Sunday Faith Blog

I’ve been telling you for about a year now that the book SEEKING ALLAH FINDING JESUS is a very good one, even an important one.   HERE is the writer’s testimony about having been raised a strong Muslim and coming to Christian faith, which I think is important for people to hear and understand. The short video is very powerful.  I hope you take the time to listen to Nabeel Qureshi, a Muslim who found Jesus by arguing for Islam with an ex-atheist-turned-strong-Christian.

When looking for more on Qureshi, I found the following interview.  This one REALLY shows how he was raised as a Muslim to believe their faith was peaceful, etc., and how 9/11 impacted him and his community.  He doesn’t believe Islam needs REFORM because, interestingly, he feels that “reform means going back to the roots.”  He reminds us that the roots  of Mohammed are not where anybody should want to go, but that Islam needs to engage and open its heart to Christianity.  By the way, I’ve mentioned here over the last few months how I’m hearing from missionaries that Muslims are seeing Jesus in dreams.  The information spoken about dreams and Islam in the following video blew my mind.  He also talks about the terrible toll his having left Islam for Christianity has taken on what was his very close relationship with his family and their standing in their Muslim community:

VERY uplifting stuff.   I hope you consider his thoughts and are encouraged by his amazingly strong Christian faith today, and how many Muslims he says are leaving Islam.  That’s one terrific young man.

Happy first Sunday of the year!

Z

This entry was posted in islam, Sunday Faith Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Sunday Faith Blog

  1. jerrydablade says:

    Ask, and you shall receive; seek, and you shall find; knock, and the door will be open.

    Now THAT is real hope and change. What a courageous young man. Thanks for sharing, Z. I’ll pass this on.

  2. Well, Jerry passed it on and so did I.
    You might also be interested in this audio account of a local Michigan man, Abdu Murry, who found his way to Jesus trying to defend Islam.
    [audio src="https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/41339180/Abdu%20Murry.mp3" /]

  3. Silverfiddle says:

    A religion of extreme bigotry, coercion and ostracizing can’t survive the modern Western world. Christians stopped putting blasphemers and lazy church service dodgers in stocks centuries ago.

  4. geeez2014 says:

    I’m glad you all find this story worthwhile, too. I think it’s vitally important.
    Better get running now, I’d hate to be a ‘lazy church service dodger’ and run the risk 🙂
    I think many mosques preach much worse than bigotry, coercion and ostracizing….right?

  5. Mal says:

    You struck a nerve with me today, Z, with the “lazy church service dodger” ’cause we are guilty of that this a.m! Now, regarding this converted Muslim, I also believe there is another aspect to such a conversion and that is the peace that goes with it; the knowledge that it involves love instead of hate and killing, to reach the promised land. Deep inside, I believe all humans prefer love over hate. Happy people have more friends and more popular than bitter, frowning folks. But old habits and teaching are deep-rooted and difficult to change. This young man was able to rise about it all. Hopefully, he will be successful in convincing others to do the same.

  6. Mal says:

    Er……..that was suppose to be “rise ABOVE it all”.

  7. Sparky says:

    Couldn’t go to church today (yeah, I’m going to church again) because I’m nursing a head cold thanks to the little germ factories that where at the New Year’s Eve party. Anyway, praise the LORD! That was encouraging. I’m not into Pentecostal things but I do know from experience that the LORD will use whatever medium that’s necessary to reach those that are lost or needing guidance. Dreams is just one way. HE loves us all equally. I’m going to share this too. Have a blessed day.

  8. geeez2014 says:

    Mal, I hope he’s successful, too, since he graduated from med school and gave it all up to become an evangelist working with the marvelous Ravi Zaccharias …https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ravi_Zacharias,,,
    whose autobiography is one of the best books I’ve ever read..I envy those who haven’t read it yet for their upcoming experience.

