Sunday Faith Blog

My post today is dedicated to Mr. Shannon Johnson,  because of  THIS STORY.

“Greater love hath no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends.”  John 15:13

white rose

We remember you, Shannon Johnson, and we pray for your family and we pray in thanks for saving your coworker’s life by shielding her, and for comforting her with “I got you.”

shannon johnson crop

 

Even if you do have a Shannon Johnson shielding you…here is help.

Have a blessed Sunday,

Z

This entry was posted in Sunday Faith Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Sunday Faith Blog

  1. bunkerville says:

    Prayers as well for all the brave men and women police officers who no doubt saved countless more lives by plunging headlong into the fray. We must not take them for granted.

  2. geeez2014 says:

    and I never take them for granted, but that wasn’t this man’s job…..this was astonishing.
    I love the cop who’s on video of a survivor keeping them all calm and telling them he’ll take the bullets…not to worry.

  3. Stories like his should be taught in school.
    A role model.
    Where’s the march protesting his death?
    And what if he’d been armed?

  4. geeez2014 says:

    Ed, sadly, our schools don’t allow heroes anymore…not REAL heroes. Not unless Mr. Johnson became a woman………then, maybe?
    And yes, where is the march?

  5. Mal says:

    It reminds me of when a soldier in battle throws himself on an incoming grenade to save his buddies. Self-sacrifice can come at various times in life, can’t it? What struck me on the site you showed, Z, about how to protect yourself during a terrorists attack is how we now have to have this discussion in the first place. Is this to be our new “norm”? Look how far we have fallen since O took office.

  6. geeez2014 says:

    Mal, I know….a friend had emailed that to me…who’d have ever EVER thought Americans would have to even talk about this.

    I can’t wait to hear the President’s spiel this evening at 8 EST….how many ways will he describe this without using ISLAMIC, and will he talk GUNS again (as I we have to guess)….how is it HE will say HE will protect US.

    This should be a real GAS 🙂 (gas BAG) !!!!!!!!!!

  7. Maybe he’ll explain how he’s taking away the armored vehicles the cops have had for years to even up the odds for the terrorists.

  8. Silverfiddle says:

    A fitting tribute…

  9. John M. Berger says:

    “I can’t wait to hear the President’s spiel this evening at 8 EST”
    That’s dinner time (6:00PM) here @ MST; I’m going to have to pass!

  10. geeez2014 says:

    Ed….much of the conversation a few days ago was how the cops shouldn’t have that equipment; I am VERY glad they did.

    SF…thanks. I couldn’t think of a better Sunday Faith Blog about that nightmare.

    JMB…..good point! EAT and LISTEN?…(remind me; you’re not in LA, are you?)

  11. John M. Berger says:

    @Z,

    “JMB…..good point! EAT and LISTEN?”

    Sorry-can’t do it; [he] evokes regurgitation even if I have been fasting (LOL). I’m still in Denver.

  12. geeez2014 says:

    Oh that’s right! Denver! “Here@MST…I read it as “6:00…here”.. How I read it that way, I don’t know..i have to slow DOWN sometimes when I’m reading comments.
    And ya….impossible to be eating food and to also take in such C*AP at the same time 🙂

  13. Baysider says:

    I’m so glad you honored this man. Honestly, if he were a woman we probably would not have this story, as this is a solidly MALE reflex. Not sayin’ a woman wouldn’t do it, but we lose perspective in the gender jumble. So I honor men here, too.

    Sometimes it’s more meaningful to pray for families when you can put a face to the trauma – like here.

    BTW, am I the only one here scratching my head at the advice on the link – to wrap a belt around the hinge to stop the door from being opened? Just not possible! So impossible Mr. B and I Googled and found this video in which these ‘safety’ steps are illustrated. He does not wrap the belt around the hinge, but around the closer you find on commercial doors, and that looks like it might slow down an intruder.

  14. Sparky says:

    I live in SE Georgia. The Pastor of the church we attended this morning said that there are people in church who know this brave gentleman. Apparently the family is/was from Jesup, Wayne County, Georgia. That really hits close to home. We are all praying for the victims and the survivors. May the LORD Jesus Christ be glorified that all may be saved.
    Have a blessed day my friends.

  15. Baysider says:

    My post didn’t post, so I hope it’s not in abeyance (and we get 2).

    I was just so touched that you honored this man. Although I doubt if he’d been a woman we’d have this story, as this is a very MALE reflex. We’re losing sight of that in the gender jumble, so I also honor men here for their protection and courage.

    After reading your linked story on safety tips I had to wonder how on earth you could stop a door by wrapping a belt around the hinge. It’s just not possible! Mr. B and I scratched our heads on that, then Googled around and found this video. He meant to say CLOSER, not hinge, and that looks like it might slow down an intruder.

