Cheap Cruz Tricks?

“Our campaign shared an accurate report that Carson was suspending campaigning after the caucuses — he went home and he went to D.C. — and these voice mails do not suggest that he would completely drop out of the race,” said the spokeswoman, Catherine Frazier.”

That’s the most dishonest statement I’ve heard in a very long time and it was part of this rather fascinating and illuminating article..  Every time I’ve heard that a candidate’s leaving the race, the news has said they were “suspending” their runs, and I’ve always thought “Why don’t they say they’re getting out?  Suspending isn’t definitive.”   So, for the Cruz bunch to say they didn’t say Carson was getting out of the race is absolutely dishonest and misleading.

What do you think should have happened?  Cruz apologized to Carson, but what about firing those who did it?  Or is he afraid that they’ll blow his cover if he was, in fact, the one to issue the directive to have their people calling voters?

What do you think?

And what do you think of Jeb Bush having Barbara Bush on the campaign trail with him?

Just wondering…
Z

This entry was posted in 2016 race. Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Cheap Cruz Tricks?

  1. 1. They suspend for financial reasons that have to do with disposition of campaign contributions.
    2. The Carson/Cruz thing has many people doing stupid things. Chief of which is announcing that you are leaving the state before voting is concluded. If I were in a heated battle and I saw an opportunity (which looked legit) why would I not take advantage of it? And if I learned differently shortly after? Maybe my mind was still focused on winning. Shoulda flipped a coin.

  2. jerrydablade says:

    What Ed said. It certainly is silly season. If that’s the best they can do against Cruz. I think the loser in this whole thing is Carson because of his own actions. Who leaves the campaign trail to go home for an underwear change? Stay in Florida if you don’t like a flying elbow or two. Cruz is trying to save the republic here. What are the rest of them up to? Carson’s brand as a nice guy no longer holds water with me, and his behavior of trying to save face has made him look as petty as trump.

  3. -FJ says:

    Dirty Tricks against other Republicans should not be tolerated.

  4. Sparky says:

    Yeah, I agree with what Ed said. Really, it’s politics. They’re suppose to be cut throat. I would have probably done the same thing. I admire Ben Carson greatly but if he can’t handle it, he doesn’t need to be in politics. Now, for Jeb boy, he’s desperate and truly to be like Daddy and brother. I think he’s one of those that believes he’s “entitled” because he’s “next”. I wouldn’t vote for another Bush if he was the only candidate available. Period.

  5. geeez2014 says:

    FJ, I’m with you.
    It’ll be VERY interesting once a candidate’s finally picked to see the rest of them suddenly praising him and dodging the “but you said Rubio’s ‘bubble boy”, etc. (by the way, as someone said on TV the other day, for Christie to call Rubio Bubble Boy is pretty funny!!)

    I don’t think dirty politics is very welcome…I guess if we like Cruz, we’re okay with it and, if we don’t, we think it was a dirty thing to do…whether we like Carson or not!? Personally, I’m getting to see why the Republican congress isn’t fond of Cruz…I’d have hoped it was mostly about his strict Conservatism but maybe not…

  6. Silverfiddle says:

    Carson is a fine man, but he’s no politician and he left himself open for Cruz’s dirty tricks. Who knows if this provided Cruz the margin of victory? How many evangelicals who were going to vote Carson switched to Cruz?

  7. bunkerville says:

    The whole Iowa caucus was a demonstration of the absurdity of a caucus not run by the State but by the parties.

  8. Everyone who agreed with me is absolutely right.
    And Silver.
    So is Bunkerville. Caucus? What if you are ill, or working the night shift?
    Flip a coin if it’s close?

    Really, Cruz didn’t do it, his staff did.
    He sorta apologized.
    And Carson’s polling % was the same as his vote tally, so it appears no one left him.
    And I don’t see voters crying, “I’ve been robbed!.”.

