious problems in our country today and around the world, CNBC wanted to ask about federal restrictions on fantasy football. I did have to laugh at Bush’s answer, though. Just mere seconds after complaining about so much federal regulation, he thought that yes, the federal government should regulate fantasy football. Cripes.

    I also gave high marks to Carson and Fiorina, and I was pleased to see that Trump was acting like a normal human being, Huckleberry was I think being honest about what he believes, but has no real plan for our country’s future. I laughed when Huckleberry claimed to have fought the Clinton’s and won, and lived to tell about it. Having observed Kasich, I am convinced he has significant emotional issues. Just watch his demeanor in November and see if you agree. Politically, I see no difference between Hillary Clinton and Jeb Bush.

  14. Mal says:

    Cruz, yes, but also Christie, who hasn’t particularly been one of my favorites in the past but now I believe can be a real contender. The way he mocked the panel talking about Fantasy Football instead of the $19 trillion national debt, ISIS, high unemployment, etc. He rocked on that note.

  15. Sparky says:

    The Republicans where very civil and the clowns that asked the ‘questions’ look like a bunch of … donkeys. That’s my take. Anyway, all I can add is, now you know why Hubby and I are voting for Ted Cruz. ‘Nuff said. 😉

  16. Kid says:

    Here is certainly one of the reasons I like Cruz. Plus he is very intelligent which makes him seem a little strange as a politician..

    Especially from the 2:20 mark

  17. Imp says:

    People in this focus group have it nailed…

    http://video.insider.foxnews.com/v/4585062456001

  18. Imp says:

    Did anyone still need a lesson in how the media carry the towels in the liberal bordello? They got it — or should have — last night.

  19. Kid says:

    IMP, I hope a lot of people got it that hadn’t yet. I wonder if Megyn considers herself part of “the media” they were talking about.

  20. Imp says:

    @Kid….I think “Mayhem” Kelly is a part time stand in at the libs bordello. I wonder if she learned a lesson from the CNBC debacle last night…especially about content not personalities.

  21. Mal says:

    Kid & Imp: Why are you both so hard on Meghan Kelly? My wife and I watch her all the time and feel she does a good job. The only thing that I didn’t like was when she created a feud with Trump but simply attributed that to personality differences, otherwise I believe she is intelligent and conducts fair interviews with people. She tries to come off as a female Bill “the spin stops here” O’ R by being the Devils Advocate.

  22. Kid says:

    Mal, I don’t watch the news much, this was the only time I saw her and pegged her as an agent for the Dems after the hit job they all did on the debate. Chris Wallace was there as well I think and I’ve had him pegged the same way for a while.

  23. John M. Berger says:

    I inadvertently missed it but am happy to hear that Rubio did well. I did get to see him pummel Bush of whom I’m getting tired of, big time! I was a Kasich fan but I think Mustang is on to something there.

  24. Bob says:

    I did not watch the event live. We put it on the DVR, and watched something else. No, I have no interest in a World Series between NY and KC. What I did do was watch a few of the after debate interviews on CNBC, and on Fox.

    As Bill O’Reilly observed, Ted Cruz’s’ outburst was a genius move BECAUSE CRUZ NEVER ANSWERED THE QUESTION PUT TO HIM! Cruz expertly got around answering a question the might have embarrassed him.

    Becky Quick demonstrated how unprepared a so-called moderator can be. She asked the question of Trump, and her source was Trump’s own web site. Trump lied, and she gave in to him thinking she must have been mistaken. This was a sign that all she did to prepare was take material prepared by others without question. This is the kind of BS that got Dan Rather fired.

    I went back after seeing all the highlights and discovered that there was nothing else viewing. The after-event coverage on Fox was so thorough you didn’t need to watch the actual debate.

    Harwood? Just another hack.

  25. geeez2014 says:

    I thought it sad that Becky Quick was pretty much the only one who asked Carly anything … the Left just can’t get out of their sexism.

    Rubio did VERY well..

    Huckabee and Christie did well for themselves but I have a chance of being president more than they do…which isn’t much, believe me :=-) They’ll both be out probably in mid-late December.

    I thought Cruz was more appealing last night than usual…he’s smart as they come.

    Kasich did himself NO GOOD last night at all………I think he’s a man of very good character and I know he’s done well as gov of Ohio but…not president.

    Bush will last another month IF THAT.

    Jindal’s smart and articulate but can’t win.

    Fiorina didn’t shine like she did in the last debates but didn’t harm herself…..I haven’t seen polls today, just got home since 7:30 AM, but am eager to see…

    Trump was FAR more dignified and gentlemanly last night….if he can SAY what he always says, with less conceit, and stay this dignified, he has a better chance than I’ve thought.

    Pataki’s out next week….wait for it!

  26. geeez2014 says:

    By the way, re Megyn Kelly….y’all need to watch her full show for maybe two nights and then tell us you don’t like her and why.
    If she’d gone soft on the debate, I’d have hated that.
    I don’t want yes-men interviewers or politicians………..she got unfair coverage for being tough….the guys were just as tough at that debate as she was.

    Wallace and Kelly are fair, I’m not sure either is a total Conservative as we define it but they’re certainly not classic dopy lefties………no way.

