Sunday Faith Blog (and a joke!)

LYRICS from the video:

Higher than the mountains that I face
Stronger than the power of the grave
Constant through the trial and the change
One thing remains
One thing remains

Your love never fails it never gives up it never runs out on me X3

On and on and on and on it goes
It overwhelms and satisfies my soul
And I never ever have to be afraid
One thing remains

In death and in life I’m confident and covered by the power of your great love
My debt is paid there’s nothing that can separate my heart from your great love 🙂   (end of lyrics)

“For I am persuaded, that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor powers, nor things present, nor things to come, nor height, nor depth, nor any other creature, shall be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.”  Romans 8:38-39

Praise God…….

Mal sent me this joke this week, tho I’d seen it before I’d forgotten it, and it’s so cute I had to share it with you:
One Sunday morning, the priest noticed little Alex standing in the foyer of
the church staring up at a large plaque. It was covered with names with
small American flags mounted on either side of it.
The seven year old had been staring at the plaque for some time, so the
priest walked up, stood beside the little boy, and said quietly, “Good
morning Alex.”
“Good morning Father,” he replied, still focused on the plaque. “Father,
what is this?” he asked the priest.
The priest said, “Well, son, it’s a memorial to all the young men and women
who died in the service.”
Soberly, they just stood together, staring at the large plaque. Finally,
little Alex’s voice, barely audible and trembling with fear, asked, “Which
service, the 9:45 or the 11:15?”

Have a great, persuaded Sunday!

Z

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Sunday Faith Blog (and a joke!)

  1. We sing that song in our worship.
    It can get emotional sometimes.
    Romans 8:38-9 has popped up noticably lately. We just studied it in our class, and notice a lot of mention of it lately.
    We just finished Romans 9 and I summarized it at my blog.
    We foubd it quite eye opening, and I’d like your opinion.

  2. Silverfiddle says:

    Struggling through this daily life, it’s easy to get distracted. Reading the Bible daily can help keep the focus where it belongs.

  3. geeez2014 says:

    Did you guys read the joke? I love it….not new, but SO SWEET!!!

    Ed, I left a short comment and will be back; LOTS to think about at your place today.
    And yes, songs like this truly do touch the heart and make us emotional.
    I absolutely love some of them.

    SF: It’s like a magic that is hard to describe … and every Christian walk is SO different and personal, and it took me a long time to realize that….

  4. Mal says:

    SF, I agree about getting distracted and keeping focus where it belongs. Like I heard in church this a.m., having faith is when you close your eyes and open your heart. I like that.

  5. Baysider says:

    Thank you for posting the words – beautiful words. There is never a time in life when we don’t need them.

  6. geeez2014 says:

    Mal, we talked this morning about the difference of FAITH and HOPE…
    Faith being our believing and trusting in God’s promises realized in Jesus
    Hope being rooted in those promises realized when we will be new creatures in heaven for eternity

    Baysider, aren’t they? Very comforting…and a great melody, too…very good with the lyrics.

  7. geeez2014 says:

    SF,in church this morning, Pastor read from 2 Corinthians 3:16 “reading scripture is FREEDOM” is basically the message….and I think that’s the feeling we get that we talked about above…”Whenever anybody turns to the Lord (in Scripture, prayers, etc.), the veil is taken away”…”where the spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom”

  8. Silverfiddle says:

    It is a mystery CS Lewis and many others have written about, but we are only truly free when we surrender ourselves to God.

    Reminds me of the old allegory. A big storm has grounded a flock of frightened birds. They will die without assistance. God is the man trying to get us birds into the barn where we can enjoy life-saving shelter and food, but we’re scared of him…

    http://www.rubysemporium.org/harvey_birds.html

  9. geeez2014 says:

    SF, as my pastor said this morning “Our ONLY Adequacy is Jesus Christ”…what a way to put it.
    By the way, the stories you linked are fabulous, and there are parts of them I REALLY needed to hear and think about lately. Not the crux of the lesson, which we’re all aware of as believers, but some other things in it.. Thanks.

  10. Pingback: My Article Read (2-7-2016) – My Daily Musing

Leave a Reply

