Prince by Obama….who matters?

I saw the comment by Obama on Prince’s death and decided to compare other statements on the death of important people from him:

princeOn the death of Prince:  “Today, the world lost a creative icon. Michelle and I join millions of fans from around the world in mourning the sudden death of Prince. Few artists have influenced the sound and trajectory of popular music more distinctly, or touched quite so many people with their talent. As one of the most gifted and prolific musicians of our time, Prince did it all. Funk. R&B. Rock and roll. He was a virtuoso instrumentalist, a brilliant bandleader, and an electrifying performer.  “A strong spirit transcends rules,” Prince once said — and nobody’s spirit was stronger, bolder, or more creative. Our thoughts and prayers are with his family, his band, and all who loved him.”

On the death of Michael Brown: “The death of Michael Brown is heartbreaking, and Michelle and I send our deepest condolences to his family and his community at this very difficult time. As Attorney General Holder has indicated, theDepartment of Justice is investigating the situation along with local officials, and they will continue to direct resources to the case as needed. I know the events of the past few days have prompted strong passions, but as details unfold, I urge everyone in Ferguson, Missouri, and across the country, to remember this young man through reflection and understanding. We should comfort each other and talk with one another in a way that heals, not in a way that wounds. Along with our prayers, that’s what Michael and his family, and our broader American community, deserve,” Obama says.

On the death of Steve Jobs: “Michelle and I are saddened to learn of the passing of Steve Jobs. Steve was among the greatest of American innovators — brave enough to think differently, bold enough to believe he could change the world and talented enough to do it.

By building one of the planet’s most successful companies from his garage, he exemplified the spirit of American ingenuity. By making computers personal and putting the Internet in our pockets, he made the information revolution not only accessible, but intuitive and fun. And by turning his talents to storytelling, he has brought joy to millions of children and grown-ups alike. Steve was fond of saying that he lived every day like it was his last. Because he did, he transformed our lives, redefined entire industries and achieved one of the rarest feats in human history: He changed the way each of us sees the world.

The world has lost a visionary. And there may be no greater tribute to Steve’s success than the fact that much of the world learned of his passing on a device he invented. Michelle and I send our thoughts and prayers to Steve’s wife, Laurene, his family, and all those who loved him.”

And, here’s how much he dedicated to the death of Justice Antonin Scalia. 

scaliaOn the death of Justice Scalia:  “Antonin Scalia was a brilliant legal mind. … He influenced a generation of judges, lawyers, and students, and profoundly shaped the legal landscape.”  “He will no doubt be remembered as one of the most consequential judges and thinkers to serve on the Supreme Court.”   “Tonight we honor his extraordinary service to our nation,” he added.

Z: I guess you have to be a liberal.  Or Black.   I thought this was sad.  I suppose I’m being a bit petty, but when I saw how much Obama had to say about Prince, I wondered about the length of other statements and was a little appalled, I have to admit.   I just wish he was a president who spoke for. and about, all Americans;  I thought that was his job.

AND….did you watch the wall to wall coverage on PRINCE on the cable networks last night?  I happen to have liked Prince; I liked his music, I thought he was a fascinating guy, pretty intelligent in interviews…I don’t have a Prince CD but I did like him.  But doesn’t he deserve privacy at his death?   Are we GHOULS?  Isn’t it too much coverage?  (one of the facts all cables are leaving out, particularly Anderson Cooper, is that Prince was anti gay marriage…oops).

Z

This entry was posted in celebs, music, Obama. Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to Prince by Obama….who matters?

  1. I expect no more from Obama.
    He’s a pop-centric punk.
    I read those speeches and admired the craft of his speechwriter though.

  2. Obama on Prince:

    nobody’s spirit was stronger, bolder, or more creative.

    What?

    I never liked Prince or his music. I never understood what all the hype was. Maybe it’s just me….

