FOX and CNN……two sides or one side?

I’ve got a question for you.   Kid and I have disagreed in the past when he’s said here in comments that FOX should can the liberals and stick with conservatives …  I’ve argued with Kid that I am proud that FOX has shown two sides (way more open minded than the liberals, as usual)  and thought it was good.  But I DO NOT anymore.

agree disagree

I’m starting to watch CNN more and more (can you BELIEVE that?)…at least they keep good guests on for more than just between commercials “then on to the next story!” like FOX does.  At least they’re not always talking over each other at CNN.  I rarely agree with them there, but a few of their staff are not that bad and some are even beginning to ask Democrats the hard questions in interviews.

MY QUESTION IS THIS:  What if FOX dumped their liberals and went to longer interviews, featuring articulate Conservatives taking time to explain, not just sound bytes like it is now….really explain, really outline future plans and why they might work, etc etc. Rather Wm. Buckley-esque….remember his insightful, deeply plumbed interviews?

Do you think FOX is better off staying with showing both sides of so many subjects like they do now or do you think they should dump the libs and have 100% good, Conservative talk?  Particularly before the elections this coming year, by the way……I wonder if even moderate lefties would be more inclined to tune in to see what’s being said, what solutions are being offered, if they knew it wasn’t going to be only a “lefties are terrible and never right” kind of thing.  Of course, they ARE, and they aren’t, but…(smile)

Z

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to FOX and CNN……two sides or one side?

  1. I rarely watch cable news at all anymore and I used to be a bonifide Fox News junky.

    I have been staying in a hotel all week and the TV defaults to CNN when it comes on so I have been watching it a bit and I have found it awful. Not awful in the sense that they lean left but awful because literally all they have talked about is Donald Trump, all week. Hard to take the network seriously at all when there is so much more they could be talking about.

    Not letting Fox off the hook here, they could be just as bad, I just don’t know because I haven’t been watching.

  2. bocopro says:

    For years I’ve gone back and forth between Fox and CNN to ensure that I’m seeing all there is to see about an issue and not leave out one side or the other. I learned long ago that if 4 people witness an accident, you can get 4 different reports on it.

    An ambulance ran into a fire truck in an intersection in Jacksonville, Illinois on a fall day in 1958 (I think it was). Four witnesses, one on each corner, told completely different stories about what happened and in what order. Professor Henderson, my history prof, was one who had a clear view of the developing accident; he strained so hard to try to WILL it not to happen that he slipped a disk in his back and didn’t return to the classroom for over a week. And when he did, he freely admitted that his mental state was such that he got the facts wrong and made what amounted to a false and misleading report.

    What troubles me most is the power that an editor, or producer, has to simply bury an item which doesn’t conform to his belief system, whether it be political, economic, religious, or even racial. So I check CNN and Fox more to see what’s NOT being reported on one rather than what IS. Generally speaking, the coverage is similar on breaking items except for duration. Fox tends to beat certain types of items into complete submission until we develop an auto-sound-kill reflex and reach for the remote when it comes on again for the umpty-lebenthieth time.

    I haven’t watched FoxandFriends for years, ’cause it’s such fluff, and Shep Smith’s smug, smarmy nonverbs tend to irritate and alienate me. And I’d read a comic book before watching Hannity or O’Reilly. Bret Baier is the only reasonable analysis host. He doesn’t interrupt or talk over his guests, just reports the stories in reasonable depth and then picks hot-button items for his panel discussions.

    About a year ago I got into OAN because it announces right up front that it has a conservative perspective, and you get straightforward reporting sans snark and prejudice and nonverbs. Their reporters are rookies, so they make their share of flubs and mispronunciations, but they’re beginning to develop their “voices” and are at least as credible as most of the overpaid talking heads on the other alphabet news shows. Much of what you hear will be repeated in the next segment, often verbatim, until fresher items bump it all down to page 16.