    Sparks….SORRY about the head cold. It’s odd because so many people I know are sick and I feel like I’ve got the symptoms of those who are getting OVER a cold but I never had the cold…deep occasional coughing and a little stuffiness….weird, huh? I beat the really bad stuff but …!! The recovery from nothing is weird!

    SO glad you’re sharing this, too. It’s really why I blog; to have people carry this information farther than just at geeeZ. Thanks. I had SUCH a great time at church and so the day’s started out blessed, thanks! FEEL BETTER and blessings to you, too.xx

  9. bocopro says:

    When I read the first few dozen or so surahs in the Qur’an (in English, of course) about 25 years ago, I found remarkable similarities and parallels with various parts of the OT. Much of it struck me as summary and direct plagiarism.

    Some of the dictates of the later surahs were a bit startling, the more I thought about them, aggressive, demanding, paranoid, warlike, schizophrenic. Since my study was scholastic rather than religious, I put it out of my mind for a while as I read about Zoroaster and Buddha and Shiva and Krishna and Shintoism.

    Apparently my subconscious continued working on it, though, and later when I got into a discussion with some profs in the philosophy department, I realized that I had condensed Islam down into a cult based on a paranoid supreme deity who manifests himself in fear and sorrow and that the whole thing was regressive rather than progressive.

    One day it occurred to me that if someone actually read the entire thing and thought about it logically, he’d consider it a stream-of-consciousness collection of lunatic ramblings and discard it as something produced not by a revelation by Jibril in the Cave of HIra, but something produced in an alternate state only loosely tethered to reality.

    I disagree with Qureshi’s rejection of a reformation in that it is the book itself which needs revision and editing, and from that would come a reformation which would bring Islam into a very close accord with both the Torah and the New Testament.

    Much of the mindset of the later surahs boils down to this, and I have a hard time comprehending why anyone could read that stuff and still believe it is “for all men for all time” and a “religion of peace”:

    For I am the God of thy fathers, the God of Abraham, and the God of Yshmael, and the God of the prophet Muhammad. Prostrate thyself before me and do not undertake my countenance to behold.

    Seek thou out, I command thee, the infidel who would allow his woman to be seen in public. Offer him thrice this religion which is made for all men for all time through my faithful prophet, Muhammad, who hath caused mine words to be made thine by faithful recital of thy holy Qur’an which he hath given thee.

    If, after thou hast offered three times thy holy Islam to the infidel, he accepteth it not, it is thy holy task to cleanse the land of the abomination. To that end thou shalt slay him by taking from his unclean body his stubborn head.

    So it is written, so let it be done.

    Permit thee not thy brother in Islam to forsake the holy task of devotion. Observe thee him that he faithfully showeth me his abject servitude in public prayer to me no fewer than five times between one sunrise and the next. If thy brother showeth me not the proper devotion that my prophet Muhammad hath laid out for him and for thee, it is thy sacred duty to slay him by removing from his corrupt body his forgetful head.

    So it is written, so let it be done.

    Observe thee all men that each shall observe without fail all of the eternal laws set forth for them in the holy Qur’an. Thy sole enjoyment on earth is worship of thy god Allah, who is great, as told in thy holy scripture. Pleasures of the flesh thou shalt have not.

    So it is written, so let it be done.

    Of the wordly things thou seest below, none shalt thou have whilst thou liveth:

    Jesus
    Wal-Mart
    Western television
    Cheerleaders
    Baseball
    Football
    Basketball Hockey
    Golf
    Tailgate parties
    Victoria’s Secret catalogues
    Pork BBQ
    Hot dogs
    Burgers
    Lobster
    Gumbo
    Jambalaya.
    Beauty contests
    Disney World
    Vegas
    Playboy
    Uncensored Internet
    Free Speech
    Chocolate Chip cookes
    Beer
    Christmas

    So it is written, so let it be done.

