Words to live by….and live longer by

“The greatest weapon against stress is our ability to choose one thought over another.”  William James

I think we should all think about this….Excellent.

And, of course, one could say it’s rooted in The Bible….

“Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable–if anything is excellent or praiseworthy–think about such things.”  Philippians 4:8

Let’s all try to choose uplifting thoughts, optimistic, positive, happier thoughts.  I am.

Otherwise, thinking about how London elected its first Muslim mayor this week, I’d be upset, furious, scared for them, but hopeful nonetheless (“he’s not a jihadist, give him a chance”) ….in this case, I just have to remember my other new mantra: “it’s sometimes best to leave it where Jesus flings it..”
Amen to that.
Z

This entry was posted in England, health, matters of interest. Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to Words to live by….and live longer by

  1. Sadiq Khan isn’t all sweetness and light. I expect an exit of Jews from the city of London. We shall see.

  2. I do not have the mental discipline to disallow my concerns to relieve stress.
    I wake up prematurely and think of all the things at work that I have to deal with or fail.
    There is no sleeping after that.
    I have come to a numbness concerning politics.
    It’s all going to hell.
    I have no influence.
    It will probably affect my children, but they are adults and won’t vote appropriately, like many of their peers.
    I see the danger of a Trump ascendancy, but I’m seen as the idiot that will allow Hillary the presidency if I don’t get in lockstep and get my head right with the masses who see him as the savior of America.
    Not much I can do about that either.

  3. geeez2014 says:

    AOW….sad, isn’t it. Khan isn’t a radical apparently, but I have read too many muslims say “He knows our plight and he’ll FIX it” ….it’s always dangerous when any one politician leans toward one constituency; particularly a radicalized one. I’m hoping he’ll be able to calm them down; it’s not out of the question.

    Ed, that’s one of the reasons I posted this excellent advice. I think most of us feel as you do. It IS going to hell, yet our thoughts can’t stay there…or, on this earth, we will live in a kind of hell. And yes, I think of my nieces and nephews who are surely not voting Trump or any Republican (some will some won’t) and I realize they have small children and they’re hurting their babies so badly they might as well be building a guillotine for them all.

  4. bocopro says:

    Eso es la verdad:
    “A great many people think they are thinking when they are merely rearranging their prejudices.”

    And the corollary to that is that many people’s minds interchange critical thinking and emotion.

    As y’all may have noticed, I’m a compulsive writer. I’ve done over 15 novellas, probably 30 short stories, around a hundred poems, and countless parodies of other people’s works.

    After a while I began to notice a trend: nearly every one of my novels/novellas/stories involves someone playing vicious or dangerous mind games with someone else — and the bottom line is that in each of those cases, either my protagonist or antagonist exposes some facet of my inner self that might not be well received by others IRL.

    One 35,000-word story involves a non-corporeal entity from another dimension coming to awareness in the corpus callosum of a man undergoing multiple stresses. It’s even titled “A Matter Of Mind Over Mind.” Lotta time at sea with nothin to do but either read or write back in the day.

    Once having created a character who willfully and gleefully manifests my more unsavory self, my reaction is to ritualistically burn the entire manuscript in a large barrel in the back yard . . . very cathartic, very purifying, very liberating.

    Something quite comforting and reassuring about reducing one’s inner Mr. Hyde to ashes in a 50-gallon drum. Fortunately I have no true attic in this house, so the likelihood that I’ll one day find a macabre, diseased, infested, sinister-looking, life-sized caricature of myself staring back at me in the light of a taper is virtually non-existent.

  5. geeez2014 says:

    Dear Dorian, I’m dealing particularly with emotions in my post today and I think that the quotes I’ve listed help with those emotions. Critical thinkers as all of us are here at GeeeZ, we know the pitfalls of our politics, the pitfalls of either party winning/losing…..and we allow that to get to us…

    It’s what we do with that knowledge that’s crucial to our well being. Casting prejudices aside for now, it’s just thinking happier, thinking more positive…trying to find the positive in anything we can. Not some mindless Polyanna type of attitude, Not one BIT, because we need to keep aware but we can also choose certain times to dwell on the problems and times not to…doing something happier like reading a great book, watching a fave TV show, etc….thinking different thoughts… It does work. I’ve noticed it already since I found that Wm. James verse….