    So when I want to know what’s going on, I go to OAN, then for wider coverage I go to the CNN and FoxNews websites to READ the articles without the attitude and innuendo we get from self-promoting bloviators such as Wolf or Shep.

    I watch HLN in the mornings sometimes simply because Robin Meade is SUCH ball of energy, at least as much a fox as the ubiquitous blondes on Fox.

    As for Colmes, Rivera, Williams, Schultz, Maddow, and the rest . . . no comment.

  3. fredd says:

    I already know the liberal point of view, very well. And disagree with it at every level. But taking a poll as to whether Roger Ailes should dump his format of ‘fair and balanced’ on a super successful show lineup is rather pointless. He’s sticking with the horse he rode in on. He’s dancing with who brung him.

    Roger is not dumping these sad sack liberals from his panels, guest slots, etc. You will certainly notice that not one lousy liberal HOSTS any time slot at Fox. Uber-pinko liberal Alan Combes for a year or two polluted a shared slot with Sean Hannity, and completely crapped in his nest by his idiocy and got himself canned from the show.

    But let’s play along, shall we? Yes, I agree with Kid. I would love to see Roger bag his liberal guests, as they really don’t contribute any thoughtful debate on any issue. But it ain’t gonna happen.

  4. Z,
    I’m starting to watch CNN more and more

    Same here!

    Fox needs more of in-depth coverage instead of rushing to commercial because of the constant presentation of smorgasbord.

    Question: Do liberals even watch FNC?

  5. Which news network is covering what happened at a Paris nursery school today?

    French teacher attacked by man claiming Islamic State link (Reuters)

  6. I watch Bret Baer (DVR) for the news and O’Reilly occasionally for entertainment.
    But I don’t see him as a conservative, and he can’t be as stupid as he sounds at times.
    I wouldn’t want a conservative echo chamber.
    Just a stronger conservative thinker to replace O’Reilly.

  7. Silverfiddle says:

    Can’t say since I don’t watch either. We cut the cable a year ago and we are richer and happier (well, Mrs. Silverfiddle–whose conservatism makes me look like a liberal hippie–does start grousing every time a debate is on and she can’t watch it).

    I agree with Bocopro. Its more about the editorial decisions at news outlets all over, what the choose to cover ad nauseum, or not cover, and how they spin it.

  8. Mustang says:

    I’m not sure Fox is presenting a balanced view. When you have idiots such as Alan Colmes spouting the ad nauseam pre-approved DNC talking points (most of which defy logic), and you have fluff such as K. T. McFarland providing sophomoric views on weighty issues, what the viewers come away with is something less than a full understanding of the issue. I do go back and forth between Fox and CNN, but I have to say that CNN’s pro-CAIR, anti-Netanyahu, new-normal and climate change agenda turns my stomach.

  9. Alec says:

    Z,
    Switching between CNN and FOX is a great start. Whenever any of us are wed to one source of information we are vulnerable.

  10. John M. Berger says:

    I haven’t watched the Clinton News Network (CNN) for several years. Has it changed? I’ll switch over to see, when Shepard Smith comes on FOX.

  11. geeez2014 says:

    JMB: that’s actually what GOT me going more to CNN; Shepard Smith. I can’t watch 3 seconds of his smarmy, egomaniacal presentations, and don’t care what he thinks, so I immediately switch to CNN.

    AOW…FOX and CNN are carrying the Paris preschool stabbing.
    And yes, I know some liberals watch FOX.