  9. Mustang says:

    If Cruz does not believe he can win in New Hampshire, it is a waste of time and resources to remain there—particularly when (or if) he thinks that he can win big in SC. I agree with Silverfiddle that Carson is a good and decent man—whom we ought to elect. But if Carson isn’t wise enough to see what is going on around him, then we have diminished confidence in his ability to figure out the Arab horde.

    Phyllis Schlafly claims that Rubio betrayed his earlier supporters. For a woman of her background, one would think she would understand that no far right or far left candidate can win a national presidential contest. If Rubio wants to win the election, which I think he wants to do more than anything else, then he has to move to the center and he has to find acceptance within the establishment.

  10. Mal says:

    What Mustang said about too far right or left isn’t going to win a national presidential contest is another reason Trump continues to dominate. He has been accused of flip-flopping by supporting both parties in the past and is another reason for his popularity on top of his disdain of lobbyists, his self-funding campaign, and politics in general. When are the politicians going to accept that people are sick and tired of the whole mess and prefer an outsider for REAL “Hope & Change?”

  11. Mal says:

    Errrr………that didn’t come out right. He has no disdain of his self-funding campaign!

  12. Silverfiddle says:

    Left-Right is becoming more meaningless every day. Eventually, there will have to be a realignment based upon the new realities…

    Cosmopolitanism v. Nationalism
    Immigration v. Nativism
    City v. Country
    Affluent elites v. Working folks
    Corporations v. Small Business
    Religious v. Irreligious

  13. My thoughts are: Cruz would of been smart to double check the rumor of Carson leaving the presidential race.before saying something. Cruz knows how the media and people would use it against him. Media and people are using it against him.

    As for Barbara Bush helping her son Jeb out, she is doing what any mother would do, helping her son out. I doubt it would help Jeb though.

  14. Kid says:

    I agree with everyone above. Especially Ed. 🙂

    Well, we haven’t had a Republican president since Ronald Reagan.

    I only hope this concept applies to politics and soon than later and that we are at the point of maximum opportunity for Conservatives.

  15. Baysider says:

    Not following this. As for Jeb Bush, people like mother Bush. People OBEY mother Bush.

  16. Kid says:

    I meant to add – I will not vote for Jeb. He should have dropped out by now. I’ll at least give Lindsey Grahm credit for recognizing reality.

  17. geeez2014 says:

    No, you’re all wrong; If it was Hillary, we’d all be all over HER, not her staff, for a thing this nasty. “Her staff represents HER and she should have known and .. blah blah blah”

    They should have told all the truth…

    lafayette angel’s right, of course! 🙂

    Again; those who like Cruz are ignoring what he or his people did (and we don’t know for sure that truth, do we)…
    I’m not writing this to present that I’m supporting Carson; I was until he said things about homosexuality in prison and how the pyramids were to hold grain, etc.
    No, I’m not saying I’m supporting Cruz and, therefore, I’m mad at Cruz.

    I’m mad at Cruz because, if he’s the candidate to take the Republicans to the national election, I’ll have to use a specially tight clothes pin on my nose before I cast THAT vote.

    Silverfiddle; Right v Left doesn’t break down that easily; all Republicans aren’t rich, all Democrats are certainly not poor (the best kept secret in Liberal lalaland is that WALL ST IS RICH REPUBLICANS!…You should hear my cousin’s wife, who happens to be one of THE best headhunters on Wall St (like Jamie Diamond level stuff.) She says “they’re all Democrats!” By the way; her business is flat lined and she has done INCREDIBLY lucrative business for years…it’s BAD out there and only Obama thinks the economy’s picking up.

  18. Kid says:

    Unemployment less than 5% and 40% of working age people unemployed. Z, the government numbers are all BS plain and simple. Low inflation, yet government’s guage of inflation discludes inflationary items we all spend our hard earned money on – housing, energy, food. It’s worse than a J O A K, It’s incredibly insulting. I have to think there is a way to make money off of this kind of stupidity though. In search of.

