Prayer Breakfast

Yes, I listened to much of Obama’s speech at this morning’s National Prayer Breakfast, and yes, it was tough to listen to.  Some of it was fine; he talked about his Christian faith and how much it’s meant to him as president.

He based his talk around a quote from I Timothy that he said has helped him particularly lately:

“For God has not given us a spirit of fear…”  (I don’t remember if he went on with that quote which is “but of power, love, and self-discipline.:)

We have been talking here of how to combat our fears of what’s going on in America over the last few months so I thought that was interesting, but he looked at it a bit differently;

“Fear can lead us to lash out at those who are different…”   I obviously couldn’t help but think he was talking mostly to Christians who understand well the threat of terrorism, and because he speaks so much about how muslims are so ‘put upon’ by those who just don’t understand and embrace their faith and their right to believe what they do.  I wondered if he’d apply that quote to terrorists, too, since our beliefs are “different” and why muslim radicals are killing and attempting to kill more and more.

He also suggested the media promotes fear and I couldn’t help but wonder if he’d have said that were it not for his hate for FOX.  “Mr. Obama, does MSNBC promote fear, or CNN?”

Some of the talk was fine…….I’m sure most of you didn’t hear it, but I do like to report here on what I see and hear so I stuck it out.  See how much I’ll do for my readers? 🙂

Thoughts about the quotes from his talk which I cited above?

Z

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Prayer Breakfast

  1. bocopro says:

    Soetoro is neither a thinker nor a writer. If he had an original idea, he’d likely run away in fear from it. No evidence exists that he ever wrote anything while in any college or university, and anyone who believes that he actually composed and edited his two books needs to put down the bong and get some fresh air.

    Under no circumstances will I watch or listen to him any more. I might read the texts of his addresses or remarks when I consider them relevant to important issues, but anything he says about Islam is pure Goebbelsdegook, and anything he says concerning his Christian “faith” is about as credible as Bruce Jenner’s breasts.

    He’s no more devout Christian than I am power forward for the Boston Celtics. Until someone provided him that Timothy reference for this occasion, he likely thought the name referred to Leary.

  2. John M. Berger says:

    “his Christian faith and how much it’s meant to him as president.” ?????????????????????????

  3. geeez2014 says:

    bocopro, if he was on teleprompter this morning, he has become a master. I tried hard to be able to tell and couldn’t…. probably he was, come to think of it, because he never did look down for notes. It’s very hard to feel smacked around by him so constantly, as with the remarks he made that I cited in my post….
    I guess it’s only WE who are to understand everyone and overlook things….not muslims or anybody else who means us harm.
    And, re his devout Christianity; I think most Christians would agree that we don’t give a hoot if he is or isn’t, but he lied.
    I do feel Christians are a better bet in office; I do feel strong and loving believers will be better leaders, but if I felt someone had integrity and dignity and great intelligence and loved this country, I honestly wouldn’t mind what he was….
    I think that’s where channels like MSNBC get it wrong and propagate that impression…mischaracterize on purpose.

    I watched Carol Costello on CNN this morning and I could swear she said something like “Democrats don’t care so much about faith as Republicans do….unfortunately” My eyes almost popped out of my head “Unfortunately?” Did I hear correctly? ON CNN!? I know she’s a devout Catholic but that surprised me.

    I’m honestly enjoying watching CNN more than FOX lately, depending on who’s on, of course. If Shep Smith’s on, I’ll watch Chris Matthews over him (well, ALMOST)… heck, I remember when Mr. Z and I enjoyed Matthews; has HE CHANGED! $$$

    JMB..hard to believe, isn’t it? He’s so dismissive no matter what he says about being so Christian, he surely doesn’t stand up for the faith. NOT AT ALL.

  4. Bob says:

    I caught a little of Obama’s speech this morning, and I was impressed that he was making situations to fit his narrative. I missed most of the speech because a technician was in my home changing my internet and TV service from AT&T to the local cable company. We were actually without TV or Internet for over TWO HOURS! It was brutal.