    Rags shalt thou wear for thy raiment and towels for thy head covering. Constant wailing from thy neighbor who suffereth and hath no doctor shalt thou endure throughout the night. Wailing from muezzin shalt thou hear throughout the day as thy spiritual music. Shave thou shalt not, nor thy wives with thee. Covered thy women must be in shapeless, baggy dresses and veils at all times. Thy bride for thee shall be selected by thy elders. With her bringeth she the odor of her father’s goat and the disposition of his donkey.

    So it is written, so let it be done.

    This, which thou might findeth harsh and unpleasing, thy holy Qur’an provideth thee as measure for thy worthiness. As thy wisdom groweth with thy years, thou shalt know well that dying must with it bring only improvement, and thus art thou prepared to serve as a good servant of Islam in whatever role thy Imam selecteth for thee.

    So it is written, so let it be done.

  10. Baysider says:

    “The tipping point for me was when I picked up the bible.” He has such a testimony. I like it the best of all the ones I’ve heard because he worked through issues honestly, with an open heart, but not a mushy heart that was just overcome with emotion minus reason. His story shows that when you want to hear, God speaks! And he spoke in a ‘language’ Nabeel was primed to ‘hear’ – dreams. I hope anyone who has not read this book – will! It’s one of the best apologias for our faith. We approach others in knowledge and lack of fear.

  11. Baysider says:

    “I disagree with Qureshi’s rejection of a reformation in that it is the book itself which needs revision and editing, and from that would come a reformation …” Bocopro, Can you possibly see Islam revising their text in our lifetime? Christianity did not revise the text – the reformation returned to the clear and strict meanings of the text shorn of all sorts of stuff tacked on. Islam IS reforming. But the clear and strict meaning of their text gets us Isis and all sorts of mischief makers. That’s why I agree with Nabeel. Transformation is what they need. Don’t we all?

  12. bocopro says:

    No, I see no revision coming, no more than I see the Catholics giving up their saints and holy water or the Baptists giving up their singing and evangelism.

    But what I see when Christians exit their churches is happy people, and what I see when Muslims come out of their mosques is intimidated insects operating on the phermones of the king termite.

    I shall observe with interest, though, the burgeoning internecine conflict between Persian Shia and Saudi Sunni sects and eagerly await The Donald’s take on it all.

  13. geeez2014 says:

    Baysider, thanks for sparing me the time; your response is just a more eloquent one than I’d have made to Boco….I agree with you and Nabeel about reform.

    Bocopro; no, I’m afraid that muslims do not accept Christ as the Messiah and never will, so they couldn’t really come into ‘close accord’ with the N.T.,. which is ALL about Him. (so’s the O.T., actually…but we can save that for ‘another Oprah’ as my sister says!

    And CRIPES! you don’t see a correlation Catholic saints or Baptist evangelism and ISLAM’s darkness, do you!? 🙂 Catholics or Baptists need no reform or revision…..they’re peaceful, good people who adhere to their denomination;’s teachings.
    I’m not sure that all muslims coming out of mosques don’t look happy. Not all mosques teach ugliness and jihad…very good traditional families are muslims, like that of the young man in my article today….
    Also, Catholics haven’t read the Bible for years…priests and nuns TOLD them what’s in it, their interpretations..for years. (that’s changing). I have been told that Imams do the same thing…that most Muslims literally haven’t a clue of the ‘kill the infidel’ stuff in their ‘holy book’…fascinating observation, I think.

