“I’d walk a million miles…”

“….for one of your smiles…” (oh, wait…can we still say the last word of that song’s phrase..?   “Mammy!”? )  OH, well……I love coming upon HAPPY STORIES and wanted to share THIS with you….

Notice the donations were private donations…NO GOVERNMENT INVOLVED.
HURRAH!  THIS is how Capitalism should work…..

Z

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to “I’d walk a million miles…”

  1. Silverfiddle says:

    I remember reading about that guy awhile back. Thanks for finding this and giving us an update!

    Like

  2. bocopro says:

    My grandparents raised me ’til I was around 12. Mom (that’s what everyone else called her) was a devout Baptist who talked with her flowers and with Jesus every morning of her life. Among her little aphorisms she picked up from preachers and from the Good Book was “No act of kindness to strangers, no matter how small, is ever wasted.” (B’lieve she got that one from Aesop)

    Dad (her husband) simply said that the job of central government is to protect, not to provide, and if you’re an honest man, things you get for free don’t taste as good as those you sweat for.

    Nice to be raised by people who’ve already raised 8 kids and have distilled all their wit and wisdom down into little predigested gems.

    Like

  3. A man of character.
    An inspiration and role model.
    An everyday good example.

    Like

  4. Kid says:

    Great story Z.

    Like

  5. Bob says:

    Great story, Z. There is not often follow up stories on people who have come into some money, but I am glad you found this one.

    Ed: You described my dad. Well, you could have added, “Don’t piss him off!”.

    Like

  6. geeez2014 says:

    Bob, my dad was that amazing, too….every single day. I’d add “doesn’t suffer fools gladly!” 🙂

    I’m SO glad you, too, had heard about the car being given to this guy….I LOVE finding out how those stories turned out and am glad you did, too. Particularly glad that it’s such a good ‘end’…

    I hope it inspires others to help people in need.

    Like

  7. Mal says:

    Being in his 50’s he was wise enough to not waste his windfall, like so many younger people do that come into a pile of money. Look at how many lottery winners blew it all, some even filing bankruptcy, because they were young and inexperienced. I like hearing stories like this one.

    Like

Leave a Reply

