Thanksgiving…….

I hope all of us are grateful most of the time, even though our health or the health of our loved ones isn’t good, even though finances could be better, even though very sad things happen in our lives or the lives of our dearest friends, and even when faced with the kinds of things we’re facing as Americans these days.

thankful for

Let’s make a list here in Comments of things we truly are grateful for in our lives….  Let’s try to stay ‘up’ and happy and thankful.  

I will start by saying I am very grateful for all of my readers/commenters who feel like friends though I’ve met so few of you.   Thank you for coming by, thank you for your encouragement, thanks to those of you whose faith lifts me up, thanks to you who have told me how much my Sunday Faith Blogs means to you   Thanks for lifting us all up in just knowing there are still good, traditional Americans with values which will never go down no matter what.

God bless you and keep you, and may you feel more grateful this year than ever.   Tell God how grateful you are;  I hear He likes that 🙂

thanksgiving turkey

I will open my mouth in a parable;

I will utter dark sayings of old,

Which we have heard and known,

And our fathers have told us. 

We will not conceal them from their children,
But tell to the generation to come the praises of the Lord,
And His strength and His wondrous works that He has done.

Psalm 78:2-4

I also hate to post on Thanksgiving and not mention SQUANTO and what an amazing ‘God-incidence’ his existence was…to America.  Take a look!  There’s something that you might mention around the dinner table!  Have fun!

Blessings, Z

This entry was posted in holiday. Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to Thanksgiving…….

  1. bocopro says:

    Very selfishly, I am supremely grateful, and still a bit surprised, that the woman with whom I raised 4 kids chose to share her life with me way back there in ’61. A deeply faithful traditional Catholic woman, she has kept me much safer and prosperous with her prayers and her patience than I ever could have if left on my own.

    I am indeed one lucky sonofagun, forever just falling into good things such as a rewarding military career and the opportunity to teach literature and poetry and composition and other English classes at the university level. Just a country boy with no partic’lar skills or smarts, but bein’ lucky makes up for lotsa shortcomings.

    Large collection of bumps, lumps, rips, and tears on the ol’ bod’, but somehow it’s all held together during the most exciting of times, and until I was informed about 7 years ago of my erroneous perception by a much wiser man who rose to prominence for no particular reason, I had the privilege of living in the greatest country the world has ever seen.

    Like

  2. bunkerville says:

    Best wish for a great day Z! :))

    Like

  3. Linda says:

    Happy Thanksgiving! Have a great day!

    Like

  4. jerrydablade says:

    Faith, family and friends! And a huuuge pile of mashed potatoes with gravy 🙂
    Happy Thanksgiving, Z!

    Like

  5. Mustang says:

    Happy Thanksgiving to everyone in the Geeez family and all her blog friends. What am I thankful for? God’s blessings, which number more than the hair on my head.

    Like

  6. geeez2014 says:

    bocopro…and a gift is recognizing when we are blessed and grateful. Sounds like you certainly do! And recognizing that your sweet wife prayed you through life and did well……what’s it going to take, Mr. Agnostic? (smile)

    Bunk and Lisa…DITTO to you dear ladies.

    Jerry….THAT IS ALL THAT MATTERS: MASHED POTATOES AND GRAVY. I’m with YOU! (I do like Stuffing, too!) I never met a potato I didn’t LOVE!
    God bless!

    Mustang….I never quite realized how WONDERFUL it is to hear that your dear friend feels so blessed by God. Very touching… I’m thankful for you and that example. xxx

    Like

  7. Farmer John says:

    I am thankful for having been born privileged enough to live in the greatest contry on earth before the progressives turned it into an “unexceptional” third world hell hole.

    Like

  8. I’m thankful for mercy. That I belong to a merciful God.
    He has blessed me immensely, giving me what I don’t deserve and not giving me what I do.
    O give thanks unto the LORD; for he is good: for his mercy endureth for ever.
    O give thanks unto the God of gods: for his mercy endureth for ever.
    O give thanks to the Lord of lords: for his mercy endureth for ever.
    To him who alone doeth great wonders: for his mercy endureth for ever.
    To him that by wisdom made the heavens: for his mercy endureth for ever.
    To him that stretched out the earth above the waters: for his mercy endureth for ever.
    To him that made great lights: for his mercy endureth for ever:
    The sun to rule by day: for his mercy endureth for ever:
    The moon and stars to rule by night: for his mercy endureth for ever.

    Have a happy and blessed Thanksgiving, Z, and all my friends here.

    Like

  9. Silverfiddle says:

    I am thankful for the family that raised me, including all the grandmas and grandpas, aunts and uncles.