  27. bocopro says:

    Youse guys who’ve jumped on Rubio’s bandwagon need to see what I found this afternoon . . . the strongest possible endorsement for him — Harry Reid is against him:

    http://www.politico.com/story/2015/10/senate-reid-rubio-215363

  28. geeez2014 says:

    So Harry’s doing a Jeb Bush imitation now? !!

  29. bocopro says:

    Harry Reid’s criticizing a GOP candidate is a strong endorsement for me to vote for the guy. Reid is a professional roadblock, a sucker puncher, a viper. While he was majority leader, his desk was the black hole of progress.

    I would love to stake him out in a Louisiana swamp, smear the liquor from the bottom of the dumpster behind An Shi Shao Mi’s Chinese restaurant all over him, and watch the javelinas chow down on him.

  30. geeez2014 says:

    bocopro…of course it’s an endorsement. You probably hadn’t heard that Jeb blasted his friend Rubio for not going to the Senate enough and missing too many votes; that’s why I compared Reid to Jeb.

    And, of course, Obama and Kerry had many more missing votes than Rubio but nobody cared about the Democrat, right?

    I can’t STAND Reid, either; I think he’s a worm and the biggest liar in the senate…maybe ever.

  31. John M. Berger says:

    [Most] of the contenders have something positive to offer. It’s too bad that there is no one contender that possesses [all] of such but there never is. That said, I think the most important single attribute is the ability to beat the DemocRAT whether that be an avowed Communist or a cold, calculating, (serial) pathological liar who is Hell-Bent on the coup de grace of America, as we know it; started by the incumbent. While I’m not on any one’s “band wagon” yet, Rubio’s stock is rising in my book. We still have a long way to go, some will drop out and Hellery’s legal issues are yet to be resolved. If and when there is strong evidence that one of the Republican contenders, above all, can win in the General Election, that’s the “band wagon” that I will “jump on”.

  32. I cannot understand Mustang saying, ” I see no difference between Hillary Clinton and Jeb Bush.”.
    Just like AOW and Silverfiddle saying elswhere they’d stay home before voting for Bush.
    I don’t want to insult friends, but that sounds so stupid.

  33. Imp says:

    @Mal..”she created a feud with Trump but simply attributed that to personality differences”.

    I expected more professionalism over sensationalism than that from her. She behaved no differently towards Trump than Harwood did towards him or Cruz or Rubio…or Jeb.

  34. Kid says:

    Z, My gut on Megyn, and FOX news for that matter, is they do what RINO’s do, They Talk conservative to keep their viewership up, (Lip service, meaningless really, no affect on anything – think Boehner), then when they get the chance to sink a knife into the back of a Conservative or when it really counts like during an election, they do it. That’s what I think happened during the FOX Debate. Like how the MSM started criticizing obama after he was elected the 2nd term – no harm could be done at that point. Accuse them and they’ll point to hundre3ds of negative articles, but those articles were displayed at 2 am or during a time when no harm could be done. They live and breathe this stuff. They are all on an e-mailing list and get their strategy from a democrat/communist think tank. It’s why they are always on the same page.

    It’s like going to Vegas thinking you going to ‘beat’ people that have been a the game a million times longer than you have.

    We’ll see.

  35. Kid says:

    @bocopro, We’ll have to get together on torture tactics sometime. I have a couple good ideas.

    One that can be posted is I’d like to see the stocks brought back. Put these people in stocks in the middle of town with a paddle hanging on the side. That’s my most pleasant idea.

  36. geeez2014 says:

    Ed, I don’t get it, either…..any of their comments.

    Imp and Kid; I completely disagree with you about Kelly…she did her job. She was tough. I’m not saying FOX or CNBC or CNN or any other media venue doesn’t have an agenda, and she might have to toe the line, but she’s sharp and our guys should have been ready for it.

  37. Kid says:

    Z, I could be wrong. The Beauty of America. 🙂

    I’ve certainly considerd not voting for Bush. Reason being that is Bush is the candidate then I am 100% convinced the election process is corrupt and completely out of our control. So why participate.

  38. bocopro says:

    Ack shoe alley, that a pillory. I also have several candidates for flaying and keelhauling . . . you know, back to simpler, purer times.

    My considered opinion on the subject of cruel and unusual punishment is that the punishment should fit the offense, and if someone has been cruel and inflicted unusual punishment on someone else, those same cruelties and pains should be returned in kind . . . preferably by the survivor or family of the victim.

    “An eye for an eye” was meant more as a limiter than a prescription in that if one causes another to lose an eye by overt action, the punishment for that offense should be no greater than loss of an eye by the offender. However, I have no qualms about cleansing the gene pool for those who violently rape or involve children in drugs.

  39. Kid says:

    boco – Child abuse crimes are at the top of my list.

    But what about those who commit heinous crimes against an entire nation. lbj, clintons for example.

  40. geeez2014 says:

    “So why participate.” So we don’t have Hillary, right!?

    Child crimes…THE WORST, you guys are right

  41. Kid says:

    Z, If Jeb is the nominee, we are Guaranteed to have hilrod the beast. The only thing positive I can do in that scenario is toss up my middle finger to the repubblekin party. A vote for Jeb would be like hitting myself on the forehead with a hammer.

  42. geeez2014 says:

    Ya, see I don’t think that, Kid. He’s not a staunch Republican but his state’s economy did pretty well and there are other things people tout about his leadership.
    No way close to the beast, in my opinion.

    I don’t want to even think of anyone not voting for anyone against Hillary.

Leave a Reply