  3. Z,
    Are we GHOULS? Isn’t it too much coverage?

    Did you see Megyn Kelly’s show last night? A whole show about Prince! Sheesh.

  4. bocopro says:

    Soetoro is an unabashed racist and a hypocrite to boot. Since I have nothing good to say about him . . . OR his paean for St. Michael of Swisher Sweets . . . OR his exaltation for St. Trayvon of Skittles . . . OR his tribute to St. Eric of Marlboro Lites . . . OR his anthem for St. Freddie of doobie . . . I’ll just leave it at calling him an abulado nofistu with ovantic sigullery, and that’s about the best I can say.

    As for Prince, I confess complete ignorance. Will say, however, that I never quite comprehended the lavish eulogies and prolonged national mourning for Elvis, or Michael, or Whitney, or any of the other contingent of oddballs, eccentrics, junkies, flakes, and rava avis who tried to limp around too long on the burnt-out crutch of fleeting fame.

    Yes, we are ghouls, and apparently wannabe groupies, mourning like moonsick mahometans at the passing of overhyped divas. Can’t recall any of the same level or persistence of wailing and caterwauling for Johnnie Cash or Hank Williams or Dean Martin or George Jones or Bo Diddley.

  5. Bocopro,
    Can’t recall any of the same level or persistence of wailing and caterwauling for Johnnie Cash or Hank Williams or Dean Martin or George Jones or Bo Diddley.

    There wasn’t anywhere near as much coverage of those artists as for Michael Jackson and, now, Prince.

  6. Mustang says:

    The achievements of Lance Corporal Brandon J. Garabrant USMC in Helmand Province on 20 June 2014 far outweighs anything Prince did in his entire 57 years. Why is the press not celebrating Garabrant? Oh, what was Garabrant’s achievement? He gave up his life for his country.

  7. jerrydablade says:

    The Con Artist formerly known as Barry Soetoro has been completely silent for our fallen police officers and military. Not even a ‘shout out’ for Kathryn Steinle.

    As for Prince, to each his own. Didn’t care for his effeminate image nor his music. The coverage and the hero worship tributes a little over the top IMO. Hate to see another self-inflicted drug death though.

  8. On FB I’m seeing the mourn
    ing for a songwriter who resonated with their inner being.
    Given the sexual content of his songs, and general sexual confusion of his persona, I cringe.
    But he did write some catchy tunes.
    I always thought that character in The Fifth Element was based on him.

  9. Alec says:

    Prince was a hero in promoting nihilism, consumerism, etc.
    Entertainment runs this country.
    The prince is dead. Long live the next one.
    And God deliver us from all of them.

  10. Kid says:

    barry has always been clearly anti-American, anti-white, anti-intelligence. If he didn’t have speech writers we’d see just how absurd and short-circuited his mind is.

    I thought the Prince coverage was a bit much when compared with other individuals. I don’t care for pop music myself, but as Jerry says to each their own. Takes a lot to make a world.

    I sure agree with Mustang on the sacrifices of those in service to America, and their families. Really… compare mike brown and trayvon (barry’s dream son) to any of these people. I could never imagine anything so disjointed and disrespectful.

  11. geeez2014 says:

    It struck me that Obama’d waxed so long and eloquently on PRINCE and I had to see what he’d said about Scalia….what a difference in length, huh? Then I saw Michael Brown?? and JOBS?? WOW. I guess Scalia just shrinks in value compared to Obama’s leftwing ridiculous heroes.

    I happen to have liked a lot of Prince’s music…as I said in my post, not enough to own any, but I admired his courage to record ‘new sounding’ stuff AND to protect young talent from the big record company rules…he fought hard for that.

