What a great story!

Talk about a terrific story!

We get so mired down in NEGATIVE that I thought this story was well worth sharing.

Have YOU ever done anything like that?

Z

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to What a great story!

  1. Adrienne says:

    I absolutely love our local sheriffs and police and never miss an opportunity to tell them so. I offer free hugs to them – something you can do when you’re 70 years old and get away with it. heh

    I also never miss an opportunity to talk to people in stores and compliment them on something outstanding about them ie: their well behaved kids, a pretty hair-do on a lady, thanking a veteran, and on and on. You can always find something if you pay attention.

    Just yesterday a rather scruffy guy who didn’t look well was perusing the broccoli and cauliflower that was on sale. That led to quite a discussion about different recipes. Then I met up with him again at the cantaloupe pile and helped him pick out a good melon. I doubt many people ever talked to him.

    For me, going to the grocery store is a social event akin to a tea party.

    It helps to not live in a large city. The last time I was in a large city and did that, people looked at me like I was nuts.

    Another way to show appreciation is to tip all your home repair type people (plumbers, electricians, etc) Anyone who comes to my home to do work gets a $10.00 or $20.00 for “coffee.”

    We had a really bad snow storm and the tree damage on our property was extensive. The young men I hired bid $700.00 for two days work. I told them them it was not near enough and gave them $1000.00 plus an extra $20.00 to each for “coffee.” The very next day hubby sent off a custom music arrangement and the guy tipped him $300.00. Hmmmmmmmm – what goes around comes around. 😉

  2. geeez2014 says:

    Adrienne, I OFTEN compliment parents on well behaved kids….And never miss a chance to thank a cop, fireman, or serviceman…. Loved your comment….
    thanks so much for it, and for what you do!

  3. FB says:

    I’ve only paid for the breakfast of 4 military guys once. But I didn’t tell them. I just told the cashier to put it on my card.

  4. Adrienne says:

    @FB – such a nice gesture.

  5. geeez2014 says:

    The other day I walked past a soldier in khakis and said “Thanks for your service…” He was a nice looking young black man….He turned around and said “Thanks so much for acknowledging it..” , something I hadn’t heard before and so appreciated. I hear “thanks”, I’ve got stone cold stares from cops I’ve thanked, and it occurs to me they so didn’t expect it that they didn’t know HOW to react to nice! I’d say something to the Firemen at the grocery store but they’re so good looking I’m afraid to make a fool of myself… ha!!

  6. Mal says:

    “Random acts of kindness.” What a wonderful story, as well as the others mentioned above.
    And I believe it gives the donor even more joy than the recipient, don’t you?

  7. geeez2014 says:

    Yes, I do…particularly when one does it silently….Sharing here is one thing, but blabbing to all your friends and family what you did is another.
    The Bible even says that sharing what you did negates the deed, which is kinda harsh, huh?!

  8. Sparky says:

    What a sweet note! We should all do that and more. Our Church prays for the men and women in uniform every week, that includes the military. When I pass a cop on the road, I smile and wave. Kindness is never wasted. “Go, ye, and do likewise.” [Luke 10:37]

  9. Bob says:

    One bad experience with a cop can condition us to stay negative about law enforcement officers. I know people who feel that way. On the other hand, I have had good experiences with law enforcement people.

    For example, years ago I worked for a company with HQ in the Chicago suburbs. I was having to attend meetings at 8:00 AM Monday mornings for a while, and I would fly into Chicago on Sundays. One Sunday I got to O’Hare late in the evening, rented a car, and was driving to the motel in the Chicago ‘burbs when I realized that I was driving on a flat tire.

    There was no shoulder on this four lane road, but there was a wide medium. Coindidentally, I had had a shoulder operation several weeks prior, and was supposed to keep my arm in a sling and to forgo picking up anything heavy. As I got out of the car and opened the trunk to access the spare, and Sheriff’s deputy car pulled up behind me.

    The officer insisted he change the tire, even though I was NOT wearing my arm sling. I don’t know how or why he did this, but I was eternally thankful for his actions. There was no way he could have known that I was under medical restrictions, and probably should not have been driving.

    I haven’t thought about this incident in a long time, and your story about Officer Quinn helped me remember. You don’t suppose he is the Mighty Quinn of song and movie fame?

  10. FB says:

    That’s one of my favorite Bible principles, which is why I thought twice about posting my response. But you asked the question 🙂 That Bible principles is good because it makes you question your motivation. Do I really want to help or do I want help solely to feel good about myself and look good? I’m emphasizing strongly because I don’t believe we are 100% selfless when we help. Even Mother Theresa found satisfaction in her work.

  11. geeez2014 says:

    FB…yes, I ASKED…BIg difference! You were right in sharing because it’s a good example to us all. And yes, Mother Theresa found satisfaction in her work; well put!

    Bob, what a great story! “The Mighty Quinn!” HA! Maybe!!! I think it was rather a MIGHTY GOD who had that officer help you!

    Sparks…we should all be praying for them all!

  12. bocopro says:

    Sounds like somethin my wife would do given the opportunity. As for me, I never quite know how to react when I show my retired military I.D. card and some clerk or cop or whatever says, “Thank you for your service.”

    For years, when my wife heard about a friend who’d run into hard times — loss of a spouse or job, flood, fire, or so on — she’d go to the store to get fixings for the upcoming holiday (Christmas, Thanksgiving, Easter, New Year, July 4th, and so on) and get enough for us and another family.

    Then she’d go to wherever they were staying and wait ’til she could be sure nobody was there or nobody would see her and set it on the porch or by the back door. Never wanted them to know where it came from . . . said it spoiled the whole idea of gifting if they felt obligated by the gesture.

    Fits her nature perfectly, tho, seein as how she’s s devout Christian and a compulsive nurturer to boot. I used to call her a food pusher, but some of the looks that triggered seemed very ominous and potential painful, so I don’t say that much any more.

  13. geeez2014 says:

    boco….you’ve got a good wife there!

  14. Baysider says:

    Great story. Never done quite the same. I had a whole batch of 3 cans of gourmet cookies I made for a luncheon that didn’t get served, and I wanted to take them to the local fire station. Mr. B almost died on the spot, especially when we discovered they freeze beautifully. This story impels me to do that now.

  15. geeez2014 says:

    Baysider…Mr. Z would have done the same thing Mr. B did “but I LOVE those!” 🙂

    At the school you know I’m associated with, the fire dept nearby asked if they could use our outdoor basketball court on the weekends and we gave them a key to the gates, etc., and about five of them came a week later with cookies THEY had baked at the station house! And stayed around for a while…such a great group of guys.

Leave a Reply