    I am thankful for my wife and children; they have given meaning to my existence and made life worthwhile.

    Like

  10. woodsterman says:

    Happy Thanksgiving Z!

    Like

  11. Mal says:

    I am thankful for all the reasons mentioned above, including where I was born, the parents I had, serving and surviving in the military, being given a beautiful wife and 4 children, and making it to 87 with no health problems. I remain optimistic for our future. WE MUST! Keep praying!

    Like

  12. Lisa says:

    I am thankful for my family and their successes,and we are fortunate we still have my mom who is 85 and still has her health and wit.
    Happy Thanksgiving to you Z . I am thankful for your wonderful blog and the great minds who flock to it

    Like

  13. Thankful that I’m still standing!

    Like

  14. Baysider says:

    I am thankful for a Christian mom.
    I am thankful for bible study and the friendships and growth there.
    I’m thankful for a husband who is a wonderful companion and has always been a good planner and makes financial provision.
    I’m thankful for the 3/100 ths of an inch of rain we got Tuesday night (I can now start clipping things in the yard without all the dust and pollen blown in by awful desert winds for weeks).
    I’m thankful for the wonderful Weston Price Wise Traditions conference I was able to attend 2 weeks ago. I got lots of great ideas there, and one of them is the delicious fermented cranberry chutney I’m serving today!
    I’m thankful for the privilege of being born into the greatest country in history.
    Most of all, I’m thankful that God is on His throne and knows what He’s doing, even when we do not.
    Let them thank the LORD for his steadfast love,for his wondrous works to the children of man! Ps. 107:21

    Like

  15. geeez2014 says:

    FJ, me, too….Kids won’t even know the America we knew. So sad.

    Ed…do you know the praise song “Give Thanks…”? I’m not sure that’s the title but the lyrics are very much like the psalm above. Psalm 136, by the way, folks.

    SF…I can’t be thankful enough for my family, either…thanks for reminding me of the amazing grandparents I had…and my DAD, the greatest ever (I hope everybody here thinks “No, he isn’t MY DAD is” I’d be so grateful for that)…..And I am so grateful my uncle’s still healthy and his wife and he are hosting our family against tonight…always an amazingly great time!

    |Woodster: THANkS! XXX

    Mal; I think it’s your optimism that keeps you so healthy and mentally amazing! Thanks for that inspiration!

    :Lisa…I can’t say that you have all “great minds” flocking to your blog, but I sure do love your blog (you know what I mean!)…thanks for being here. SO glad to hear your mom’s doing well…Mine’s almost 85 and she ROCKS, too! You should have seen her shakin’ her booty on the dance floor at my niece’s wedding a month ago, wearing the same gown she’d worn to my niece’s mother’s wedding…not bad, huh? Her tradition is wearing the same gown she wore at her daughters’ weddings to their children’s weddings…how many grandmas can say they’d FIT in those beautiful gowns that never go out of style, right!~?

    Baysider: “Most of all, I’m thankful that God is on His throne and knows what He’s doing, even when we do not” AMEN to that.
    Thanks for the list…I’m hoping more people here get as specific as that.. Sounds like you’re hosting the dinner today; I hope it’s a wonderful one!

    Like

  16. bocopro says:

    For years’n’years I was the cook on special meals such as Thanksgiving, Christmas, July 4th, and so on. Made the turkey, dressing, yams, and all that sans help.

    This year my D-I-L insisted, INSISTED, that she do it all, so I just stayed outta her way. Pruned a magnolia in the back yard and bundled up the cuttings. Didn’t even set foot in the kitchen ’til she needed help gettin the bird outta the roaster.

    ‘Bout 20 years ago or so I put together a li’l fluff poem ’bout Thanksgiving dinner. Still works o.k.:

    The stuffing was spicy.
    The turkey was plump.
    In those mashed hot potatoes
    We found not one lump.

    The creamed corn was delish.
    The yams were so sweet.
    The ham was quite tasty.
    Cranberries, a treat.

    The biscuits were perfect.
    The gravy just so.
    The meal was a triumph,
    A feast, don’t you know.

    Two pies topped it all off,
    One lemon meringue.
    A pumpkin with whipped cream
    Was quite just the thing.

    We all drank fresh coffee
    And loosened our pants
    Our stomachs the size of
    A bull elephant’s.

    We all swore to never
    Eat that much again.
    We’re all starting diets
    To lose at least ten.

    Tomorrow it’s oatmeal
    For breakfast, we vow.
    “And salads for lunch,”
    We all say, at least now.

    But I see that turkey
    Sliced up so precise
    Just waiting for mayo
    On white bread, how nice!