    AOW..Megyn Kelly..yes, the whole hour. But CNN did THE WHOLE NIGHT..LITERALLY, late into the night, and they’re at it again…. FULL TIME PRINCE COVERAGE. FULL time.
    As CNN said “the ratings show people want it so that’s why we’re all over it tonight’….FOX must have seen that, too. They’re no dummies $$$$ Sad, isn’t it?
    I WOULD SO LOVE IF THEY STOPPED ALL DAY NEWS ON EVERY CABLE CHANNEL….JUST STOP IT.

    bocopro; Elvis and Michael Jackson had a little more audience, to put it mildly 🙂 They had a lot of the Cash/Haggard etc fans AND the non C&W fans….

    Jerry “The Con Artist formerly known as Barry Soetoro” GREAT LINE! Hopefully it won’t have been self inflicted drugs that killed him.
    Yes, Obama never did comment on Steinle, did he. Swine. God forbid he should put an American citizen over an illegal immigrant.

    Ed…it can be cringe-provoking….

    Alec, Not sure I completely agree…he fought hard to rid young talent from abusive record companies…that’s why he went as “The Artist Formerly Known as Prince” (i think it was?)…he couldn’t use his own name because of contracts he’d broken…and he helped a lot of young people.
    Did he help them in positive ways we’d like to see? NOT SO MUCH!

    Mustang and Kid; I so agree…..they gave up their lives for their country and they get a folded flag and, maybe, a letter from Obama? Obviously, they can’t do this kind of coverage for every fallen hero on CNN, FOX, etc., but they can do MORE , MUCH MORE.
    WHo deserves the coverage more? The answer is SO CLEAR….you are SO RIGHT>
    God bless them all.

    Everybody; Prince apparently gave interviews where he was against gay marriage because God’s Word is against it…..I notice NOBODY IS MENTIONING THAT 🙂

  12. geeez2014 says:

    Obama doing press conf with Cameron in London right now….the line that interested me was “America remains a sovereign country, AMERICANS ARE VOCAL ON THAT” I’m paraphrasing but the inference was “I’m not that vocal on that” Amen.

  13. Kid says:

    I thought it was great that the mayor of London said obama has a real problem with Britain from being half-Kenyan, and Nigel Farage told obama to butt out (maybe not to his face, but I’m sure he was heard). And many British see the incredible hypocrisy since America would never join a EU.

    barry’s opinion of himself shows how screwed up in the head he is. I’m literally talking mental disorder.

  14. geeez2014 says:

    Kid, they’re saying today Obama’s being listened to by the young voters more than Cameron is and Obama’s pushing them to stay in the EU. I hope Obama heard that!
    Obama’s hideous; dining with the Queen, then the Cambridges…what luck. what a jerk.I suppose I’d be thrilled if a president I liked was doing that, but it IRKS me that Obama is….that they seem to like him so much….If they only knew.
    A French friend emailed me from Paris about how they all hope the Americans wake up and realize Hillary’s the one, and they’re aghast at the disarray in the RNC and how awful Trump is…well, can we blame them?
    BUT HILLARY? I still haven’t worded my retort yet 🙂

  15. geeez2014 says:

    Obama just brought up the Churchill Bust and how “I love Churchill…I love the guy!” and the bust was in the Oval Office when Bush left but there were too many busts all over the place so he moved that one “because I can do anything I want on the Second Floor…” (to tittering adoring laughter by the press) ..”and I think everybody would understand, even the British, that I felt I should have a Dr. MLK, Jr. bust in there to remind me of what he did to allow that a Black president would be in office.”

    It’s probably a Rightwing exaggeration that the “Bust was sent back to England” but why didn’t Obama explain why he moved it THEN? Or did he?

  16. geeez2014 says:

    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/barackobama/4623148/Barack-Obama-sends-bust-of-Winston-Churchill-on-its-way-back-to-Britain.html
    Interesting…because Obama made it sound today like it was just not in the Oval Office anymore…not that he’d returned the loan. Good article.
    Not that this is SO important but I HATE the subterfuge and stupid adoration following it.

