Obama’s Speech Today

Did you hear the speech from Antalya, Turkey just now?
Or did you read anything on it…any text, any opinions?

I did.

Hollande, today, said he’d like to join forces with Putin and Obama and talk.

I’d like to hear your thoughts.

Z

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

53 Responses to Obama’s Speech Today

  1. geeez2014 says:

    By the way, the American journalists in the audience were pretty tough on him…even a Black journalist. Obama was VERY thin skinned “I already answered that three times”, etc etc…. ‘Lots of “I’s in this talk again ..”if I decide” “I listen to my advisors” “When I make the decision” etc.

    It’s all about HIM……’I know what’s right and your journalists just don’t get it and I’m really tired of your stupidity” is what the major message to the journalists was.

    Anybody else see this?

  2. geeez2014 says:

    Obama calls Paris “a setback”….there will be no change in his strategy.
    Is this because he’s too dumb to understand the ISIS threat?
    Or is it all about politics…? “I can’t make mistakes so nothing needs to be changed”…

  3. bocopro says:

    I have a policy of changing channels, killing the audio, or leaving the room anytime his voice or face sullies my TV, so . . . no, didn’t see it. WOULDN’T, in fact. Might read it later as text, but not with his inflections, nuances, gestures, and such.

    Lemme just quote an article I read this mornin:

    “President Obama has spent the last seven years trying to avoid the world as it is. He has put his intellect and rhetorical skills into the dishonorable service of assigning blame and fudging failure. If nuances were bombs, the Islamic State would have been destroyed years ago.”

    Very civil and polite way to say what I feel. My words would be noticeably harsher and more guttural.

  4. geeez2014 says:

    also; he still calls it ISIL…though nearly every American we hear says ISIS…not that this is so important but it is a kind of example for how he’s either out of touch or just plain defiant. Odd, I think.

  5. geeez2014 says:

    bocopro…great line”If nuances were bombs, the Islamic State would have been destroyed years ago.”
    I find it important to hear how our president plans to protect us and what the world hears him say. I actually didn’t disagree with everything he said but he does seem very ‘sophisticated’ about it..very smooth and unruffled…not a good message to send to anybody. We need ANGER, like Hollande is showing….I think O’s words were bad enough; his demeanor was even more troubling somehow, now that I think of it…..

  6. geeez2014 says:

    Just heard ISIS’s threats against Washington….basically, it sounds like they read Huff Post and The Nation and watch MSNBC and know exactly how to appeal to the liberal mantra. .
    They call what we do ‘the crusade…”.

  7. Mustang says:

    Barack Obama is a disgrace. I don’t know how else to express my contempt in polite company.

  8. Kid says:

    I read through his speech to Turkey. It’s hard even today to find that much BS in one place. Whatever he says about ISIS is meaningless as we are clearly not doing anything to them. We’re probably arming them, beside the weapons we left in Iraq, and sending them money.

  9. Silverfiddle says:

    …and meanwhile, we are importing Syrian migrants…

  10. Imp says:

    I heard an “expert” on Fox say that not wanting to use the term “Islamic extremist” or “Islamic terrorist” would be akin to not wanting to refer to Germans as Nazis during WWII or not wanting to refer to the Soviet Union as the Communists during the Cold War. The silliness is that Germans used the term Nazi freely, and Soviets used the term Communism freely. Terrorists groups such as ISIS and Al-Qaida freely invoke the name of Allah in their rhetoric.

    Clearly, Mr. Obama doesn’t want to offend anyone, other than Republicans, and he really hates using the military. Granted no one wants a commander-in-chief who has an attitude like George Patton. But, there are times that the only reasonable option is to use the military in such a way that it will make enemies of the U.S. think twice about harming the interests of the U.S. and its allies.

  11. bocopro says:

    At his crucial juncture in our nationhood, the core of the issue is that we are about to elect another politician when in fact what we should be considering is appointment of a commander-in-chief, and one who fully comprehends what it means to be American, to protect a border, to assess a threat, and to get the hell out of the way of the economy so that we can develop revenue to do all those things properly.

    In fact, that’s PRECISELY the genesis of the Trump phenom, voter fatigue with career mealymouthers a la bush, clinton, et al.

    My dos centavos’ worth is that the one who met those quals best has withdrawn already, and one who definitely could do it with elan and verve isn’t even running this time. To whom do I refer? Perry & Palin. Herman Cain very likely could as well had he not been smeared as an Uncle Tom flash-in-the-pan, and Christie might be good at some of it, if not all, to a lesser quality.