    The dark meat all stripped off
    The carcass, now cold,
    To be baked in a pasta
    And cheese casserole.

    For days I’ll be eating
    From leftover store
    ‘Til I can’t look a yam
    In the face any more.

    But four weeks from today
    There will be a repeat
    Of that exact same meal
    And we’ll all overeat.

    Like

  17. Mal says:

    Z, having known both your folks I can back what you said about your dad being the greatest because he was! And I’m sure you miss him dearly as does your mom.

    Like

  18. geeez2014 says:

    AOW; I don’t often watch those types of videos but am SO glad I did this time; absolutely beautiful, inspiring quotes….I sent them to study friends. THANK YOU.
    And I’m glad you’re still standing, too! Very much so!

    Like

  19. geeez2014 says:

    Mal, that means a lot to me….I’m glad you appreciated Dad that much, too. He was quite some MAN. We all do miss him dearly….thanks. xxx

    bocopro…very fun poem! I was struck by ‘lemon meringue pie’ because it’s not a typical Thanksgiving dessert but I LIKE that idea….at Christmas Eve, when Mr. Z and I had guests and the dinner was pretty darned rich (and pretty delicious, I might add!), I made tiny tarts of oatmeal crust with lime curd in them……….SUCH a nice treat after a rich meal…So I’m , you might say “on the same plate” as you 🙂
    How was the DIL’s cookin’?

    I wanted to go to my sister’s today when she told me her cranberry sauce was homemade with orange rind, Cognac, etc…mmmm!!

    BUT, STUFFING is MY Thanksgiving….stuffing, mashed potatoes and gravy…and I’d be happy BUT there’ll be a feast this evening and it’ll all be delicious…..everything is traditionally American but my mother’s appetizers with cocktails…which will be her room temperature rice-stuffed grapeleaves that are DIVINE, and her small file triangles filled with cheese….over the moon good!

    Like

  20. Imp says:

    Do not get into political discussions with your liberal friends at the dinner table this Thanksgiving. Otherwise you will soon find this out:

    https://a.disquscdn.com/uploads/mediaembed/images/2850/661/original.jpg?w=600&h

    Like

  21. geeez2014 says:

    Ya, Imp…you could say “could you pass me those brains, in the bowl near the flowers?” 😉

    Like

  22. Baysider says:

    and AOW – that is a great video. I’m sorry I skipped right by until Z’s comment. Thanksgiving is indeed a day to acknowledge our dependence. (We’d be better off doing that every day.)

    Like

  23. bocopro says:

    Long ago, my DIL pulled the classic mistake with a turkey . . . cooked it with the giblet package inside. Fortunately for her, the bag never split open or disintegrated, so we ate the legs and bottom part of the breast meat anyway so’s not to hurt her feelings too much.

    She’s a country girl, purty sturdy stuff, and not a whole lot rattles her. Over the past quarter century, she’s gotten pretty good at nearly all kindsa cookin, so although she doesn’t do things quite the same as Milady & I might, it was just fine.

    Biggest diff is how she makes her cornbread, her green-bean casserole, and her sweet ‘taters. Makes her cornbread from scratch, then makes dressing from that. Lotta work, but turns out marveloso. She won’t use canned yams; gets honest-to-goodness real ones, peels ’em, cooks ’em, then mashes ’em before spreadin mushmellers on ’em and bakin the mass. Uses a lotta french-fried onion rings on the gb casserole.

    Makes a fine mess of old-fashioned deviled aigs with just the right amount of dill. Good cook. Good mother, too.

    ‘Cept they forgot about the pies today. One punkin, one pecan. Still sittin in the fridge.

    Like

  24. geeez2014 says:

    boco! FORGOT THE PIES? Well, y’all have something to look forward to!

    I think we have the only family who doesn’t do the green bean casserole..

    The best recipe for yams was something I saw on TV the other day. I like them but I’m not nuts about them..BUT this cook baked the tiny marshmallows on a cookie sheet till they were sort of s’mores-like burned on top…DELICIOUS…then her yams are all ready and she carefully spoons the charred marshmallows into them…and then serves. That sounded interesting.

    I’m a stuffing NUT….sadly, my aunt’s tradition from her mother is stuffing with ‘offul’ in it..giblets, livers, etc., and that’s NOT MY THING. I used to bring another stuffing for us purists but finally got to where I can stomach this one 🙂 She uses caterers now who stay and serve and clean up (hallelujah) and we know them well by now, great crew, BUT she actually gave THEM the giblet stuffing recipe,…I was so disappointed!