  17. Mal says:

    I knew of Prince but didn’t particularly take to his style. The one good thing about all the media coverage? It gave us a short AND MUCH NEEDED reprieve from politics!

  18. Kid says:

    barry stuffed the bust into the hands of the then PM of England and told him to haul it back with him.

    The guy’s wife brought some really nice designer stuff from England to give to barry’s girls. michele, grabbed a couple plastic models of Marine 1, selling for $4.11 ea. as she passed the white house gift shop to give to their kids. I really do hate those POSs, not as much as the beast though.

    clinton is a mobster, incompetent at anything beside lying and stealing and cursing at any real AMerican she comes across such as Secret Service and Military people. There IS no bigger POS on the face of the Earth beside IS savages maybe.

    The clinton foundation has a 91% administrative rate which means the clintons keep at least 91% of the oodles of money in there. And then do you really belive moslem countries would pay her 250k and more to listen to her talk?? What? Or Goldman Sacs? What? That is all bribe money and while she is Secy State. I wonder what they got for their money.

    I read today she’s paying 1.5 mil to keep social media scrubbed of anything negative about her (the artice said false info, but you know everything negative will be labeled as false)

    Trump is a saint compared to her.

    Please God, just a little help here.

  19. Kid says:

    And of course, that’s barely the tip of the iceberg on the clintons. How can people not know this stuff? Or maybe it’s not care. dem supporters clearly don’t care about the integrity of their politicians.

  20. geeez2014 says:

    Kid, actually, the bust is in the Brit Ambassador’s home in D.C…not far from the WH.
    I do remember the embarrassing ‘gifts’ Michelle picked for the British family….awful.
    And Oh, yes, I’m SURE that the information is FALSE that Hillary’s PAYING to keep off Social MEdia!!? BS.
    and yes, PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE GOD!!! A LOT OF HELP. Or are we ‘getting ours’ ??

    They don’t care..the Clintons rock….and, if we’re talking integrity, it shows how little we care when people would let Trump get this far, doesn’t it?

  21. Imp says:

    @Kid…Hillary, the illegitimate grandchild of Adolph ( thus the similar sounding name of Hitler ) will be / is our very own version of Merkel. And I believe Merkel’s not anywhere as evil as clinton is. Stupid…yes.

  22. bocopro says:

    Boy, am I ever with you on that’n, Mal.

    In fact, I believe . . . no, I’m certain . . . that national news coverage of political campaigns should be restricted to the 100 days immediately preceding the general election and anyone making a big deal out of what happens in primaries before that time should be publicly skinned. Our elections are nothing more than popularity and name-recognition contests anyway.

    Candidates should announce their intentions 6 months before elections and keep their traps shut until that date. Media then should provide fair and balanced coverage, and polling should NOT be either allowed or reported. Ever. As Mark Twain said, if you don’t read the news, you remain uninformed about things; if you DO read it, you are deliberately MISinformed.

    And while we’re at it, we could make remarkable progress in reducing obesity, heart attacks, diabetes, and numerous other health problems if all TV, slick paper, and public platform advertising of fast food ceased. I mean, who the hell doesn’t know what McDonald’s or Burger King or KFC sell and where to find one when they need it?

    Azamatterafact, I’m confident that mass public shootings, such as in schools or theatres, would be MUCH less frequent if they weren’t sensationalized in the media. Monkey see . . . monkey do. I also happen to believe that if gang members convicted of felonies were castrated, gang membership in the US would decline precipitously.

  23. I don’t suppose that anybody wants to listen to Prince’s Donald Trump song…

  24. Kid says:

    Ok, he must have taken it over there then.

    Not to confuse, I’d rather have someone beside Trump, but clinton is the end of America (Supreme Court), let alone the worst possible choice personally. I’ll take a dirty mouthed dead squirrel that doesn’t use deodorant or toothpaste.