    Actually, our buddy Kid’s often recommended this to me and I think the James quote echoes his words.

    I have visions of you and your fetching wife dancing around the 50-gallon drum full of your inner Mr. Hyde’s scratchings and her thinking “THANK GOODNESS!!!” 🙂

  6. FB says:

    About London, another scary video

  7. Mal says:

    “……….my reaction to ritualistically burn the entire manuscript in a large barrel in the back yard…” is in itself the venting of anxiety and gives relief, Bocopro. Good thinking!

  8. geeez2014 says:

    Thanks FB…..thankfully, I don’t think the new mayor is that kind of a muslim man nor would he promote what they discussed as far as furthering muslims… (I don’t have time to listen to it all but I hear this daily from my kids in Germany and what they’re suffering through, watching their country disintegrate and frequently reminding me the EU laws being forced on Europe are not made by elected people….it’s a dictatorship now)……

    He’ll also know they simply can’t afford what’s going on; Ingrid Carlqvist is so right…the immigrants DO NOT WORK and are TOTALLY on the states that welcomed them in.

    I love Carlqvist’s warnings about the silliness of “Being NICE”, or “being MULTICULTURAL”….I hope she’s listened to. Probably she gets no air at all except by people like Molyneux, sadly.

    Mal…that is something I’ve heard for years, my girlfriends were doing it in high school….write what’s hurting you and burn it…..apparently it helps alleviate anxiety. I think bocopro’s comment has a lot of merit.
    I go back to my post and hope that we all, short of setting fires, can just replace our thoughts when we go negative. Actually, I thought of you when I wrote it because I know you’re very good at this and I admire it.

  9. BTW, the Philippians quote is spot on.

  10. Baysider says:

    Terrific sentiment! It puts into words what has gotten me through the last 4 months.

  11. Kid says:

    Stress is the #1 killer. (Malpractive # 3 I recently read..) I hope all you folks have a way to tune out the negatives as much as you need to. Sorry to hear about your ordeals Ed. Outside of the fact that my job is great and I can sleep (red wine helps), I have the same thoughts and concerns about our decendants – The ones who aren’t bringing it on themselves. Yea, Trump is no savior of America.

    So, on the 5th he’s eating some Taco thing in some restaurant in a Trump building saying they make it right there. Some radio station calls the restaurant and asks them how much they charge for it and they say they don’t make such a thing. Why lie about something like that. What an ass.

    As far as the moslems, the concern is not the violence imo. It is the breeding out and loss of your culture. Over 10 years ago, I read that the Church of England predicted England would be under sharia law in 30 years. I’d say they’re on track. They tried to do sharia law in Irving, Tx, who promptly passed a lawy regarding only American constituional practices will be allowed there, or some such. It didnt mention islam, but it put the quash on it for now. The vid showed a moslem walking out of the meeting smiling and saying they would be hitting the ballot box.

  12. Kid, he’s eating the Taco Salad on top of a magazine featuring a photo of Marla in a bathing suit!
    http://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2016/may/05/donald-trump-taco-bowl-i-love-hispanics-picture

  13. Mal says:

    Spot on, Kid. My late father always told us hard work never killed anyone. Worry does. Get debt free and stay there. Financial woes have been the cause of many divorces, too. And it takes a tremendous toll on your heart and overall health.

  14. Kid says:

    Ed, somebody has good eyes, I can’t see anything under that taco bowl, And truly good Mexican food is really good. Never even saw anyone eating a taco at those places. Had lots of it in Phoenix area when I lived there. There is one place in Cincinnati that is passable. Then again, it’s impossible to find great food in Cincinnati.

  15. Kid says:

    MAL, I often think how fortunate I am. I can pay the bills and I actually enjoy my job. I know so many do not.

