No Debate for Trump

Is Trump doing the right or wrong thing refusing to go to Thursday’s debate?

I’d have hoped any presidential candidate should handle anything that comes at him because the next president’s really going to have a LOT thrown at him with this country’s troubles….

I believe Megyn Kelly was right in asking at that first debate about the horrible things he’s said about women.  “Fat pigs?”   He crossed the line with me when he said Megyn Kelly  was “bleeding out of her…whatever.”  Or how about what he said about Hillary Clinton, who’d returned to her debate stage from the bathroom:   “I know where she went — it’s disgusting, I don’t want to talk about it,” Trump said, screwing up his face, as the crowd laughed and cheered. “No, it’s too disgusting. Don’t say it, it’s disgusting.”  (waving his hands in the air, too)

Or how about when he talked about Hillary Clinton’s losing to Obama?  “She was favored to win, and she got schlonged,” Trump said, turning a vulgar noun for a large penis into a verb.

I’d have thought saying things like that opens a presidential candidate to questions like Kelly’s…maybe you disagree.   I’m eager to hear your thoughts.

AND, do you believe that some ‘elite’ in the GOP are suddenly favoring Trump only to stop Cruz?

 

Z

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to No Debate for Trump

  1. bocopro says:

    Hmmmm . . . . VE-E-E-r-r-r-y eentairesteeng.

    So the Donald defies convention and bids 6-No-Trump, which leaves th’others no option but to go with either 7 clubs or 7 diamonds. My guess is clubs, ’cause I haven’t seem much evidence of diamonds among ’em, and that bunch damned sure won’t go with hearts.

    If he wins in Iowa, it’ll be 7-no trump, game, rubber, and call in the dogs.

    Like

  2. There are three candidates whom the GOP establishment is dead-set against: Ben Carson, Ted Cruz, and Donald Trump.

    Marco Rubio is now the establishment’s anointed one. That status dates back to at least October 12, 2015, when I sat down face-to-face with a close friend of Karl Rove.

    Like

  3. There are two ways to look at Trump’s not being a part of this week’s debate: (1) wimping out or (2) being the strong man.

    It will be interesting to see how this turns out with the Iowa Caucus.

    Like

  4. John M. Berger says:

    I see no up-side to that decision, whatsoever! But his eschewing of conventional wisdom, so far, seems to have been impervious to the detriment one might expect. Nevertheless; color [me] disappointed.

    Like

  5. jerrydablade says:

    To your last question, first. Absolutely the establishment is cozying up to Trump and encouraging these leftist kneecap attacks against Cruz. Did you hear the latest audio of Trump bragging about how close he is/was with Pelosi, Reid, Schumer, etc? That was this week!

    Z, As for Trump skipping the debate… the first thing I thought of about this ended up being my blog. I really think Trump looks at this as his Reykavic Moment. How sad is he if he can’t handle an ‘unfair’ question from a pretty news anchor? Wake up, Trumpets!

    Like

  6. Mustang says:

    Unquestionably, the American people deserve who they elect. No one can say our people are wise or thoughtful. @ Jerry … I think the spelling is Trumpettes.

    Like

  7. Silverfiddle says:

    It could go either way, as other have said: He could come out looking even better, or the spin could go against him, making him look like a wimp who ran from Megyn Kelly. I assume Der Trumpster has some strategery behind his decision. Is he going to stage some event that will end up drawing more press coverage than the debate?

    At this point, I don’t care. I like Cruz, but he can’t win. He’s too short, cartoon voice, and he looks like a perpetually unctuous weasel. The base is not enough to elect him, and his image positively repels those in the middle any candidate needs to win.

    Rubio is electable, but he’s indistinguishable from Jeb Mush, Pro-TPP, establishmentarian.

    Unless somebody else breaks through, there’s no one else in the race.

    Like

  8. geeez2014 says:

    SF “Is he going to stage some event that will end up drawing more press coverage than the debate?”
    Apparently, that’s what’s planned in the world of “If you don’t play my way, I’m gone” of Trump.
    This gives a good clue about what he might do if he loses any of the primaries…

    I don’t consider Rubio indistinguishable and I’m sorry people are running from him because ‘the establishment’ supposedly likes him. It’s working against a very good guy.

    I’m very disappointed and even stunned at the huge support Trump has, though some people I personally know haven’t ever heard some of the horrid insults he’s made, shown in my post, which surprised me. To admire any man who’d say those things, or the behavior on this FOX debate, or any of the unbacked promises he’s making, completely blows my mind.

    Like

  9. geeez2014 says:

    Mustang…TrumpETTES would mean only women, wouldn’t it?
    Rockettes, ..etc?

    Like

  10. geeez2014 says:

    JMB; you see no upside because you have integrity.

    AOW, if Trump loses Iowa, will he stop building a hotel in Des Moines, or…? How will he punish them?

