Forty Years Ago Yesterday……

monday and the flagCHICAGO (CBS) — It has been called the greatest non-baseball play on a baseball field.

Forty years ago today (Z: actually it was yesterday), Cubs’ outfielder Rick Monday stopped two men from burning the American flag in Los Angeles.

As Monday recalled in an old video posted on You Tube marking the 30th anniversary (above), he was running toward the two men when the wind blew out the flame from the first match.

That gave him enough time to sweep in from behind at fetch the flag.

“You could smell the lighter fluid,” Monday said. “It was soaking wet.”

As the scoreboard displayed the message, “Rick Monday, You Made A Great Play,” the fans rose and sang, “God, Bless America.”

Los Angeles Dodger Rick Monday saved the American flag from being burned forty years ago.

Z:  I like to think that would happen today.  I think that, in some crowds, Rick Monday would be booed.   I hope not.     Rick Monday was honored yesterday at Dodger Stadium for what he did forty years ago.  God bless him and the crowd which broke into “God Bless America” after he’d saved the flag from burning.

 

Thanks, CC!  x

This entry was posted in America, sports. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Forty Years Ago Yesterday……

  1. bocopro says:

    Payne Stewart was a flamboyant pro golfer with a mind of his own, unafraid to spit out a few very clear syllables when he got a mouthful of ’em, but he was a true patriot.

    His take on the flag was this: For those people who spit on the flag, burn the flag, throw it down and walk on it, I say go live in the Middle East or Africa or Russia or China for a while, then tell me what you think about this country and its flag.

  2. Silverfiddle says:

    Unlike the pampered ball sport millionaires today, Rick Monday also served his country as a US Marine.

  3. Kid says:

    I think it would happen again today.

  4. cube says:

    Thank you for this video. I remember when it happened and, so many years later, it still makes my eyes water when I watch it replayed. It’s hard for me to watch our flag dishonored and this was a wonderful way for Monday to champion his free speech.

  5. bunkerville says:

    Maybe yes and maybe no this would happen today. Of course they say baseball crowds are getting older so…..

  6. geeez2014 says:

    Silverfiddle…that’s right and the Marines honored him for doing this some years back…good stuff.

    Kid and everyone; I like to think the crowd would react the same today but some of the comments on the article said “it’s the guy’s first amendment right to burn it”…apparently, it can’t be done on property on which the owner doesn’t want it done, however, or something like that.
    And, as my point suggests; Imagine years ago anybody arguing about the VENUE? They’d just be FURIOUS at the SITUATION~!

    Cube, it brings tears to my eyes, too..

    Bunkerville, in baseball crowds here in L.A., it’s about 90% Hispanic..it’s almost shocking. All nice, calm, happy baseball lovers, but very weird feeling to be there.

    There’s a wonderful story about the immigrant who went to his first game at Dodger Stadium…when he got home they asked if he’d enjoyed it and he said he’d enjoyed it immensely, that everyone was SO POLITE to him!…..”they even stood up and all sang together ‘Jose, can you see?’ 🙂

    bocopro; Payne Stewart was right…..his death was a huge shame.

  7. geeez2014 says:

    Our wonderful Dodger announcer, the GREAT Mr. Vince Scully, (retiring this year, possibly, at the age of 88!), called these guys who tried to burn the flag that day “Animals” “Get the animals off the field”….

  8. Baysider says:

    I remember this game, and Vinny’s call of this play. I was listening. Monday got an ovation when his team next came to town.

  9. Mal says:

    I remember this incident, too, and was shocked to learn it’s been 40 years! At the time I wasn’t into baseball yet but still remember this being all over the news. I would hope most of the players today would still do likewise. (Yeah. I’m somewhat into it now. L.A. Angels and Seattle Mariners).

  10. geeez2014 says:

    Though Vince Scully’s voice was the soundtrack of my childhood summers due to my father, I am not a baseball fan (except , of course, it’s Go Dodgers! even if I’m not watching!) …

    I will say that my uncle Eddie was at the game where Lou Gehrig said he had to stop playing due to his ALS disease…that’s cool!

  11. Imp says:

    40 Years ago…seems like a lifetime and a reminder of how far we’ve slid down into the morass of lunacy.

  12. geeez2014 says:

    Imp…you are SO RIGHT 😦

  13. jerrydablade says:

    Listening to the announcers at the beginning, they have no idea what these America-hating ‘progressives’ are up to. They have absolutely no clue. I am still surprised at times myself what they are capable of, but less and less it seems.

  14. Happy 30th to Mr and Mrs Jerry!

  15. geeez2014 says:

    Jerry, to be fair, the anti Americanism wasn’t SO bad by progressives (I hate that term, too) forty years ago when this happened….so the announcers were aghast and looked at it as a one-off weird thing, I think. But you’re right..and if we’d awakened to leftwing America hate THEN, we might have not been in this leftwing provoked situation we’re in now.

    HAPPY 30th, DaBlade..to you and your wife.
    I wish I got more than 19 years and four days! It’s nice to see your blog and how much you cherish your Mrs. Makes me feel good!!

Leave a Reply