  16. geeez2014 says:

    Kid, the newest Archbishop of Canterbury is so leftwing it’s unbelievable….Almost as dumb as the Swedes thinking “Why be Swedes? We can invite everyone in and we’re rich..we’ll be NICE to them!”

    http://www.trumptowerny.com/trump-grill-lunch-menu
    There’s the menu for Lunch from Trump Towers….NYC. No Taco bowl…unless they do one special for him. His son said he eats that all the time, too.
    I just Googled all the Tower restaurants…none has a TACO BOWL or anything remotely like it.

  17. Kid says:

    It’s possible they make it special for him. In that case, it would be still as dumb to mention it.

    How many remember barry saying Quattro de Mayo. Last year or the one before. Several times.

  18. geeez2014 says:

    Kid, I was thinking the same thing except he should mention it…they make it for the son, too? Well, I guess…why not. Sounds delicious to ME 🙂

    And yes, I do remember Quattro de Mayo…and 57 American states, remember that? !!

  19. Kid says:

    Z, I sure didn’t have any idea at the time. But the 57 states was a call out to the 57 states of islam. Imagine how they squealed with delight over there in the sand box.

    PS – I hate that I’ve had to learn anything about islam.

  20. Kid says:

    Z, PPS, Good Mexican food has flavors that to me are just so fresh,and with just the right seasonings. My personal favorite was Chicken Fajita at La Pinata at 19th ave just above Thomas RD in Phoenix. Beyond that though there were restaurants that made things that I can’t even describe here. So good.

  21. geeez2014 says:

    Kid, that’s exactly right…We didn’t know it until OUR PRESIDENT said it, but is that “just an accident?”” No.

    You know I LOVE MEXICAN FOOD….mmmmmmmmmmmm

  22. I read Trump Cafe serves it. Dunno.

  23. Ed,
    I’m seen as the idiot that will allow Hillary the presidency if I don’t get in lockstep and get my head right with the masses who see him as the savior of America.

    Huh?

    Tell you what. I’ve been criticized, vilified, trolled, etc., for even suggesting that voters should take a good long look before deciding for whom to vote in November. And, yes, that good long look involves considering Trump. Why? Because I believe that we should keep our eyes on the ball — namely, would Hillary Rodham Clinton in the Oval Office be a better option than Donald Trump in the Oval Office?

    There is no Ronald Reagan to come riding over the hill.

    We have six months to go until the 2016 Election. I can’t speak for others, but I’m going to take a chill pill for a while.

  24. Kid says:

    Ed, that could be. We know the democrats lie like rugs and there is nothing they won’t do including having some radio station say they called and found it it is not served there. Who knows.

    Matters not to me. As I’ve said I have never voted For someone, only against democrats, which I will do until the end.

  25. geeez2014 says:

    That restaurant wasn’t even listed on the Trump restaurants when I Googled but I Googled that exact name and it’s there. There’s no ‘taco bowl’ but there does seem to be a chicken tostada dish…Who knows? That’d be way too easy to check on if T was lying.

    AOW “I’m going to take a chill pill for a while.” Me, too. Not listening to TV much, either…I simply can’t STAND to hear Trump’s name or yet another ridiculous thing he says….

  26. AOW. I saw your comment to that effect at my place.
    I’m not seeing attacks on Trump supporters.
    I have some thoughts about some, like that clown Cruz was trying to talk to in that video.
    I try not to lump everyone together and stereotype,

    I was on the radio today talking to a friend who criticized Ryan for not supporting Trump.
    I said that Ryan was doing the right thing, making Trump make the argument for supporting him.
    Negotiating. Art of the Deal stuff. But Trump says he doesn’t need us.
    My friend said she had seen a lot of bitter attacks on Trump supporters.
    I hadn’t noticed.

  27. Oh man. I had no idea my face would be plastered up there.

  28. Kid says:

    Well, not a live or die thing, but I think Ryan should support the overwhelming choice of ‘the voters’. Right or wrong. I understand Trump is unpalatable to many but the repubs don’t have a chance with a standard issue repub. If they haven’t figured that out by now they are delussional. Which they probably are.