    Jerry…no, i hadn’t heard that. Trump will say “that was only for my business” and his believers will buy it.
    This man has no class…

    What bothers me the most is that Obama’s created a country whose people are SO disgruntled and worried and tired of the games and the lies, that they’d even look twice at Trump. I blame Obama for Trump. Sometimes I think they’re just ignoring all the bad about him … it has to be that.

    Like

  11. geeez2014 says:

    and we’ve got Bernie Sanders thinking we’re going to believe him when he says his meeting with Obama this morning at the WH was about bringing him up to date on what’s going on.
    WE could tell Bernie what’s going on, right?
    And people fall for his line?

    Like

  12. Mal says:

    All good comments. I have to say I am disappointed he did this. And when he commented about how fewer people will be watching w/o him, like he has been the main attraction, didn’t sit well with me, whether or not it happens. In my humble opinion it was a huge mistake and believe he has pushed the envelope too far this time. We certainly are going to be watching because there is more at stake than “The Donald”. The rest are calling him a coward but think he might believe he has more to lose than gain by showing up because he has nothing more to say at this point and might even unintentionally hurt himself.
    I just want to see someone…..ANYONE!……..from the GOP field to get in office ASAP.

    Like

  13. Silverfiddle says:

    Say what you want about El Donaldo, this statement from Fox News is unprofessional. They’re putting themselves in a class with MSNBC:

    “We learned from a secret back channel that the Ayatollah and Putin both intend to treat Donald Trump unfairly when they meet with him if he becomes president — a nefarious source tells us that Trump has his own secret plan to replace the Cabinet with his Twitter followers to see if he should even go to those meetings.”

    Tongue in cheek… haha, but unprofessional beneath the professional standards of a network that wants people to take them seriously as an unbiased news source.

    Like

  14. geeez2014 says:

    SF….they did that once…and nobody considers them unbiased anymore than MSNBC of CNN are unbiased, don’t you think? …I’m not the biggest fan of FOX, either, but this is definitely getting to be a FOX vs TRUMP thing and I think that’s pretty funny! Sounds like something from THE ONION!

    I think it’s way funnier than anything I’ve ever seen on MSNBC 🙂

    Mal, I hear he’s going to have a fundraiser for vets that night instead…….what a move. Who can argue THAT, right? wow. He really knows how to play people and this country. I shudder at his presidency

    Like

  15. Mal said: “I just want to see someone…..ANYONE!……..from the GOP field to get in office ASAP.”
    This is our opportunity to get the guy we want in.
    Hillary is toast.
    Bernie Is eminently beatable.
    It’s too late for Biden or Bloomberg.
    We need to get the right person in or pay the consequences in another four years.

    Like

  16. As for Trump taking a pass on the debate: Great! Now we’ll hear what the others have to say.

    Like

  17. John M. Berger says:

    @ Ed,
    “We need to get the right person in or pay the consequences in another four years.”

    Yes and may I say “or pay the consequences” FOR ETERNITY!

    Like

  18. Silverfiddle says:

    Z: It is a Trump v Fox thing, and Trump is owning them. Depriving them of his drawing power for their debate, and then going on O’Reilly the next night.

    Fox needs Trump way more than Trump needs Fox.

    There are a few countervailing trends going on here…

    First, Fox is trying desperately to manstream themselves. As the nation trends leftward and conservatives grow old and outside the commercial demographic, Fox has been shifting to the middle.

    Meanwhile, Trump is going for Reagan Democrats and disaffected and other non-Republicans disgusted with the process.

    So, the Trump v. Fox battle helps both sides. Maybe Trump and Ailes purposely cooked all this up???

    Like

  19. bocopro says:

    Figaro?

    Like

  20. geeez2014 says:

    Ed “As for Trump taking a pass on the debate: Great! Now we’ll hear what the others have to say”
    Yes, (Argh, I just made dinner plans for Thursday 😦 )…oh, well……they’ll show it again later…!!
    Anyway, yes, it’ll be interesting to see them without that awful Trump Tension,too.

    SF…FOX needs TRUMP? Maybe tomorrow night, but they’ve done pretty well for themselves for years before Trump.
    I wouldn’t watch O’Reilly’s interview tonight if someone gave me money, I swear…….
    THAT is a REALLY WEIRD DEAL and O’Reilly and Trump’s egos together will fill the planet!
    I think Ailes is smart enough to do ANYTHING…..but Trump will do nothing without a LOT OF GAIN for in it for himself…. let’s see what happens.
    I’m REAL tired of being played.

    .

    Like

  21. geeez2014 says:

    bocopro…I can’t tell if that’s PRO Rubio or NOT 🙂 I just like the guy…

    And, just FYI, the first throw WAS caught by the kid, he let it into the air and THEN it hit his face 🙂 That is one VERY good video with Gowdy, Carlson, etc etc….loved it!
    TOUCHDOWN!

