Sunday Faith Blog

My Pastor asked this in church last week:

“What would it look like for us to give more attention to others than we give to ourselves?”

serve

Clearly, this is not a new concept to Christianity or some other religions, but it got me thinking;  imagine an America where everyone cared about the other person?

Obviously, the human experience doesn’t include much of this, but it’s something worth thinking about in our own microcosms even if it doesn’t easily work in the macro, right?

Any particular thoughts on this?

“For even the Son of Man came not to be served but to serve others and to give his life as a ransom for many.”  Matthew 20:28

 

Z

This entry was posted in Sunday Faith Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Sunday Faith Blog

  1. bunkerville says:

    There is the kind of giving that is fulfilling and rewarding and then there is the kind that is depleting that leaves one feeling angry. That is the conundrum of being a Christian.

  2. Silverfiddle says:

    I was thinking about this is a slightly different way last week while riding my bike where a lot of homeless hang out (I go incognito and blend in. And yes, with my long hair, scraggly beard and old clothes, I do fit in).

    But I was thinking how many of these people are displace from their families who could help them, and that if every family ‘adopted’ one person who needed help, there would be a lot less homelessness.

    Of course, the reality is, many of these people are unemployable, have horrible life skills and are addicted to drugs and or alcohol. And many, so long as they can get free food everyday, don’t really want to change their ways…

    Such is life…

  3. geeez2014 says:

    Bunkerville, what kind of giving would you consider anger-provoking? We talking giving to those who won’t help themselves, financially? The ‘giving’ our tax dollars are forced to make?

    SF….it’s a good idea to have families ‘adopt’ one person but you’re right….think of those who could literally physically hurt them because of mental illness? We couldn’t actually take most of them into our homes, that’s for sure, sadly.
    I know people who don’t know where their siblings or children are but suspect they’re homeless, so their families can’t even help if they want to; that’s a big part of the mental illness…the desire to be left alone on the street…

    I’m hoping we can talk about within our own families and friend circles, too….to spend a little more time “giving more attention to others”….to our loved ones, for example.

    Wouldn’t it be wonderful to declare a “no tech Sunday?”, where families do NOT use their cell phone, their computer, etcetc…just be together….”give more ATTENTION,” as my pastor’s quote says.

  4. geeez2014 says:

    BY THE WAY: Did you hear how Trump told FOX and the Wash Post that he didn’t want to do a racy skit SNL suggested because “I still want to win IOWA!”??

    It struck me that nobody’s talked about that…In other words, he won’t do certain things if it jeopardizes votes. What kinds of things might he do if elected, once he’s got his dream?

    Honestly? Trump is getting to the point that EVEN I WOULDN’T VOTE if he’s the choice against Hillary, and YOU ALL KNOW VERY WELL how I feel about you who’ve suggested you wouldn’t vote…remember how I felt when some Conservatives said “I’m not voting against Obama because I hate Romney”….MAN, I was so furious! They gave us OBAMA!!!!!!!!

    I’m reaching that point myself. I think Trump is a nasty, disgusting , egomaniac with no dignity, a terrible vocabulary, school yard tactics and nothing really to speak for him other than he touches on things we’d all like to say; people around the water cooler say those things, too. I wouldn’t vote for THEM. And they’re far more dignified and gregarious than Trump.

  5. Mal says:

    Gee! Why don’t you tell us what you REALLY think of Trump, Z. No, I’m just trying to be funny. I DO agree he has gone way too far and now believe his popularity will gradually wane while others continue to grow. but his rise did give a needed platform from which to build a strong case against the Left and their policies. So who will it be? Carson? Rubio or Cruz, or someone else? At this point, I really don’t care. I just want this a– h— out of our government and our lives!

  6. bunkerville says:

    Z- The kind of giving that one feels an obligation. Take the refugees. Would I contribute to Christian refugees and embrace them? Yes, if they were willing to be part of our culture. If efforts are made to manipulate or otherwise extort money from me under the guise of doing good works, I would be resentful. The government is a case in point. One church I belonged to was another case in point. One was made to feel guilty if one did not subscribe to their point of view of doing good.

  7. Mustang says:

    Few people will place their families in jeopardy by bringing home someone with serious issues, including mental illness (the legacy of Jimmy Carter). What must happen, in my view, is the re-emergence of community chests where interdenominational church groups, civics organizations, and individuals come together to help shelter these people, feed them, and most important of all, help rehabilitate them through real world skills (work) and ministry.

  8. Baysider says:

    My first and second thought: where does your money go? And your time?

    We can evaluate our attention to others by looking at our giving – $$$ and hours.
    If your checkbook entries are more Salvation Army, Pacific Legal Foundation, Prager University, or a crisis pregnancy center than Cunard Cruise Lines, Nordstroms or Michael’s Restaurant I’d say you’re on the right path.

    When we take a shut-in neighbor to the store, or offer to do their shopping – we’re on the right path. When we bring chicken soup to a sick friend, clean their house, or listen to an old-timer’s 17th repeat of a story he loves to tell but forgets he has told – we’re on the right path.

  9. Silverfiddle says:

    What Mustang said. I do not advocate taking street people into your home. No way in the world I would do that, but we do need a way to address the issue from a community standpoint.

    I just got back from a bike ride and got a flat in a place where lots of homeless congregate. I had a great conversation with a few as I changed out my innertube. They were from Florida, living out of their car and working at day labor painting houses during the week.

    They didn’t seem in much distress over their situation,and I joked that this was the wrong time to be enjoying the Rocky Mountains.

  10. geeez2014 says:

    bunkerville…I totally get that…I was furious at the last church I went to because they spent so much money evangelizing foreign countries when so many Americans need help!
    And yes, if people assimilate and (gasp!) have GRATITUDE for our giving, that goes a long way, doesn’t it!