  16. geeez2014 says:

    Baysider, that is the same link I’d found…It looks like that gentleman thinks it would work… “hinge” is usually that which the door hangs from, so that was a weird term, is that what you mean? Exactly right…wrap it around the closer…

    And yes, it’s difficult to look at the faces, but I’ve always thought it’s the least we can do …we owe it to them to look at their faces and, really, they’re rather martyrs to our cause of anti-terror and against islamic radicals, aren’t they.

    And yes, it is a solidly male reflex…But I just put myself in the picture and think that if a young woman were much younger than I and was shaking, scared to death, I might shield her……not from altruism but I like to think my instinct for doing the right thing would kick in!!

  17. geeez2014 says:

    actually, the more I think of it, it seems PRIMAL to try to comfort and shield someone…….
    But it certainly is heroic …

  18. Baysider says:

    Did you know that there’s now a liberal NY reporter – Linda Stasi (what a PERFECT last name for her) – who blames one of the victims as well as the killer? http://dailycaller.com/2015/12/06/ny-daily-news-san-bernardino-victim-deserved-it-for-being-conservative/

    She didn’t like Nicholas Thalasinos’ politics and the fact that he would think it would be terrific to have Ann Coulter the head of Homeland Security. And he liked the NRA, too. So she refers to 13 (yes, THIRTEEN) innocent victims of both the killer and his conservative co-worker who together created this toxic atmosphere.

    The Daily Caller reported this along with the fact that the killer’s mother was active in an Islamic group here. (A reporter found a certificate of appreciation from such a group to the mother.) I”m having computer trouble now, or I’d post more links.

  19. Baysider says:

    A close friend of Mr. Thalasinos posted this on his Facebook page: “The islamic terrorist who took the Life of my friend & bro in Christ, Nicholas Thalasinos, on yesterday in San Bernadino, CA, had been threatening him, telling him that islam will rule the world, Christians and Jews deserve to die; and that he (Nicholas) was going to die.”
    “But, they aren’t reporting that in the “news” …I wonder why …”

    I wonder why Alex Jones is the only one reporting this (and picked up on Drudge)? http://www.infowars.com/friend-of-victim-farook-threatened-to-kill-jews-said-islam-will-rule-the-world/

  20. geeez2014 says:

    Baysider, yes, and he’d had quite a discussion about Islam not being a religion of peace…I guess Sayed proved himself wrong, huh?

    People are REALLY outraged at Stasi (yes, PERFECT name) … it’s so typical, isn’t it?
    Imagine his mother lived with them and NEVER saw any of the hundreds of pipe bomb ingredients, nothing already put together, no ammo, no guns? IT’S A MIRACLE 🙂
    Oh, but she’s crying about her son’s death….from what they say.

    Did you see the presser with the 2 lawyers for the family? As Ed said yesterday “why do dead people need defense?” They were CLEARLY defending ISLAM, not the killers.
    And HE LIKED THE NRA? then HE MUST DIE..THAT”S TOXIC (smile!)..sarcasm, of course.

    Good luck with your computer.

  21. geeez2014 says:

    By the way, Baysider, I’m making a couple of desserts for Tuesday and it’s put me in quite a happy Christmas mood!

  22. Baysider says:

    Nice! I’m sorry I won’t be there. Your desserts are fantastic!

  23. Baysider: Someone posted that belt on the door closer trick on FB.
    I replied that the better response it to just shoot the guy coming through the door.
    I don’t do gun free zones.

    Z: “quite a discussion about Islam not being a religion of peace”
    You’d think that radical islamists would be radically peaceful.
    Jesus brought one kind of peace.
    Mohammed a different one.

  24. geeez2014 says:

    Baysider..I forgot. Sorry you can’t be there, too. and thanks.

    Ed, yes….he’s arguing Islam IS peaceful, then goes and kills 14 and injures 21…go figure, right?

    Well, the president’s on in 30 minutes and HE’LL put this to rest. Remember , he said “Enough is ENOUGH!” Oh, wait…that was about private citizens keeping themselves safe by owning guns. oops.

  25. Kid says:

    Z, Yea, maybe if he’d been transgener.

  26. geeez2014 says:

    Kid, you had a typo and left the D out of transgender, but THAT’s hilarious because we could call Caitlyn…TRANSJENNER 🙂

  27. Kid says:

    You’re on to me Z….. PS, how hard is it to conclude and legislate that if you have male body parts you go to the male locker room/bathroom ? If you identify as a girl would that not be your preference anyway ? Good God Y’all.

  28. Mal says:

    Yup, Kid. “Plumbing” makes all the difference!

Leave a Reply