    I still believe that Trump will implode and Carson will eventually carry the mark of Cain (Herman, of course), leaving only a mouthy band of junior senators (including Cankles) to sally forth with hortatory platitudes as their armament and inflated rhetoric as their shields.

    En autre termes, nous sommes condamnes.

    I’d use a different participle there, but manners dictate otherwise.

  12. geeez2014 says:

    Bocopro, you said “In fact, that’s PRECISELY the genesis of the Trump phenom, voter fatigue with career mealymouthers a la bush, clinton, et al.”
    I don’t see it that way; the genesis is Trump’s big mouth saying what every big mouth around the water cooler at works is saying or wants to say. And, that IS the kind of rhetoric Perry and Palin used (am not a fan of either but they had that right).
    I agree, sadly, about Carson; I do believe he’s going to crash like Herman Cain. Interesting that his name is Cain, by the way.

    Imp: Although I am, by FAR, not the anti-French type who frequents my blog and others, it is amazing to say “American needs to be as angry as HOllande, and (hopefully) as effective”…

    Here’s the rub; we need to be angry and effective NOW, not after more Americans lose their lives in some sports arena or just walking down K St in D.C. or anywhere else.

    SF…I was surprised to hear General Keane just now saying we should take in immigrants….
    after he heard Congressman King of NY remind the world that Syria doesn’t have records on the immigrants so how the HECK are we to VET? VET WHAT? “Are you a jihadi?” “No, OF COURSE not”..”Ok…you can come into America and we’ll pay for you forever…just behave, OK?”
    That’s the Obama WH method. STUPID STUPID STUPID. AND, some are saying it would take two YEARS to properly vet..(how and what???)….ridiculous.

    Kid, I doubt it but we’re certainly not doing enough. When the US media won’t relent in asking Obama important questions, you KNOW people are worried.

    Mustang..agreed.

    EVERYONE: I am hearing we have 900 under surveillance right now in America; they need to be deported, whether their arrest is valid or not SOMETHING alerted us so they’re gone. “We’re sorry, you may be a good guy, but YOU and YOUR FAMILY are on a plane Monday at 2pm…no lawyers needed, no excuses, nothing….there was a RUMOR you’re jihadi, you’re GONE”
    Paris has 5,000 under surveillance…THEY need to be kicked out never to return, too. The guy they think is the 8th attacker HAD been arrested and questioned and released into the population.
    So had two of the Charlie Hebdo killers.

    I’ll call it “ARREST AND DEPORT…” it saves us time and police power in questioning, etc..OR question and THEN DEPORT. Get what info we can, and OUT THEY GO regardless…

    I think I’ve stumbled on the only solution available to us…

  13. Imp says:

    How…do you have 5000 terrorists under surveillance. Or 50? Geezuz….how damn stupid are we and they?

  14. Mal says:

    I’m with Bocopro and cringe whenever I hear his voice! If BS was music, he’d be a whole brass band! My wife had the Fox News Channel on while he was speaking so I couldn’t help hearing at least some of his BS. In his almost 7 years as our leader, have you ever heard him say he was wrong? Will he ever acknowledge that by removing our troops from the Middle East he caused all the havoc around the world today? More and more, he is proving to the world he is a Muslim! PERIOD!
    Now. Can we PLEASE get on with his impeachment?

  15. geeez2014 says:

    Imp; exactly. Under surveillance? If they need surveillance, they need to BE DEPORTED; only questions asked are interrogation questions then they and their families should GO.

    That could not only solve a big problem with their departures back to their homelands, no matter how dangerous they are, but it could also be a really good warning to any of them NOT to do anything that remotely smacks of any crime …or you’re OUT, your passport’s forever revoked, etc.
    And if we could do some chip in them, too, to prevent any false passports, I’m for that, too!

    Keep your nose clean, OR ELSE…done. Gone. Forever. Good luck

  16. geeez2014 says:

    Mal, it’s torture to listen to him but I have to…partly for the blog, and partly to really understand what we’re fighting…sadly, in our society, nuance is everything and he’s FULL OF NUANCE (for want of the less polite word I’d like to use here!!)

