Kobe ………

kobe

Los Angeles will REALLY REALLY miss you.   Some even paid $27,500 a ticket to see your last game.  (WHAT?)

Thanks for many years of basketball joy … Mr. Z was a HUUUGE fan and so was I.   But then, so was about every other Los Angeleno. 

AND….”he is an independent who leans conservative. During a September 3, 2007 interview with the Ventura County Star, “While I do not identify with any one party, I was raised in a conservative household. But my politics are my own and not my parents. I believe in family values and small government. I really get into politics, but I like to keep my views to myself. That’s all I will say. Let’s talk basketball and steer clear of controversy. I don’t want to alienate any of my fans.”

AND The Lakers won his last game…well HE won his last game….scoring SIXTY POINTS!  

We love you and congratulate you.

Z

This entry was posted in Mr. Z family articles and photos, sports. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Kobe ………

  1. I never paid attention to him, but I remember the rape trial and disdain I felt.
    Now read this:
    https://churchpop.com/2015/12/26/how-kobe-bryants-catholic-faith-pulled-him-through-his-darkest-hour/

  2. geeez2014 says:

    Ed, we all know that….I am celebrating his amazing basketball playing, team support, and the close family he has now….everyone sins. And yes, I did read last night how he said his faith pulled him through. he deserves forgiveness and got it in this city.

  3. I wasn’t cutting him, I was praising him.

  4. FB says:

    Amazing night of NBA with the Warriors beating the record. Kobe used to grate on me (I don’t like the Lakers) but he is a winner, a very hard worker, a competitor, and I appreciate that now very much. I’m sure he’ll be terrific in his next endeavors as far as writing and production. Stephen Curry is like that in a less arrogant way, though and he’s the best player on Earth.

  5. Mal says:

    I’ve never been much of a basketball fan, but what little I DID follow was the Lakers. I recall great players of the 70’s & 80’s like Kareem, Magic Johnson, and even Larry Bird of the Celtics. I just never got into the game, esp. the last couple of minutes that seemed to drag out for an hour, with all the time-out strategies.

  6. Mal says:

    er,….that should be BYRD.

  7. geeez2014 says:

    Disdain didn’t sound like praise to me, but I see your point.
    Ya, NEVER slam Kobe around ME 😉 (thanks, Ed!!!)

    Mal, never mention LARRY BYRD here again (no matter how you spell it!) (smile…gad, I can’t stand the guy but good player!) Particularly in the same sentence as Kareem and Magic! AND I remember Jerry West and Pat Riley and Norm Nixon and all the GREATS on the Lakers team…we’ve had amazing players.
    My dad was a HUUUUGE sports fan and LITERALLY corrected Chick Hearn more than twice that I heard…Chick said “That’s Magic’s 22st basket tonight” and Dad would look at me across the room and say “His 23rd” and Chick would say “I was just corrected, it’s his 23rd!” And the look on Daddy’s face was SO CUTE! :=-)

  8. fredd says:

    I used to be a huge basketball fan. But that was back before Latrell Sprewell choked PJ Carlissimo and ended up with a large NY Knick contract after all was said and done. THen Allen Iverson came along and gave the game a generally bad name. And of course, the Kobe rape thing, that didn’t help the NBA image in my mind.

    I now call the style of sport played in the NBA “thug ball,” not basketball. And I remember Kobe Bryant as a teammate of Shaquille O’Neal, and Shaq was wide open under the basket and Kobe chose instead of passing to Shaq for a certain dunk, Kobe would launch a 30-footer. Kobe was a selfish player, only interested in his own stats. I never cared much for Kobe Bryant.

    Good riddance, maybe he will have time on his hands now to go to college and make something of himself.

  9. geeez2014 says:

    fredd, Sorry you don’t know a lot about Kobe. Yes, he was called a ‘ball hogger’ and won points for it. Whiners complained. Gee, maybe it’d be better to let Shaq lumber over and miss the shot, but most of us here in L.A. didn’t think so.
    Yes, maybe he’ll make something of himself beyond being a multimillionaire who’s worked his butt off playing/flying/dealing with personalities, practicing…….
    The Kobe rape thing damaged the NBA image for five minutes. One guy doesn’t damage a whole league’s image.
    I love Kobe, support Kobe and am proud as hell of the Lakers………great team, great guy.
    Thousands of people last night, some who paid $26,000 for a ticket….that says so much.

  10. fredd says:

    Let’s just say I am not particularly a Laker fan (I grew up in Oregon and rooted for the Blazers). And the Lakers ate our lunch for the first 20 years or so of the Trailblazer franchise. We had to deal with Wilt, then Kareem, Magic was pure hell on us, and then Shaq shows up in a Laker uniform, we couldn’t catch a break.

    I think that had Kobe been on any other team than the Lakers, I would have given him a bit more credit. But he wasn’t, so I don’t like him. There you have it.

    Go Blazers.

  11. Mal says:

    I particularly remember Larry Byrd because I thought his face LOOKED like a bird! That’s all. And yes, he WAS great player……..for the Celtics. Hey! The Lakers had to have someone worthy of beating up on, right? ;o)

  12. Mal says:

    ………….and I also remember Jerry West and Pat Riley. Pat showed little emotion, didn’t he?

  13. geeez2014 says:

    fredd…ah, now THERE’s a good reason for disliking Kobe…I’d feel exactly the same way if I were you…thanks for filling me in!!

    Mal…Byrd was just plain..well…let me just say ‘unattractive’…and I HATED the CELTICS cuz they beat us a lot 🙂
    Pat was STOIC, you’re right.
    I used to see Jerry West out and about SO MUCH (before I was married, but HE was at that time!) , in clubs, bars, restaurants…to the point that we’d see each other and almost say HELLO, then remember we didn’t know each other…..my friends said he’d give me the twice-over from time to time, but he never approached me 🙂
    Just for info: Henry Fonda once did, too! I was in the same restaurant and walked down the aisle between tables and my friend said his head popped out of the booth and watched my back as I walked….I know, that sounds egocentric to say, but I WAS THRILLED, BELIEVE ME 🙂
    Both West and Fonda were many years ago, of course!!!!

  14. Mal says:

    ……….and I’ll bet you still turn heads, Z! ;o)

  15. cube says:

    I haven’t watched basketball since the Larry Bird Celtic days, but even I had to acknowledge 60 point in one game is an incredible feat of athleticism especially at his age. I can’t think of a better way to end your career. He’ll never have to pay for a drink at any bar.

Leave a Reply