    I don’t think anybody strikes out at Muslims because they are different. As a matter of fact, there is almost nobody in this country striking out at Muslims. There are still plenty of incidents where synagogues are targeted, and lots of protests against police departments.

    Obama has his narrative, and consistently trying to shame Christians. Phooey on him.

  5. geeez2014 says:

    OH BOB! I think we’re related or something…at least we are LIKE MINDED 🙂 Tho you are WAY more articulate than I am!
    First, thanks for catching a little of the speech because it’s lonely with people here who don’t watch him EVER! (tho I totally DO understand why they don’t)

    Yes, YES YES! You described so well what I couldn’t: HE MAKES SITUATIONS TO FIT HIS NARRATIVE….SO well said. He does that SO WELL. (by the way, TWO HOURS without TV? ARGH!)

    Also, yes yes again…WHO IS STRIKING OUT AT MUSLIMS? We keep hearing that, yet I’ve not seen/heard that…And yes, synagogues are definitely targeted, THEY are armed to the hilt with guards and barricades, but mosques ARE NOT. And THAT, dear Bob, is THE TRUTH. Right?

    Shaming Christians…yes.
    YOU ROCK, Mr. BOB!!
    XXX

  6. Mustang says:

    Obama’s notion that all religions embrace love of mankind completely ignores fourteen hundred years of Islamic history.

  7. C-CS says:

    thanks Mustang for – as always – telling it like it is !
    C-CS

  8. Mal says:

    ………..but he still can’t put 2 words together………Muslim Terrorists!

  9. Baysider says:

    “Fear can lead us to lash out at those who are different…” That is COMPLETE bull pucky! This dufuss still cannot distinguish between ‘different’ and ‘dangerous’? God help US ‘cuz He’s sure not helping him. And I’m with Bob on the ‘lashing out’ part.

  10. Kid says:

    If obama actually wrote anything himself he’d actually write Uh,Um, and Ers all through it. No question about the teleprompters, one at each side so he can look left and right and make it look like he’s not staring at teleprompters. He even took them to a grade school to talk to little kids.
    I’m sure everyone understands real islamics here.

  11. Juleslandia says:

    I simply can’t stomach his speech intonations, so I rarely listen to more than 30 seconds of anything he says (I’d rather just read the recaps in the news). In fact, I probably crack bones in a mad dash to change the station or channel to get away from that voice.

    But today I did hear a few minutes in the car. And that was only out of pure confusion. At first I thought I might have switched channels to KBRT (local Christian radio in LA). I couldn’t believe O was talking about his deep Christian faith … huh? This was ALL his speech writer … and I doubt he had much input (besides a few revisions near the end of the review process).

    I did find it HUGELY ironic that he would wax poetically about a muslim being afraid to pray, instead of talking about American Christians fearing the loss of their jobs because they DO pray. Maybe I just missed that part of his “prayer lecture?”

    And then his voice patterns started making my brain hurt. So I went to my MMA lesson and hit and kicked stuff until I almost passed out. Only then did I feel better.

  12. geeez2014 says:

    You’re right, Mustang.

    Baysider ““Fear can lead us to lash out at those who are different…” I’m glad you figured he meant what I thought he meant, too. Does he think we’re SO STUPID? Does he not realize it’s THEY , the islamists, who are ‘lashing out’? No, instead, he believes Republicans are more evil. As does Shrillery.

    Hi, Jules..I don’t blog on what I haven’t heard, so I sometimes force myself to listen and we get a good conversation going here. It IS like poking needles in your ears, and eyes, for that matter.

    He professes such Christian faith; even mentioned JESUS today! And I feel it’s none of our business to judge his faith but it’s HE who shows us he either doesn’t understand Christianity OR he doesn’t buy it ONE BIT

  13. He’s very good at defending his faith.
    Just like he did at that mosque yesterday.

  14. Bob says:

    Z: I always have a problem commenting on your articles because I generally agree with them, and most of the people commenting.

    Thanks for the good words. Nice to be appreciated. Thanks!!!

  15. geeez2014 says:

    Ed, probably!! Well said.

    Bob, you are very appreciated; always weigh in, PLEASE!

Leave a Reply