  29. Baysider says:

    FB – that’s an important video. Fleshes out the concepts well. Carlqvist writes at Gatestone Intitute.

  30. Mal says:

    Personally, I’m looking forward to the first debate. “Let the games begin!”

  31. Bob says:

    Z: Thanks for posting the Philippians quote. Was that in First or Second Philippians 🙂

    Stress is a killer. Stress has ruled my life for as long as I can remember. When in a career being someone responsible for others, stress is there every day, all day, and even at home. It affects your professional and personal lives. Physical exercise helps tremendously, as does praying and meditating. I still love to read a good science fiction book for a total escape from reality.

    I have decided to NOT get an ulcer over this election, just as I decided to NOT get an ulcer over Obama’s tragic administration. It takes a certain mindset and discipline to do this.]

    Bocopro surprises me. If I were to even get close to writing a story, there’s no way I would burn it even if it were bad, as it most assuredly would be. If I could leave some fiction stories to help my grand kids to remember me, so much the better. There’s no way I would tell them the things I did as a young man. NO WAY!

    It’s Saturday night and I am going to have a drink and contemplate the universal truths as I see them.

  32. geeez2014 says:

    Ed “I’m not seeing attacks on Trump supporters.”…at the events there are, as you know…not sooo much on the blogs….HOWEVER: I personally have restrained from ‘attacking’ Trump supporters because I don’t want the heat to get too high here….I hold my tongue a LOT.
    I WILL vote for him but to be FOR Him? I shudder. …’nuff said.

    Kid, I think we all deserve Ryan to give it ONE LAST TRY. I’m a woman and I have pretty amazing intuition (ask my friends) and I believe in Ryan. I think he does the right thing even if we’re not aware WHY , etc.

    Bay..it really IS an excellent video; I wish more Europeans felt like her.

    Mal, that’ll be VERY VERY interesting!

    Bob, there aren’t two Philippians….https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Epistle_to_the_Philippians Just one letter….but I understand why you think that….there are many first and second books! 🙂
    Let us know what you decide about universal truths :=-) xxx

  33. Bob says:

    Z: I am perfectly aware that there is only one book of Philippians. I was just joking. Witness the smiley face.

    The whole idea comes from I and II Corinthians, I, II Timothy, I, II, III John etc. Unless you memorize the order of the books of the New Testament, it is all confusing. As Southern Baptists, we memorizes all that in Sunday School. Not a bad idea for other churches, either.

  34. geeez2014 says:

    Bob, I am SO SORRY…the smiley face somehow didn’t compute.
    I have to admit I THOUGHT YOU KNEW THAT!…truly, so sorry!
    Now I’ll think of YOU every time I hear PHILIPPIANS, which is often, since our pastors are covering it this year in their sermons…!!!
    Memorizing the books is an excellent idea……..would that kids today learned meaningful things like that!

  35. Is that Second Philippians or 2 Philippians?

  36. Z,
    I simply can’t STAND to hear…yet another ridiculous thing Trump says….

    Not everything he says is ridiculous. The news media play excerpts in roundup stories. Some of the entire speeches have more to them (“Globalism is a failed doctrine”). But his style of speaking drives me up the wall.

  37. Ed,
    I voted third party in 1992 and 1996. Clinton was elected both times.

    Yes, I slept at night — with a clear conscience. Not sleeping as well now as we face the very real possibility of a continuation of Obama’s policies if Hillary is elected. Just imagine that horror!

    In the end, we don’t have to make up our minds until we vote in the November 2016 Election.

  38. geeez2014 says:

    Ed, it’s only “TWO Philippians” when Trump’s trying to show his Biblical expertise.
    But, in fairness, my own pastor (who is NO fan of his) said that some at his seminary did say TWO PHilippians.

    AOW…when Trump insults people for how they EAT, and asks where blood’s coming from out of Megyn Kelly, or all the other HIDEOUS , unmanly, dumb things he says, I’d say that’s ridiculous. And someone I would despise in real life.

    He might say fine things otherwise, but I can’t HEAR “another ridiculous thing”…and if I listen to him for more than 5 minutes, it’ll come.

