Atheist creates EXPLOSION of Christmas Spirit…take a look:

This might be one of my very favorite stories of the year, at least pertaining to Christianity and Christmas.  I hope you enjoy it, too: 

santa jesus

A town in Minnesota has responded to an atheist complaint about a nativity scene by emphasizing the reason for the season throughout the city.

Last January, a local atheist complained that Wadena’s nativity scene, placed on city property, was a violation of the separation of church and state.

Wadena is a town of approximately 4,000 in north-central Minnesota.

City officials considered the complaint throughout the year and Mayor George Weiss tells OneNewsNow that council members responded to the complaint in a November meeting by voting to sell the nativity props to the Wadena Ministerial Association for $25.

“Then they would be free to put it up anywhere that wasn’t city or county property,” the mayor says of the decision.

The controversy over the town’s nativity scene launched a Facebook page encouraging town residents to put up nativities all across Wadena.

According to Mayor Weiss, there are “well over a thousand” displayed across the city now.

Although an atheist tried to dampen the Christmas spirit, Weiss says, the town responded with an explosion of the Christmas spirit.  (end article)

Z:  I found this fun and I found the comments on Facebook (above) informative….such terrible nastiness from the atheist, almost unbelievable.  I have so many Jewish friends who tell me they love this season … why everyone can’t embrace what they enjoy and just ignore what bugs them is beyond me.  And why does it bug them?   I honestly CAN see when Christian objects are on public property; I get that.  But our country was founded on this faith and it did us well until we started insulting it and removing things… correlation? I think so.

I hope this article sent to me by a friend cheers you up!
Let’s watch more atheists (who I do believe have every right to their feelings, by the way) do this kind of thing….inadvertently pushing Christians to come out,  to rejoice and ‘repeat the sounding joy’!

Z  *and isn’t that image sweet?

 

 

This entry was posted in Christianity, political correctness. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Atheist creates EXPLOSION of Christmas Spirit…take a look:

  1. Well, I’m linking this post to FB.
    Merry Christmas!

  2. In a town about four miles from our house, there was a Nativity Scene on display at the town hall for as far back as I can remember. In that little town, the Nativity Scene at the town hall was a big deal and frequented by caroling children.

    Then, one day several years ago (about 1977, I think), atheists objected.

    My family doctor’s office building, which sits directly across the street from the town’s elementary school, is right next door to the town hall. So, being a devout Roman Catholic, my family doc, who owned both the building and the swatch of land the building sits upon, nabbed the Nativity Scene and put it on display there. This year, the Nativity Scene is there again — even after my family doc of days gone by has passed away and the property now deeded to the son.

  3. BTW, my family doctor has Dr. Walid Phares as his patient. I occasionally see Dr. Phares in the doctor’s office. Just sayin’.

  4. bocopro says:

    Reminds me of the grandmother in Flannery O’Connor’s “A Good Man Is Hard To Find:” makes an observation which is not only unwelcome but untimely and then feels compelled to share it with the wrong people in the wrong place in an attempt to display her superior intellect.

    As I’ve said a gazillion times in various sites, I’ve lived with a devout old-fashioned Roman Catholic woman for over half a century and all her icons, figurines, customs, rituals, and so on occasionally get in the way, but in the final result they’re reassuring and comforting.

    I’d much rather live in a society based on the tenets of the old-fashioned Christian ideals this country was founded on than one based on nothing more than cold, hard science . . . or self.

  5. John M. Berger says:

    GREAT POST !

  6. Merry Christmas, Bocopro.

    I haven’t answered your recent emails. Sorry! Miles behind — as usual.

  7. Silverfiddle says:

    Merry Christmas, everyone!

  8. Baysider says:

    It’s heartwarming. And AOW’s story, too! But honestly I can’t see why a fuss over Christian symbols on public property. It’s about heritage and custom, not an endorsement. As a Christian culture we expected this to be reflected in the public square. As a post-Christian culture, I am delighted to see private parties step up to the plate. (If only welfare worked the same way.)

  9. Mal says:

    Perhaps the Atheists found “Peace on Earth and Good Will Toward Men” offensive. Make sense?
    MERRY CHRISTMAS, EVERYONE!!!

  10. geeez2014 says:

    bocopro….that’s one of my favorite stories…next to The Geranium…LOVE O’Conner! Glad you know her so well, too. And that you get comfort from your wife’s faith things…O’Conner sure did 🙂

    Ed…good….I love that more people will know this story.

    AOW…very cool about Walid..I hope he’s well !! And I LOVE what your doctor did and that it’s still going…

    Baysider, you make a good point..it IS culture, as I’d said…it’s “what we were FOUNDED on”….get rid of it NOW??

    Merry Christmas to you all….!!! Thanks for coming by.

  11. geeez2014 says:

    ALSO…we’re hearing that approx 10 people are now dead in tornadoes… Please pray for their families! Christmas will never be the same for them. Life will never be the same for their families.
    Poor people!! Pray for comfort and that they have the faith with which to get through this.

  12. geeez2014 says:

    SF…I’m eager to see what you might do at Freedom Conspiracy…just left some comments…I like the look of it. I’m sure you don’t have Hitchens there out of admiration but I must admit I had the great pleasure of meeting him and being a recipient of great kindness. long story.

  13. woodsterman says:

    Merry Christmas Z

  14. Kid says:

    I enjoyed this one Z. Thanks, 🙂

  15. Silverlady says:

    As stated before, I’m an atheist & I’m not in the least offended or threatened by nativity scenes, crosses, Stars of David, Menorahs, angels, etc. etc. I believe that my freedom ends where the other person’s nose begins, & vice versa, & I respect the beliefs of others, even though not my own. I am not offended when I am wished ‘Merry Christmas’,. & even return the greeting. I am angered by those atheists who try to force their lack of belief on others; they need to go hide in a cave during this time of the year.

    Merry Christmas, Y’all!

  16. Kid says:

    Silverlady, A mature and sane point of view. The Activist atheists Do have a religion of non-belief and are much more forceful on others than any other religion is – beside the moslem savages.
    Yea, I don’t care – believe, don’t believe, be a Hindu or nothing at all, I don’t care. Just don’t tread on me.

Leave a Reply