  19. Kid says:

    Well, we don’t get the candidates we want, we get the candidates we have available.
    Paraphrasing Rumsfeld.

  20. geeez2014 says:

    Kid, keep searching, we’ll split the profits (I’m not a Republican for nothin’ !!!) :-=)
    And I’m sure Rumsfeld said something about clothespins when he said that, too!

    HEY! I just thought of the GREATEST political blog name (if I do say so myself!):
    CLOTHES SPINS

    Good, huh?

  21. geeez2014 says:

    CLOTHES SPINS…WHEN YOU HAVE TO HOLD YOUR NOSE TO VOTE

    heh heh!!

  22. I still insist we are all right and you are wrong.
    🙂

  23. Kid says:

    The first time I voted was 2000. I have yet to vote For somone, I’ve only voted against democrats.

  24. geeez2014 says:

    Ed, trust me, “If it was Hillary, we’d all be all over HER, not her staff, for a thing this nasty. “Her staff represents HER and she should have known and .. blah blah blah”
    You aren’t only WRONG, you are DEAD WRONG! 🙂 🙂
    Went to THE neatest Christian women ‘conference’ this weekend…from 3-10 pm Friday, then 9-4 pm today…AMAZING.

    Kid….you have YET to vote for someone? Did you vote for Reagan? I’ll bet you diiiiiiiddddd! :

    My sister just called and told me they took my nephew to hear Robert Gates at the Reagan Library Monday night, which is a REAL BUMMER because I’d been invited by that friend I’ve mentioned here who worked for Reagan at the WH and I didn’t go..it would have been such a surprise to see them there, etc..ANYWAY, she was saying how fascinating Gates was and how well he responded to a lengthy Q&A…..he seems mealy-mouthed to me, but she said the crowd was quite impressed.

  25. Silverfiddle says:

    @ Z: Silverfiddle; Right v Left doesn’t break down that easily

    That is precisely what I said. You missed my point. We both agree it does not break down neatly right-left, which is why I said there is a new realignment coming.

  26. Kid says:

    Z, Nopes… The first vote I ever cast was against Gore in 2000. I was having too much fun prior to that to embroil myself in politics….

  27. geeez2014 says:

    SF? How’d I miss it? That list of yours isn’t the way it’s realigning? Then how? 🙂

    Kid…well! ! At least Reagan won without you or we’d have had to come to your house and GIVE YOU HELL!! 🙂

  28. Kid says:

    I think you should do it anyway Ms Z.

  29. Silverfiddle says:

    Z: Nevermind. We’re saying the same thing.

  30. geeez2014 says:

    SF…But tell me; I’d like to know what you mean but a “realignment” ….
    I’m very eager to hear because I know you feel both parties today are wwaaay too similar.
    I do get what you meant above, but do you see Congress EVER really working together for the good of the country instead of their work, on both sides, for the good of their parties (and pocketbooks?)

    Kid…you just crack me UP!

  31. Z,
    If it was Hillary, we’d all be all over HER, not her staff, for a thing this nasty. “Her staff represents HER and she should have known and .. blah blah blah”

    I strongly agree!

    I cannot give Ted Cruz a pass on that Carson-Iowa thing.

    I also cannot give him a pass for those “voter intimidation” mailings.

    Two major disappointments for me.

  32. Silverfiddle says:

    Z: I don’t see congress doing anything but continuing to serve themselves.

    Love him or hate him, Trump is getting a lot of crossover. As you have observed the GOP ain’t the only party of the rich. There is a widening gulf, first observed by the left, between the elites and the rest of us, and our current party structure does not reflect that, as you have observed.

    Those “Reagan Democrats” from the 1980’s were really Jacksonians. They are not “rock ribbed” conservatives, but ordinary folk who go to church and became estranged from the Democrat party as it became more loony left-wing. The GOP is still going through its divorce with millions of voters.