    By the way, I remember Googling Islam about 10 years ago….reading the Koran on line..it was GORGEOUS stuff..peaceful, lovely…amazing. BUt I KNEW that people had said there’s some tough stuff, so I had to click into various articles I found, then click deeper and deeper until I found it. I remember that day, those many years ago, thinking “What the heck? Why does one have to work so hard to find this nasty truth?” I firmly believe there’s a VERY PRO ISLAM program in our country which I think we all would like to know a lot more about. Let’s face it, it’s not usual for a ‘religion’ to get respect only after several of their type have used their most strict teachings to kill 3000 Americans……..who ever cared about Muslims living next door before 9/11? NOBODY. They were fine, nice, quiet…whatever…..but after that, something happened, didn’t it. Suddenly so many more hijabs, so many demands.
    Those who’ve read my blog a while remember me saying, many times, “What’s a person have to do around this country to get respect, kill 3000 people?” yup

  14. bocopro says:

    Oh, no . . . no correlation between Catholic saints or Baptist revivals and Islam. I was merely pointing out stereotypical characteristics that will never be abandoned.

    And when I re-read the Bible about 25 years ago while doing my self-assigned project on world religions, I rediscovered some frightful stuff in it that must be taken with a grain of salt (which I’m sure many Muslims do with their own texts when they see the hateful dogma). Not hard to find some hard-to-swallow mandates in the Bible, such as Deuteronomy 17:2-6.

  15. Mal says:

    Yeah, Z. “They need to kill 3,000 people” to get attention……..like the Japs did @ Pearl? Right after that, we didn’t trust them, even those born here. Sound familiar?

  16. geeez2014 says:

    Bocopro…there’s worse than Deuteronomy…try reading Isaiah sometime. It’s not at all hard -to-swallow for me because I’ve learned through Scripture, MANY writings, and other studies just how wrathful God can be…and ALWAYS righteous. Never mean for ‘mean sake’..EVER.
    Warning, over and over again….Until he finally stops warning and does what He’d promised.
    But, you are not alone in seeing these ‘mandates’ and comparing Muslim hateful dogma to that of the Old Testament.
    Again, these topics are never going to be put to rest here….and, as my sis says “It’s for another Oprah”…..and it won’t happen here.

    Mal….kind of familiar, but the Japs didn’t suddenly start making demands IN America of us….”I can’t drive cabs with booze in them” “I need foot washing troughs at university if I’m to study correctly” “I demand wearing this hijab even if it doesn’t at all fit the brand of this sexy dress shop”…etc etc…………

  17. My friend a good guy.
    His mosque preaches peace.
    They have denounced the terrorists.
    He is trying to give me the Similarity points.
    Jesus did this, Jesus dressed like that, we all have the same God. Alla is derived from Elohim.
    I told him:
    If they claim he’s a prophet, then listen to HIm.
    He said he is God.
    That He’ll die and rise again.
    And He did.
    If He didn’t, He lied and is worthless as a prophet.

    Frankly, if you don’t believe it, do like I used to do:
    Call Him a madman or a liar, but don’t call Him a Good Teacher unless you’re willing to be taught by Him.

  18. Baysider says:

    Deut. 12:2-6 is good. God commissioned Israel to dispossess the land of Canaanite-ish practices. He gave the land’s inhabitants 400 + 40 years to repent. They didn’t. They had truth at one time. They walked from it, and God’s patience finally came to an end, ending the sexual degradations, bestiality, child sacrifice and other horrors practiced by these people.

  19. Baysider says:

    Ed: “God does not begot and is not begotten” is written on the dome of the mosque of Omar for all the world to see Islam’s perspective on Jesus. I know you know that. Just sayin’.

  20. geeez2014 says:

    Ed, classic C.S. Lewis..perfect response.

    Baysider; it’s very often that people who love God and pray to God for favors can’t understand that He’s not a candy store, that He asks for obedience, trust, loyalty…and has a temper if crossed!

  21. Silverfiddle says:

    I love Bocopro’s take on it all. Hilarious and dead-on. Much of it does read like a mashup of fractured fairy tales and poorly-copied Bible stories.

    I strive to always be charitable towards others and not make fun of the beliefs of others, but this Bocopro quote cracked me up:

    “But what I see when Christians exit their churches is happy people, and what I see when Muslims come out of their mosques is intimidated insects operating on the phermones of the king termite.”

Leave a Reply