  39. But his style of speaking drives me up the wall.

    “How” Trump speaks

  40. Mal says:

    AOW, in ’92 and ’96 are you talking about Ross Perot? We did, too.

  41. Kid says:

    The way Trump speaks. He’s speaking to the entire country, and was it bocopro who said that in order to be a good author today you need to speak/write at about a 7th grade level to get through to most of your audience. Makes a great point that can easily be over-looked imo. I never gave it much though until it was brought up.

  42. geeez2014 says:

    That video of Trump’s speech is mostly right…altho I agree with what he’s said about Muslims in the beginning. I couldn’t listen to the whole thing cuz then I’d have to listen to HIM.
    I’ve been saying here for months he has a vocab of about 100 words….huge, disgusting, etc…and it’s never ;’thousands’, it’s THOUSANDS and THOUSANDS.
    And I’m REALLY tired of hearing about ALL THE PHONE CALLS he gets from people agreeing with him.
    This is THE most needy, thin skinned, disgusting man going…and he could be our president.

    Kid, that’s a good point except that even I have to admit Obama has an extremely articulate elegant way of speaking with quite a good vocab and millions adore what he’s saying, and understand it…so I’m not sure one needs a 7th grade level to appeal to Americans…yet.

    I will say this, risking the wrath of the Trump fans here….matter of fact, I’d have to say “putting them aside” because MY Trump fans here ARE extremely bright and articulate…am not saying that to be polite, they just ARE, I don’t have to even mention it because you all know that…
    \
    BUT, having said that…I do see that SOME Trump fans are well educated, financially okay people…but mostly we see uneducated, big muscled angry people who he appeals to because they’re afraid for their jobs, afraid of muslims, afraid of taxes, afraid their Bibles will be taken away, and he EXACTLY plays to all that.
    Depending on the crowd, I hear him say “We’ll be able to say MERRY CHRISTMAS’…
    he is TOTALLY about saying things they ADORE him for….”Oh, THEY LOVE ME SOOOO MUCH>…”

    I can’t stand it. Going back to watching the wonderful Mildred Pierce with Joan Crawford…aaahhh!!

  43. Kid says:

    Z, 🙂 May relief soon be upon you.

    ” Obama has an extremely articulate elegant way of speaking ”

    I would personally change this to “obama’s speech writers have an extremely…..”

    Since I posted my comment, I remembered where that came from and it was bocopro, and he also mentioned the FOG Index, which I then read about and found it pretty interesting and that which I agree with.

  44. geeez2014 says:

    bocopro said 7th grade, I’d said for months ’10 years old’….Trump is inarticulate and a playground bully and that’s how he speaks.

    And I hate to say this but Obama’s pretty articulate even when off teleprompter and in interviews….but MUCH better with teleprompter, that’s for sure.

    I shudder at important speeches a Pres Trump would give…..Oh, my God.

  45. Kid says:

    Z, Ok, I don’t listen and you do so I will have to give the benefit of the doubt high in your favor. But when I have heard barry speak off the cuff it’s been a disater full of ums and aws and pauses.

    That is what I based my comment on.

  46. geeez2014 says:

    You’re right, he can um and uh and pause….I just look at that as scheming of what lie to say next , not that he’s not articulate! But YOU could be right, as well!!

  47. Kid says:

    Z, The best description that I heard of that was that he is constantly havng to filter his honest thoughts against what would be palatalbe for a president to say. Like a fail would be Look folks I’m moslem and I mean to facillitate the moslem worldwide calliphate and put you all under sharia law”.

    Seriously.

    So I took a quick poll today (First Vewrdict, part of the YouGov polling machine) and the first question was “So London elected a mulsiom mayor, when do you think America will elect a mulsim president” options were: 20 years, 50 years, 100 years, never and Other. At the time I took the poll, 7% said Other.

    Analyzing.. 20, 50, 100, never covers All the bases. Thoise who answered Other (myself included) had to have decided that We Already Have Elected a Muslim President. Right?

Leave a Reply