    Like

  22. geeez2014 says:

    http://finance.yahoo.com/news/joe-scarborough-fox-news-just-183011838.html+

    Joe Scarborough is someone I can’t talk about without getting rude, so let me just say he’s not my favorite…by a LOOOOOOOOOOOOONG shot. But the video on that article is a good one.
    I watch some of these videos and wish Ailes at FOX would allow really long interviews where you get good questions and answers for more than just between commercials……
    This guy’s got it exactly right on Trump; sadly, he’s clearly not a Conservative champion, but he makes some good points.

    Except I think that FOX’s thing about Putin was clearly for fun and it’s being taken as an indictment of all of FOX news….which I find odd. Yes, perhaps they shouldn’t have released that…the guy’s right; it sounds like something people would say in their offices or around the water cooler and howl out loud…it IS clever…
    But, maybe they should have known how thin Trump’s skin is…….
    We all do now after this FOX thing.

    Like

  23. geeez2014 says:

    Jenna Lee reported earlier that “there will be no empty podium”…I wonder what that’s about..that’s all she could report 30 minutes ago

    Like

  24. Mustang says:

    @ Z … moving Huckleberry up, perhaps?

    Like

  25. geeez2014 says:

    that’s what I was thinking….Think he deserves to?

    Like

  26. C-CS says:

    the only thing stopping me from fully supporting Trump is that he cheated on his first two wives–once a cheat – always a cheat- but-certain women are also to blame- looking for a ‘sugar daddy ‘ – –
    but he does not back down and he says it like it is– where as the RINO elites have been ‘cheating’ on us for a long time —

    Cruz or Trump–none of the others —
    C-CS

    Like

  27. We must not let Hillary win the 2016 Election. Here’s why:

    Hillary Clinton Would Consider Appointing President Obama to Supreme Court.

    In fact, I wouldn’t be surprised if her appointing Obama to the SCOTUS were behind Obama’s recent positive statements about her.

    Like

  28. John M. Berger says:

    @AOW,

    So, not only will we be haunted by his “legacy” but we will have to endure his presence in perpetuity. OMG, haven’t we been punished enough?

    Like

  29. Mustang says:

    @ JMB … no. Once the camel’s nose is under the tent …

    Like

  30. geeez2014 says:

    Does anybody here think Obama’d spend time on the Supreme Court? He needs to make speeches for hundreds of thousands and play golf. Who the heck’d want to serve on the Supreme Court? He won’t….

    But, reading AOW’s comment made me giggle thinking that maybe Bernie was in there this morning offering him goodies if he supports him.

    Do most presidents endorse candidates? I don’t remember that.

    JMB: I believe Obama will be the “gift that keeps on giving” as Bill Clinton’s been…they have too much ego and need too much money to go away…….unlike the Bush men.

    Like

  31. Bob says:

    I hope Trump’s being AWOL for the debate will damage him, but it may not. His narcissistic actions tell us about the real man, and it’s not good. There is no doubt he would make a better Prez than Obama, but he needs to be brought down to earth. On the other hand, I have no love for Cruz at all.

    Hillary did get schlonged by Obama, and that’s just a fact. Trump didn’t need to refer to the incident using profanity, but that’s Trump. He thinks he operates under a special set of legal and physical laws.

    Like

  32. Silverfiddle says:

    President Obama is not qualified for the Supreme Court

    Like

  33. geeez2014 says:

    Bob, I agree with every single word you say. Absolutely….

    EVERYBODY: Any guesses for what might be Trump’s harangue on O’Reilly tonight and how O’Reilly will react? Will he stand up for Megyn and Ailes or will he try to act ‘fair and balanced’ to Trump?
    I was thinking I wouldn’t watch all day, but now I’m starting to think I’ll watch like one watches a train wreck, with one hand over my eyes!

    Like

  34. Mustang says:

    Once more, I agree with Silverfiddle that Obama is not qualified for the Supreme Court, but sadly there is no specific prerequisite for sitting on the high court. A nominee does not have to be a natural born citizen, does not have to be an attorney, and is not barred by age. The only requirement I can find is that the nominee must be breathing on the date he or she is confirmed by the Senate.

    Like

  35. geeez2014 says:

    Mustang, you don’t really think Obama’d want to work that hard, do you? NO WAY\

    MAL: I HOPE YOU SEE THIS COMMENT….I want to thank you for your fairness. I know you’re a Trump fan so I very much respect your take on his dissing the FOX debate and everything else you wrote…. I think that’s admirable of you. xx

    Like

  36. Bob: Right on!
    OK. Let’s start a movement for FOX to host the national elections.
    🙂
    Maybe Trump will sit them out.

    Like

  37. Bob says:

    ED: Let’s you and I be the moderators. No more of that who shot John stuff. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