    Mustang, I like that idea, too. It’s a shame because the Bible tells us it’s easy to have friends for dinner, not so easy to have the poor man on the corner who we don’t know. Yet, today, one simply can’t do that out of fears for safety.
    I like the COmmunity Chest idea VERY much, too. Good point.

    Baysider, clearly, it’s doing things for others that’s the ‘right path’….
    And, of course, Jesus would want us to help everyone and anyone, no questions asked…he asks nothing from us but love for Him… but we simply can’t anymore….it’s not possible.

  11. bocopro says:

    Milady is an old-fashioned, old-school, old-world hard-core Catholic. She does a home mass each Wednesday evening and an adoration at St. Mary’s each Thursday. She also goes to mass each weekend at the little church near our neighborhood.

    I know she gives, or tithes, or whatever she wants to call it weekly, and when the local priest or bishop comes up with some kind of project, she’ll contribute. But we refuse to donate to major charities just to line the pockets of administrators and furnish their palatial offices.

    Instead we do what we can for people we know who have experienced some kind of major catastrophe, such as fire or flood or job loss. For years she had a practice of buying two complete sets of fixins for holiday meals, such as Thanxgiving or Christmas or New Year or Easter, one for us and one for someone who needed it. Then she’d sneak up to their house and leave the stuff on their porch, anonymously. She stopped doing that a few years ago . . . not sure why; I certainly didn’t mind that she helped ’em out.

    When I find stuff we can no longer use, such as old bedsheets or shoes or clothing, I put it in a box and take it to a tiny little Baptist church in the poor black section of town and leave it at the back door, knowing the the preacher will get it to whoever can put it to good use. And when we upgrade cooking pots or tableware, we put it in the Navy/Marine Relief shed on the Naval Training Center.

    I’m gonna estimate that considering new refrigerators, stoves, freezers, doors, roofs, beds, couches, automobile tires, and other miscellany, she and I have invested over $50K in our kids over the past 20 years, and that ain’t chicken feed. She also buys the grandkritters shoes, clothes, electronic gadgets, bicycles, and other stuff for Christmas and birthdays. And . . . I got talked into “lending” my oldest grandkritter $10K so he’d have some cash in his pocket while he worked on his MS as a reward for how well he did on his BS (Phi Beta Kappa at FSU).

    Charity begins at home. And if I find myself standing in judgment by a higher being when I shuffle off this mortal coil, I’ll be upright and proud of helping out whenever I could and never deliberately hurting anyone who wasn’t in great need of some serious hurtin. I might even be able to slide in the door holdin onto Milady’s skirt.

  12. bocopro says:

    And in case y’all haven’t seen this one . . . (I didn’t verify it):

    The Gift of Time

    The last wishes of Alexander the Great………
    On his death bed, Alexander summoned his army generals and told them his three ultimate wishes:

    1. The best doctors should carry his coffin …

    2. The wealth he has accumulated (money, gold, precious stones) should be scattered along the procession to the cemetery ….

    3. His hands should be let loose, so they hang outside the coffin for all to see !!

    One of his generals who was surprised by these unusual requests asked Alexander to explain.
    Here is what Alexander the Great had to say :

    1. “I want the best doctors to carry my coffin to demonstrate that in the face of death, even the best doctors in the world have no power to heal ..”

    2. “I want the road to be covered with my treasure so that everybody sees that material wealth acquired on earth, will stay on earth..”

    3. I want my hands to swing in the wind, so that people understand that we come to this world empty handed and we leave this world empty handed after the most precious treasure of all is exhausted, and that is : TIME.

    We do not take to our grave any material wealth. TIME is our most precious treasure because it is LIMITED. We can produce more wealth, but we cannot produce more time.

    When we give someone our time, we actually give a portion of our life that we will never take back . Our time is our life !

    The best present that you can give to your family and friends is your TIME.

    May God grant you plenty of TIME, to share with all.

  13. geeez2014 says:

    Bocopro; that’s a great message, too! Thanks so much.

  14. I don’t want to discuss what I do for others, because I don’t want to lose the huge reward for having done so.
    Ooops.
    Too late.

  15. geeez2014 says:

    Ed, i have a friend who does so much for others you can’t BELIEVE it….and you hear every single one of them. “I took Janice to lunch with her care giver , then went to…” I grieve because we are told not to say what we do. And it’s a pleasure, isn’t it, knowing it’s just between you, the person who received, and God. That was a tough one for me at first….I have to admit 🙂

    AND, it IS fun to do things for family and friends and, like Bocopro did above, use that information as an example of the kinds of things he does and that they don’t have to be anywhere outside our own family or neighborhood…they can be giving to our own kids, etc….

  16. Baysider says:

    Well, at the risk of breaking the ‘rule’ here’s something that just happened to me that illustrates your subject. I walked to the library in a great hurry. As I went up the stairs an elderly man was coming down. He halted at the top, with a flimsy walker in tow. I flashed on your subject today and paused long enough to get my mind off of my hurry – and saw the hesitancy in his face. Once I was looking at HIS situation the problem was clear (coming down the steps holding the walker and holding on to the handrail). These little encounters happen all the time, and sometimes we just see right past them until we change our attention.

  17. Baysider says:

    PS – I’m taking your idea for my luncheon topic on Thursday. Thanks!

  18. geeez2014 says:

    Ed, that’s a perfect example! GOOD JOB! I’d forgotten…it’s GOOD.

    Baysider, YES! Just stopping and thinking, being intentional…seeing through someone else’s eyes…good job~ And I love the idea for your luncheon topic….I’m glad ! Let me know how it works out!

Leave a Reply

