Gratitude we don’t see much:

soldier and iraqi girl

Our media’s never told us about this statue…HERE is the story; it’s quite an interesting one.  I don’t know if it would have hurt us for the media to have revealed there are grateful people in Iraq today….

SO, I’m hoping you all send this to friends and family….

Z

This entry was posted in matters of interest, war. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Gratitude we don’t see much:

  1. Silverfiddle says:

    The link says it’s from 2004. I don’t know how much gratitude we’d find there today, and frankly, I don’t know what Iraqis would be grateful to us for. We toppled a dictator and blew up their society, such as it was.

    Please don’t take this personally, but if we are going to avoid mistakes in the future, we must face up to contemporary ones. Invading Iraq was a colossal blunder.

    Like

  2. geeez2014 says:

    SF, I think it’s worthwhile knowing not all people feel like that….that not all Iraqis thought it was a blunder to topple Saddam.
    Most of us do, in hindsight, but….I thought this was worth sharing.
    And I don’t take it personally; I know how strongly you feel about this.

    Like

  3. Silverfiddle says:

    Z: And I know how much good you have in your heart, which is why I don’t like disagreeing with you. 🙂

    Like

  4. Baysider says:

    It’s sad that, after 60 years of keeping South Korea free and safe, even the worm of gratitude is turning there. How did we think we would accomplish in 5 years [in Iraq] what has taken generations everywhere else? For one, the leftist impulse is always in a hurry to force a fix (Obamacare anyone?), pushing others to change on their schedule, then leave the mess for others to fix. For another, the good-hearted impulse to ‘help’ without historical or cultural context gets abused badly and leads to the same result. (I recall Mr. Z was adamant against this.) I hope at least that ordinary people there who now curse America direct their gaze as strongly to the current occupant of the White House as the former. If not more so.

    Like

  5. Sparky says:

    We had to make a purchase at Lowe’s today. And whilest waiting in line, I made sure to thank a veteran who was in front of us. I thought the dear man was going to cry. Kindness is never wasted. If Jesus can love me He can certainly love others and we should always try to show that (wars and survival situations excluded, of course).

    Like

  6. Pingback: My Article Read (1-13-2016) – My Daily Musing

Leave a Reply