  17. geeez2014 says:

    I’m happy to report news is coming out that the pregnant woman dangling from the window outside the Bataclan Concert Hall WAS pulled back in by a man she didn’t know…she tweeted asking for information on “her hero” who saved her and her baby’s lives, and it’s now being reported he did survive and they’re in contact. .Good to hear a good story from the nightmare.

  18. Kid says:

    Z, how do you threaten suicidal maniacs ?

    These people aren’t just from Syria either. The only answer is to not take them in. There are plenty of good reasons to not let them in.

  19. geeez2014 says:

    Kid, I totally agree; don’t let them in. Every country SHOULD be blocking all immigration. Why we have to jeopardize ourselves is beyond me.
    But we still have the people in…and they must go….we all know nobody’s got the will to deport them all, but I think my method would work in the short and long run!

    We’re hearing that a woman was probably involved with the bombings….but we can’t look under burkhas? WRONG. ANYBODY wearing a burkha or hijab has to know that the authorities can search them without impunity…”hold your dress up…we need to check for explosives”…and, “by the way, we think you were involved, or helped one of the perps….you leave on the plane tonight with your family…have a good trip” “Oh, and your passports are revoked..ta ta!”

  20. Silverfiddle says:

    “I am hearing we have 900 under surveillance right now in America; they need to be deported, whether their arrest is valid or not”

    Amen!

    They are visa holders, and as such, their stay here is at the pleasure of the US government. One whiff of trouble, and you’re out. That is our right as a nation. Once we make someone a citizen, our range of actions is much narrower. Spit them out.

    King is right, as is Rubio. Anyone telling us that these migrants are being vetted is a liar. There is no way to verify anything about them or their story.

  21. geeez2014 says:

    Alabama, Illinois, Mississippi, TX and others, ALL REPUBLICAN GOVERNORS, will not take Syrian refugees in, or at least they’re saying they won’t.
    ONLY REPUBLICANS. This will be not reported as if they care enough for their own state’s inhabitants, it will be reported as if they have no hearts for immigrants and hate outsiders…wait for it.

    My personal feeling is many in the Dem governed states are wishing they had a gov with good sense.

  22. geeez2014 says:

    SF! HURRAH! I’m so glad you agree with my plan. I SWEAR I think it’s a great one , if I do say so myself!
    The slightest HINT of trouble, and they and their whole family are on the next plane….as John McLaughlin has said for yeas, “By BYYYYYY!!” 🙂

  23. FB says:

    I’m tired of the politicization of mass murders. Can we stop for a week while the French are mourning? When I see that kind of behavior I’m glad to be registered as an independent. On both side a lot of people are using an evil act to make their points. I’m TIRED OF IT!!!

  24. Imp says:

    It seems Obama’s real agenda is to not eliminate ISIS. Obama and Hillary have backed the wrong side in every occasion they have had to stop terrorism. Imagine Palestinians are sending hundreds of rockets into Israel and Obama tells Israel to be calm. Obama and his entire Administration all seem to be on their side as he really has done little to protect the US. Allowing thousands of refugees into the US against the overwhelming will of the People proves my point. Soon I am sure there will be attacks on our mainland and Obama will certainly blame someone but not his own actions.

  25. Silverfiddle says:

    @ Z: SF! HURRAH! I’m so glad you agree with my plan. I SWEAR I think it’s a great one , if I do say so myself!
    The slightest HINT of trouble, and they and their whole family are on the next plane….as John McLaughlin has said for yeas, “By BYYYYYY!!”

    Unfortunately, we cannot apply the same policy to US citizens…

    If our government must be so stupid to import trouble, I insist on a very long wait for citizenship, 5-10 years. And yes, anybody in the family causes trouble, that person and every family member (2 year old brother, 98 year old grandma)… Gone. Deported.

  26. geeez2014 says:

    FB…sorry. It’s important to at least consider more attacks will happen…almost certainly. Yes, we need to grieve, but when does grieving stop? Should it? I think not.
    Perhaps you didn’t hear Obama’s speech this morning….people want answers; I think the least a commander in chief can do is at least try to keep us all safe.
    I’m heartbroken for France, of course, and know you are, too. And I understand your point, but Hollande’s right in moving into action and we in America are nervous about when (not if) this is coming here. We haven’t much time and Obama should be questioned about what he plans to do.