    Alec, I’ve actually always watched a bit of all, including MSNBC, where even some of theirs aren’t AS hateful as most of my readers think….there are a few journalists who actually ask tough stuff of leftwingers..not many, but it IS worth seeing when it happens. Obviously, most of MSNBC is ridiculous pablum

    ED, that’s why I didn’t want to change to WordPress from Blogger…. as I’ve said a hundred times here “I DON’T WANT A CONSERVATIVE ECHO CHAMBER” …but it had to happen because it was turning my stomach to open my blog in the morning and see that far lefties were using it as theirs in the Comments section. And, we couldn’t get reasonable conversation going without name calling, and wrong information…..and then THEY would blame my readers for being “mean’ to them…Though every time I showed who’d started the name calling (them), then they’d disappear…till the next day. Or go to AOW’s (smile)

    fredd; I never think my blog should be here not asking questions only because what I’ve approached “ain’t gonna happen.” I always think it’s worth the discussion.
    And I believe Ailes is doing what he thinks is bringing viewers….
    \
    Mustang…yes, as I’d said, a lot of CNN is TOUGH to watch….
    I have to admit I don’t find McFarland always ‘fluff’ and respect her background…

    To those addressing O’Reilly, I can hardly watch him much of the time, but he often gets it right and actually has done some very good stuff, like getting judges exposed, protecting children, etc.
    I just cannot get past the HUUUGE ego and have to change the channel when he goes there.

    Bret Baier, Britt Hume, Bret Stephens ( a favorite), a guy named Charlie (Houk?) whose last name escapes me, Stephen Hayes, …There are a LOT of good conservative guests on FOX. The ones at CNN are a hispanic woman who’s mushy on most subjects and not articulate, ….they almost NEVER have a conservative on who can give the CNN host a run for his money…I guess they’re fearful of it.

    bocopro; you want to see “beat to submission”, watch CNN’s coverage of any airplane or any other tragedy…..FOX doesn’t COME CLOSE to the HOURS spent once a plane goes down for CNN.

    HANNITY IS SLIGHTLY INSANE and STUPIDLY KNEE JERK. I can’t BRING myself to watch him.

  12. geeez2014 says:

    Isaiah Project…you probably were just blog surfing and won’t see this, but I liked what I saw at your blog and hope you do come back. Welcome to GeeeZ.

  13. John M. Berger says:

    Does the Hildabeast ever appear on CNN? I think that she’s declined to appear on FOX. Does anyone know for sure?

  14. Baysider says:

    I don’t have cable and don’t watch TV news. I prefer the hour-long discussion segments on good talk radio. It sounds like everything has devolved to arguing over each other – can’t watch that. I used to get snippets of it in the gym. It accomplishes no purpose but to raise adrenaline. So I find your comments on switching interesting.

  15. Silverlady says:

    AOW, from barenakedislam.com re the French teacher attack: UPDATED: False Alarm] Teacher stabbed in the neck in Paris by Muslim shouting “allegiance to ISIS”
    A kindergarten teacher has been stabbed in the neck at a school in Paris by a man allegedly claiming to be acting in the name of ISIS.
    UPDATE: BBC reports a teacher at a French preschool who said he had been stabbed by a man shouting “Islamic State” has admitted he made the story up, prosecutors say.

    Re FNC, mu husband and I have gotten very irritated by the rude interruptions pf O’Reilly, Kelly, & others. Hannity is like a one note concerto, as well as very predictable. He goes on & on about the same things, so if you watch him next week, or even next month you’ll find out what he is talking about today. Just like a very boring soap opera. And liberals like Colmes & Marshall always sound & look like they are whining and/or mad. Spoiled children who need a spanking. Oh, but I forgot, you can’t do that any more.

    Merry Christmas & Happy Hannukah to all you good people, as well as a safe & healthy New Year.

  16. Mal says:

    I’m constantly complaining to my wife about how the guests on FOX are always being cut off by their hosts. You can see the frustration on their faces. You invited them and asked a question. LET THEM SPEAK. FINISH A SENTENCE OR THOUGHT. THEN give a rebuttal, if desired. They all seem to do it. Bill O’, Sean H., and Meagan but not as bad. Then they say “Gotta go” and leave them hanging. I’m always wanting to hear what they have to say, but seldom do.