    Still, it’s a FEAST up there in Bel Air, and I can’t wait! 🙂

    I hope all of you on the East Coast have had a great dinner…we don’t eat here until cocktails and horsdeurvres at around 4…dinner at six or so….

    Like

  25. Kid says:

    I’m thankful for surviving 51 of my 9 lives. Because the reason He has kept me here has to be pretty darn interesting. I can’t wait to find out.

    I’m also thankful to know ALL of you folks.

    Like

  26. Baysider says:

    I take those giblets (livers only please!) and make Julia Child’s chicken liver mousse. 15 minutes to divinity!! The rest is – uh – well named as offal.

    We’ve moved away from stuffing (I used to think I’d die without it – truth was I was dyin’ with it) and I fill my bird lightly with lemon chunks and rosemary. But I DO make pies (occasionally). I have a killer pecan fig pie but, sadly, can’t make&take it to my family who can’t eat pecans. I may make it for dinner tomorrow – should save you a piece.

    Like

  27. Kid says:

    I’m just now reading the comments.

    Boco – your first post. I’ve said many times that we had it pretty good. We had 50’s-60’s-70’s-80’s-90’s and all of 2000. 6 generations of good times. I can’t think of another period in even semi-modern times where people had 6 decades of good stuff… Maybe the Roman times, but that’s not our world.
    Not that I’m satisfied to have 6 decades. I want more. Especially over those who are working to make our lives worse, mainly democrats and moslems.

    Like

  28. Kid says:

    Z, Gradma’s gown… Good stuff.

    Like

  29. Kid says:

    Ok, finally, an Irish Special Forces Airborne Thanksgiving.

    http://www.blackfive.net/main/2015/11/the-patented-bl.html

    Like

  30. geeez2014 says:

    Baysider, i have made amazing liver pates, but they have to have a LOT of thyme, and liquore and other things for ME to like them….but I DO when they’re laced 🙂
    I can’t imagine going off stuffing, but I know you’ll have a delightful repast~! Once a year, I will be happy to lose a week of life for my delicious favorites.

    Kid, isn’t that amazing? I should email you some pix!

    Will look at the video later…am dressing for my evening with family!

    See y’all later 🙂

    Like

  31. Kid says:

    Z, You keep teasing me with the selfies !

    Like

  32. John M. Berger says:

    Born in 1943, I’m ‘thankful to have lived, arguably, during some of the best times this Nation has known. Has it been perfect? NO it hasn’t but “perfect”, per se, doesn’t exist. Nevertheless , a look at history tells me, [we] should be thankful for the time we’ve been privileged to have here. While we, currently, face many challenges I pray that the goodness of America, that we have so enjoyed, will return. HAPPY THANKSGIVING TO ALL HERE AT Geeez!

    Like

  33. AOW. Thanks for the video.
    Z: The “Give Thanks” worship song I know is not similar to that Psalm.

    Like

  34. Kid says:

    JMB, Let’s make it happen again. Lets kick off another 6 decades of good times.

    Like

  35. John M. Berger says:

    @Kid,

    Sounds good buddy!

    Like

  36. Kid says:

    JMB< We gonna make it happen.

    Like

  37. geeez2014 says:

    Ed, for some reason the link above is the song that Psalm brings to mind. I love the one you linked, too, thought. Thanks. Hillsong’s music is pretty wonderful…I love “Oceans”..

    Kid, oF MY MOTHER?! 🙂

    John, what a terrific comment…thanks SO much. Very optimistic and happy; I like that! Thank you. And I hope you had a marvelous day.

    Like

  38. geeez2014 says:

    No organ meat in the stuffing tonight: GOD IS GOOD!!! And so was the stufffing…!!

    But….no PUMPKIN ANYTHING. I will now HAVE to go find a piece of pumpkin pie somewhere….we had hot raspberry/blueberry crumble with vanilla ice cream instead…and BIG fat white and dark chocolate cookies, and raisin cookies, etc…two of which I brought home..mmmm

    BUT NO PUMPKIN!?

    Like

  39. Baysider says:

    Z – I know where you can find some. Call my sister-in-law. She has a HUGE pumpkin mousse cheesecake leftover. 🙂

    Like

  40. Did anyone have piecaken?

    Like

  41. Baysider says:

    ED: Not yet, but I’m thinking of making a pecan pie caken in a chocolate truffle cake. (Want our address? 🙂 )

    Like

  42. Mal says:

    Sorry, Z, “No Pumpkin” means “No Thanksgiving!” Hope you eventually found some and got your “fix”.

    Like

  43. Kid says:

    Z, Your mother? No. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