  25. geeez2014 says:

    Imp…I agree..Merkel’s WRONG but she’s not EVIL as HELLERY….and I agree about taking Trump over the She Devil.

    boco and Mal…agreed… it’s like the WORLD STANDS STILL when a CELEB dies….nobody but FOX covered ANYTHING else last night….CNN was wall to wall Prince..and FOX did a lot but not all.

    Vrag, when I come back, I want to listen to that..thanks…gotta run.

    NOBODY COMMENTING on my info that Prince has said he’s against gay marriage?

  26. geeez2014 says:

    BY THE WAY: Did you all see that Trump said he isn’t against taxing the rich more and more?
    That TICKED ME OFF…I think the Jerk’s going to go VERY centrist if he’s picked..VERY. Because he loves adulation. Hopefully, at that point, all that conservative adulation will go to Cruz and Trump’ll be scratching his head….under that ….hair.

  27. Kid says:

    Imp, Agreed.

  28. Kid says:

    Z, barry lied like a rug to get elected. Maybe that’s what it takes these days with the current population.

    Taxing the rich? I wouldn’t be taxing busineses any more, but the cats at the banks ? Some of the other crony capitalists? I have no problem with that. The Fed -WE- gave them 4.3 trillion (The QE programs) so they could have a do over on their mortgage funny money bets gone bad. America is going to be paying for that one way or the other for a long time. taxes, inflation, etc.

  29. Kid says:

    Don’t know what to say about the gay marriage thing. Some for some against. I don’t get very excited about it. I’d rather not hear about it. Seems like America, as reported by the media, are one big collection of special needs ^(*(*&*&*’s anymore. Frankly, I’d like to breathe some clean air once in a while.

  30. bocopro says:

    OAN doesn’t get all weepy and slobbering over passings. They’re self repetitive, but except for the PSAs they have no innuendo or nuance in their ‘casts. When my hands are busy with some little job and I wanna know what’s happening in the world, I go to OAN, then shift to HLN just to fill in the blanks.

    NEVER go to Fox for straight news, tho I will watch Baier and the pros from Dover for commentary a coupla times a week.

    A society hooked on celebolatry is doomed, IMO, especially a society which is deliberately ignorant or dismissive of demonstrable facts, such as Benghazi, e-mailgate, Fast & Furious, Ferguson, Sharpton, Hillary’s hypocrisy, and on and on and on.

  31. Bob says:

    Such negativity as on this blog! In keeping with the spirit of the dead spirit, I shall praise Prince because, even though I am not a lover of music, I thought Prince’s Purple Rain was terrific. As to BHO, all I can say is POO! Here’s the Prince with his signature song. The guy was fantastic on the guitar.

  32. Imp says:

    @Z..”CNN was wall to wall Prince..and FOX did a lot but not all…”

    Me? I couldn’t care less. He made two tunes I liked…but I’m not going to get into a twist over another celeb drug overdose.

  33. geeez2014 says:

    BOB, as I have said above…I liked Prince and admired his talent greatly.

    Kid! I’m not bringing up gay marriage just to discuss it….my point is that a big supposedly liberal well admired ROCK STAR is against it…and that the media’s NOT MENTIONED IT. That’s news to me…so typically blocking out anything they didn’t like about their hero.

    bocopro, you can definitely go to FOX for straight news….just don’t watch the editorialists you don’t like. Baier is terrific, Neil Cavuto’s the best there, in my oipinion tho I believe his MS prohibits him from being on many hours like others are.

  34. bocopro says:

    While I have no quarrel whatever with Hemmer and McCallum, I’m usually not around when they’re on. And Jon Scott is good, too, but again, I’m usually doin somethin else in his time slot.

    Then there are all the fluff talk shows, which annoy me like a piece of phlegm I can’t get outta the back of my throat — “Outnumbered” is the worst concept — and “Fox & Friends” is just a 3-hour morning variety show with 3-minute interludes of actual news every half hour or so.

    Don’t care much for Greta, either (although she is pretty straightforward), and would rather read O’Reilly than watch and listen to him.

