Christmas

christmas

What’s the ONE THING that you look forward to the most about Christmas?

……Presents?  Food?  Family?  Friends?  Music?  Parties?  Decorations?  the Tree? …

Have you noticed how so much is made of Christmas but so little’s made about the reason for Christmas?   I watch the insipid Hallmark movies from time to time and haven’t ever stopped being amazed at how they can be SO about Christmas without mentioning CHRIST who, after all, is what Christmas is (or was?) about.    If you watch these little films, you’ll realize that most people think Christmas is more about a pretty young woman or marriage age who finally finds a husband!

What’s your favorite thing about Christmas?
Or not?!!

(Come ON, guys, you can chime in, too!)

Z

 

This entry was posted in holiday. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Christmas

  1. bocopro says:

    Until the rubbish-filled wave of PC broke over the country, Christmas was a state of mind, a time of reflection, of forgiveness, and especially of reaffirmation.

    Timed to coincide with the longest period of darkness when everyone needs to look forward to the return of light and warmth, of rebirth, of giving and sharing, Christmas was always that anchor which kept the culture from drifting away from its origins . . . a dependable fountain of continuity and values to which we returned once a year to drink the traditional elixir of hope, and heritage, and humanity.

    To our shame, for too many it has become crassly commercialized and diluted to the point that to some it has become almost a duty, a chore, a month-long extravaganza of one-upmanship, obligatory spending, and runaway consumerism.

    Still . . . I get great satisfaction from the pleasure it brings to the lady with whom I’ve spent the past half century. To her the state of mind is still there, buoying her up, intoxicating her with the joys of cooking, giving, attending midnight mass, and even the post-holiday cleanup.

    It ain’t what it was when I was a kid, but it still works for my wife, and that makes it work for me. It’s neat to see the little girl emerge in the vicarious pleasure of watching her grandchildren open presents and stuff themselves with mountains of home-made calories.

    We need our customs, our traditions, and rituals, and Christmas has always been one of the best, for a wide variety of reasons. We are much better off WITH it than we would be without it, whether the Muslims and humbugs and atheists agree or not.

  2. Time off of work.
    Except we’ll probably work the time tween the holidays this year.

  3. Sparky says:

    What’s the ONE THING that you look forward to the most about Christmas? When it’s over. It starts in September now and I’m already sick of it. We’ve quit buying presents or decorating. (Sorry to be such a curmudgeon, but there it is.) 🙂

  4. What’s the ONE THING that you look forward to the most about Christmas?

    The music!

  5. Mustang says:

    What do I like most about Christmas? At the top of that list is the reason we celebrate it, and I enjoy how the traditional aspects of Christmas stimulate my senses: the trees, the songs, and the smells. I like enjoying these things with people I care about.

  6. Kid says:

    People seem to be brighter for a little while. That and I usually take a couple weeks vacation because it is mind numbingly dead at work the last couple weeks of the year.

  7. Alec says:

    Spending time with my father-in-law and mother-in-law. True!

  8. We love the Reason for the Season, and having our family home. We had our Christmas and Thanksgiving the week of Nov. 10. Everyone made it, lots of food eaten, lots of gifts, and very nice weather. Our kids made us a wonderful clock with pictures of the families and kids at the hour marks. It is 5 1/2′ diameter, and looks so nice on my big wall.

  9. Mal says:

    We use to look forward to the holidays but since being away from family, we look forward to it being over ’cause Christmas should be spent with family. Eventually we will be back with them (maybe when we get old?) 😉

  10. geeez2014 says:

    Perfect…our self ascribed agnostic seems more cheerful about Christmas than you good Christian pals here 🙂
    And I NEED a cheerful nudge this year!

    Mal…sorry you can’t be with family; yes, maybe when you’re 88?

    Linda…Great present! I’ll have Christmas with family but much smaller group this year. Much. Mom’s having her annual tree trimming party/dinner on the 19th and about everybody will be there…almost 40 family with a few very old good friends…SO, that’ll be a more ‘festive’ Christmas this year.

    Alec, glad you enjoy them so much! Wonderful

    Kid…people generally do seem happier around this time.

    Mustang; and I hope Christmas will be for you all you hope it to be.

    Ed…that’s IT?!!

    AOW…..the music is wonderful, isn’t it!

    Bocopro “We are much better off WITH it than we would be without it, whether the Muslims and humbugs and atheists agree or not.” And most Muslims couldn’t care less who does what, but the whole bunch gets painted like terrorists.
    Bravo on your commment. bravo(ISH).. 🙂

  11. John M. Berger says:

    For many, many years I remember Christmas as Mustang describes . Sadly, with no family left and so much early, in-your-face, commercialization I now share the view expressed by Sparky. (the other curmudgeon)

  12. geeez2014 says:

    We used to not have to fight for the CHristmas spirit…apparently, we do now.
    I sure am.

  13. Kid says:

    Z, Merry Christmas !!!!!

  14. geeez2014 says:

    Well, THERE ya go, Kid! THANKS…you, too! A little early but cheery!

  15. bocopro says:

    I usually say stuff such as “Feliz Navidad” or “Maligayang Pasko” or “Joyeux Noel” to avoid the dirty looks which often follow “Merry Christmas” from those who think “Silent Night” needs to be changed to “Solstice Night” and the tree is a “holiday” tree, not a Christmas tree.

    Spanish and French speakers, and just about every Filipino I’ve ever met, are not offended by the traditional greeting.

  16. geeez2014 says:

    Boco; I think Americans are the only ones offended by MERRY CHRISTMAS … they might say Europe is Godless these days, but all I hear from friends in France and Germany is the churches are as full as they were when I was there…
    go figure.

  17. It’s the celebration of our Lord’s birth, but I tend to regard every day as another.
    I have fond memories of Christmases, but never see the boys for holidays anymore since they spend them at their in-laws.
    Marital harmony.
    I get it.

  18. geeez2014 says:

    Ed, I get that, too….our family is far less in numbers this year because of in-laws, new babies, etc…I get it. I don’t love it 🙂
    Still, I think it’s important to start new traditions when the old don’t work anymore.

    THis is a season I miss Mr. Z extra terribly…and it’s hard for me to ramp this up to the level we enjoyed Christmas….which I LOVED, so I miss it. BUt, it’ll be lovely in its own way.
    Always is….because of THE REASON.

  19. Baysider says:

    The MUSIC!!! I loved all those old Christmas carols. ‘Surprisingly’ they are much less known. We just had a wedding in the family, and the very lovely bride is a gal who just doesn’t know Christmas carols. I didn’t think that was possible. But that’s the effect of removing all that from public schools, etc. We sang Christmas madrigals and carols in our high school.

    I have always been one of those ‘year-’round’ Christians who loved to keep it in mind, and people in mind throughout the year. I love getting things for people. I picked up presents in the spring and summer and was generally done by Thanksgiving. One friend found me buying Christmas cutout records at Vogue Records in July! I don’t bake so much – gosh, how I l-o-v-e-d baking. Pecan rolls, truffles, toffee, fruitcake (I candied my own – it’s the only way!).

    Man. It’s mostly all gone now. I’m back to the music. And I’ll make Mr. B his Russian teacakes and toffee.

Leave a Reply

