Merle Haggard

The Okie from Muskogee is gone…(that link is a CLASSIC, with Willie, make sure you listen..it’s just WONDERFUL!  What a patriotic song, too! And a ‘clean livin’ song’!)   Haggard had a really nice, smooth voice…I personally followed many other country singers, but he sure did have a great following and sure did add to the country music scene in big ways……

RIP, Merle Haggard.

Z

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Merle Haggard

  1. Imp says:

    Johnny Cash for me….but God bless ya Merle and have a great trip.

  2. Kid says:

    Discovered and Produced by Chet Atkins.

    Here is Merle with The Perfect Country and Western Song.

  3. Kid says:

    @IMP. I’m more a Hank Williams Sr guy.

    Long as we’re doing some Country. Merle would enjoy it I think.

  4. geeez2014 says:

    Not so fond of that top video, Kid…but it’s not bad 🙂 Never liked Jambalaya, either, but they’re DEFINITELY favorites of lots of people.
    I think my video of Merle and Willie singing Okie ROCKS!

    Imp, I LOVE Cash, too.

    But here is THE BEST EVER!!! (according to THE COUNTRY WESTERN WORLD OF Z!) (and yes, lots of my L.A. friends say “you like COUNTRY, TOO!?” yup…can’t explain it, but I DO!)

    It just does NOT get better than this: (again, in “the country western world according to Z!”)

    Oh, ya…Vince Gill comes out and Z melts 🙂

  5. geeez2014 says:

    LISTEN TO THE HARMONIES ONCE ALISON KRAUS AND CARL PERKINS COME OUT!~ OMG!!

    Where is SILVERFIDDLE? He’s a FINE musician and I’d love to hear his input!
    Look at the Skruggs and the smile when they’re introduced….they’re all SO HUMBle, happy and SO TALENTED! Can you tell I LOVE ALL OF THESE GUYS! (Ok, not Skaggs with that sissy hair!!)

    I can’t get ENOUGH of that video!!!!!! And, of COURSE, my favorite band is ‘rather’ country:


    Be still my silly heart.

  6. geeez2014 says:

    Oh man, I’m listening to Gill, Skaggs, Skruggs, O’Conner, Perkins, AGAIN and watching those smiles of “Man we are making GREAT SOUNDS” just delights me!

    You all know I sang jazz for a long time and at rehearsals we gals would stand around the piano and get those “Man, do you HEAR US..this is COOKIN'” looks on our faces….better than at ANY show…what FUN!!! THESE GUYS ROCK~~!!

  7. geeez2014 says:

    Gad, it sounds in my comments like I’m negating Kid and Imp’s preferences..i’m SO SORRY…I TOTALLY like all of what you posted but I’m besotted with the bands/songs I’ve posted!!
    Thanks for all the input; it’s terrific!

  8. Kid says:

    Z, Yes, your video Rocks. Chet discoverd Vince Gill too. fwiw. 🙂

  9. Kid says:

    Z, Music is like art, It is hard to buy for someone else. No hard feelings baby. 🙂

  10. Kid says:

    Btw, Chet gave Steve Wariner one of the three Certified Guitar Player awards he awarded. Steve is a good singer too.

  11. Kid says:

    How about some Merle Travis cover?

  12. geeez2014 says:

    Kid, you know I’m more vocal than strings, but you know I admire Tommy! What’s a “merle Travis cover?”

    FANTASTIC input that Chet discovered Steve and Gill! I owe Chet a LOT 🙂

  13. Kid says:

    Z, 9 pound hammer was written and played by Merle Travis originally. Chet held Merle as one of his idols (Named his daughter Merle). Tommy’s idol was Chet. A ‘cover’ is when you do someone else’s tune.

  14. Kid says:

    Many of us owe Chet a lot. There is CAAS – Chet Atkins Appreciation Society, and many guitarists go there today to pay homage and entertain each other. I don’t know of any other musician who has such a thing. Chet was a guitar players guitar player. if you wanted to play in the 60’s and 70’s you sure knew who chet was. Technical perfection. Unattainable for the rest of us……

    10 fingers, 6 strings no over dubs.

  15. Silverfiddle says:

    Kid’s video is David Allen Coe singing “You never even call me by my name.”

    I love playing banjo on 9 Pound Hammer by Merle Travis.

    I saw Merle Haggard in concert twice and he never disappointed. Hag was one of a kind. The only positive thing I can say at his passing is he left us a ton of great, hand-crafted, heart-felt music.

    RIP Merle… You’re swingin’ it with Waylon and Johnny now…

  16. Sparky says:

    This is the Country Music that I enjoy. It’s what I grew up with. This new stuff is, if you’ll pardon the word, crap. It’s like our society. Modern clothes, music, movies, decorations, etc. is untalented garbage. Rest in peace Merle. There’s many of us that will miss your style of talent very much.

Leave a Reply

