Sunday Faith Blog

rose heartAmazingly, I decided to use the James quote below as my Sunday Faith post a week or so ago, forgetting it would be Valentine’s Day the day it published.  Well, that’s not SO amazing, but reading THIS, which I received yesterday morning, and seeing the connection to my quote, is.   God’s timing is everything.   I hope all of you read the story in my link…it’s not long at all, and you’ll see a gorgeous picture and read an amazing story of real, Godly love and a raw and even surprising honesty you won’t often see…..

Count it all joy, my brothers and sisters, when you meet trials of various kinds, for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness. And let steadfastness have its full effect, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing… Let the lowly believer boast in exaltation, and the rich in humiliation, because like a flower of the grass the rich will pass away. For the sun rises with its scorching heat and withers the grass; its flower falls, and its beauty perishes. It is the same way with the rich; in the midst of a busy life; they will wither away.
James 1:2-4, 9-11

Z:  When I decided to print the James quote, I meant it to be about America and what we’re going through (the list is far too long to print here), and I still think it’s an encouragement as we struggle to keep going amid all the things we’re seeing happen here…but I think it so very beautifully also talks about our marriages and other love relationships when things get very, very rough, like they did in the article I linked…..all about STEADFASTNESS.  And FAITH.   I wish you both on this Valentine’s Day and always.

 

Z

This entry was posted in Sunday Faith Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Sunday Faith Blog

  1. Your friends, Katherine and her husband Jay have a hard row to hoe.
    Scherie and I are having dinner today with friends.
    Jim was my best man and longtime friend as is his wife Helen.
    A few years ago, Jim started down the road to dementia.
    Helen struggles daily to keep him on track, dressed, shaven, and calm.
    She loves him.

    Like

  2. bunkerville says:

    Beautiful story. True love.

    Like

  3. Silverfiddle says:

    That is one of my favorite passages. Its a paradox that the happier and more successful people and societies become, the more susceptible they are to falling away from God…

    Like

  4. geeez2014 says:

    Ed, I hope you’ve read some of their site, their story, etc. That GORGEOUS young woman, struck so hard and so young, yet they are doing wonderfully. Had another baby in June! What a shocker!! The baby was to be C-Section because they couldn’t imagine she could deliver naturally…and the fear was a C-Section would put her strength back a few years because those stomach muscles are ‘core’ to her strength..And they couldn’t afford a C-Section, ins. wasn’t going to pay it all.
    Well, the morning after Jay sent an email to many of us asking for “7 days of prayer”(the C Section was scheduled for 7 days from then)..prayers that there’d be no C Section, prayers that all went well, prayers for their son James so he’d take his new brother with graciousness and not resentment, etc.etc….anyway,the next morning, Katherine woke up in labor, they got to the hospital in an hour and she delivered within about an hour….that baby shot out of her, no C Section!! Miraculous.

    Bunkerville, it really is true love, but I loved his honesty, that this is NO PICNIC, that this change in her life and his was NOT EASY.
    They’re amazing. And they have a book coming out very soon….they’re attracting a lot of people with physical challengers….mostly young people…and they offer them hope and help them cope.

    Like

  5. Angel says:

    thanks for the inspiration Z! Happy Valentines Day sweet friend! xoxoxo 🙂

    Like

  6. geeez2014 says:

    SF; that has been the truth since the earliest Israelites, hasn’t it. The human being will never learn how important and fulfilling faith in God is. I wish I’d realized that earlier in my life.

    Angel, I’m so sorry I can’t blog at your place…I miss you and your blog….wish we could figure it out! Happy Valentine’s Day to you, too. xxx

    Like

  7. Mal says:

    This guy is wise beyond his years to make his decision. Look at the shallow men who have left their spouses due to their having had their cancerous breast removed. I’m sure God will have a special place in Heaven for people like him because he has already passed his “finals”.

    Like

  8. geeez2014 says:

    Mal, I believe that, too. And, in the linked article, you can see it’s a struggle for him even as much as he’s always adored her….and the raw honesty is so touching. I’m sure they’ve talked and talked about this.
    When she was first so sick (2 YEARS in a rehab hospital), not able to swallow, failing the swallow test a few days before Thanksgiving (she’s a REAL foodie), etc., sitting in her wheel chair, unable to do anything, she says she looked at her husband and child and thought it would have been better if she’d died and they could have an able bodied wife and mother…that “God had made a mistake”…. They’re VERY VERY honest about what they’ve gone thru and THAT is their gift to God’s kingdom. That they’re not perfect just because they’re still together.

    They spoke at the high school I’m associated with and they didn’t tell the kids that the stroke helped them come to faith, they told them they HAD FAITH FIRST and THAT is what got them through what could happen to ANY OF US. Very persuasive, inspiring….
    amazing people

    Like

  9. Bob says:

    Beautiful story, Z. The couple has not only love but courage. Maybe the two characteristics go together.

    Happy Valentine’s Day, Z.

    Matter of Valentine’s Day protocol:

    Yesterday my wife sent me to the store to get a couple of Valentine’s Day cards for our two grandchildren. As I was leaving the house she told me to get some Cadbury Eggs for our daughter who loves chocolate.

    I found the cards quickly, and was searching the candy aisle looking for the eggs when I spotted a woman searching for something, too. I asked her if she had seen the Cadbury Eggs, to which she replied, “Aren’t they for Easter?”. Hmmm… Obviously, my wife had mistaken, something that NEVER happens.

    Imagine my surprise to suddenly find Dove brand chocolate eggs, and solid bunnies wrapped in gold colored foil. Certainly, Target could not be wrong. So, I got a couple of bags of Dove chocolate eggs, and two chocolate bunnies.

    My wife has since recanted her decision about the eggs, and wants to save the Dove eggs and chocolate bunnies for Easter. My position is that we either give them to the kids, or I will eat them.

    What should I do?

    Like

  10. Some couples take seriously the words of their marriage vows. Most couples do not — and split up over much less trouble than discussed in the linked article.

    But I must say that in times gone by most couples took their vows seriously because they recognized the gravity of saying those words before God’s altar, particularly if there was a marriage ceremony in a church. When I was growing up and even later, I knew several couples, mostly quite elderly ones but occasionally young couples, who faced devastating trials, particularly the debilitating illness or disease of a marriage partner, yet those couples typically did whatever was required to stay together (the exception being violent dementia, of course).

    Like

  11. geeez2014 says:

    “Happy Valentine’s Day, Z.” Well, thanks, Bob! And same to you and Mrs. Bob!
    What should you do about the eggs? EAT THEM 🙂 Definitely EAT THEM! Target’s not going to run out!!

    AOW, I know you’re madly in love with Mr. AOW but what you have been through still is far, VERY far, from easy. I hope you two have a wonderful Valentine’s Day……you deserve it.
    Much love, me

    Like

  12. Z,
    The change in my role — from spouse to parent is the best way I can describe that change — is the most difficult part.

    Like

Leave a Reply