    I have a few blog posts over the next month discussing this. It’s a fascinating topic.

  33. geeez2014 says:

    SF, the rich are who spend and hire; it makes me VERY VERY nervous to think the Right is following along on the HATE THE RICH ELITIST mantra, and I’m hearing it more and more….this is Capitalism in America, where all can get ahead with hard work and loans given by the ‘rich’ …We can’t ignore the fact that some rich are greedy and, as I’ve posted many times, I don’t think Capitalism can last with too much greed amongst its stars,…but I’d hate to start thinking nobody supports people getting head and doing REALLY REALLY much better than ALL of us if they deserve to….

    I haven’t heard details on the crossover vote for Trump but have heard it’s occurring…
    Man, now he’s using the F word and A** Holes at his speeches….and I’m going to vote for THAT little class?
    (I may use language from time to time (and DO) but not in public, and if I were a man, I’d sure not to it in a big crowd of both sexes)

    If the GOP continues the divorce, we’re done……
    I’ll be really eager to read your posts, and not sure I’ll totally agree with you! But mostly, probably.

  34. Silverfiddle says:

    Z: You won’t agree with everything I write, and you won’t offend me one bit. We need debate and a diversity of opinion.

    Me? I’m through carrying water for the Zuckerberg types. They can go to hell for all I care. They aren’t creating that many jobs but they are making themselves filthy rich. They have gold fever. They can never be too rich, and they suborn government to give them special favors and exemptions and they dodge taxes.

    The moneyed class has become an enemy of American workers, and our government has abetted them in the slow destruction of the working class. I really cannot express enough contempt for the elite globalists.

  35. Silverfiddle says:

    …and what they are doing is not free market capitalism. It is crony corporatism aided and abetted by the DC Uni-Party.

    Stop and ask yourself why the GOP has not pulled money from government programs and demanded Obama stop importing cheap labor. Answer: The GOP is in the pockets of The Chamber Pot of Crony Commerce and the BBB.

    They are selling our birthright out from under us. We will soon be displace strangers in the land we and our forefathers fought for.

  36. Kid says:

    SF, yes, the zukerberg foundation is nothing more than a tax dodge just like the clinton foundation.

    Splitting the country across political idealogies seems the only way at this point, and libs? Don’t call us, we’ll call you.

  37. geeez2014 says:

    Kid “Splitting the country across political idealogies seems the only way at this point”
    WOZIR…and you’re right….we’re sure not even interested in mending fences.

    SF: How do Government Programs apply to the subject of cronyism, etc? I TOTALLY get the cheap labor point you made; I’ve always thought that.
    I agree with most of what you said, but am curious about Government programs and how you apply that to cronyism.

    Also, I suppose we’ve been sold out by the Zuckerburg types, and our Congress, but I sure hope we never put a cap on earnings, as the Left seems to want to do….And yes, loopholes have to be stopped and I already feel like a stranger ina strange land, sadly. I surely don’t feel as patriotic as I did, and I’ve found that out in unsettling ways, saying things aloud and wondering “Wow, you really are angry at gov’t and the way this country’s going, aren’t you”………yikes.

  38. Kid says:

    Z, Social Security is on the horizon noww for me. I may vote for Bernie because he is going to up my SS $.
    No, I’m kidding. I’m going out the way I came in. Self-sufficient and poor. And hopefully naked.

  39. geeez2014 says:

    Kid, there are a LOT of people who will vote for Bernie because of the SS upswing$$….they put themselves before their country.
    (but, honestly, I can hardly blame them; most don’t make enough to save and live on)

    Naked, huh? I’m sending you something Mr. Z wrote. I wonder if you’ve seen it before? probably, but I’m sendin’ it!!

  40. Kid says:

    Z, I believe people vote based on greed and/or fear.

    And my comment was a double meaning. And yes, mainly that when we pass on we take nothing with us but what we have done in our lives good and bad.

Leave a Reply