  17. geeez2014 says:

    Baysider…I agree. Except I still want to know even the snippets….sadly.

    Mal..Sean is the worst…and he puts words in peoples’ mouths and asks such ridiculous questions almost as stupid as “Mr. Cruz, you DO want to win and you feel Trump is a blowhard, don’t you?” REALLY, SEAN? Maybe we KNOW that answer; ask something new.

    EVERYBODY: I was thinking how good it would be if FOX had long chats like Buckley used to…and if they were advertised as such. “An hour with Cruz” “An hour with Rubio”, etc……I honestly DO think it would fly. I think even Democrats are looking for relief from what’s happening under Obama…

    I HEARD TRUMP TODAY say about Cruz that “he’s a maniac and we can’t have a maniac running this country” (I paraphrase, but that was the gist). I couldn’t imagine a BIGGER IRONY than TRUMP saying maniacs can’t run this country…and considering CRUZ more a maniac than HE IS!? WOW!

  18. geeez2014 says:

    UPDATE on France:

    It looks very much now like the schoolteacher was lying and staged the attack….apparently ISIS lovers do not like the term “DASH” and the ‘attacker’ apparently used that….there are a lot of other reasons the French police think she staged this…probably to drum up more anti muslim hate.

  19. SF (and Z),
    from barenakedislam.com re the French teacher attack: UPDATED: False Alarm] Teacher stabbed in the neck in Paris by Muslim shouting “allegiance to ISIS”

    Yeah, I saw that.

    Any clarification yet as to the motive?

  20. geeez2014 says:

    AOW…not that I’ve heard …
    Actually, the attacker said ‘DASH” which is, apparently, something the ISIS members dislike, so that’s a pretty heavy hint that it wasn’t legit. That, and the fact that the attacker supposedly came before students got there…..didn’t make as big a ‘splash’ as these monsters normally do.

    I heard a terrible thing via email today out of Germany; The CONSERVATIVES gave that nightmare Merkel a ten minute ovation for her having said they’re going to take in as many refugees as possible….Honestly, it’s mind numbing. Liberalism is a scourge on the whole planet; no thought to that wonderful German culture’s disappearance, no thought to finding ways to keep those poor refugees home and safe via NATO, etc .,…no thought to what they’ll COST?
    I’m horrified. What possesses Germans to destroy their culture?
    Well….we have liberals…so…….I should know better.

  21. Kid says:

    Well, I don’t think you’ll be shocked, but I say dump the libs. Try to give the kids (and adults) some of the education they don’t get in school anymore.

  22. Kid says:

    PS – I don’t think the problem with the media is mis-inforamtion so much as it is No information. They ignore a lot in their quest to make money.

  23. Kid says:

    Full disclosure: I sit in front of a PC at work and usually browse news.google with no images. Stories from all US media outlets appear there(and a few foreign). I also look at foreign news sources, BBC, Sydney Morning Herald, etc. I’m convinced we are not being informed except when people die – Like San Bardardino, then they go overboard on it because it sells. I maintain we are not being informed about much at all.

  24. John M. Berger says:

    “I heard a terrible thing via email today out of Germany; The CONSERVATIVES gave that nightmare Merkel a ten minute ovation for her having said they’re going to take in as many refugees as possible”

    Well, if we were still at war with Germany I’d say GOOD! But [we] are not. It appears that Germany is waging war against itself!

  25. Baysider says:

    “long chats” – Exactly! ‘An hour with’ would be terrific.

  26. cube says:

    Z, you’ve known me for years so you know that I’ve been through Fox, MSNBC, and Imus. In 2013 I found HLN with Robin Meade and I’ve watched ever since. I guess I just got sick of everybody else. For what it’s worth, that’s the news channel I’m focusing on right now.

  27. FB says:

    We need the balance. Sorry to say but right wing people can also be biased and lie. I’ve heard misleading things (or lies?) about France from both sides.

Leave a Reply