    I don’t care much for Gretchen (if she’s even still on), and find Shep Smith irritating, hence — OAN or HLN.

    On occasion I’ll catch an episode of “The Five” just to hear what Gutfeld has to say. Can’t take too much of him, tho, and wouldn’t want a steady diet of it. Usually find myself agreeing with him almost completely . . . just don’t like him for some reason. And that other guy, the ex-jock, is NOT a natural extemporaneous speaker. The blonde (can’t remember her name) and Kimberly generally have done their homework and come up with cogent statements that I can swallow without much trouble.

    Not a great fan of Megyn Kelly, and usually asleep by the time Hannity comes on, and even if I weren’t, I wouldn’t watch him anyway. Both O’Reilly and Kelly come on when other things are available for me to watch, so I don’t catch ’em live.

  35. geeez2014 says:

    Vrag….oh BROTHER…quite some lyrics!

  36. Kid says:

    Z, gay marriage. Yes, I had it actually and forgot to mention. I’d bet 100k that they don’t mention it ever. They have mentioned he was very religious though.

  37. But they don’t often say he wa J.W.
    I wouldn’t want to see HIM at my door giving away Watchtower.

  38. Imp says:

    Well..OT a tad…but Virginia just solved it’s voter ID and problems with blacks being “denied” the vote….now 200,000 convicted felons can vote and run for office. Are they actually that stupid and don’t know what that really says?

  39. Kid says:

    IMP,. clinton paid mcaufflife off or as a friend suggested – offered him a high paying low effort ‘job’ in her administration. If it were me, I’d have taken/wanted the money Virginia is a swing state. The elections are all about the swing states.

    6 or 7 of them these days? Not that ahrd to buy or fix an election win.

  40. Bob says:

    Gotta agree with Z on Fox News. Most of what they do is editorial in nature, but Brett Baier is very good, and Neil Cavuto is one of the best interviewers I have seen. O’Reilly, Kelly, and Hannity are blatantly biased, but I can deal with that. Sheppard Smith is a moron, and Gretchen is OK. I like Gretta because when she wants, she can be tough.

  41. geeez2014 says:

    Ed, yes, he was born 7th Day Adventist, I think it was, and became a JW…..
    I’d certainly not want to see him at my door today 🙂 And, no, they don’t say that….tonight a woman who’s sung with him for the last ten years or so talked about how much he read the Bible; sounded like he had a special room, a kind of Bible library, in his compound.

    Bob…O’Reilly’s been making more and more sense lately; he’s getting tougher on obvious stupidity…Kelly isn’t even near as biased as that dope Hannity is…
    Gretchen is fine..insipid subjects, but fine…Gerta’s good, and Smith is as Conservative as Bernie Sanders. yuck! I watch CNN quite a bit now, but particularly if I’m home when Smith is on….
    CAVUTO: THE BEST.

    Kid and Imp; NO DOUBT that he’s been offered a BIG job….McAuliffe and the Clintons are BEST BUDDIES, this is no surprise…
    I’d venture a guess most Americans aren’t for these felons voting.

  42. Kid says:

    Z, I’m not even for non-tax payers voting.

    Anyway, If you know someone who talks a whole lot as in they won’t shut up, you can say to them, Geeezix man, you’d make a Jevohah’s Witnesses look at his watch and say, Wow, Look at the Time! I’ve got to go !

  43. Vrag….oh BROTHER…quite some lyrics!

    …very RACIST lyrics.

  44. Implies that rich white men are not suitable partners for black women.

  45. …that “whiteness” is a disqualifier.

  46. geeez2014 says:

    Kid, that his HILARIOUS!!!

  47. Now I’ see a post that says that Prince was a Republican and anti-Democratic Party.

  48. Kid says:

    z, 🙂

    ED – All intelligent black people are against the democrat party.

Leave a Reply