    SF: We can try. We’d have success just deporting non citizens.
    I laugh every time I hear the media talk about “he spoke French” “he’s French” “he’s Belgian” as if their being naturalized citizens means they put that country first and not their religion?
    I know too many Germans personally who waited five years to get here…..hard working, talented Germans who had much to offer America….
    My own British bro-in-law had to pay a fortune and wait almost a year to come from Canada as a new American resident.

  27. Imp says:

    Watch these mooselems harass a white Brit in her own country.

    A British woman harassed by Muslim immigrants for wearing regular clothes in her own homeland.

  28. Imp says:

    I can’t help but notice Obama’s constant use of “I”…

    He must mean I’m incompetent, inept, ignorant and insolent towards the American people.

  29. geeez2014 says:

    Imp….as I commented the other day, girls in Germany now have to walk in groups ….many at the dance studio my stepdaughter knows have been raped by muslims. She bemoans the fact that the media’s not talking about this very much at all.
    At Oktoberfest, she and my stepson both saw young girls leered at by African and Arab boys looking for nothing but trouble in their demeanor and smirks.

    People give refugees bikes and they’ve been known to say “I want a NEW one” ..Also, they won’t take free used furniture, preferring to live without furniture for a while… If you give them cigarettes, they’re known to say “That’s not my brand” and it’s not unheard of for them to spit at cashiers in Germany.

    She also said many of the refugees are very grateful and we don’t hear much about that, either.

  30. geeez2014 says:

    Imp: Ya, I mentioned that somewhere above, I think..it’s all “I”…as if he knows what’s best for our country. Good adjectives there for his “I”, thanks!

  31. geeez2014 says:

    MINNEAPOLIS – A Democratic candidate for the Minnesota House ended his campaign Sunday, hours after he tweeted that the Islamic State group “isn’t necessarily evil” and its members were doing what they thought was best for their community.

  32. Imp says:

    Why wouldn’t the moron say that…he has somali, savage loons in his state.

  33. Kid says:

    Imp, Yep, what obama says and does is 180 degrees apart. he is helping the moslems with their caliphate. Literally. How about that?

  34. Kid says:

    The Germans and anyone else in a country that has been disarmed, need to start carrying kitchen knives and stab the moslem vermin every chance they get. That can work. Travel in groups and as soon as the vermin appear and threaten 2 or 3 girls attack them with knives. Folks you gotta do something. If they come in your house use knives or a cast iron frying pan. How many Germans defending themselves can be put in jail? (Which they probably would be form the sound of things over there.) A million moslems versus 80 million Germans? Pfffft. Go get em folks.

  35. Kid says:

    IMP, that girl should have kicked the crap out of that stpid zombie.

    Here’s another idea. German Men – Adopt a single woman and protect her when she is out on the street. Carry knives and squirt guns full of pigs blood.

  36. geeez2014 says:

    Kid, they don’t quite have the PC BS we have….if someone’s legitimately fought back, they’re usually okay. And more have hunting guns than we’re told to believe., in Germany.
    I wish the girls would have knives on them…BRAVO for them!

  37. Imp says:

    The new Yale, MU cupcake, snowflake credo against free speech:

    Typical liberal logic 101:

    1. “I will talk louder then my opponent so I do not have to hear the common sense coming from his mouth. I will scream, if I must, unintelligible things until he stops speaking and/or gives up the argument.”

    2. “If all else fails and I am to lose the argument and/or debate, I will immediately claim my opponent a racist to quiet him.”

    3. “I will disagree with anything an independent or republican sides with no matter how right and no matter how vile or unattainable my position.”

    4. “Insult my opponent if I begin a debate with no talking points.”

    5. “I will make up a unrealistic argument showing that I am in the right and the superior intellect no matter how unbelievable the scenario.”

    6. “As a liberal I am inherently lazy and will reuse my opponent’s insults changing direction of application.”

    7. “Unions are my best friend. They will fight my battles for me and tell me what to do so I can continue to be worthless.”

    * “My wild card is Bush. He can be blamed for anything.”

    Supposed MLK quote…”If we are not careful, our colleges will produce a group of close-minded, unscientific, illogical propagandists, consumed with immoral acts. Be careful, “brethren!” Be careful, teachers!”

  38. bocopro says:

    Two or three times a week I generate a rant, generally around a page and half in Word, too long for blog comments. Put one together about an hour ago on this general topic of what to do about ISIS, al Qaeda, DAESH, or al-whatever du jour.

    Put it out to my routine e-mail crowd and chat group, but don’t have any of y’all’s. A little salty, but I spent over 20 years in the USN, so . . . . . nothin I’d be ashamed to repeat to my mother or my daughters. Maybe not my grandmother, tho.

  39. Imp says:

    Here’s one lone, tough guy on a college campus that’s gotten it right…

  40. Kid says:

    IMP, exactly right. Why do they hate the Jewish people ? Why do they hate Israel? Do they think if Israel ceased to exist the world would somehow achieve peace? Wow. They’re in for a shock. As if they aren’t already.

    And kids ! You little Techophiles ! You little Geniuses! Learn how to not take Portrait Video Already !! Good God.

  41. geeez2014 says:

    Ben Shapiro is on L.A. morning radio….with a conservative gal and a liberal guy who’s not too terribly liberal but is lib.
    Shapiro usually gets it right!

  42. Imp says:

    Watching the news this evening, I was amazed at how far the pendulum has swung in 75 years. The Japanese bombed Pearl Harbor in 1941 and without any substantial reason to believe that Japanese living in the US were a threat, they were rounded up and put into internment camps. Today we have Muslims from abroad attacking us; we have Muslims in our own countries attacking us; we have Muslims in our own countries calling for violence against us, but all our leaders keep telling us is it that Islam is a religion of peace.

  43. Kid says:

    IMP, In the end this problem will come down to the population to solve. Government will be less than useless. Just an FYI to folks wondering how this all turns out.

  44. Imp says:

    A thought….If Isis is contained and safer as the dear leader says, then why doesn’t he send the refugees back home?

  45. geeez2014 says:

    Imp; two GREAT points; the juxtaposition of muslims and Japanese (Japanese were also very patriotic Americans; not sure many muslims are)…and the excellent point of “if it’s safe there now, why not send them back there?” Bravo

    Kid…I’ll alert the media 🙂

  46. John M. Berger says:

    @Imp,

    “Muslims in our own countries calling for violence against us, but all our leaders keep telling us is it that Islam is a religion of peace.”

    HEY,HEY; well if that isn’t bad enough we have an Idiot-in-Chief that wants to bring in more!
    I keep thinking that there is NO HOPE, whatsoever, for a nation that would put that @$$#0!e in office twice. Insofar as forced immigration is concerned, my first thought was to put them in “Blue States” but , NO, I live in one!!!!! OK if we, absolutely have to take them, put them on an ankle bracelet , at their cost, for a time until it’s determined that they (he,she) present no threat to our civilized society. No bracelet-no enter………….. As far as I know there is no way to ‘VET’ these scumbags so just provide barrack housing with no plumbing (which they wouldn’t understand anyway) until they promise to go home. PLEEEEZE, I don’t want to see one more of these when I go to SAFEWAY to buy food! I’ve seen folks that I’d rather be around on the “Walking Dead” and I don’t mean the live ones. YEAH, I’m not too PC and becoming more proud of it!

  47. One of my cyber buddies who has never advocating impeaching Obama is doing so now.

    I think that I know why: what Obama said today made my friend realize that there is a life-and-death threat to his progeny.

    Now, here is the reality:

    Once immigrants are allowed into the country, there may be little that governors can do to prevent those immigrants from settling in particular states.

    Obama will bring in the Syrian “refugees” via executive order if Congress blocks him.

    Then, what?

  48. Z,
    Obama calls Paris “a setback”

    Of course! That reflects his worldview.

    He probably means that the Paris attacks are a setback to Muslims ruling the world.

  49. Kid,
    I read through his speech to Turkey. It’s hard even today to find that much BS in one place.

    Indeed!

  50. Z,
    many at the dance studio my stepdaughter knows have been raped by muslims

    Good God!

  51. Kid says:

    IMP
    “A thought….If Isis is contained and safer as the dear leader says, then why doesn’t he send the refugees back home?”

    More proof that democrats say whatever they think sounds good at the time, and can be opposed to themselves from one minute to the next minute and not even know it. This is how much respect they have for anyone else, they don’t even bother to try to keep their story straight. But yea, ISIS contained? Good Lord, tell that to all the people and children they’re torturing and killing. Man I hate that POS.

  52. Bob says:

    @Kid: “. German Men – Adopt a single woman”

    I have brought up adopting young, single women, before. In my house and my wife didn’t seem to want to consider it. Not sure what went wrong.

  53. Kid says:

    Bob, Yea, it is problematic.

Leave a Reply

